Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Flash Sale - Save up to 15% on any Guided Group adventure (and 10% on any Self-Guided adventure). Learn more

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ted Cornell

    Amazing Trip!

    The trip was really amazing. The itinerary was perfect, with long and short rides, a variety of interesting places to see and to stay. The group was very compatible, and we elected to eat all dinners together. As said at our final meal, we really became a team over the week having fun together and looking out for each other. Our leader, Michele, was terrific and kept us all together with friendly and upbeat manner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several high points, including touring Matera and Lecce and staying in a trulli and a farm house, as well as the views of the coasts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was the best! As a leader he kept us together in a friendly, gentle way and was always upbeat and positive. He knew all of the cultural attractions, and would stop to show them to us on the way or walking around town after dinner. Michele also arranged some great dinners for us. He really made it extra fun for all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good idea to spend an extra day in Matera and Lecce, lots to see there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would re-examine two hotels we stayed at. Rooms were fine but very hot, as they hadn't turned on the air conditioning systems yet.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    GILL BLACKGROVE

    A great week af culture and long journeys

    The trip involves a lot of travel, but the Sahara and Gite experiences were worth it. Take the itinerary with a small pinch of salt [which the food also needs] and enjoy the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    sleeping out under the Sahara stars, with Bedouin musicians softly drumming me to sleep. I loved the gite too - Walking up to the gite, especially along the river and seeing the villages as we walked. I chose not to go on any walk and enjoyed relaxing in the superb views - the 3-4 hour walk came back in 5 hours...... I enjoyed the ad-hoc school visit too. Ait Ben Haddou at sunset was beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was fun and funny - though his timings and distances were more Moroccan than British. the Hamman at the gite was "just next door" and turned out to be 10 minutes up a very narrow rocky pathway - hazardous as we came down in pitch dark, some people in flip flops. He was full of enthusiasm and organised us well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ITINERARY - go with the flow as far as itinerary and trip notes and timing are concerned. MONEY - We arrived on a Saturday and could change no money until Monday, so I'd advise you to change some money at least on arrival or before you travel. I also lost £150 somewhere between arrival and Ouerzazete [day 1 and day 2] - could have been carelessness, but it was probably stolen. No ATM anywhere would give me money, so I had to borrow. Although we ladies had a huge hilarious laugh at the hammam experience, I'd not do it again - I can scrub myself thank you and am not one who enjoys the stripping off / manhandling experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    there is no formal visit and hand-over of the "pack with a purpose" goods listed in the trip notes. We did visit a school classroom - all very last minute as we passed, and handed over the pens, cards etc. I had packed some gloves and paint brushes which weren't all that appropriate to the school's needs. Expect very ordinary food [ chicken or lamb stew] and a carb overload. Vegetarians beware - there is no understanding of the concept and our vegetarian was expected to fish out the vegetables from the chicken tagine. The alternative is omelette 3 times a day. this is a great trip, slightly whirlwind trip and if you are prepared to be flexible you will love it.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    GILL BLACKGROVE

    A great week af culture and long journeys

    The trip involves a lot of travel, but the Sahara and Gite experiences were worth it. Take the itinerary with a small pinch of salt [which the food also needs] and enjoy the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    sleeping out under the Sahara stars, with Bedouin musicians softly drumming me to sleep. I loved the gite too - Walking up to the gite, especially along the river and seeing the villages as we walked. I chose not to go on any walk and enjoyed relaxing in the superb views - the 3-4 hour walk came back in 5 hours...... I enjoyed the ad-hoc school visit too. Ait Ben Haddou at sunset was beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was fun and funny - though his timings and distances were more Moroccan than British. the Hamman at the gite was "just next door" and turned out to be 10 minutes up a very narrow rocky pathway - hazardous as we came down in pitch dark, some people in flip flops. He was full of enthusiasm and organised us well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ITINERARY - go with the flow as far as itinerary and trip notes and timing are concerned. MONEY - We arrived on a Saturday and could change no money until Monday, so I'd advise you to change some money at least on arrival or before you travel. I also lost £150 somewhere between arrival and Ouerzazete [day 1 and day 2] - could have been carelessness, but it was probably stolen. No ATM anywhere would give me money, so I had to borrow. Although we ladies had a huge hilarious laugh at the hammam experience, I'd not do it again - I can scrub myself thank you and am not one who enjoys the stripping off / manhandling experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    there is no formal visit and hand-over of the "pack with a purpose" goods listed in the trip notes. We did visit a school classroom - all very last minute as we passed, and handed over the pens, cards etc. I had packed some gloves and paint brushes which weren't all that appropriate to the school's needs. Expect very ordinary food [ chicken or lamb stew] and a carb overload. Vegetarians beware - there is no understanding of the concept and our vegetarian was expected to fish out the vegetables from the chicken tagine. The alternative is omelette 3 times a day. this is a great trip, slightly whirlwind trip and if you are prepared to be flexible you will love it.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Fiona Sims

