Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

View our latest travel disruption updates on Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

116 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Hendrik Van de Velde

    Marokko landscapes

    Very nice trip to see a lot of different landscapes. From a moon like view to a Oasis with palm trees. Some nice hotels and good food. The cycling is a lot of downhill with sometimes a nice climb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The different scenery's.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, always willing to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some experience with a mountainbike is recommended. Personally I think that a full suspension bike would be better for this trip than the rental hardtail bike.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Tony Monaghan

    Never gets old

    12 years from first doing the Atlas descent in 2007 I am embarked for a third journey on this wonderful expedition. The variety of scenery and landscapes combined with the off-road journey makes this a wonderful trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s difficult to pick out the most inspirational part of the trip. I saw several, however the group gelling and working together and helping everybody out along with the tour leader and drivers is always a very special experience. Some of the climbs are very challenging and I am not the fastest uphill so completing them is always something which I’d like to remember!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was the first time I had a local group leader on a cycling trip in Morocco. Abdu did a great job and was always very conscientious to ensure he did his best, culturally he may not have some of the more strident behaviours needed. However I did speak to him and give him some advice on how he Could change his own personal style which I think he was grateful for

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you pack the correct clothing and footwear! You will need to do some training and have off-road experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think I’m already planning for my fourth MMA – Atlas descent
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Oct 19

    The cycling was hard on gravel and sand roads in 35 degree heat with a head wind. If you are not experienced in off road this trip will feel more like a grade 4 . Saying that some of the riding was amazing. Riding on the fat boy cycles over the dunes for nearly 4 hours was amazing and should be on peoples bucket list. The wild life matched expectation , Elephants, lions, white and black Rhino,cheaters. Camp sites were clean but basic, they were lovely sitting in the dessert watching the stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the game reserve on the last day was brilliant . 3 1/2 hours of off road cycling next to white Rhino , an experience not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hanz was very good . He changed the cycling when the weather was too bad ( sand storm) . As their was only one cycling guide for a group of 12 he managed to accommodate us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you you go when we did I would take a sheet to put on the mattress as well as a sleeping bag as some nights it was too hot with the sleeping bad Their were very few chances to wash clothes. Head touch was a must . Stock up on snacks when you can as shopping is very limited
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Amazing Manali - Leh Cycle, led by Valerie Parkinson!

    I had been wanting to do the Manali - Leh cycl for some time, having done several treks in Ladakh, and it lived up to its reputation as a tough, but spectacular challenge! We were lucky to get the bad weather out of the way at the start, and as we crossed each successive pass, the weather got better and better. We had a really friendly group of 12 cycling, and under Valerie's expert leadership we enjoyed an unforgettable trip. The scenery was spectacular, and made the long climbs, rough stretches of unsurfaced road and river crossings all worthwhile. The team of camp assistants and cooks were brilliant, and always so kind and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing some of the highest road passes in the world with breathtaking views, and arriving in Ladakh entirely leg-powered from Manali!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In a word, brilliant! Valerie's experience is second to none, and she gives confidence to everyone in the groups she leads. Her care of everyone in the group, especially when people are not feeling great, is wonderful, and she enable people to come through and complete treks where they might otherwise not succeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are really fit and ok climbing for several hours at a time! The rewards make it all worth it!
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Amazing Manali - Leh Cycle, led by Valerie Parkinson!

    I had been wanting to do the Manali - Leh cycl for some time, having done several treks in Ladakh, and it lived up to its reputation as a tough, but spectacular challenge! We were lucky to get the bad weather out of the way at the start, and as we crossed each successive pass, the weather got better and better. We had a really friendly group of 12 cycling, and under Valerie's expert leadership we enjoyed an unforgettable trip. The scenery was spectacular, and made the long climbs, rough stretches of unsurfaced road and river crossings all worthwhile. The team of camp assistants and cooks were brilliant, and always so kind and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing some of the highest road passes in the world with breathtaking views, and arriving in Ladakh entirely leg-powered from Manali!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In a word, brilliant! Valerie's experience is second to none, and she gives confidence to everyone in the groups she leads. Her care of everyone in the group, especially when people are not feeling great, is wonderful, and she enable people to come through and complete treks where they might otherwise not succeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are really fit and ok climbing for several hours at a time! The rewards make it all worth it!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Linda Cunningham

    Perfect Adventure

    I can not recommend this adventure enough: Mongolia is a special country and Exodus provided the ideal adventure to highlight all aspects of Mongolia and Mongolian life. We aren’t really mountain bikers but the biking was superb - not particularly easy - but truly enjoyable in terms of terrain, scenery and fun riding. We aren’t really campers - but have to admit it was kinda enjoyable in the end 😎. Food on the trip was exceptional - we were v well fed: breakfast, elevenses, lunch, afternoon snack, substantial dinner. Ghana and her assistant certainly kept us well fed. We even had a shower and a proper sit down toilet on camp 😎. The whole Mongolian support team were superb and NK - our guide - was a special guy. Knowledgable, funny, kind and considerate - he really made our adventure special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking along with a herd of Mongolian horses zooooming alongside us was pretty special. Although the laugh we had playing football v Mongolian team was hilarious 😆

