Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Jennifer Wright

    Absolutely fabulous

    The trip exceeded all expectations. It was full of fun, colour and culture. We saw so much of the country in two weeks. We had amazing experiences- cycling through pretty villages, snorkelling in turquoise sea, kayaking through spectacular scenery, cooking and eating delicious food and relaxing on a tropical island. My son had the holiday of a lifetime and had great adventures with new friends. Also we had the most wonderful tour guide who was sweet, sensitive, capable, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about her country. I can not recommend this trip highly enough. Oh and amazing value for money too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kayaking in Ha Long bay, then being taken to a secret beautiful beach to swim. We were all so delighted, and stayed for ages in the beautiful water chatting and getting to know one another.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely excellent. As I said above - Ashley was sweet, caring, capable, funny, knowledgeable helpful and enthusiastic. We all loved her. I particularly appreciated the fact that I could eat a whole variety of delicious food despite my severe nut allergy. Ashley explained it to chefs everywhere we went. In other countries I have accepted that I need to just eat plain, boring food. But everywhere we went, the cooks made special nut-free delicious food after Ashley had explained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have to go - it’s a beautiful country and an extremely well organised trip. Also, I worried about mosquitoes, but we hardly saw any.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will definitely choose another Exodus trip. I would like to thank the company - what a fantastic holiday we will never forget. Thank you.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Helen Cordery

    Great adventure - our expectations were blown!

    A fantastic, safe but action-packed way to explore a totally new country. The wildlife was amazing (the crocodile eating a howler monkey was a 'highlight'), as was the white water rafting. A wonderful way for a family to connect to each other and to nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many, it's impossible to choose! But I think the Costa Rican wildlife in all its glory was the highlight. Seeing a baby humpbacked whale swim alongside our boat will stay with me forever, as will the crocodile eating a monkey - but in a different way. Our driver spotting a group of scarlet macaws as we drove along the highway, and then spending several minutes watching them with our mouths open was another highlight. On another level, the white water rafting was exhilarating and such fun. But the whole country and its people was inspirational too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gio was amazing - his wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica, its history, geography and nature was amazing, as was his engagement with the group (kids and adults). His lovely last speech as Roberto was driving us to the airport brought tears to my eyes! He was always very mindful of our safety, which was so important when you factor in the excitable kids (and adults) who could potentially forget themselves and make unsafe decisions. I am also extremely grateful to him for just ignoring my travel-related migraine (and vomiting) within minutes of meeting him at the airport!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you, like us, want a real adventure, but are nervous about how to do this when you're not that confident travelling, this is a definite trip to consider. This was our first trip abroad as a family, but has set the bar very high for future trips!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Roberto, our driver, was also fantastic. It was just a shame we couldn't converse with him as he didn't speak English.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Gilliie Williams

    Excellent Holidays

    Travelled with my 16 and 18 year old for last holiday before University- had a wonderful 2 weeks and made new friends. Everyone was friendly, relaxed ,happy and pleased to socialise. Kids ranged from 11 to 18years but gelled well together. Always some one to talk to. Full on trip but variable in activities. But opportunities to be alone if all too much. Loved it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Meekong Valley was beautiful , a chance to unwind, relax with the group. Very peaceful, great food, staff were friendly. Would have liked a couple of nights there. Vegetarian restaurant in Hoi Chin Ming City- fantastic

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Doan made our holiday very special. Looked after all of our group, a joy with the kids, very knowledgeable about the places. Pre-empted our requests and coped with our demands. Took us to wonderful places to eat. We wanted to take her home with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day earlier to get over the jet lag and do some of your own exploring of Hanoi. Take tea bags and cups on the train overnight and sheet sleeping bags. Take lots of sun cream as easy to get burnt when snorkelling or swimming in Whale Island. If you get burnt use aftersun NOT oil or cream. Watch out for the Urchins. Take rain macs as when it rains it pours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Susanna Buckley

