Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018

    Paradise in Asturias

    Having never heard of the Picos, but liking the pictures, I was pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the mountains. A stunning location, you won't go hungry nor will you be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day of the trip, being rewarded with a fabulous scramble to the last summit of the trip and by far the best views. We stood looking into the distance where the clouds were, and stood above the cloudline marvelling at the spectacle greeting us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho is an interesting guide whose sense of humour seemed to grow as the week went on. He was kind, gentle and seemed to know how to treat everyone from very early on, understanding of people's needs, especially when you are unwell. He's fantastic at topiary creations (!) and has many uses for an umbrella. Knowledge of fauna was excellent, flora not so, my only E.B.I. of the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it's going to be warm, bring some rehydration/electrolyte powders/tablets. Nacho, i'm sure, has shares in Aquarius and mineral salts!! Be prepared for mud on one of the days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Torreceredo is in a fabulous setting, with a well stocked bar and delicious food. The staff are incredibly friendly. Take their advice when they offer it, they knew best about almost everything with their decades of experience!!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Neil Thomas

    How many elephants does it take to fill a waterhole?

    I always hope that my annual holiday will deliver a "wow" moment. This trip delivered three. Firstly, the trip from Sessriem to Walvis Bay was astonishing, passing through several radically different environments in one day - from the fringes of the Namib desert, via plains and mountains to the sea; then the incredible views from Vingerklip - reminiscent of California; then best of all the proliferation of wildlife at Etosha - we had 40 elephants young and old playing at the waterhole just yards from where we were sitting at Okaukuejo. Then there were the walking lions, the sleeping lions, zebras, springbok, kudu and a dozen giraffes at another waterhole. Oh, we finally got to spot a family of wild cheetahs after a long game drive near Namatoni. Mustn't forget Dune 45 and Dead Vlei and the fact that often ours was the only vehicle on the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha, Etosha, Etosha. I guess we were particularly lucky to visit during the dry season, but even though I knew our chances of seeing the "big" mammals would be good, I could not have predicted the vast numbers we actually saw. We ticked off more than 40 species of animal - birds and mammals - in Etosha overall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was quite a character who clearly knows Namibia well and is proud of his country. He ensured everyone in the group got what they wanted from the trip. Our driver, Benson, was also a star, coping with the harsh African roads, despite having to repair a double puncture and a shattered window. He also proved to be a decent campsite cook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love spectacular scenery and spotting wild animals, then this is a must trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We took South African Rand to Namibia from the UK and this was readily accepted as if it was their own currency. We also flew out a day earlier than the group. This gave us a chance to look round Windhoek, but also meant we had the opportunity to recover from the overnight flight before starting the tour.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ruby Vytelingum

    Dolomites

    Excellent trip in amazing backdrops mixed with some demanding pistes and terrain. Our guide Martin was very engaging, knowledgeable and inspired confidence. He had time for everyone, and modulated the group well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every moment was special, but getting to the top of Piz Boe and climbing Via Ferrata on a medium route (first time rock climbing for me) topped up the list for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin was cool, very engaging/helpful knowledgeable and inspired confidence. He had time for everyone, and modulated the group really well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking poles even if you're an expert on all terrains. Dolomites is a bucket-list must do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Too much food and wastage at the hotel. I would suggest cut out one of the courses or provide options.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Pia Darker

    Inca Trail, Amazon Forest and Lake Titicaca (20 Jul-4 Aug)

    Overall, a very well-organized trip by Exodus and I cannot commend enough our Tour Leader (Smithy) and also the local guides in the Amazon Forest (Joel and Moises) and Inca Trail (Johnny). Smithy, as a Tour Leader, has demonstrated excellent leadership skills in the midst of adversity esp after the Inca Trail wherein our train back to Cusco has been delayed due to unforeseen incident that is beyond of anyone's control. Smithy has been very transparent of the situation and as a group I do feel we pull together and watch out each other. I think Exodus has been excellent in ensuring we will still continue our holiday despite of these setbacks. This is our first exodus experience and will definitely be using them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca hike and Amazon forest stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He embodies the ideal Group Leader. Good leadership, local knowledge, helpful and very much accomodating. He knows the word empathy and connects well with people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and just take the experience one step at a time and just take in the moment as it comes. Join the your with open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I mentioned, all local tour guides were great except Junior in Lake Titicaca. Compared to all other guide, he is good but there are room for improvement. Firstly, I didn't like the way he approach some member's of our group who have Osprey Backpacks and try to buy it. This approach happened from the beginning of the tour before we even board the boat and I just find this very unprofessional. Other than that, he sees to it that everyone is having a good time. Also, as much as Lake Titicaca is beautiful and the homestead stay was interesting. Myself and most of the people in our group feels that additional day in Cusco will be far more interesting than going to Lake Titicaca, probably something to consider in the future.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Pia Darker

