Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

293 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Susanna Buckley

    Wonderful family holiday

    A busy but well organised trip. This was the first time we'd done a trip like this and we don't regret it. We saw so much in the 14 days - I don't think we could have done and seen so much if we'd organised it on our own. Our two children (16 and 18 years old) had a great time. They made friends with the other young people on the trip and this made it easier and enjoyable for everyone. Everything was organised in a family friendly way and the guides were excellent. It was also good to see the way local communities can be supported by responsible travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say - so many lovely memories. The sampan trip on the Mekong Delta and the stay at the homestay were great. The trip to Angkor Wat was amazing - the scale of the place is breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 leaders - one in Vietnam and one for Cambodia and Bangkok. Both were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need Vietnamese Dong for Vietnam. In Cambodia you can use US Dollars but sometimes it's easier to use Cambodian Riels. ATMs in Cambodia dispense US Dollars and Riels. For Thailand, you'll need Thai Bhat (our guide stopped just before the Thai border so that we could exchange). For visas, you need to pay cash in US Dollars. We found that we needed mainly cash - some of the restaurants didn't accept cards or some places (eg supermarkets) have a minimum spend before using a card and, if you only want a drink, that doesn't come to the minimum spend. Also, if you want to buy in the markets, you'll need cash. There were ATMs near all the places we stayed (except Mekong Delta). Pack light, cotton clothing, you don't really need activewear/trekking wear. There are local laundry services available in Cambodia - around USD2or3 per kg.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful holiday, wonderful memories. Everyone in the family had a great time.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Kristen Gilbert

    Perfect blend of cycling and sightseeing

    My husband and I went on this tour in July 2019. We were impressed from the beginning by the excellent organization and by the professionality of our guide Nut. We also had a terrific group, a good mix of more ambitious cyclists and those who desired a more leisurely pace (although I should mention that the tour is somewhat demanding and isn't for total beginners). Everyone seemed to have a wonderful time regardless of their cycling ability. Having experienced guides made things so much easier than if we had tried to organize the trip on our own - which we never would have attempted as a cycling tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many memorable moments, including the temple visits, the Killing Fields, navigating around scooters and food carts, cycling through the Mekong villages with kids shouting hello, trying new foods ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut is simply the best. What else is there to say?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip if you want to combine an active holiday and plenty of sightseeing. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    David H

    An wonderful trip. Highly recommended.

    This was a superb trip in many respects. If you are unsure about booking this trip, then just book it, as it will be a unique and positive experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Cambodia was extremely interesting for me. Discovering the temples around Siem Reep was perfect on bicycle, and surely, there is no better way to do it? Phnom Penn, steeped in recent history regarding the Khmer Rouge was a unique experience, and although upsetting, it importantly outlined what happened so we can be more prepared for the future . The border crossings were something to behold. The overall experience was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was fantastic in all respects. This is my 4th cycle tour, and although they were all excellent, Nut excelled in this role. His attention to detail was well appreciated. The snack stops involved a Tupperwear buffet feast. Ice cold water was always available (appreciated in the heat). On the hottest days, Nut sourced ice cream towards the end of our ride and helped spur us on! He was also a very good guitar player at the Homestay that evening. The support teams were also the best I have had, always smiling and going out of their way to make sure we had all that was needed. The teams took over seamlessly in each country, and having 3 different bikes created no problems at all. Well done!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was in a particularly strong group of cyclists with average moving speeds of 20Km/h-30Km/h, far higher than stated on the website (13-16Km/h). I enjoyed the challenge during first part of the trip, but the long 80Km day cycling from Cambodia into Vietnam at high speeds was regrettable as the scenery was absolutely stunning and I was unable to get any photos or enjoy the experience fully. So be aware that the trip may be faster than the speed stated in the information and find a way to take pictures on the move, if this is important to you. The temperatures ranged from 28-38 degrees whist in Thailand, so take lots of factor 50 sunscreen with you as very little opportunity to buy on route. The Homestay evening was very enjoyable, but some of us got bitten during the night despite nets, so take some good insect spray with you.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Gill Smallman

    What an adventure!

    I have just returned from the Indochina Angkor trip and can thoroughly recommend it. So many different experiences are included in the trip without overwhelming the group and I have memories that will last a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to chose a highlight. We rode along small roads getting a real feel for the three countries, visited classic temples, cruised along the Mekong Delta and still had time to 'do our own thing' in the bigger cities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader (Nut) was exceptional, taking care of the details and making sure everyone enjoyed their experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is great advice in the Trip Notes but do be prepared for the heat and humidity and try to get in some practise rides in similar conditions if possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an all round great trip, if it is on your wish list put it at the top!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Neil Pearson

    Brilliant 'last' family holiday with our kids before they head off into the world / don't want to go on family holidays

