Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Save up to $500 on small group & self-guided adventures to 100+ countries. Click here to learn more.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

3388 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joanne McMullan

    Cape Town to Victoria Falls Lodging

    Have just completed this epic journey and can honestly say it’s been one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever taken. It’s really more of an expedition than a holiday, but for that very reason delivers so much. We covered around 5600km in 3 weeks so that involves a lot of early starts and long days spent bumping about on dusty, rocky roads. The diversity of experience however makes it totally worthwhile - from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town to the red sands of Namibia and the quiet majesty of the Okavango Delta.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the most inspirational moment was when our guide Timon organised for us to have dinner with a local family in one of the townships in Swakopmund. I have never been made to feel so welcome by complete strangers in my entire life. The memory of the hospitality, good humour, excellent food and crazy dancing will stay with me to the end of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Timon was absolutely superb, demonstrating great patience, empathy and outstanding leadership throughout. Some of my best memories are as a result of the nights we spent listening to his stories from years of experience in the tourism industry - all told with such energy and genuine enthusiasm. He was also an exceptional cook - anyone who can rustle up Chicken A La King from the back of a truck in the dust and heat in the middle of nowhere gets my seal of approval! A real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please, please come with an open mind and prepare to step out of your comfort zone. You will stay in a variety of places - some very comfortable, some less so .... they’ll all be clean and safe. That’s all you need. Also, take the advice of your guide/s. They are all well trained and know the conditions/circumstances on the ground. You’ll get so much more out of the trip if you just go with the flow and let them lead the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Africa is a huge and diverse continent. There are sights and sounds you’ll never encounter at home, and some traditions and conditions that might make you uncomfortable. The landscape is incredible and the food is top quality, but for me it was the people who made my trip - from fellow travellers to our crew and the local people along the way. If you take the time to listen to their stories, your experience will be even richer. Oh, and finally, take more $$$ than the trip notes suggest - I think the amount recommended somewhat underestimates how expensive the countries visited actually are.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    David Butterworth

    A wonderful area to explore

    Leisurely was the description....a fairly lively leisurely .... great trips, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful leader. Some amazing places to visit and accommodation to stay at - all comfortable and most very different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Supper with everyone at a farm where we were served with home grown produce, all of which was delicious

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your camera with plenty of memory card space and don't forget the charger/s you'll need
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Roxanne Crawley

    Highly recommended!

    This trip surpassed all my expectations, has given me confidence and rekindled the travel bug! Having not been abroad for 9 years I was feeling somewhat nervous about going to Jordan, but it was a wonderful experience, I loved both Jordan and the incredibly welcoming Jordanians. Our guide, Ibrahim was excellent in all respects and had a super sense of humour too, what more could you ask for?!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This whole trip was full of awesome moments, all unforgettable, and often totally unexpected, such as standing in the River Jordan with Israel just a few yards away where baptisms were taking place. Finding rock faces in Petra that looked just too incredible to be natural, like they have been vividly painted with abstract patterns. Seeing the Monastery in Petra for the first time, it’s not as ornate as the Treasury, but it’s HUGE! The incredible welcome and hospitality from the Bedouin and Jordanian people completely took me by surprise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader, who has been doing this for many years and his enthusiasm and infectious smile reflects how much he enjoys what he does. Any problems were dealt with quietly and efficiently with no fuss. Nothing was too much trouble and he repeatedly offered to make arrangements for any individual requests within his remit. He totally understands the British sense of humour which really contributed to the great atmosphere of our group. I felt he could deal with any situation if it arose so I was relaxed and able to fully immerse myself in enjoying a wonderful trip. Wherever we went people knew him and warmly greeted him which says it all really.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found that if you catch their eye and nod and smile, many Jordanians want to engage in conversation and ask where you are from and welcome you to Jordan. I was thrilled when I encountered a gentle elderly Bedouin man while going around a castle and he welcomed me and indicated he was happy to see tourists back in Jordan. Another time, in Petra, I managed to communicate to one of the men in the Siq (who cleared up after the donkeys,) that he kept it beautifully clean and he kissed my hand and seemed very pleased that his work had been acknowledged! Hospitality is everything in Jordan and with such friendly people I think it’s good to try and show your appreciation to them.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Good experience

    It was an extraordinary excursion with changing scenes, atmospheres and pressed with new encounters. The course extraordinarily catches the wide scenes and the natural life of South Africa. I adored it and would prescribe it to anybody.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to Kruger
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Jan Flynn

    Wow! What an amazing adventure!

    Mongolia is a stunningly beautiful country. Miles and miles of vast open vistas, dotted with the occasional ger and nomad herds of animals. The Gobi desert was fascinating, including a visit to the place where the first dinosaur eggs were discovered! We visited many interesting and fabulous places, including several beautiful Buddhist temples. Wherever we went, the people were charming and very hospitable. The Eagle Festival was a spectacle I will never forget, with 120 eagle hunters competing to win the honour of being the champion. Dressed in their finest traditional clothing, riding their sturdy horses at speed, they called their massive golden eagles down from the rocky hillside to land on their arm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The spectacular Eagle Festival The peacefulness of the temples The wildlife throughout the trip Visiting nomad families and finding out more about their way of life The stars at night including the milky way Staying in gers in the middle of nowhere

    What did you think of your group leader?