    Inca Trail, Amazon Forest and Lake Titicaca (20 Jul-4 Aug)

    Overall, a very well-organized trip by Exodus and I cannot commend enough our Tour Leader (Smithy) and also the local guides in the Amazon Forest (Joel and Moises) and Inca Trail (Johnny). Smithy, as a Tour Leader, has demonstrated excellent leadership skills in the midst of adversity esp after the Inca Trail wherein our train back to Cusco has been delayed due to unforeseen incident that is beyond of anyone's control. Smithy has been very transparent of the situation and as a group I do feel we pull together and watch out each other. I think Exodus has been excellent in ensuring we will still continue our holiday despite of these setbacks. This is our first exodus experience and will definitely be using them again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca hike and Amazon forest stay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He embodies the ideal Group Leader. Good leadership, local knowledge, helpful and very much accomodating. He knows the word empathy and connects well with people.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and just take the experience one step at a time and just take in the moment as it comes. Join the your with open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I mentioned, all local tour guides were great except Junior in Lake Titicaca. Compared to all other guide, he is good but there are room for improvement. Firstly, I didn't like the way he approach some member's of our group who have Osprey Backpacks and try to buy it. This approach happened from the beginning of the tour before we even board the boat and I just find this very unprofessional. Other than that, he sees to it that everyone is having a good time. Also, as much as Lake Titicaca is beautiful and the homestead stay was interesting. Myself and most of the people in our group feels that additional day in Cusco will be far more interesting than going to Lake Titicaca, probably something to consider in the future.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Annie Davidson

    Fantastic Trip!

    Highly recommend this trip, everything was great from the magnificent walks to the incredible food. The chalet itself and town of Chamonix are lovely, and each day trip and hike provided beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all so scenic, but Lac Blanc and also the day in Italy with wildflowers in full bloom were particularly beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our walking guide Jim was fantastic, very knowledgeable and friendly. And chalet hosts Sarah and Rich were also great; Sarah is an incredible chef and the food was well beyond expectations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd recommend going paragliding on the day off, super fun.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sheena Rsentreter

    An Amazing and Incredibly diverse Adventure

    This trip was the ultimate collection of culture, animals and sightseeing. From metropolitan Cape Town to the beauty and remoteness of Namibia's deserts and sand dunes, the thrill of game drives and the beauty of Victoria falls, this trip has it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Dune 45 in a sandstorm or feeling the rain of Victoria Falls covering you under a lunar rainbow were incredible highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've been on many group tours and Andrew and Ende have to be some of the best guides I've ever had. Inspiring, hard working and patient as well as able to overcome anything Africa and her bumpy roads had to throw at us. These two were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    TIA. This is Africa. Be open to the fact that this country is incredibly different from where you might be from and enjoy every part of that experience. It's a completely different culture and world and embracing that gives you a one of a kind experience and memories that will last lifetime.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Susan Mann

    Excellent wildlife

    A fantastic trip to a beautiful country. My main purpose was to see orang utans in the wild, although I was prepared to be disappointed. However expectations were exceeded and we saw several in the Danum Valley and at Kinatabangan. Also many monkeys, birds, amazing insects and reptiles. Seeing the pygmy elephants was the icing on the cake, although it was a it disturbing to see how close all the boats got to the elephant that was in the river - I think they stopped her going where she wanted to go.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick one as always, but watching a couple of orang utans making their nests for the night and the next day watching a mother orang help her baby by holding onto tree branches so you could get from one tree to the next are both special memories

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Beverley was very good, extensive knowledge of Borneo culture and history that she shared with us. She went out of her way to organise extra activities for us to increase our wildlife spotting. She took us to some excellent and very cheap restaurants that the locals frequent, which is actually what we want as tourists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July is the dry season so our trip was not affected by the few torrential downpours that we had, most of which happened during the evening/night. Maybe that's a good time to go. Even so, a poncho is a must. When it rains, it rains! I was glad I took my walking boots, though I had thought long and hard about it. Prepare to be hot and very sweaty a lot of the time! I'm not a mad-keen photographer myself, I think you can spend so much time and effort trying to get a photo that you don't actually watch. However, if you are a photographer, remember the light is low in the forest and also a lot of the wildlife is high up so a good zoom is needed for good photos!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make the most of it and join in with everything on offer! This is a very enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Amanda & Martin Randall

