Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Remember Life is Good - Save $200 on all small group and self-guided tours. Learn more >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Sunshine and cycling with the wind behind us

    Good cycling beside the Atlantic Ocean. Blue sky and sunshine with wind behind us. Lovely hotels, great beaches and lots of surf. Nice bikes, and fun cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of the Atlantic Ocean as we cycled, particularly if we came round a corner and saw it below us blue with the white surf and the cliffs ahead.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nino was great. Good leader. Assessed the Group on the first day, and let people go at their own pace, so if they wanted to race ahead they could but had to wait. Gave enough time for those of us who didn’t want to race to get our breath back before setting off again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for 80 euro lunch kitty. It also paid for drinks at the cafe stops and saved a lot of time, and the picnics were great, as well as the buffet lunches we had. When they say there may be a point that vertigo sufferers may not like, don’t worry, you’ll be fine. I hate edges and drops, and it was ok. It was only one small part one day. There is a barrier at the worst bit. Only slightly hairy bit is coming down the road, with cars behind you. Just stay in the middle of the road and make them wait! We were given the option of going in the van to miss it out, but I’m glad I did it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were given the option to cycle to Nazaré on the last day rather than transfer. Added 20k and another hill but worth it. Also worth going down to the fort, even though it is another hill.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jacqueline Menniss

    Full on trip with lots to experience

    Prepare for long days, early starts, long bus journey's and a full itinerary - but be rewarded by great varied scenery, busy bustling medinas with their labyrinth of noisy disorientating souks, to the tranquility of the Atlas mountains and the spectacular desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the desert - the camel ride through the sand dunes to the Bedouin tent was magical and a great experience. Loved the High Atlas mountain stay meeting the locals and being invited in a home for a simple meal - the berbers were so friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed the hike through the High Atlas mountains with great views. Enjoyed free time by the sea in Essaouira - a chance to relax and wander the souks which were a lot more peaceful than busy Marrakech.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was a great guide - competent and knowledgeable with a great love of his Berber heritage and culture which he shared with us. He kept us safe and took us to lots of different places to eat, recommending what we should eat and avoid. A lovely man who encouraged us to ask questions about life in Morocco, it's people, culture and religion. He knew everyone. Thanks Abdullah.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some reading and preparation before you go especially if you haven't travelled much outside of Europe. This 'premier' tour is not premier by British standards. The accommodation whilst reflecting the Moroccan experience of riads and kasbahs looks lovely and exotic, in practice they are often very basic with hard beds, faulty equipment, poor plumbing and not cleaned to the standard you might expect. Once you accept this - immerse yourself in its difference as they are beautiful. The people on the whole are very welcoming and friendly especially in the rural areas but you will experience poverty and sights that you may find uncomfortable - but this is Morroco - prepare to experience all it has and you will have a great time. '
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Ruth Chew

    Great Trip

    Rajasthan is an amazing place. The people, the colours, the chaos! This was my first visit to India and it has left me wanting more. The itinerary covered all the highlights, but our guide, Ajay, added walks in the villages and towns to add to the experience. We even visited the home of an Indian family which was lovely. The only minor negative was that there was less free time than the itinerary promised and little, if any, time to look round the markets and generally absorb the atmosphere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal was breathtaking! I will never the moment I first got sight of it. A memory that live with me forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay, our group leader, was very good. He was knowledgable, helpful, humurous and a lovely person. He could not do enough to make sure that we all had a great time. We had some wonderful food and the location for our final meal was excellent. It seemed to be his sole aim to make sure that his group had the best experience in his beautiful country.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    S J

    Excellent

    Without going into the interesting detail of the trip notes, this tour was well lead by Sujan who was very funny and knowledgeable. Compared to other Exodus holidays it is quite laid back with more time off on most days and reflects the laid back feel of Sri Lanka. The elephant safaris were wonderful and we saw 60 elephants in all.....a bit of excitement!!! had when one rammed the jeep in front, whale watching was fabulous too with 17 sightings of Blue Whale and some mating turtles. The cycling was very relaxed seeing plenty of interesting village life along the river. The hotels were mostly luxurious, always a welcome drink, barely had to move a suitcase as porters dealt with them all, most with pools and a feast for breakfast. Although it was very often only an omelette and fries or club sandwich option for lunch. Most evenings the dinners were in the hotels so this meant you could eat and go to bed when you felt like it. In Late March with 38 degrees and great humidity it was boiling but the air conditioned coach helped tremendously and there were no mosquitos. Do take an umbrella for sightseeing to keep out the sun as a hat didn’t feel enough. Drives that were set to be three hours turned out to be interesting stop and start drives as things were pointed out along the way, A trip I can recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The elephant safaris.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In late March we saw no mosquitos whatsoever so you could safely wear shorts and short sleeves to keep cool. Do take a light coloured umbrella to keep at bay the sun, like the locals, a must for sightseeing.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Graham Bacon

    Classic Vietnam and Angkor

    What a fantastic trip, Cong the leader was excellent, always willing to share his extensive knowledge of both local and country wide topics.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cambodia and it's smaller temple's.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, should be inline for the tour leader prize!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Going in March we found that we had taken to many warm clothes. Great time of the year to go.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    bruce robinson

