Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

47 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2020
    Linda Pearce

    Unforgettable

    The week exceeded my expectations. I had thought a week would give me just a glimpse of Egypt but there was so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone in the tomb of Rameses V and VI (kv9) surrounded by huge walls and pillars covered with pristine hieroglyphics of such vibrant colors it took your breath away. It is well worth the extra EP 100 to go inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot praise Tefa highly enough. His organization, empathy, knowledge of Egyptology and attention to every detail of our experience was exceptional. Extra unscheduled mini trips were arranged in free time for anyone who mentioned something they would like to do. Health issues were dealt with including pushing a wheelchair round a temple! Tefa really made sure we all had a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When I read the trip notes I was concerned about how the extra trips fitted in with the basic plan. My concerns were unfounded. It is all very well arranged. I would say.... do as much as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The four nights on the boat make a good base for the visits to temples and tombs. Without the continuity of the boat it could have felt very hectic.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Bryan Mason

    Fabulous sights from the Ancient World and a chance to glimpse modern Egypt

    Brilliant glimpses into the ancient world with access to many fantastic sights. As with most Exodus trips it is often full on with some early starts, but these do pay dividends. The tour party, at 20. was probably too big as you travel as fast as the slowest person on the trip. Accommodation was mostly good with a couple of more modest places, but locations were always excellent. I personally could have done without the trip to Alexandria which didn't compare to having had more time in the amazing Cairo museum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Ancient world with amazing sights and fantastic art from a former civilisation. The wonder grew with each sight, culminating in Luxor with the Valley of the Kings and then the jaw dropping Karnak Temple. However, the food walk tour through modern Cairo was exciting and allowed us to see real life in this incredibly huge and vibrant city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrew was excellent and maintained a high level of excitement and provided expert knowledge on the world of Ancient Egypt as well as more modern developments. He was fun and always available. We felt safe and supported throughout the whole trip, whether that was around provision of water and hygenic food to how to behave in public.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Forget any fears about safety and embrace the culture of modern Egypt . You will be rewarded with sights that are out of this world, ranging from the Pyriamids at Giza to the Rameses temple at Abu Simbel to the magnificence of the tombs in the Valley of the Kings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The leisurely ride around the Nile by felucca on arrival at Aswan was magical, and enhanced by fabulous food. The cruise up the Nile was extremely comfortable and allowed us all to really relax while watching the world go by and waiting for the next ancient site to appear.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Andrew Davies

    Outstanding Experience

    Too many superlatives. Exceeded expectations in so many ways. The archaeology the food and comfort and Sayed our fantastic guide with a lovely group of fellow travellers. Bucket list well and truly ticked for Egypt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving early at the market in Aswan with a real local insight into life. Stumbling in on a coptic Christian festival at the monastery. Hanging on to a camel for dear life! The felucca trip. Aswan was the best bit for me. Watching river life on the Nile and the friendly people waving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was outstanding. He was incredibly well organised and genuinely kind and so enthusiastic about the sites and his country. We loved hearing him bring both ancient and modern Egypt to life. He was inspiring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the excursions. They are undersold in the trip notes and at the monestary at Aswan and the tombs of the workers we were privileged to be the only tourists in sight. Leave any shopping for Aswan where the people are more relaxed and give less hassle. Take binoculars for the amazing bird life. Very early starts but a price worth paying to see the sites with fewer people around.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Joe Doucet

    Outstanding trip

    This was a full packed trip , informative trip led by Mohammed Tefa whose in depth knowledge, and leadership style made the trip a wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel
  • Reviewed November 2019
    David Gregson

    Wonders of Egypt

    This trip offered a wide variety of experiences along the length of the River Nile.The trip was very well organised and Andrew our guide was extremely knowledgable and helpful. The trip was full on with many early morning starts. Take extra money for the add on activities as without them the holiday would not have been so exiting.Be aware of extra charges at some of the sites such as a camera tax. In my opinion the group size was too large and made it difficult to hear the guide at some sites that were always crowded.However the chemistry of the group was excellent and I very much enjoyed everyones company. Accommodation throughout the trip was satisfactory to excellent.The Nile cruise experience was something I’ll never forget, but the highlights of the trip were the astounding places we visited.My favourite was the Valley of the Kings that simply ‘blew my mind away’. I left this holiday with a feel good factor and my only regret is that we didn’t have more free time especially in the Cairo Museum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments. The Nile Cruise was wonderful as were the visits to the World Heritage sites.I was however most inspired by the visit to the Valley of the Kings.Must return again one day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrew was a very well organised and knowledgeable leader. He had good people skills and handled a large group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t bother unpacking your suitcase. Bring lots of extra cash. Bring insect repellant other wise you will be bitten. Read up on Egyptian history before you go. Don’t buy anything in the government shops as they are a rip off.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful trip that would be better in a slightly smaller group.There is Avery large variety of activities ...something for everyone!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Stephen Williams

    Fantastic Trip

    I was blown away by the history of Egypt and how ancient the civilisation is. This trip gives an excellent overview from the first pyramids to the time of Cleopatra with a bit of 20th century thrown in. The biggest surprise for me was the Egyptians who I found to be very friendly (but excellent salesmen). Our guide was superb and I felt very safe throughout the trip. Choose your time carefully because of the heat but I strongly recommend Egypt. It is one of the few trips I was not ready to come home from.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every time you see a new wonder.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do all the optional extras.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lots of the Egyptians asked us to go home and tell people how safe Egypt is. I always felt very safe and would go back tomorrow if there weren't other places to see.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Phillip Pomeroy

    Egypt Ancient and Modern

    A fascinating, informative, and very enjoyable tour with the chance to dress up thrown in for good measure! As with all Exodus trips we had some early starts and long days with now wasted time in between. If you want to see a lot of Egypt and experience its history from ancient times through to the modern day then this is the trip to take.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids without crowds (not at Giza, for this head out to Saqqarah). Being inside the tomb of Ramses VI in the Valley of the Kings and admiring 3000 year old carvings and paintings everywhere you look, again without crowds (extra payment needed - not a lot and well worth it!). Wouldn't describe them as inspiring but certainly unforgettable and at times jaw dropping in their grandeur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed must rate as one of the best group leaders. He is knowledgeable on all aspects of his countries history and had the ability to tell a story and hold his audience throughout. His knack of bringing out members of the group to play the roles of the characters in the story (no acting ability needed) brought the tales to life. I was pleased to play the part of Pharaoh Thutmose III Egypt's most successful ruler. As well as being a font of information he looked after the needs of the group when they suffered from "Pharaoh's Curse" and ensured that we all knew where to be and when. If you read this and are fortunate enough to have him as a group leader you will not be disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the usual health precautions, stick to bottled water and avoid salads except in hotels and restaurants recommended by your group leader. Have some small notes / coins for toilets. Cash is better than credit card as you avoid the 3% service charge. Changing money is easy but all traders and shops will take sterling, euros or dollars and give you a fair exchange rate. Optional tours will add up (£450 ish for two) but they are all worthwhile. We did everything on the trip note lists apart from the sound and light show. Abu Simbel is an expensive trip but is worth every penny. Go by road, have the excitement(?) of a pre-dawn start and see the sunrise over the Sahara desert on the way. As a bonus you will be able to admire genuine desert mirages on the trip back. You will miss so much if you fly (and pay a lot more). Go inside the pyramids for the experience. The Red Pyramid at Saqqara is far less crowded that the Great Pyramid at Giza.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt is a poor country, though you wouldn't think it with some of the prices they ask for souvenirs!. The locals need you to spend money, but haggling is expected and can be very intense. Sellers will look broken hearted as you knock the price down but don't be fooled they want to make a sale and, as with everything, some you win and some you will lose. Be prepared to be spoken to as if you are a long lost friend but beware all acts of kindness (except directions) have a price. If some one offers to take a picture for you it costs, if they offer to carry your bags it costs. Be wary of the item offered for "one dollar", that is the price to look at it not buy! Expect a friendly welcome wherever you visit and have a great time. Thanks to everyone in our group for making this such a memorable tour.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    derek crosbee