    Botswana & Zimbabwe Lodge Safari

    This was our first trip to Africa and it far exceeded expectations. The itinerary was balanced and very well organised and we were fortunate to see a huge variety of wildlife - including four of the 'big five' on the first day! Although there were (by necessity) some long drives, the vehicle was comfortable and well-driven by Sofiso. Our guide Rowan both entertained us and still continued to point out interesting features and wildlife all along the way, making sure we didn't miss a thing! There was a variety of accommodation and even the tents in the Delta were comfortable. Our focus was the wildlife and the amount and variety were superlative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were just so many highlights that choosing just one is impossible! The visit to the Okavango Delta via mokoros, camping and the game walks were inspirational. Whilst here, we watched an elephant approach our camp and then wander over to a palm tree where it proceeded to shake the tree trunk vigorously, causing the palm nuts to rain down. We watched it eat the nuts and then repeat the performance - magic. Watching a huge flock of vibrant lesser flamingos flying in the evening light at the Makgadikgadi Salt pans. In Chobe, seeing a leopard resting up a tree twitching its tail, guarding its impala prey. At Matobo, standing within a few metres from a mother white rhino and her baby (and her teenage calf) and then going to visit centuries old cave paintings which captured the wildlife so accurately (including rhino!). In Hwange, looking into the faces of lion cubs who were resting in the shade after a big meal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was very knowledgable, friendly, fun and enthusiastic and helped us to get the full benefit from all our trips. He quickly made sure that the group was a cohesive unit in which we were all equal. He was extremely well organised throughout the trip and at border crossings gave us all very clear guidance as to what we needed to do, making these parts of the trip go as smoothly as possible, too. Rowan prepared and served us some great meals after long days on excursions. We often enjoyed these sitting round the camp fire at night and he still had the energy to entertain us into the evening! Couldn't have asked for more!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were surprised just how cold the early morning game drives were in open vehicles (we were there in July/ August; winter). The blankets provided certainly helped, but we probably should have taken light windproof jackets as well as fleeces. We had hats and gloves and also neck buffs - the latter very useful to protect against the dust as well as to keep warm/ stop any biting insects/ protect from the sun! We weren't troubled by insects, as it happened! We took US dollars which were fine for Zimbabwe, but local shops & traders in Botswana preferred pula. There were plenty of opportunities to stop at ATMs for these so this was not a problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking about booking this trip - do it! It is worth thinking about what you hope to see and planning the time of year accordingly. (Victoria Falls still had plenty of water, even at the beginning of August). We certainly had an experience of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Rod & Mo MacInnes

    Sri Lanka With Suresh And The Team

    So many experiences in a wonderful country with such a wonderful guide - DO IT - you will not be disappointed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to 'The Hill Club' after an epic climb and with our fellow cyclists savouring that first (that day) Lion Beer!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Several years ago we we had our first cycling holiday in Vietnam and had the pleasure of being guided by 'Yan The Man' (subsequently guide of the year) on a fantastic holiday which we did not think could ever be bettered. However this year found us on our 5th cycle holiday with Exodus and Suresh and his excellent team ensured this one was the best yet! Big of frame, enthusiasm and fun Suresh was a total pleasure to be with. His love of his country and intimate knowledge of it's geography, wildlife and history ensured that he was able to give context and description for all we experienced. It was clear he was well respected in the way others interacted with him, whether hotel staff, householders or total strangers he happened upon. He was well able to gently 'crack the whip' when required and we very much knew that although it was our holiday Suresh's instructions were always for a reason, primarily our well being, safety and comfort. It was clear that Suresh cared for his guests and he was constantly checking how things were from meals, accommodation through to cycle stages and throughout put us all very much at ease knowing that there was nothing our guide would not do for us or could not fix. There are so many fond memories of Suresh; from his buffet exhortion of "Maximum Damage!" from the CD disc he gave to us all of photographs he had taken through the holiday of us and other sights, to arranging taxis once we had taken our leave of him, but the highlight was Suresh appearing at the meal table with a cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary along with framed photograph. Suresh has been conducting this tour for many years but it is the mark of the man that he has clearly never lost the the delight and 'buzz' from leading, sharing and giving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take isotonic tabs for your water bottle together with a spare water bottle

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suresh was well assisted by the rest of his team who were always there to assist and Serenga was awesome on his traffic stops to get us out at junctions, together with his knowledge of the flora and fauna of the country.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087