Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Remember Life is Good - Save $200 on all small group and self-guided tours. Learn more >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Peter Loughridge

    An excellent introduction to Japan.

    We have always wanted to visit Japan and this trip gave us a wonderful opportunity to visit the cities, rural areas, travel by train, experience Japanese cuisine and, best of all, explore by bike. The itinerary was varied and interesting. Onsens (hot baths) have to be experienced and helped relieve tired and aching muscles at the end of the day. We stayed in a mixture of modern hotels and the more traditional ryokans with tatami mats and futons. The Japanese people we met were always polite, pleasant and helpful. This was a travel experience like no other. Just do it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the first ryokan and learning how to observe Japanese customs in this environment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very well organised and efficient. Perhaps a little shy at first but this passed as the trip progressed and his confidence in dealing with the group developed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a fairly large backpack as there are two separate days when you don’t have access to your suitcase. Keep your evening wear to a minimum as many of the hotels and ryokans provide a yukata (a casual summer kimono). Be prepared for rain and low temperatures. Very little fruit available generally and virtually none at breakfast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Japanese drivers generally considerate and patient. We felt safe on the roads.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Tom Wilkinson

    Varied landscape, interesting cycling, great food.

    This trip shows the lesser known parts of Croatia - Zagreb, the Istrian and plenty of pretty small towns and villages. Dipping in to Slovenia is a great addition too, broadening the experience and contrasting mountains with the sea. Some challenging sections of cycling make it all the better, adding a sense of achievement to the whole experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing everyone make the climb up one of the longer sections in Slovenia, celebrating with a silly picture by a statue of a local storybook figure. Everyone achieved more than they thought they were capable of when looking at the bare statistics and were rightly proud of themselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Allen was great, personable and efficient and keen to engage with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you do dust off your cycling legs before you go. The range of gears on the bikes means you can tackle everything, just pick a gear you're comfortable with and take it at your own pace. Water, breaks and words of encouragement are always on hand!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is always much more to these trips than it would appear. The cultural element, e.g the visit of Fuzine, the cuisine, the changing landscapes make it a great trip even for those who have been to Croatia before. Zagreb is well worth a visit too.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lily Surgeon

    Our Baltic Cycle Was The Best!

    There were only seven of us on our trip but we all felt this was a perfect number. Our guide Minda was wonderful. He was patient, flexible, had a great sense of humour and was full of information. He answered all our questions and had so much knowledge about the history of the Baltics. We rode in May and it was cool when we started in Estonia but warmed us as we went south. The added bonus was we were doing it before the season really started so we didn’t have the crowds. We all enjoyed the varied itinerary and have learned so much from our experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many wonderful moments. It is difficult to pinpoint one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Minda was wonderful and is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour leader.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mike Baker

    Another Gold Star for Exodus Travel!

    This was my fourth cycle holiday with Exodus (previously Dalmation Coast, Albania, Puglia in southern Italy) and I certainly hope there will be many more. I am often asked which is my favourite so far. So difficult to pick one as they are all top drawer stuff. It is a fantastic way to get to know a country and its history; our guides did not disappoint in this respect. The weather was not always kind, but the tour was packed with interest, visits, charm, and views that stun. As a photographer, all those appealed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being part of a church service in Vulcan on our first day of cycling. Although I an not overtly religious, the feeling of being part of a community was quite overpowering and emotional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was excellen, full of knowledge of the history of the region. We all got on famously with him and, not forgetting Stefan, our driver and mechanic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it now!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to be able to see details of each ride day on the previous evening. This happened on the Albania trip and was most useful giving distances, stops and profile of the route.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Nigel Harrison

    Really enjoyable week cycling in rural Mallorca

    Being our first cycling trip, we approached with some trepidation and possible misgivings. We need not have worried. The whole trip was excellent from beginning to end. An excellent leader(see below), generally good hotels, brand new hire bikes (bonus!), beautiful landscapes, routes mainly off the beaten track. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys cycling for leisure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it up the big climb to the Formentor viewpoint and tower on the last day, as I realised that I’d managed the week and I didn’t have to “save myself” to get through subsequent days. Having announced that I had never cycled three days in a row, making it to six days felt a major achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso is a really pleasant young man whose charm and easy-going approach equipped him with an ability to manage the vastly different levels of cycling strength and desired outcomes within our small group. We always made it to the various destinations fairly intact and in good humour, despite Alfonso having to reschedule lunch stops if we had taken longer than anticipated getting to a scheduled restaurant! Mention should also be made of our “support driver” José whose cheerful friendly approach was welcome when he and the van popped up at certain points on the route with water and snacks to be freely dispensed. He was most encouraging and was also helpful in sorting out any bike-related issues

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are really only an occasional leisure cyclist do pay attention to the training plan that is sent out by Exodus. It can appear rather daunting but even if you don’t totally replicate it in your own “training”, take the ideas from it and adapt it to your own needs. It’s certainly worth it, as the mileage and amount of climbing is front-loaded at the beginning of the week and you want to be able to enjoy the whole week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary takes you through some wonderful quiet Mallorcan countryside along routes and through villages which would normally be off the “tourist agenda”: superb. The hotels were generally excellent and comfortable with perfectly adequate breakfasts to help you on your way. We were fortunate in only having a small group making cycling together along the way and descending upon cafes and restaurants more manageable than if we were a full party. Obviously Exodus could not continue with such numbers but it was certainly a bonus for our trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Cycling in Sicily

    An excellent cycling trip, for me in a less well known area of southern Sicily. The cycling was good, and the hills were more than manageable with my very dependable ebike. Our leader made sure that we also packed in as much sight seeing as possible, so we learned a lot of cultural background to the places we visited. All were very interesting, but ending up in Syracuse and having plenty of time for eating wonderful food, and sight seeing, was a surprising bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to anybody!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As above: visiting Syracuse, and seeing the Baroque town of Noto Two very beautiful places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful! Full of knowledge, helpful, guiding us safely through traffic, And up the hills. And down again!!! Lots of fun, always on the lookout to avoid any potential problems. He and the very patient van driver guided us safely on the road sections And they excelled at making us wonderful picnic lunches on 3 occasions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Sicily, then go for this trip! Depending on the season, it can be chilly . Be prepared to cycle some significant hills!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Janel Hannis

    Epic trip in Epic Country!

    Having done about 10 trips with Exodus now, this one excelled.. It is challenging, rewarding, interesting, fun, exciting, all mixed in with a heady charm offense that India is.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the climb up the Jalori Pass, (3200m); one minute in the snow-line, 56 downhill kms later, in the soaring heat - 38degrees I'm guessing! Extra-ordinary contrast in one day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Difficult to manage a small group of 4, but did a good job nonetheless. Interesting information about the country and always jolly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really... If you pick this tour you are obviously quite fit, so just stay hill fit.. A range of suitable clothing and wet weather gear is useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just an awesome trip, I would eagerly do again!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    j allen

    DIdn't hit the high notes

    This was a curate’s egg of a trip, definitely not the best Exodus trip we have taken. It is rather a tour that is done on bicycles rather than a ride proper and yet it fails as a tour. The riding was not challenging enough for me and a bit challenging for my wife – so probably the right level for us as a couple. That said, far too much of the riding was done on endlessly boring cycling paths with unchanging views. There are a few climbs of decent length and steepness, hence the challenge for some of the group including my wife. Only two descents were memorable and I dislike being told to go slowly on them – go carefully yes, but not to go slowly for the hairpins that did not exist. And ultimately, very sad that you cannot ride from Padova (Padua) into Venice – due to lack of suitable routes - obviously beyond Exodus’ control. As a tour you visit some fascinating places, Verona, Vincenza, Padova and Venice to name the main ones, though only in Venice do you have time to explore. Vincenza has 23 buildings by the architect Andrea Palladio and Padova is home to a great university. Venice is one to see if you have never been before. That the visit to a family vineyard is considered to be the highlight of the trip for many – superb buffet lunch and most agreeable tasting – underscores that this is not an epic ride. The “support” van was a disappointment compared to our previous trips. For mechanicals, not an issue, but to support human endeavour distinctly lacking: only water was provided. No coffee, tea energy drinks; no biscuits, chocolate covered raisins or other energy giving eats; no picnic lunches magicked up in remote and beautiful places, no fresh fruit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly lacking one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I understand that this was our group leader's first as leader. He was a little over-protective to start with but mellowed during the course of the week. Informative and helpful but lacking the obvious enthusiasm that we have had from leader's on other trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With no sustenance on the support van, all coffee, tea and lunch stops are at cafes, pizzeria's, or other establishments requiring payment.... this adds noticeably to the overall cost of the holiday. If you wish to enter St Mark’s basilica In Venice – do not join the queue, instead take your day pack directly to the baggage drop (you are not allowed to take into the basilica) which is on a small side street to the left of the basilica and go directly to the front of the queue waving you baggage ticket (it’s free) – you will be allowed straight in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We suffered from a distinct lack of fresh fruit and vegetables. The salads on the menus were not great.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Wayne Moore

    Great trip

    A very good option for a week in Europe. The islands between Split and Dubrovnik are beautiful and in May there was very little traffic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in Mljet was one of the highlights of the trip, stunning ride around the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader, knowledgeable, friendly and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do choose the Mljet option, it was a great day out. Arrive a day early and stay in Split for a night, it is a beautiful city. May is a great time to go, less traffic and not too hot. Hotels are typical 3 star, but they all had hot water, comfortable beds and a bar!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087