    Costa Rica Family Adventure

    Family adventure trip - you moved on every couple days so you needed to pack wisely. There was a lot of boat trips and travelling around the country. There was a huge amount of wildlife to see so a pair of binoculars is good. Highlights were Tortugero National Park - truly remote location, beach at Cahuita and seeing Buttercup.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    White water rafting at Sarapiqui - instructors were great - really good with the kids and great lunch provided afterwards.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorge was inspirational - his knowledge of the wildlife was exceptional. He was great with the kids.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A plastic poncho - raincoats even the highest tech do not shelter you or backpacks enough from the torrential downpours, and invariably it takes jackets a long time to dry out. The luggage is packed onto a minibus so we found that smaller wheelie cases worked well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would like to remain anonymous
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Paul Clifton

    Trails of Vietnam 1st - 14th April 2018

    Overall, this was a very enjoyable and active trip which enabled us to get a good undersanding of the different areas and lifestyles of the people from the hill-tribe villages in the north down to the islands and floating market traders in the Mekong Delta. Unfortunately, we were all disapointed when we were told that we would not be allowed to stay on our boat in Halong Bay overnight and would not be able to enjoy the planned kayaking around the islands. We had not made aware that this could happen. Following on from this we had a full day in Hue when it rained the whole day, whilst we did visit the Imperial Citadel and Thien Mu Pagoda (in the rain) it prevented us cycling to other planned places of interest. Once we had flown south to Ho Chi Minh City and the weather improved (+35C) our moral was restored and we enjoyed a very active and varied 2nd half of the tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the two hilltribe settlements of Sung Village and Đá Bia village in Hoa Binh Province. and meeting the Dzau Tien and Muong people. So welcoming, uncommercial, natural and friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Phi Hoang. Very nice guy, very knowledgeable and passionate about his country and culture. A minor criticism would be that he could have provided more information on interesting buildings and points of interest during the many long and tedious bus journeys we undertook. I suppose to him they are just everyday buildings but to us tourists they are all very interesting pieces of architecture and culture. Also, as I have noticed on my previous trip to Cambodia the guides always seem to take the tourists to the more upmarket, European, trendy and very expensive restaurants (by local standards). Personally, I would prefer to try the more authentic, local cuisine and more "street food". On one occasion, our guide wanted to take us to a restaurant by taxi which we could have walked to faster. When he called taxis to take us back to our hotel after our meal, we refused and said that we wanted to walk a little after our meal. We are all grown adults and do not need to be chaperoned.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise potential travellers to try to add a couple of days onto the start and end of the trip if at all possible as this gives the traveler a little time to acclimatise and to get over some of the jet lag before starting a fairly intensive travell programme. On this particular trip, I would advise travelers to ensure they take something warm to wear on the overnight train journey with the Reunification Express from Hanoi down to Hue. The air conditioning is absolutely freezing and cannot be controlled from the cabins. The four people in our cabin froze and struggled to get any sleep.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately, after a very good start to our trip we hit a low point on day 5 when we had travelled to Halong Bay for our overnight boat trip in the bay and Kayaking around the islands. Whilst we did board our boat and enjoyed a nice lunch sailing in the bay, we were told that the authorities had stated that "no boats would be allowed to stay on the water during the evening or night time due to an impending storm". We and all the other boats had then to return to shore and we were transferred to a very dated and tired looking hotel in Halong City for the night's stay. Many of the group were very disapointed that they did not get an opportunity for kayaking which was one of their main attractions when booking this trip. What made the situation worse was the fact that it was not wet or stormy during the night, so we could have stayed on board. The poor weather then hit the shore on the following day when we had travelled to Hue. Personally, prior to travelling I had thought Halong Bay would be the highlight of this trip but in reality, it was disapointing and overrated. The bay and islands are certainly beautiful but the area is far too commercial with too many tourists and hundreds of tourist boats all following each other around in circles in a closely controlled area of the bay.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Margaret Baker

    Magical Morocco and the Sahara

    This was a great trip as a taster for what Morocco offers. There was a lot of travelling in the minibus but it was worth it for the variety of experiences we had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say really but the camel ride and the night in the nomad camp in the desert was really special. Some of us slept outside under the stars which was amazing. It was mid April but it was not cold although I kept many clothes on and slept in my 4 season sleeping bag. A 4 season bag was not suggested or necessary but it was my only one. Some even took just a sleeping bag inner which was fine on this occasion as blankets and pillows were available and the temperature didn’t drop too low. Didn’t meet any beasties or scorpions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Abdul was excellent and very knowledgeable and great fun although his idea of “just next door” or “it’s an hour’s walk” didn’t always match ours! He shared a lot about himself and his life in Morocco and enjoyed learning about ours without being intrusive. It all added to the enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Towel and shampoo essential for the hammam visit, and a sense of humour and adventure will also help! The optional morning trek from the gite was significantly longer than advertised. Check the exact itinerary and time before you set off. Our 3-4 hour walk was 5 1/2 hours. Good walkers only should tackle this one. It appeared much harder than suggested in the trip notes. An optional 1 1/2 hour walk around the village took 2 hours. However, time that day was relaxed and everyone who did the walks enjoyed them. I was in a small group who took the third option of staying put and relaxing on the balcony of the gite!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Despite the long drives, this was well worth the travelling to get down into the Sahara for the nomad camp site visit. The scenery along the route was simply stunning, from the High Atlas Mountains to the sandy Sahara.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Maureen Lamb

    Wishing I was back in China

    I loved this holiday. I'm missing being outside all day, walking surrounded by great scenery, lovely company, apricot blossom, learning about a culture I knew very little about, the food..... I hadn't travelled with Exodus before, but would definitely do so again. I'm really glad that I was able to do the Xi'an extension. After walking the wall and sightseeing in Beijing I really wanted to see more, and was not disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all of the walking, even in the rain. Seeing the local guides look as though they were out for an afternoon stroll while we were puffing and panting was certainly impressive. I found the wall and the Terracotta Warriors to be on a scale I had not been able to imagine. Cycling around the city walls of Xi'an as the sun went down was delightful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jerry Wu was excellent. We benefited not only from his knowledge patience and enthusiasm but his local contacts and friendships. Jerry clearly felt a real responsibility for us, even writing potentially useful questions in Chinese and English for our journey to Xi'an. These did in fact help us. He ensured we had as good a holiday as possible, and stayed safe. In addition he has a wonderful sense of humour. Michelle our guide in Xi'an was also knowledgeable and really helpful. She took us off the tourist track for a meal after our visit to the Terracotta warriors. I never knew noodles could taste so good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be fooled by the apparently low number of miles walked, as the video clip on the exodus website shows, the walk is steep up and steep down, my calf muscles certainly knew about it. I wondered whether to take walking poles, as I hadn't used them previously. Took them but didn't use them, I did however use my hands and knees. I packed a woolly hat, gloves, a sun hat and sun cream and used them all - the woolly hat and gloves to sleep in one night! The weather certainly changed quickly. I took a sleeping bag liner, which was well worth packing. If rain is a possibility a rain cover for your day rucksack looks helpful. I imagine if you love coffee it would be worth taking your own supply. I really enjoyed the additional activities - Tai Chi, the Kung Fu show, the Acrobat show, all great fun.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    James (Jim) Clarke