    Successful holiday

    Egypt is a fascinating country and we covered so much of it and some 4,000 years of its history most of which was new to me. A land of many contrasts from the great cities of Cairo and Alexandria to the great Pyramids to the El Alamein battlefields down to beautiful Aswan the Nubian desert to Abu Simbel and to the treasures of Luxor everything bound together by the Nile river - Egypts lifeblood. The different modes of transport we used helped to bring out the contrasts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite an hard question probably Abu Simbel not only for its beauty but also for the incredible efforts of the Egyptian people in moving it from its original site and re-building it in its current surroundings

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was a fine guide with an exceptional depth of knowledge - he always described himself as an Eygptologist rather than a tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare yourself for taking onboard an amazing amount of information. Take plenty of deet - flies everywhere
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Maggie Murfitt

    Hurry Up and go to Egypt!

    This was one of the best trips I have done. The guide Ahmed is fantastic, he knows EVERYTHING about his country He explained everything really well with just enough detail. He was also great fun, a really nice man. The trip is physically easy, however, there are some very early starts but Ahmed organised wake up calls for us. The monuments will take your breath away, I can’t pic a favourite place. The hotels are good and the level of service is excellent. The first and last hotels are really good and the cruise ship was stunning. I stayed an extra couple of nights and I’m glad I did. What a fantastic experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the Valley of the Kings, or the Museum in Cairo, or Abu Simbel, or the Temple at Karnak, or the Coptic monastery..........

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One of the best tour guides I have ever had, Ahmed was enthusiastic and inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There was only one Temple that we had to cover up but they give you stuff to put on over your clothes. The rest of the time scrappy t shirts and shorts are fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book it and go. Don’t be afraid, security is very high, there are X-ray scanners at the entrance of almost every building you go in. Security guards are everywhere and the security at Luxor airport is massive. The people are really lovely and friendly and they don’t even have pick pockets in the markets. Also, there is a fixed exchange rate which applies everywhere including hotels and ATMs. Just go!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Sue Clark

    Amazing, inspiring trip!

    This trip is not for those who are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. Lots of early starts made the most of the opportunities we had to get under the skin of this brilliant country. There is a lot to see and while some of the trips are optional, it's worth trying to add several to your itinery, so budget accordingly! We had a great group of travellers and a brilliant tour guide who was funny, patient (I had lots of questions) and always kind - thank you Ahmed! When you make short stops, particularly early on on the tour, leave everything except your camera (and maybe a small amount of money) in the tour bus - there are often crowds and there are hawkers everywhere - there's always an opportunity to buy souvenirs in Egypt! The vegetarian food is adequate, but not always super interesting - the food tour of Cairo, the Nile boat and the Nubian fellucca ride were hi-lights! Take the tour leader's advice - he was usually right!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fellucca ride on the Nile, together with lunch on the boat - the food was amazing and the boat ride was magical! I was very keen to see inside the tombs in the Valley of the Kings - King Ramses VI tomb was brilliant! Hatshepsut's temple was just as impressive as it looked on TV - definitely a must! The sleeper train ride was great fun! The one that surprised me (in a good way) was the war cemetry at El-Alamein: it's beautiful, peaceful and quiet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was great! He was kind, helpful, knowledgeable and funny! He kept us going, looked after everyone (we had a group from 23 to 76!) and tried to answer our numerous questions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of £ or $ (make sure it's all notes - particularly small values) you will get good exchange rates with the local traders! Take an extra bag - there's a lot you can buy and will want to buy! Go with an open mind and a willingness to learn. If you are blond and female you will get lots of attention!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The people are friendly, the traders are pushy but will give up if you make it clear that you are not interested. Be prepared to barter - it's part of the fun! There's so much to see and do - you might need a holiday at the end to recover (in a good way!).