Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18154 Reviews

  • What a Blast!

    Visiting Egypt and the Great Pyramids has always been a bucket list adventure for me - and this trip exceeded my expectations! We hit all the major highlights of Egypt - from climbing inside the Great Pyramids to sailing the Nile River to seeing King Tut face to face. I highly recommend Exodus Travels for a first-class experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do I have to pick just one?? Seeing the Great Pyramids was just the beginning. They're much larger than I expected. Coming face to face with King Tut's mummy was another. From the chaos of Cairo to the serenity of cruising down the Nile... this trip has it all!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Andrew, was fantastic! As an Egyptologist, he's so knowledgeable about the history of every area we visited. But he was also invaluable when it came to the language and culture of Egypt. Not to mention he was a ton of fun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack less than you think you'll need. And be prepared for hot weather in Aswan and Luxor! A hat or even an umbrella for shade are a good idea, and make sure you drink lots of water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved my trip with Exodus - and I felt safe and secure the entire time. It's so nice to let someone else worry about all the details, and just enjoy!
  • Disappointing

    I really looked forward to this trip but unfortunately the trip was spoilt by poor planning and one really horrible hotel. We travelled in March and unfortunately the weather was very cold when we arrived. No effort had been made to prepare the first hotel on Naxos and it was bitterly cold, many of the aircon units didn’t heat up and we had to sit in coats to eat breakfast. If you’re walking, you need somewhere warm and comfortable to relax afterwards. It’s a shame as it’s a nice hotel Being March, a lot on the islands was closed as the season doesn’t start until Easter and it would have been good to know that from the trip notes as tavernas on the walking routes weren’t open and toilets not available. In some instances it was difficult to find somewhere to eat at night. Full of praise for our Guide, Cecile who did her best to resolve problems with great kindness and humour. She’s a gem The islands are very lovely at this time of year, full of spring flowers and without the crowds. The walks are lovely and very varied, taking in little villages and mountain scenery. The terrain can be rocky but the pace allows for that, so this would be a wonderful holiday if Exodus didn’t insist on using cheap, poor quality hotels. The Hotel Pandrossos on Paros sadly left a particularly sour note. The beds and pillows were filthy and the sheets full of cigarette burns. Heating didn’t work, no hot water, everything was broken and the whole place could do with a good clean. I don’t know what’s happened to Exodus as I’ve always rated them highly, but my experience post-Covid is of obnoxious staff and couldn’t care less responses. Very sad

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the walks, particularly on Naxos, walking the ancient tracks between villages. The scenery was stunning

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile was lovely, very funny, very knowledgeable and managed the shortcomings of this trip really well. She knows the islands inside out and is well received wherever we went. On one walk, the owner of a closed taverna opened up to offer us a coffee and toilet because of her friendship with Cecile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I’d avoid this trip until Exodus sort out the hotels. Exodus trips aren’t cheap and no one needs their holiday spoilt by cheap, filthy hotels
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Brilliant trip!

    A fantastic week, in excellent company, with a wonderful guide. José's commitment to our enjoyment and safety ensured that every member of the group benefited from his care and attention to detail. We were fortunate with the weather - cold, but sunny and clear, providing some of our best ever mountain days. José arranged our itinerary to ensure that we had the best possible conditions. The mountains of Sierra D'Aitana are imposing and beautiful, offering stunning views across the entire coastal region. Throughout our stay, we enjoyed excellent traditional Spanish meals at our hotel, as well as the best ever packed lunches! Thank you, Exodus, and thank you José.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Aitana - a long and challenging trek which handsomely repaid the effort. But also the stunning 360 degree views from the summit of Serrella on our final day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply outstanding! Thoughtful, sensitive to the needs of all members of the group, with fantastic local knowledge and information about the history, flora, fauna and geology of the area. José's enthusiasm was infectious, and his sandwiches life-changing! José used his local knowledge to determine the best itinerary fro us. He went out of his way to ensure that each of us had the best possible all-round experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking in the mountains and enjoy a challenge, this is for you! But make sure that you follow the advice in the trip notes to ensure that you're fit enough to deal with some steep paths. And take plenty of layers, as the temperature varies with the landscape.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    The Real Walk of the Gods

    A very full week of walking and yes, lovely food and wine at the hotel. Amalfi, Positano, Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii, walks in the hills and a touch of coffee culture are the highlights of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first view of Positano from the Walk of the Gods is mesmerising and stopped everyone in their tracks. Smiles all round and a great photo opportunity. The winding path brings sight of over-hanging cliffs, running streams, unusual flowers and the best sea view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent - she had a detailed knowledge of the area and set a steady and considered pace for the walking. She had a lovely manner, engaged with the whole group and managed the weather-related changes to the itinerary very effectively.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the "moderate" end of the walks - nothing over straining but the walks might leave you needing a nap in the late afternoon!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't use the free day to take a boat to Capri, or the bus to Sorrento, consider a trip to Naples Archeological Museum for a close-up look at the fantastic relics from Pompeii and Herculaneum.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    Not much to add to the previous reviews, as they are comprehensive on what to expect. Visit Jordan – you won’t be disappointed by the many ancient sights and lovely people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Roman city in Jerash, seeing the Treasury at Petra for the first time, floating in the dead sea, sitting around a camp fire in the desert, too many things to mention ……...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was friendly with a great sense of humour, he explained a lot about the modern way of life in Jordan which was interesting, but not as knowledgeable as perhaps we would have liked on the sites we visited – nothing a good guide book or Google couldn’t sort out though.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It does get very, very cold in the desert at night, pack more warm clothes than you think you'll need. Be aware if you have binoculars in your luggage as you will be stopped numerous times at the airport when leaving Jordan, they will be taken away to be checked, bizarrely by the same person but in different areas of the airport, in all I was waiting around for over an hour!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus really should not use the Olive Branch hotel in Jerash, it was disgraceful; bare live electric wires in the rooms half-heartedly taped up, unclean bathrooms with bad plumbing (wet-wipes to the rescue that day) and very unhygienic areas on the way to the ‘breakfast room’. The other hotels were perfectly adequate, the Holiday Inn being the highlight or was that because it was immediately after the night in Jerash?
  • Reviewed April 2022