    It's a busy trip, with a lot packed into 14 days, but absolutely worth the effort as the experiences are amazing. We could never have done this in this way as independent travellers, so it was definitely the right choice to take the trip with Exodus. It just made everything easy and allowed the group to make the most of the time, and experience as much as possible. Very good ground transportation provided, comfortable and safe There are a couple of long drives, but they are broken up with interesting stops along the way - so while it looks a little bleak in the itinerary they are absolutely fine (although the Siem Reap to Bangkok drive is a tough one). Hotels all good to very good, and almost all with good pools too; the homestay is great too...more basic but one of the more memorable nights on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    28km cycling ride around the Ankhor Wat complex is brilliant - it's all flat out there so not too taxing, although we were all tired at the end of the day. Killing Fields and S21 make for a very sobering and quite graphic day that you will not forget Cu Chi Tunnels and the museum in Ho Chi Minh City is brilliant and to see the story from a very local perspective is interesting Sampan down the Mekong River is great, quite short in the grand scheme of the holiday, but big on memories. Our kids (18 & 15) had an amazing time with the other kids on the trip, all about the same age and they all got on really well. So good to see them having fun and bonding with their peers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour had 2 group leaders, one in Vietnam and one for Cambodia and Thailand. Very different personalities, but both very good and knowledgable and we never felt like we were in anything other than safe hands at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The temples are fine with shorts that are ON the knee, they don't have to be below the knee. For those people who had the wrong shorts, you could buy classic Asian cotton baggy trousers for $3 at the temples, so don't worry too much about this. A few of our group stayed on for an extra night in Bangkok, and I think this is good advice...an extra day of free time in Bangkok could be useful just to slow the pace down before you travel home as it's a busy schedule and you may want to take in a few of the sights that are not on the trip. The homestay is a brilliant experience, it's more simple accommodation than the rest of the trip, but is very comfortable and such a fun night for the group..it's the moment on the trip where we got time to chat and become friends with each other.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amazing family holiday and experience - we all loved it.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alison Saveall

    Fabulous Family Adventure

    This was an amazing holiday. We saw so much and it was so well organised - I cannot recommend Exodus enough! This was the first time we'd done this kind of trip with our nine year old daughter - and it was brilliant in the way it combined: having a family adventure, seeing places i'd wanted to visit, but made accessible and interesting for all the family; within the safety net of the trip being organised by someone that it was clear we could rely on. The detail and organisation was so well handled by Exodus and the guides, leaving us to enjoy ourselves, have adventures, watch the world go by, and learn about other parts of the world. I particularly appreciated the thought that went into supporting local people and businesses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling around Ankhor Wat temples - and because it was super hot (40), Bun and the local guides had thought of everything: drink, fruit, and were mindful that we kept rehydrated, and there was even a back up bus in case we gave up in the heat! We also enjoyed the homestay in Vietnam - and the cycling trip that Phong had arranged for us there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Phong in Vietnam, and Bun in Cambodia & Thailand were amazing. I had complete faith in both of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is super hot in April, so to be able to spend time outside and enjoy the temples at Ankhor Wat (for example) in more detail, you may be better going in October - December. Having said that, we survived the heat and had a brilliant time. Pack as light as you can. And if you go in March/April, avoid vest tops and 'short' shorts etc - go for long and floaty tops and 1/2 or 3/4 trousers/skirts. Both for the heat, but also to respect the local cultures, and when visiting the temples.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Where to next!!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Graham Bacon

    Classic Vietnam and Angkor

    What a fantastic trip, Cong the leader was excellent, always willing to share his extensive knowledge of both local and country wide topics.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cambodia and it's smaller temple's.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, should be inline for the tour leader prize!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Going in March we found that we had taken to many warm clothes. Great time of the year to go.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lucy Pearce

    Amazing Adventure

    Every day provided an interesting insight into the culture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The bike ride in Hoi Ann's countryside with Zoom Zoom was inspirational, fun and informative. He discussed how the rice fields were harvested, how families acreage was allocated and we visited two locals homes. One where rice wine was made by a Vietnamese injured war veteran who had built a small business from very little and the other home a lady weaved rugs. The people who had suffered so much were kind and gracious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader for Vietnam, over 12 days, Cons Nguyen was warm, welcoming and exceptionally efficient. The transport, hotels and sight seeing logistics were impeccably managed. He always safely managed people on/off planes, buses, taxis, boats, kayaks and took the group to some pre-booked great local restaurants that we would never have found if left to our own devices. He was very knowledgeable; quickly knew the names of all 16 members of our group, consistently answered queries, always providing proactive information on both what we were doing and what we would be doing next. Our Cambodian Tour Guide, Rous over 2 days was similarly efficient albeit we had one very good full day at the Ankor complex (starting at 4.30.a.m.) with her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for many early morning starts. However, looking back you fully appreciate how much you pack-in a day!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worthwhile to write a short travel log at the end of each day (I didn't!) highlighting the best bits.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Roger Frith

    Cambodian adventure AOA190310

    An excellent trip. the guide Buntheun was first class, the variation from Ko kong to the Naia hotel in the south was on reflection a very good idea. overall very good value for the money

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat, the silk farm , the beach at Naia hotel

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A truly excellent guide
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicki Ashenden

    Cycling through Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

    This was our third cycling trip with Exodus. It was an amazing journey and adventure and we loved every single moment of it. It was a fantastic way to see some ‘highlights’ of three beautiful countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt Cambodia - its such a beautiful country; cycling through villages in Cambodia and Vietnam; the wonderful night in the homestay; the food and the border crossings!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut - what we can we say, he is an absolute star and gave us such a wonderful holiday from start to finish. We have been really lucky to have had fantastic group leaders in our previous trips but Nut just stands out there. He has a wonderful sense of humour, makes you feel incredibly safe and well looked after, has such patience when he has to tell you for the third time as you are so tired when and where we are meeting for dinner or the morning, his knowledge is incredible. He’s amazing!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat - this has been said in previous reviews about the heat and this cannot be under estimated. We went early March and the cycling in Thailand was tough due to the heat. Nut was brilliant and shortened the distances between refreshment stops due to this but it is hard going. Don’t however let this put you off, the cycling is relatively flat apart from a few rolling hills, take padded shorts, there are plenty of opportunities for washing so pack light. Insect repellent is also a must. Be also prepared for long days - it’s a tiring trip but definitely worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful cycling holiday - we were a group of 5 and became a “cycling family” very quickly even spending our free evenings together. We laughed our way round and supported each other through three different countries. We can not recommend this trip enough.
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111