    MG made the trip a great success. She worked tirelessly to ensure that the trip ran smoothly, her knowledge of her country, it's history and culture, was fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would highly recommend this trip. You have to go with an open mind, there are very few tarmac roads, so it's a bumpy ride! But the scenery is spectacular. Packaging for the trip is tricky, the temperature ranged from +28 to -8. So you need everything from shorts to a down jacket and pack lots of layers too.......whilst also trying to pack lightly for the internal flights. Take a good camera and binoculars!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Sarah osborn

    Great trip

    Great trip, and worth a visit to experience Bhutan and the festivals

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tigers nest

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off by the price as in Bhutan everything is included except drinks etc. and money needed for souvenirs. I only spent £80 in Bhutan on drinks etc. its generally £2-3 for a beer. If you have time, and willing to pay a bit more for a few nights accommodation its worth coming out early and spending a few days in Kathmandu, which is always a great place to visit. The hotel I stayed in was very central and walking district to Thamel and Durbar square.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Chris Goddard

    Eagle Festival

    Advice given by Exodus regarding the transfer in Beijing was inadequate. Much more detail is needed. Many lost souls were wandering the airport for some time. Perhaps a step-by-step description ? Chinese airport personnel were generaly rude, and less than helpful. The whole trip was generally fine. Exodus were advisied that one of us was gluten-free, but this information was not given to the tour guide beforehand, which Exodus stated it had been. Probably did not make a huge difference in the end as Gluten free food is largely unknown in Mongolia (not entirely unexpected).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eagle festival was stunning

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Namja (??) did an excellent job in leading the tour. He was very well versed in local history, and very keen to help and assist when required. Thouroughly reccommend this guide/group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Gluten free travellers - take plenty of food ! Make sure you understand the intricacies of Beijing airport transfer - in advance !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed October 2019
    ELAINE WILLIAMSON

    WONDERFUL OVERVIEW OF JORDAN

    The Hidden Treasures of Jordan was a wonderful overview to this spectacular region. The tour covered all the major sights with a great two days spent in Petra. Yes - good walking shoes are required and be prepared for long distances as Petra is pretty much one way in, one way out. First day was around 20km round trip over rough terrain and a multitude of steps. The surprise was the ruins of Jerash and it would have been great for more time here. Loved the Dead Sea but found the Red Sea area a bit over rated. The night spent in Wadi Rum although not isolated was very enjoyable. The majority of hotels were acceptable but sometimes a bit too far out of the town to do anything else. I would recommend this tour it was just long enough to cover all of the highlights Jordan has to offer. Be aware that if you like a beer at the end of a long hot day then you will be struggling for most of this journey.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash - what unbelievable monuments that remain standing today. A bucket list item for sure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasfi was a suitable leader that had a vast array of knowledge but sometimes we had to drag it out of him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of walking - sensible shoes are required and at times the heat can be quite confronting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Changes that would improve this tour. For those who arrived from other countries not on the group flight the communication was lacking. Transfers and visa process from airport were fine but upon arrival at the hotel nothing. We were not advised where or when to meet the group, what time we were leaving the next day or what to do for breakfast. The following morning a note was put up in the hotel but the tour was due to commence at 9am. When the meeting was held it was just a waste of time going over the itinerary that we already knew. Amman Hotel Mean Tyche - although the hotel was fine with a basic pool area and a new wing with updated rooms it is just too far out of the centre of Amman. Even taxi drivers had trouble locating the hotel. Wadi Rum Desert Camp arrival was around 4pm in the afternoon for an overnight stay and only 1 can of soft drink was allowed per person. Lucky we had water but there needs to be an availability of other drinks during the stay, even at a charge.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Bridget Bennett

    Exceeded all expectations

    This trip was fantastic from beginning to end. The scenery, particularly in Namibia, is stunning and amazingly varied, and the wildlife viewing (again particularly in Namibia) outstanding. We saw lions mating, black rhinos fighting, several visits by herds of elephants to the waterhole in the Etosha campsite, a cheetah with cubs, and a huge number and variety of other animals. All four boat trips were great, and very different from each other. The desert scenery, en route as well as at the main places we visited, was beautiful. Camping was more comfortable than I'd expected, with camp beds, as was the truck, and we had great food throughout. Also the hotels in Swakopmund and Cape Town were excellent. And of course our guides (Ende, Timon and Tariro) were all excellent - good company and so knowledgeable about not just the wildlife but the culture and history of the countries we passed through. Timon was an excellent and inventive cook, and Ende kept us all safe (and got us to the front for the climb up Dune 45!), while Tariro kept us entertained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many inspirational moments to settle on one, but if I had to choose, seeing herds of elephants on several occasions visiting the waterhole in Etosha was probably the very best.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Laura and Gavin Jones

    Beautiful Bhutan

    This trip provides a fascinating insight into a little known destination. We loved it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trip was the trek to the Tiger's Nest Monastery. It looks unreachable (and strangely familiar from the famous photos) and then suddenly you are standing outside! The Thimpu Festival was also spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kemey was organised, articulate and incredibly eager to do anything he could to make us comfortable. We were given a very warm welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The day that we visited the Thimpu Festival it rained. This is apparently not unusual. We were therefore sitting out in the rain for about 3.5 hours. It helped to have a good waterproof, something to wrap around your legs to keep them dry (poncho) and a sit mat so that we were not sitting directly on wet concrete. The temperature varies throughout the trip - it helps to have layers. We travelled in October and it was warmer than we expected.