Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Rebecca Nind

    5 stars - a superb trip!

    This was not only my first trip with Exodus, but my first hiking trip and it far exceeded my expectations. The chalet was well located and buses and trains are easy to get to explore Chamonix and the surrounding area. Chamonix is a beautiful resort to spend time in, and the walks were very varied and the views were well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery on the walks was breath-taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Adelene, was outstanding - she moved the proposed walks around to different days to ensure that we were able to make the most of our days and whatever the weather had in store for us. She seemed very relaxed and easy-going, but still organised everything well and ensured that the days and using public transport ran like clockwork. She factored in adequate rests throughout each walk and made sure everyone had caught up and had a short break before setting off again. Every morning she gave us a thorough and honest briefing about that day's walk and what sort of gradient and terrain we could expect and what interesting sites to look out for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles can be borrowed from the chalet - definitely make use of these for the walks. Make sure to stretch after every walk. Chamonix is full of outdoor clothing/sports stores, which is perfect if you have forgotten to bring anything or need a last minute pair of waterproof trousers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our chalet hosts, Ben and Zohi, were excellent. They were warm, friendly and helpful. After every walk a different delicious cake was waiting for us back at the chalet baked by Zohi. Our three course evening meals were always delicious, varied and full of fresh ingredients cooked from scratch. They were both more than happy to help with suggestions for what to do on our day off and happy to book restaurants or activities for us.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Olive McEntagart

    Amazing!!!

    One of the best trips I've done. The climbing is absolutely amazing, you get to see the mountains from such a different viewpoint than you would if you were trekking. The Dolomites are stunning too, they have such a unique look to them. Each day you'll get to visit different parts of the mountains and the guides made an effort to tailor each day to suit the weather. In addition to climbing outstanding parts of the Via Ferrata, you also explore the many tunnels that were build during the First World War, these were really interesting. The guides were very knowledgeable about the history of the tunnels and told lots of great stories. You then have a nice day off in the middle, we cycled to Lienz in Austria along a lovely v v flat almost road traffic free (getting a mini bus back that also takes the bike) but you can take the train to other towns in the area or even do more climbing if you fancy. The guides were excellent and supported everyone, safety is always a top priority. I'm not 100% with heights and some of the group were the same but each day you feel more comfortable and do more. By the end of the week you'll be amazed at what you can do. Last thing to mention is that the hotel is great and the food is abundant and delicious : )

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was the day we did Tre Cime, the views are spectacular and the climbing was great. The trek at the start and finish is beautiful and the climbing is varied.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our main guide was Kurt, who was outstanding, probably one of the best of any trip I've done over the years. Extremely supportive, always up and down the mountains making sure everyone was safe and able to climb. Kurt was never in a rush, if people wanted to take photos or have a break that was no problem at all. Nothing was too much trouble - and had a good sense of humor too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a few items to cover all possible weather as it can get quite cold and you might get rain/sleet at the top. But as you're only climbing for 5 days there's no need to overpack. You don't need to bring gloves with you (as per the notes) these are provided as part of the kit when you arrive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great trip particularly if you love trekking and are looking for a new challenge.
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Excellent trip

    Trip was excellent. Leader was highly professional and all arrangements was also superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Chalet Chocolat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Highly professional
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Paul Treasure

    Great guide, great company, great trip

    A fantastic trip. Everything I hoped for and more with a great bunch of fellow travellers and a patient, tolerant and lovely guide (Egle)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the many cols in snow and sun, rain and wind. Cold beers at the end and the enjoyable banter!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Egle was excellent. Patient and good humoured at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light but take at least three pairs of socks! Yes you can wash them but we found they didn't dry overnight. Synthetic t shirts are a must. Don't forget fresh clothes for Chamonix. Do take gloves and hats. We had snow! For the same reason good boots essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Budget approximately 150 Euro in cash per person unless you like drinking water only.... More if you're fond of beer and wine! No need for Swiss francs
  • Reviewed September 2019
    David Lowe