    Wonderful family holiday

    A busy but well organised trip. This was the first time we'd done a trip like this and we don't regret it. We saw so much in the 14 days - I don't think we could have done and seen so much if we'd organised it on our own. Our two children (16 and 18 years old) had a great time. They made friends with the other young people on the trip and this made it easier and enjoyable for everyone. Everything was organised in a family friendly way and the guides were excellent. It was also good to see the way local communities can be supported by responsible travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say - so many lovely memories. The sampan trip on the Mekong Delta and the stay at the homestay were great. The trip to Angkor Wat was amazing - the scale of the place is breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders - one in Vietnam and one for Cambodia and Bangkok. Both were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need Vietnamese Dong for Vietnam. In Cambodia you can use US Dollars but sometimes it's easier to use Cambodian Riels. ATMs in Cambodia dispense US Dollars and Riels. For Thailand, you'll need Thai Bhat (our guide stopped just before the Thai border so that we could exchange). For visas, you need to pay cash in US Dollars. We found that we needed mainly cash - some of the restaurants didn't accept cards or some places (eg supermarkets) have a minimum spend before using a card and, if you only want a drink, that doesn't come to the minimum spend. Also, if you want to buy in the markets, you'll need cash. There were ATMs near all the places we stayed (except Mekong Delta). Pack light, cotton clothing, you don't really need activewear/trekking wear. There are local laundry services available in Cambodia - around USD2or3 per kg.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful holiday, wonderful memories. Everyone in the family had a great time.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Neil Pearson

    Brilliant 'last' family holiday with our kids before they head off into the world / don't want to go on family holidays

    It's a busy trip, with a lot packed into 14 days, but absolutely worth the effort as the experiences are amazing. We could never have done this in this way as independent travellers, so it was definitely the right choice to take the trip with Exodus. It just made everything easy and allowed the group to make the most of the time, and experience as much as possible. Very good ground transportation provided, comfortable and safe There are a couple of long drives, but they are broken up with interesting stops along the way - so while it looks a little bleak in the itinerary they are absolutely fine (although the Siem Reap to Bangkok drive is a tough one). Hotels all good to very good, and almost all with good pools too; the homestay is great too...more basic but one of the more memorable nights on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    28km cycling ride around the Ankhor Wat complex is brilliant - it's all flat out there so not too taxing, although we were all tired at the end of the day. Killing Fields and S21 make for a very sobering and quite graphic day that you will not forget Cu Chi Tunnels and the museum in Ho Chi Minh City is brilliant and to see the story from a very local perspective is interesting Sampan down the Mekong River is great, quite short in the grand scheme of the holiday, but big on memories. Our kids (18 & 15) had an amazing time with the other kids on the trip, all about the same age and they all got on really well. So good to see them having fun and bonding with their peers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour had 2 group leaders, one in Vietnam and one for Cambodia and Thailand. Very different personalities, but both very good and knowledgable and we never felt like we were in anything other than safe hands at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The temples are fine with shorts that are ON the knee, they don't have to be below the knee. For those people who had the wrong shorts, you could buy classic Asian cotton baggy trousers for $3 at the temples, so don't worry too much about this. A few of our group stayed on for an extra night in Bangkok, and I think this is good advice...an extra day of free time in Bangkok could be useful just to slow the pace down before you travel home as it's a busy schedule and you may want to take in a few of the sights that are not on the trip. The homestay is a brilliant experience, it's more simple accommodation than the rest of the trip, but is very comfortable and such a fun night for the group..it's the moment on the trip where we got time to chat and become friends with each other.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amazing family holiday and experience - we all loved it.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Karie Bala

    Life Changing Experience

    Just back and can't quite believe what we saw and experienced on this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to see a wild pigmy elephant, crossing the river right in front of our boat. Lucky for us, we were alone on the river. Sunrise at the Wildlife Discovery Centre in Sepilok had us up close with a somewhat angry wild orang-utan, which was definitely an experience! At the Sun Bear Sanctuary we met Poppa Bear (Wong) who, if you've seen the ITV Borneo show with Judi Dench, you will know instantly. He, like every other Bornean, was extremely friendly, and happy to chat at length about about the gorgeous Sun Bears. Visiting Labuk Bay and the Proboscis Monkey Sanctuary was a special place, my favourite being the Silver Leaf Monkeys and one baby. And snorkelling off of Manukan Island was top notch, and accommodation there was lush! Could have used a few more days. Be sure to order a kopi tarik at the take away cafe toward the pool. They open at 7.30 am.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manuel, our tour leader, was amazing. We were such a lucky group and could have not asked for a better leader to gel our Exodus Team! He was knowledgable, compassionate, and a pleasure to be around. I'm looking forward to another Manuel Exodus tour in the future, as he really bonded with every member of our tour and we were all sad to say our goodbyes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Luggage - You have to carry your own nearly everywhere, so pack as light as possible, in a soft pack. Leech socks - I was very worried about finding these here before we left, but we found some in the Centre Pointe Mall on the ground level. They were also available to rent at the Bilit Adventure Lodge along with wellington boots! Sleep - Our entire group had problems sleeping on various parts of our tour. No way to combat it, but be ready. Bug spray - Take it with you an top up regularly, especially in the rainforest areas. Plasters - Take these too as you may have blisters. Roti cannai - Try this in the Centre Point basement Islamic Center restaurant. It doesn't look like much, but we were there every day were were in KK. You'll see red plastic chairs and know you're in the right place. 1x roti cannai costs 1.50RM, so like 30p, and it's the best we found on the whole tour. Noodles and rice dishes were great too. Laundry - Forget about it. Know by the end you're going to stink. So will all your travel companions. Use laundry services where they're available; we found the Sabah Tea Longhouse laundry to be a reprieve from the stink! The last hotels on the trip will happily take any clothes you don't want to take home with you and distribute to those in need. A good idea (stolen from travel mates) is to buy clothes at the charity shop and leave them with you. Best thing to wear would be lightweight long sleeved shirts! If you put any effort into this tour, you'll be handsomely rewarded - early morning treks provided us with a personal encounter with a pigmy elephant as well as an orang-utan. It was special!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate. I'm experiencing massive post-holiday blues as this holiday was particularly life changing for me. Amazing. Enjoy.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    David Dunlop

