Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Rachel Pierce

    Perfect holiday!

    Wow, what can I say? This holiday exceeded my expectations in every way - the walks were varied and interesting, the weather was amazing and our hosts Sarah and Rich at Chalet Chamonix were brilliant, providing us with gourmet international cuisine every evening and gorgeous cakes in the afternoons after our walks. The scenery and views were stunning - I was in awe of the scale of everything compared to our English Lake District mountains. The days weren't as long as I was expecting - we had plenty of stops for refreshments and time to go into the lovely town of Chamonix.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The jaw dropping views on all the walks, but especially from the top of the Aiguille du Midi, being so high up and close to Mont Blanc and looking down over the Chamonix valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark was an excellent leader - organised, informative, knowledgeable and good company. He catered for the needs of all abilities in the group and entertained us with his 'true stories'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a regular fell walker I found the walks easier than I'd expected and the short stretches of via ferrata completely manageable (none of the days contained anything worse than I'd encountered in the Lake District). I'd had concerns before the trip as I'm ok with heights but not exposure - happily I managed everything I came across without worry. However, the walks shouldn't be underestimated if you're unfit or unused to regular walking - they are tough ascents and descents, often on rough and loose ground.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Aiguille du Midi is a must on the free day - and Step into the Void is a once in a lifetime experience (head straight there when you arrive as we queued for 45 mins). The walk along the Grand Balcon Nord from the Plan de l'Aguille mid station to Montenvers via Signal Forbes is excellent.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Janet Dilke

    Cycling Dolmites,Lake Garda and Venice

    The trip was excellent. Brilliant changing scenery. Our guide on the July trip was very knowledgeable, fun and paid attention to detail. With our Driver making a great pair. A memorable time had by all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Find it hard to pick one particular moment but our guided trip round Venice rates very high

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and so was the driver. They made a very good pair. A pleasure to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have said it all.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    John Halstead

    Brilliant Trip

    This was a trek that was harder than I expected for the walking, but there are no altitude issues at all. It was professionally led by John Briggs and coked for by a lovely Lithuanian lady we all called Ads. Most days we walked up to a col with fantastic views and then back down to the next camp site or other hut style accommodation. There was a fair bit of walking on snow and ice, but the presence of the snow really added to the scenery and I was not uneasy about it at any time. I lost 7lbs which was slightly disappointing (I lost 21 lb on last year's 3 week trek in Pakistan) but the food was irresistible, and wine and beer were available at modest prices.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first view of the Matterhorn was amazing. Utterly majestic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional says it all. A good leader in control of the group at all times and offering help and advice when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training. Not just in the gym. I visited the Brecon Beacons for four two day stints in the weeks before I went. It really paid dividends, not only being able to take the walking in my stride, but being able to enjoy the trip rather than suffering from tiredness. Be prepared for steep ascents and descents over several hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Always accept the guide's judgement. If he decides to turn back or take a detour because he considers a section unsafe, he is probably right. Don't question the decision.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Melanie Clark

    Ups and Downs

    I wasn't bothered about only having breakfasts included as assumed there would be places to explore and eat out most nights. Very wrong to assume!! However nice the food in the hotels is, for me I can eat hotel food in the UK. For me Sri Lanka lacks something that I have experienced in other places and that is SOUL. I'm still not sure what Sri Lanka is all about on a day to day basis. I was quite disappointed with the rubbish all over the beaches, it is not the 'Paradise Island' Sri Lanka states it is. The trip itself is fine (somewhat underwhelming) but for me too many temples and too many hotel restaurants. Most of the group seemed happy with the hotel in the evenings but for me the holiday could have been way richer with more of the 'real Sri Lanka' being shown. Elephant and normal Safari are fine if you like lining up with MASSES of other trucks to see one illusive Leopard or family of elephants. Personally I like one off experiences with limited people... More of a bespoke feel...which is exactly what I got when I did Namibia with Exodus. For me the trip felt commercialised and over crowded which is not for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I do not feel inspired by Sri Lanka....maybe the views on the way to the tea plantations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, what a hard job!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a seasoned traveller this trip will seem a bit too 'organised' and not free flowing enough for you. Very bland in comparison to other places, its a 'nice' trip...not awesome or exciting.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Christine Holyhead

    A world apart

    The nothingness of the desert was full of life. We just needed to be shown it. Talking with three ladies in their own gir was such a good explanation of a lifestyle we couldn’t fathom before this. The gir camp sites were well run and 12/14 days we had excellent meals tho I would take some bottle of my choice of sauce next time. The driving distances were very long on 2 days. In 11 hours you can’t have a bad back or any hint of travel sickness. I am on my 19 th exodus trip and at 70 found these really hard work even tho it was unimaginably interesting. My respect for the huge Mongolian empire grew and all I wanted to see was a dinosaur...we saw bones and eggs! The guide was of vital importance at the Naadam festival He showed how centuries of skills were being displayed to a slowly modernising country. A real time-warp holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Naadam festival , seeing a well in the Gobi desert supplying water from nowhere for 300 goats. The hugeness of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As a young man he is learning very fast to become a caring and knowledgable guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a rain mac and factor 50! Warm pyjamas and fleece you can sleep with and nudity. Don’t always expect electricity ty or any internet/ phone contact. Revel in nothingness.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t do this as your first wilder exodus trip.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jonathan Dorward

    Walking in Tuscany

    What a fantastic trip,the weather,the acomadation,the scenery,Trek Leader & her Dog ( Elvis ) only one word to describe it. BEAUTIFUL !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was Excellent, she was very informative she was a damn good cook ( cakes ) very knowledgable. Helped us in any way she could,Hat's off to her fantastic.OBE,MBE She deserves a bloody Medal ! Never let this Women leave Exodus ! Everything that she recommended was spot on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If Sara Bull is the Trek Leader go for it you won't be disappointed. Tuscany is Beautiful. We went to Pisa a day early before the trip started and it is well worth a visit. On our day off we went to the ancient walled town of Luca which was again well worth seeing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One week was not enough.a 10 day Trip would be nice ?
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Les West

    Best Ever Wildlife Safari!