    A Wonderful Week

    Great weather. Fresh snow plus lots of sunshine. Magnificent scenery, the Dolomites are really special both in winter and summer. Comfortable hotel with good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Tasty interesting dinners with a very good wine list to choose from. A friendly, interesting group of fellow "snowshoeers" What really made the trip special was our guide Sara. She is everything you would wish for in a guide and I can only endorse all the other glowing mentions she receives in reviews.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day was as memorable as the previous one. By the very nature of the week, the days are similar in that one is walking in the moutains through the snow but yet each is different with constantly changing vistas and challenges under foot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, Sara was deserving of all the superlatives that she receives in these reviews. Kind, caring, considerate, knowledgeable, reliable, interesting, funny, the list goes on! Thanks Sara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. You do need a reasonable degree of fitness but previous use of snowshoes is not a prerequisite.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lucy Pearce

    Amazing Adventure

    Every day provided an interesting insight into the culture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The bike ride in Hoi Ann's countryside with Zoom Zoom was inspirational, fun and informative. He discussed how the rice fields were harvested, how families acreage was allocated and we visited two locals homes. One where rice wine was made by a Vietnamese injured war veteran who had built a small business from very little and the other home a lady weaved rugs. The people who had suffered so much were kind and gracious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader for Vietnam, over 12 days, Cons Nguyen was warm, welcoming and exceptionally efficient. The transport, hotels and sight seeing logistics were impeccably managed. He always safely managed people on/off planes, buses, taxis, boats, kayaks and took the group to some pre-booked great local restaurants that we would never have found if left to our own devices. He was very knowledgeable; quickly knew the names of all 16 members of our group, consistently answered queries, always providing proactive information on both what we were doing and what we would be doing next. Our Cambodian Tour Guide, Rous over 2 days was similarly efficient albeit we had one very good full day at the Ankor complex (starting at 4.30.a.m.) with her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for many early morning starts. However, looking back you fully appreciate how much you pack-in a day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worthwhile to write a short travel log at the end of each day (I didn't!) highlighting the best bits.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Barnett

    snowshoeing in the dolomites

    A fabulous adventure. Challenging but beautiful and rewarding with undoubtedly the BEST guide in charge! We had fun, explored, felt nurtured and cared for. The hotel was gorgeous and the spa facilities were the perfect antidote to all of the hard work! As was the wonderful cuisine. A warm and friendly staff made us all feel very welcome. Take crampons....icy walking can be very tiresome if too little snow for the snowshoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ridge walk....beautiful virgin snow and astonishing views....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous....went way beyond to ensure everyone felt comfortable and had everything to ensure they enjoyed their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take crampons!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just...Do It!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Linda Scott

    An impressive holiday on all counts

    What an experience. A week of varied routes; a forest trail amongst snow laden trees - like a Narnia snowscene, mountain ascents with beautiful scenery along the way, impressive mountain ranges, breathtaking lakes, stunning mountain huts . . . A fabulous family run hotel with warm and friendly staff, elegant rooms, comfortable beds and a deep bath with copious amounts of hot water. Immense breakfast choice, fabulous food and wine, cosy bar and snug and a relaxing wellness centre.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being sat on the top of snow covered Monte Piana on a beautiful blue sky day, surrounded by impressive mountains and feeling on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can’t speak highly enough of our group leader Sara Bull. She was fun, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and supportive to all clients. Nothing was too much trouble. Sara was very organised, hard working and safety conscious. Her love of nature and the environment was clearly evident and her enthusiasm was infectious. Sara helped make our experience of the Dolomites very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think everything is covered in the trip notes really. I would just emphasise the need for sunscreen and recommend a water hydration system in your rucksack rather than phaffing about with bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you fancy experimenting with cross country skiing on your free day you are in the best place to experience it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Amanda Stevenson

    First time snowshoeing

    I'd never actually heard of snowshoeing before so thought I'd give myself a change from my usual hiking/trekking holidays and was so glad I did. The scenery, food, location and walks were fantastic. I thought snowshoes would take a bit of getting used to but you soon master the technique and are able to walk through the most amazing trails. It was a fantastic week, helped by the weather, and a change to the usual walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day's planned walk took you through the most spectacular landscapes. We were blessed with good walking weather which enhanced the experience. Scaling the top of the mountains gained you a great sense of achievement, especially the ones which were quite steep and took some effort. You were rewarded with the most fabulous views at the top and Sara, our tour guide, always ensured there was enough time for photo opportunities and to catch your breath!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was so full of energy, enthusiasm and her love of the mountains was obvious. She was a wealth of knowledge and her guidance on using our shoes was clear and helpful. Sara made the whole experience so enjoyable and was always on hand for guidance and advice. It seem't that nothing was too much trouble and she's so much fun to be around. She kept the group together and made sure that every day ran smoothly. She's a great tour leader and so committed to her job. I was amazed that she ran a foot clinic each morning prior to the walk to address any issues the group were experiencing as a result of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of potential foot problems that may occur through wearing snowshoes. I didn't experience any discomfort but a few of the group suffered blisters and rubbing sores. Sara's advice was to soak your feet in surgical spirit prior to joining the trip to harden the feet up. Some feet were really sore and this could really have spoilt the holiday experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Adler is a great base. The hotel is friendly and very well equipped. The menu and food choices were delicious. The food is of a very high quality. The breakfast and lunch selection are extensive which all adds to the quality of the holiday. I certainly didn't come back having lost weight! With the spectacular walks, the location of the hotel and the hotel facilities and, of course, the excellent tour guide, this is certainly a memorable holiday experience.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087