    Holiday to remember

    Lots of activities and visits throughout. Vietnam worth visiting and the trip enabled us to see the real Vietnam as well as the tourist Vietnam. Most of the children fully engaged with the spirit of the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the children singing ‘all star’ on the bus. It livened up one of the lengthy bus trips. Halong Bay was picturesque. The weather was excellent which resulted in good swimming and kayaking not to mention the photographs from the glorious sunset. Whale Island was beautiful though the weather was windy owing to a nearby typhoon which brought in a lots of debris to the island. Walks around the island are well signed and worth exploring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngoc personality and sense of humour drove the trip. He was flexible and understanding and handled all group members diplomatically. He also explained clearly Vietnam’s geopolitical and environmental challenges, the religious and cultural diversity, and the population pressures particularly on housing and incomes. He got the balance right and occasionally fooled parents / children on elements of the trip - in particular the homestay!!
  • Reviewed August 2019

    Safari in the Masai Mara

    Me and my family enjoy this trip. We travel via boat. Staying in tents is really awesome and adventures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jane De Vries

    Superb family adventure

    We booked a private tailor made slightly shortened 6 day Camels and Kasbahs itinerary to fit with the half term school holidays of our teenage children. It was a really excellent adventure and introduction to Morocco, starting in Marrakech, crossing the High Atlas Mountains to the Sahara desert and back to Marrakech. We really felt like we got to know the essence of Morocco in a relatively short trip, and also felt safe at all times thanks to our superb guide Abdul and very safe driver Moustafa. We definitely intend to return to this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights were staying and stargazing in the remote Berber village of Tighza in the High Atlas Mountains, bargaining for a carpet in the remote desert town of Rissani and camel trekking and climbing the sand dunes to watch sunset over the Sahara in Mergouza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Abdul was insightful, humorous and spoke perfect English. We learned a huge amount from him about the culture and way of life in Morocco. Moustafa was our friendly and very safe driver, transporting us in a comfortable air conditioned minibus. We were very well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring head scarves for the desert, or you can buy them en route. Stock up on small value dirham notes and coins for tipping along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gordon Goldsmith

    Taj Tigers & Temples

    Amazing trip , well organised & staff where very reliable & friendly Day to day changes in the Itinerary or timetable did not effect our enjoyment too much But changes were partly due to a larger group than expected , (25) Having met our initial group, about 10 joined up later on the first day which we where not expecting & the dynamic's of the group where somewhat affected for most of the trip ! An example to highlight this happened when the second group ( who also previously knew each other )wanted to go Elephant riding . The 'original ' group had to seat it out as we all did not approve & had not asked for this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gurudwara Sikh Temple in Old Delhi ALL the early morning starts … great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay Gupta was a very good guide Knowledgeable , witty ,very accommodating with some overbearing aspects of certain group members He also managed to be diplomatic at all times & showed lots of patience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No not really If you have never traviled before , its all in the notes supplied Do not feel concerned about things like water , safety etc... India is changing very fast !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Possible inclusions for the trip A few more walk-a -bout's at times in interesting areas & suburbs Reduce group size so there can be a few more ,'smaller & interesting hotels , some in the city centres Rather than on this trip where they were predominately 'out of town' , so no opportunity to eat out

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Gordon for his review, and we were very pleased to read that overall this was an enjoyable holiday.  We were, however, concerned to learn that an elephant ride was arranged by the tour leader for some members of the group, as our policy on elephant riding is very clear; we do not condone this practise because it can be extremely negative both physically and mentally for the elephants.  Our tour leaders are informed of our Responsible Travel policies and are expected to adhere to them.  In this case, the leader acted independently and in breach of our policies, which we have followed up on.  We would also like to apologise for the inconvenience that Gordon and other members of the group experienced as a result of this matter.   

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India