    Ivan Pinto has given an excellent account of our trip so I have little to add.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our elephant encounters were thrilling but I was so pleased that Moses allowed us to spend quite a lot of time just sitting and watching a family of lions interacting with one another - magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - as acknowledged and described by Ivan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ladies, in particular, if you're worried about needing to go for a wee during the night (when trips to the bushy-bushy are not recommended for obvious reasons!) take an old ice cream container with you. Mine had a lid so doubled up as a useful bedside table!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sue Bowler

    Botswana & Zimbabwe Lodge Safari

    This was a fantastic trip, helped by a great group of people. Both the guide and driver were very knowledable and we all learnt a lot. The long drives were helped by Rowan our guide reading out who wants to be a millionaire from his phone and after several attempts we beat the odds! Some of the group were nervous about camping in the Okovango delta but it was glamping rather than camping and this proved to be one of the most enjoyable 2 days the trip. Mornings were chilly but we all layered up and with the help of blankets on the game vehicals managed to keep warm. The trip notes were inaccurate in the meals we had provided by the guide which worked out in our favour. Most of us felt that all evening meals with the exception of Victoria falls should be included. Rowan provided good meals and there was plenty to eat. We missed out on seeing lions and leopards but did see the most difficult cat to spot the cheeteh so that more than made up for it and as it is wildlife there are never any guarntees. When I booked this trip it was the animals I was most interested in but this has lit in me an interest in birds that I never knew I had and I hope to continue spotting and photographing bird in future. Victoria falls were amazing and I would recommend both the sunset dinner cruise and the helicopter flight over the falls both were superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming face to face with a white Rhino whist walking with our knowledgeable guide, John. The evening cruise on the Chobe river was truely amazing with a wealth of animals and birds at close quaters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was fabulous as was Safiso our driver. My only critisism would be that he did not ask far enough in advance if anyone wanted to fly in a helicopter over the Okovango Delta, this could also have been arranged by exodus in advance back in England. This meant we missed out on this but we did manage a plane flight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes take a warm hat in winter months, this should be added to the kit list. Long jonhs or legging were useful too and a pair of gloves would have been welcome first thing in the mornings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most of the accomodation was great but I would suggest exodus look for anothe lodge in Maun as River nest cottages is fairly run down compared to the other lodges we stayed at. The locks on my windows would not shut and others had issues with showers etc.
  • A fabulous African experience

    A wonderfully varied trip which combines the comforts from home whilst giving you a real wildlife experience. The lodges were each unique in character and all very comfortable, most of them with swimming pools, and the camping in the Okavango Delta was much more comfortable than anyone had expected! You get to see a good part of two quite different but equally friendly and welcoming countries and because the places you visit are so quiet you never feel that you are on a tourist trail.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many moments to choose, from standing close enough to rhinos to be able to hear them eat in Matobo, to watching an elephant walk past our camp in the Delta, and experiencing the exhilarating Victoria Falls up close. We also met some truly inspiring people who are very proud of their country and do amazing work to protect the natural landscape and wildlife. The two nights camping in the Okavango Delta were very special, made even more so by the kindness of the locals who looked after us so well. We were genuinely sad to say goodbye to them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was simply brilliant and made sure this trip was as special as possible for everyone. He was our group leader, driver and cook and managed all this very well and would never accept any help. His insight into Southern African culture and wildlife really helped us to get the most out of this trip and gain a good understanding of the way of life in this part of Africa. He clearly has a good relationship with the local people and guides which was shown through the high level of service we received from everyone. We hope to be lucky enough to come across him again on future trips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As someone else already said, just go! Yes, there are some days when you spend a fair amount of time on the bus, but there is always something to look at and otherwise you can use the time to catch up on some sleep from the early morning safari drives... There are also regular stops. If you travel in their winter months, from May on-wards, do bring a fleece or coat as the early morning drives can be cold especially when sitting on an open sided safari truck.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are a number of optional activities and we chose to do the scenic flight over the Delta, the helicopter ride over Victoria Falls and the sunset dinner cruise on the Zambezi. These are all personal choices of course but we didn't regret doing any of these and felt they each represented good value for money considering the once in a lifetime experience they gave us. This was an amazing trip and we are already looking to book our next one to Southern Africa. However, do remember that this is Africa so go with an open mind and just enjoy the experience!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mary Bambrough

    A clean, green, mountainous country.

    Loved the airy, uncrowded mountain walks with profuse meadow flowers and views of rocky pinnacles. The two lakes were also incredibly picturesque and not spoilt. We enjoyed the family-run accommodation, food and wine as well. The day in Ljubljana was enjoyable (despite pouring rain) but I personally enjoyed the small town with its church, old houses, bee-keeping museum, wine merchant and ice cream parlour just as much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Suddenly coming upon a fabulous mountain view after a steep walk up through meadows.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two very assured and competent leaders. They knew their patch very well. I felt I was in safe hands at all times whether they were leading walks or driving us, and when they suggested a variation to a walk they were right. They also had a good sense of humour. They worked hard at the various huts, taking our orders and bringing them, to avoid potential language problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are not difficult overall in terms of length and terrain, but do be prepared for some steep gradients from time to time on the mountain days. They are well worth it but require quite a lot of puff!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We particularly liked the recommended wine-tasting with ham and cheese-board at the local wine merchant.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087