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NK was superb: can’t fault him in anyway. Knowledgeable, funny, cheerful, friendly and v capable. He made our adventure special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get out on your mountain bike and get away on this adventure: you’ll love it. I’d highly recommend going on the Naadam departure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a v special holiday. Mongolia was special, NK and his team were special. Naadam Festival was exciting and fun and I felt Exodus has pulled out all the stops to make the Festival experience great for us.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Weller

    Namibia is fabulous

    This is an amazing way of discovering Namibia whilst getting some good cycling in under blue skies. The scenery changed constantly, wildlife was abundant and the geological features were astounding. This was not a serious cycling trip and the emphasis Was more on the wildlife and landscape. I would have given this trip 5/5 but was disappointed that one of the cycling days was completey cancelled and no longer takes place as the road is too busy and the FatBiking was about 5 miles for 2 hours not 22 miles for 3.5 hours as advertised. Since my main reason for going was the cycling this did marr the holiday a little however it was still fabulous and I would urge you to go, just don’t expect as much cycling as advertised. I am vegetarian and was well catered for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all but the highlights were the ever changing scenery and racing down the hill on hairpin bends on my mountain bike. Everyday brought something different and I wasn’t to go back!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans was extremely knowledgable about EVERYTHING! Wilidfle, geology, Namibian history and so on. He had a genuine interest in sharing this knowledge with us. He also got us to where we were meant to be and sorted out meals and accommodation effectively. Benson our driver, cook and tent erector was brilliant too. He was friendly, helpful, made amazing meals and drove well on some terrible roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware you will be getting up by six everyday for early starts, this was great as you got to see the sunrise but won’t suit everyone! Take wet wipes, after some rides you then Travel in the truck for a few hours in your cycling gear so good to have a refresh Binoculars are a must, so much to see, the lions we saw were amazing but those without binoculars couldn’t really see them. Camping temperatures varied so take a sleeping bag liner so you can just use that on warm nights and the sleeping bag for cooler nights. Take something you can use as a pillow, I didn’t but my lightweight down jacket did me proud.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was great but Exodus pleas amend the trip notes.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Louisa for her review; we are delighted to read that she had an enjoyable time, but are sorry that she was disappointed with some aspects of the trip.  We very recently amended the cycling on day 10 of the itinerary, having received feedback that the road existing Etosha National Park had become increasingly busy and therefore was not as suitable for cycling as it had previously been.  We will update the trip notes to reflect this, although we regret that Louisa was disappointed that this ride did not take place.  We were also sorry to learn that the fat-biking activity was shorter than listed; our local team have explained that the fat-bike operator will sometimes curtail the length of this ride, depending on individual group preferences.  Moving forward, we have asked the local supplier to ensure that both longer and shorter rides are offered to every group, which we hope will ensure future clients do not encounter similar disappointment.  We are happy to read that overall Louisa enjoyed her time in Namibia, and in particular appreciate her kind words regarding Hans, her tour leader; we look forward to hopefully welcoming her on another trip in the future.  John Penge – Product Manager

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Talfourd

    Accurate

    Different from most cycle trips but group kept together well and no moans or groans Also guide and assistant very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally feeling of isolation and proximity of Russian border.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good different from usual guides being older but group age older

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Open mind as to accommodation
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Vicky Chamberlain

    Biking in a winter wonderland

    A really well run week of fat biking - a good introductory day, fun times at the Russian end lodge, never short on food or humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the biking - my favourite day though was the ride back from the Rusiian end lodge, really lovely trail through the trees, late lunch back at the lodge and then a fabulous show shoeing trip after dinner - complete with the northern lights - a totally amazing day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorma was organised and calm and clearly got on well with his team mates. I thought he was a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went with a massive suitcase of clothes as was worried about getting cold. The last minute advice we had, to take a balaclava was worth following. But generally speaking all the clothing and equipment they supply is great - you really don't need to take much of your own - unless you want to. Boots were great!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a regular biker and fit this is not a difficult trip. Generally we wre out from 10am til 2 pm. They suplied food for snacks adn a thermos of hot water/juice. I would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jennifer Lawrence

    Wow!!!

    Wow, wow, wow is all I can say. This trip exceeded my expectations in every way. This was my first trip with a Exodus and needless to say I immediately booked my next one when I got home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, the places we stayed, the guides and to be honest just so much about it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was amazing. Very knowledgeable of the routes, the park and catered for our needs regardless of strength of cycling capabilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go to enjoy it and soak up as much of the scenery as you can. Not often you get to experience places like this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved it