Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Amanda Jackson

    Walking in Andalucia

    A fantastic week of walking through various landscapes and looking out to some spectacular vistas. The cortijo is perfectly based; the staff just lovely and waking up each morning with the sun rising over the hills was really special. As a solo traveller I can easily recommend this trip, I was fortunate enough to enjoy the company of a great group of strangers that became friends through the week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito del Rey and getting over the bridge in one piece!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis is a brilliant guide, very knowledgeable, well organised, considerate and has a great sense of humour. He made the whole group feel welcome from the start

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are vegetarian/vegan don’t worry about the food; the staff made some fabulous dishes for me throughout the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cortijo is a great base, with two very friendly dogs; Chico and Churro. They really are very much part of the place and I sincerely hope they stay when the ownership of the place changes.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Pam Douglass

    Mont Blanc Highlites

    hiking was wonderful and loved every moment - even the hard parts

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday hiking was inspirational for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jim our guide was good but Sarah and Rich were our hosts at the chalet and they made our trip. Sarah was always full of stories and her dinner meals were fabulous

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring snacks as most of us felt that breakfast and lunches were not that great. Something hot for breakfast would have been nice and some fresh fruit - not days old fruit for lunches. It would be better if they could provide clean towels throughout the week - we had them all week. No place to wash or dry clothes - we were lucky we had room 4 so we had the balcony so we could dry clothes as hiking clothes needed to be washed out daily.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    see above - great trip I would recommend but a few improvements as mentioned would be great
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gabriella Butler

    Manali to Leh July-Aug 2017

    The trip is really an unforgettable one. The cycling itself is difficult but the people on our trip were very supportive of each other; even the locals shouted encouragement to keep us going! The clashes of different cultures, from the chaos in Delhi to the serenity in Leh, show you the vastness of the country and so you are able to experience India more than you would by simply visiting the main tourist attractions. The landscape was very diverse featuring Alpine-like forestry, red rocked valleys, and misty snow-capped mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was reaching the top of the Khardang-La, the highest motor able road pass in the world, standing at 5603m. The sense of achievement from reaching the top, especially with new friends that have completed it with you, is a euphoric feeling. All the people in our group were different; we had people from Australia, Belgium, Holland, and the UK, but it was very inspiring to push out of our comfort zones throughout the trip, and achieve conquering the final mountain together. The people you meet on this trip, whether from India or elsewhere, will be people you won't ever forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip leaders, Valerie and Raj, were very knowledgable of the area and so you gain an understanding from the landscape and culture more than you would by simply admiring the beauty of India. They were very encouraging when anyone felt under the weather or was struggling with the cycling and ensured that everybody was enjoying themselves. Both were very inspirational.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to add, I was the youngest on the trip at 18 years old. This was not a problem at all. The range of ages and abilities across the group were all catered for and, although you need some basic fitness, there is no need to worry. To sum up, the trip was amazing. The camping is basic but perfect and makes you come back feeling very humble for what you have. Also the stars at night make the lack of showers worth it! If you're thinking about going on the trip, go. You will not regret it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vittoria Doyle

    Excellent overview of Serbia.

    Excellent tour around this little known country. Included are many varied activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating lunch with the local family. Touring Novi Sad and Belgrade.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Snejzana was one of the best leaders i have ever had. Her local knowledge was outstanding. Her english was excellent and as she has travelled widely her knowledge of our needs as travellers was exceptional. Her patience and people skills were amazing too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have some long days travelling but you have plenty of different activities to keep you occupied. Nice hotels and lots if meals provided. Its a very cheap destination. You can change pounds, euros or dollars very easily.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    J. Thomson

    Land of the Jaguar - and other wildlife

    The trip provided the wildlife viewing we had hoped for - five jaguars, plus giant otters, armadillos, anteater etc etc and a wide variety of bird life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a jaguar cub emerge cautiously from its den before playing with its mother.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was very good at spotting and identifying wildlife, both mammals and birdlife. All the trips and transfers ran smoothly due to his involvement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On my visit the weather was dry, sunny, and hot, up to 40ºC. It cooled to about 20º around dawn. Go prepared for a range of temperatures - check the Caceres weather forecast. The trip notes do not make it clear that at the lodge activities such as horse-riding and canoeing are part of the programme. You may wish to check that your travel insurance covers these.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Balbinder Sidhu

    Fantastic Holiday!!

    I would highly recommend this trip if you are considering a trekking holiday. The views of the Alps from Switzerland, Italy and France were beautiful. The trek itself was hard but doable if you train ahead and it's far more enjoyable too. Camping was fun. Really helps to bond with the group. I'm glad I took this option over the Hotel version.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the Cols and witnessing the magnificent views of the surrounding Alps was jaw dropping. A real motivation to plod along knowing you will be subjected to some beautiful views. The final day up to the Brevent was fabulous. Sat eating my lunch with the Mont Blanc Massif around me will remain in my memory for a long while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was a terrific leader and team builder. He was so chilled and unregimented I strongly believe this attitude resonated down the group. It made us all feel relaxed and un-pressed to go marching forth. Instead he would pace us all at a leisurely comfortable way stopping quite often to share his knowledge on the surrounding environment. He would teach us how to trust our boots when walking and encourage us to take 5 smaller steps than to waste energy by lunging up one step with greater exertion. He would share local knowledge of flora and fauna. History of the mountainsides and even an impromptu berry tasting session. John was a brilliant teacher who clearly showed great enthusiasm and huge respect to the environment that he was show casing to the rest of us. John was almost host-like rather than our guide. Wonderful chap who made the tour far more enjoyable. You could truly trust he was looking after you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Four seasons sleeping bag and comfortable mat for a good nights rest.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Both John and Egle (camping support) really made the trip enjoyable. Egle's support was truly appreciated. Flask of hot water were on the ready after a long days trekking. Egle would have breakfast ready each morning and then all the delights placed out for us to make our endless bundles of sandwiches for lunch. Dinner on the campsite were three courses, plentiful and restaurant styled gourmet cuisine!! Unreal for camping. I strongly believe my holiday was a success as a direct result of having both John and Egle taking care of us. Thank you to you both!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jo Cuttell

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn 505A

    A great walk with fabulous scenery. The group was very supportive and friendly and this added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The food was amazing, delicious and filling. The camp manager was brilliant - very efficient, and a great cook.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the col after climbing up the ladders at the Pas de Chèvre. I've never done anything like that before. Exhilarating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader really added to my enjoyment of the holiday. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and pointed out interesting plants that I would have missed otherwise. We even saw an eidelweiss on the mountainside. He also shared his interest in the geology and history of the area which I found interesting and helpful in understanding the mountains. He was a thoughtful leader and took time to help people who needed support over the more difficult terrain. His route finding was impeccable and when bad weather came in the group felt complete confidence in him to get us to the campsite.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an inner sheet sleeping bag for the night in the huts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great holiday- get fit and do it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Françoise Walker

    Unspoilt Sardinia

    Excellent walking in an unspoilt, wild part of Sardinia. Walks are varied and interesting and reasonably hard going. If you like craggy, rocky landscapes with lots of up and down, this would suit you. Also enjoyed the cultural day visiting archeological sights, it made a good contrast and I was keen to find out more about bronze age Sardinia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Tiscali was fantastic. Both for the views, Tiscali itself and the rocky paths we had to negotiate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was excellent. Very sociable, organised and good at imparting his enthusiasm for Sardinia and its history and culture.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tracey Lawrence

    Recommend this (NOT EXPLORE - see below)

    I would highly recommend this cycling holiday. Not only do you get to take in the breathe taking views and islands on 2 wheels, but there is plenty of time to relax and explore whilst providing a few challenging hills with the reward of a stunning view at the top! Our guide Alan and driver Danny were attentive, informative and in my top tour leaders :) With the support of the cycle trailer and a bus to accommodate anyone who can't or doesn't want to complete a hill (or if you are injured) there is comfort in knowing this tour is still a holiday and not a fitness challenge. The island are beautiful, mainly tarmac back quiet roads, the locals friendly, the food delicious.....a few hotels were very dated and need of modernisation and I'm glad I left the trip early and didn't spend 2 nights in the Dubrovnik accommodation. I would add that I considered Explore tour and the 70km day put me off.....we saw this group along the way they arrived in at 8pm on their long day... and noted they did not have a support vehicle like Exodus and some of their group were not happy about this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Full moon rising...our tour leader planned this perfectly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    superb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    meals were a lot more expensive than I had budgeted for and the pre ordered food was sometime £10 - 15 for a lunch that was cheese, ham, bread and olives!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Anne Stewart

    Mt Blanc Circuit - camping

    Camping and walking trip around Mt Blanc. Beautiful scenery, a great group of people and our guide - John and our camp manager Egle made everything extra special. Effort and speed of walking was very well managed. I don't think anyone felt that it required a major effort to keep up with the group but at the same time you knew that you had earned your meal at the end of the day! The ascents and descents bought a sense of achievement and of course always the reward of fantastic scenery. Each day provided different scenery and the always present mountains. It is truly an excellent trip - manageable but challenging walking with well paced days that had us covering appropriate distances, managing the ascents and descents but also time for coffee breaks, scenic lunch stops and afternoon tea breaks. The camping, tents, meals and facilities were all excellent and comfortable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide, John, on the first day, gave us some tips and the opportunity to practice some walking skills particularly on managing the steeper ascents and descents. This was inspirational as the new skills helped make the ascents and descents so much easier to manage and also less tiring, which meant more time to enjoy the scenery and take photos. I've always been slower on the descents but using John's techniques made the effort less stressful on feet, knees and ankles and descents became much more fun. The scenery, is of course, just outstanding. Each day provided many "awesome" moments. Our group, mostly individuals, also got on very well - sharing camp duties, helping each other out, hanging out and having fun as well as walking well together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was an excellent group leader. He has a relaxed manner but keeps everything under control without ever coming across as authoritarian or overbearing. He was quietly vigilant in making sure each group member was travelling well and I think his personality and approach was a key factor in our group of individuals bonding and getting on so well. He definitely has a good sense of humour and an apparently endless supply of and desire to sing (fairly quietly) power ballads as he walked! His extensive outdoor skills and knowledge of mountains, walking, hiking and of the area around Mt Blanc gave each us a strong sense of confidence and this meant we could relax and enjoy the walk without having to worry about anything going wrong, or stressing on the details. Egle, our camp manager also did an outstanding job and produced fantastic meals, kept us all well fed and was a delight to have around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are doing the camping version remember to take a warm sleeping bag and a warm jacket for night time as it gets colder than you think. With these items you will be comfortable. Work on your fitness prior to the trip but you don't have to go super crazy trying to achieve maximum fitness. Also definitely take advantage of your rest day and take the gondola ride across the top if the weather is fairly decent. The views up the top over the glaciers and of Mt Blanc are stunning.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087