    An excellent tonic after two years isolation

    Interesting and varied wildlife opportunities every day at a very leisurely pace. Some long journey times but with adequate breaks that made it manageable. A great driver (Carlos) and an excellent guide (Jorge) made for a great journey.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day there was something different from animated sloths, ant-eater, racoons and the vivid colours of the birds through to an encounter with a turtle, humpback whale and a Sailfish. Expect to be woken early morning by Howler monkeys (you'll need to be up anyway). If you want to see the Quetzal expect to wait and wait and wait. You might get lucky and see one in five minutes but that wasn't our lucky. One day we waited for two hours, we saw the tail feathers of the male and nothing else. Another day we waited for another two hours. This time we were rewarded with a glimpse of the head and shoulders of a female Quetzal. The programme didn't schedule this much time but we just made the time after all not that many Costa Ricans have seen their National bird.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant! Any other comment would be superfluous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As the Trip Notes mention you need to be prepared for all weathers. 30 minutes before a 6am departure to look for wildlife on the river the heavens opened and the rain was torrential. Just a few minutes before our departure it stopped. We were lucky, a few minutes either way and we'd have been soaked to the skin. Throughout the trip the humidity was high - bottom line, you will not completely dry any clothes. Savegre will come as a shock after many days at 28-30C because at night in the Rain forest you'll be looking for fleeces and trousers to wear (unless you're Canadian). On the journey to Drakes Bay you will spend around an hour in a high powered motorboat. Sitting mid-point in the boat the sound levels were consistently around 100dB. You might want to consider some ear plugs. Cold is not an issue at Irazu but the altitude could be. It effects different people in different ways but just remember that at 3,400m you'll be above the clouds and the air will be thin.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our visit as the pandemic declined was well appreciated by all the local people we met. We were well looked after by our guide and driver who ensured we had a memorable visit to their country while maintaining safety for us and the wildlife we wanted to see. It's a country well worth at least one visit and I'd be very happy to travel with Jorge and Carlos again.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Petra and Wadi Rum Trek

    This was a wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery, a lovely country and of course Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I just liked being in the desert. The colours were more beautiful than I had imagined, and at times it was very still and quiet. It was lovely sitting round the camp fire in the evening and the stars were fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Abdulla, couldn't have been better. He was very knowledgeable, and supportive of the group. He had a great sense of humour and he paced the overall trip and each day very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really does get cold in the desert at night. Take plenty of clothes and a good sleeping bag!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Fantastic trip

    This is fantastic holiday, don't hesitate to book it, this trip has varied landscapes, with the deserts in the south and national parks, with its varied wildlife in the north. There is a lot of long drives involved with this trip, up to 6 hours on some days, but that is part of the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are a number of highlights in this trip, climbing the large sand dunes, feeding ostriches, seeing springboks bounding across the Etosha NP and other animals including Rhino, Zebra, Giraffe, Elephants, because of the rain in the park before we arrived we didn't see many animals around the water holes,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was a great group leader, he was very informative, funny and well organised, he looked after us very well, nothing was to much trouble for for him, this was my 15th trip with exodus, and I think he was the best guide I have had, I would also like to thank Jonas, our cook for the week, he served up some great dishes during our trip, him and Shane worked well together, we had a big downpour of rain while they were packing up the tents, and they did it with a smile and a joke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long drives and early starts, but it is worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    book it ..... its a fantastic place to see!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Children of the revolution!

    Great trip, crew worked tirelessly for us, fascinating place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery in SE hills was especially good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, could not be faulted

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Change your money on the street!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No it was brilliant
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Highly Recommended

    Busy holiday that introduces you to the delights of Namibia from the sand dunes to the Skeleton Coast and game drives in the national parks. We saw loads of wildlife but due to an extended rainy season the waterholes at the campsites were not remotely busy or active, and the big cats were not seen at all. However, the tour guide was fabulous, and I loved every minute of the trip. My only wish was that we had more time there!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are too many: climbing the sand dunes, seeing Deadvlei, flight from Swakopmund, Dune explore and sand boarding, sky dive, getting up close to ostrich, cheetah, zebra, giraffe, rhino, warthog, dikdik and many more. I also had a great time chatting to the stall holders at the craft market.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was fabulous. Tireless in keeping everything running smoothly and constantly cheerful. His knowledge of his country and of the flora and fauna is excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a fabulous country to visit. The people are very friendly and happy to have a chat, or to sell you their crafts and all speak English. Sense of humour essential!