    Greek Island Wanderer

    A well balanced trip that gives a taste of 3 contrasting islands. Travelling in April proved to be an ideal opportunity to see a different side to Greece - quieter, greener and a comfortable temperature for walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks in Naxos and Paros were excellent, offering the opportunity to not only experience the pace of genuine Island life but also to enjoy the many varieties of herbs and flowers that abound at this time of year. Santorini was an impressive spectacle which even the general busyness of the town could not detract from.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have experienced many group leaders and would rate Thanos as being amongst the best of them; he anticipated the needs of individuals in the group and ensured everyone was included. It was a joy to listen to his obvious passion for all things Greek and his wish to share them, his breadth of general knowledge ensured he answered all questions and could participate in any discussions. A friendly, efficient leader who is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light using layers rather than bulky clothing in April and prepare for mosquitoes in Paros, even in April. When on Santorini do make the effort to visit both the ancient buried site of Akrotiri (easily done by public bus which leaves from close to the hotel) and the New Prehistoric Museum (also close to the hotel) to help make sense of the Bronze Age settlement of Santorini which can easily be done in a morning and offers the bonus of seeing more of the Island.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jo Griffiths

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    Hiking amidst the most awe-inspiring scenery, a not to be missed, truly outstanding trip! I have travelled with Exodus on many occasions, and this trip is so finely tuned it is impossible to find fault. Perfect pacing, acclimatisation, itinerary and physical challenge. Challenge is also present in some of the Tea Houses, but the trip notes give ample notice about how basic they can be, and I found this added to the whole experience. Some were terrific, and some were simply a place to rest and refuel before another day enjoying the magnificent mountains. Having said this, the food served in all the Tea Houses was always great; I enjoyed a whole range of local food, including Dhal Bhat and Sherpa soup, but also couldn’t resist the odd plate of egg and chips!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Kala Patthar. I hadn’t really paid attention at the briefing, I just thought it would be a nice optional trek up a mountain to see sunrise over Everest. We set off at 4.30 am, within 10 minutes my water bottle had frozen and I’d lost all feeling in my fingers (despite wearing 3 pairs of gloves!). Panic started to set in when I realised that the ice I was slipping on going up, would be 10 times worse coming down; the headache and nausea didn’t help either. However, the sense of achievement getting to the top, and getting the best views of Everest with a sunrise to boot were worth every second of hardship. Glorious! Special mention also for all the Porters, Yaks, Dzos, and Mules. It was both inspirational and humbling to see the vast range of products they carry on a daily basis to enable hikers to complete the trek with some degree of comfort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay is a superb Tour Leader, ably assisted by the two guides on this trek, Suresh and Mingmar and Kumar, our Yak Man. The service we received from this awesome team was outstanding; they couldn’t do enough for us. No task too big or too small, and always with a smile. Daily health checks and constant reminders to drink water and eat well helped us all to stay safe and healthy. Our last night in Lukla, when we had a lovely meal with the whole team, a few celebratory beers and a dance, it really demonstrated the special bond that tour leaders can foster in the groups they lead.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, in particular the information about buying bottled water. I took a Steripen and it worked perfectly, some others on the trip took purification tablets; they also worked. It was disheartening to see so many bottles of water being purchased when Exodus are working so hard to ‘Ban the Bottle’. Avoid the very long queues at Kathmandu and buy your Visa before you travel. Take really good gloves/mittens. The food is reasonably priced in the Tea Houses, so if you can live with showers and WiFi you won't need excessive amounts of money. It can be tricky changing it back to Sterling if you do underspend. `

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The success of a trip is always about the people. Like-minded fellow travellers, making new friends, plus the quality of the Tour Leader and support staff who make the experience so rewarding and unique. In addition, the people you meet on the way, the Nepalese people are so friendly and welcoming, and we even bumped into some potential Everest summiteers! Book the trip, it will not disappoint!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anne Brown

    Annapurna and Chitwan in Luxury

    A wonderfully varied holiday, with city visits, trekking in the foothills of the Himalayas and a jungle safari to see the rhino.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up and having breakfast in the garden of the mountain lodges while watching the sun come up on the mountain tops. Bathing the elephants in the river. Trekking through mountain villages, enjoying the beautiful scenery and learning about the villagers' way of life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gum was such a professional guide, so thoughtful and attentive to the individual needs of each member of the group. We learnt so much from him about his country's customs and way of life and nothing was too much trouble for him to ensure that we had the most enjoyable holiday possible - a lovely man!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch out for leeches in the wooded areas of the mountains!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am lucky enough to have done a lot of travelling, but have never had a trekking holiday and really enjoyed the experience - maybe more to come??
Call us on 1 844 227 9087