    A brilliant holiday

    We have walked many times on Exodus holidays and this rated at the top of our list of many great holidays. We chose a challenging week and were very pleased that we had. Braccacorti as a base was a delight - views across the valley to distant mountains, really comfortable and delicious food (and plenty of it!). The walking was as it had been described in the brochure - challenging but so rewarding and so varied.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hardly a moment but the two day walk with an overnight in the refugio will be a lasting memory of a great trip. This was a first venture into an overnight stop in a refuge. We didn't know what to expect but "really warm", "good food", "comfortable with plenty of space", "hot showers", "set in the heart of the mountains" all contributed to a wonderful experience. Walking the ridge with some wonderful views into Tuscany and Emiliano with the sun on our backs and good company - wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was simply great! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for her in explaining what we were going to be doing, checking we were OK, making sure all arrangements were in place...this we have come to expect from Exodus leaders. Sara added much more - sharing her own experiences as a world wide traveler and leader, telling us about the region in which we were walking, listening to our experiences, introducing us to local people, the family who run Braccacorti, restaurants and watering holes ( the local taxi drivers and guides). Her enthusiasm and passion just shone through!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are ready for wet weather because when it rains that is something special! We had one downpour and then blue skies and sunshine for the week. For those on the challenging week and the stop in the refuge we would suggest taking a light weight towel so you can make the most of the showers. You don't need additional footwear as that is there for you in the refuge. For the light sleepers some earplugs might be helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Now looking forward to planning where we go next....starting with the Exodus brochure
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Mandy McEvoy

    Superb walking in Spain with a fantastic guide!

    A fabulous and varied trip, walking the hills of Andalucia and the breathtaking Caminito del Rey. With a free day in the absolutely stunning city of Seville and the knowledge of an expert guide, Michael Newcombe... this trip is a must.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito del Rey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcombe was the most enthusiastic, knowledgeable and conscientious guide that I’ve ever experienced on an Exodus tour. He has a vast knowledge of the flora, fauna, geology and history of Andalucia. It was a pleasure to walk and listen to his expertise in all fields. On the last day at airport drop off, I had several hours to wait before my flight. Michael helped me to store my luggage in the secure left luggage department and buy return tickets for the metro train into Malaga. He described how to get to the Picasso museum. I had a great few hours instead of a long boring wait! Nothing was too much trouble for Mike... he looked after all of us on the tour, so well! Thank you Mike!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect luxurious surroundings at the Cortijo Rosario, it is a very rural, converted farmhouse. The food is plentiful and the place is clean. There are lovely friendly staff and the loyalty bar is well stocked. Evenings are spent here as the walk into the village is long, dark and hilly. The bedrooms are small but adequate. Our shower had plentiful, hot running water but other guests said that their showers had a slow flow and the water was cold. My only moan was that the towels were only changed once in the week. I think twice would have been better. You do get quite dusty and hot walking in Andalucia, sometimes requiring two showers per day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Michael deserves to be voted guide of the year ! He certainly is a star guide who looks after his guests tremendously!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Susanna Early

    Trip of a Lifetime

    Walking and trekking the Amalfi Coast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was inspirational. Everything from the places we visited, the walks to get there and the dinners at night with our group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stefano was fantastic , funny, knowledgeable and a great guy to have as a guide. Would highly recommend him to others and will ask for him when I organise my next tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are looking for a relaxing, leisurely paced walking tour.. this one isn’t for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found Exodus very well organised with the tours and I would definitely use and recommend Exodus again.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sylvia Smith

    A Good Holiday

    This was a trip worth taking. It was well organised, with excellent walking notes and the accommodation was of a high standard. Exodus has an excellent relationship with the hotel in Bomerano and this enhanced the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was well organised and excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide was helpful, but this was a self guided trip, so the involvement was different.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed the visit to Ravello, but feel that the walking route advised did not meet the high standards of the other walks.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sylvia Smith

    A Good Holiday

    This was a trip worth taking. It was well organised, with excellent walking notes and the accommodation was of a high standard. Exodus has an excellent relationship with the hotel in Bomerano and this enhanced the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was well organised and excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide was helpful, but this was a self guided trip, so the involvement was different.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed the visit to Ravello, but feel that the walking route advised did not meet the high standards of the other walks.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sophie Penney

    Very beautiful and interesting trip

    The views on the trek were really wonderful, Cusco is a beautiful city. There is lots to see on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top on the 2nd day of the hike was a big sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tina is very kind and friendly. She did a very good job of looking after us and checking that we were managing with the altitude.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    One little thing, the kit list is missing toilet paper. Of course you can get it there but I would have preferred to know in advance that you need some for the trek! And yes it really is that cold at night you definitely need to bring properly warm clothes. Walking poles are marked as optional but we wouldn’t have made it without them! The amount of stuff you are allowed for the trek is quite small, smaller than it sounds anyway, so plan carefully.