Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lisa Burt-frost

    Trip full of wonder

    Premium Nile trip to fulfil a lifetime of wonder

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Honestly all of the sights, a lifetime of reading about these ancient wonders only to find yourself actually there, walking into the Chambers of a Pyramid, through tombs in the valley of the Kings, even Tomb of King Tut and seeing his mummified remains, wondering around various temples including Karnak, Edfu, Hatshepsut's etc, the workers village trip is a must, and the simply breathtaking Abu Simbel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Sayed, his knowledge and passion for all things Egyptian is mind blowing, if you want to learn along the way Sayed is your guide. But he also finds a balance between giving you lots of info but free time to explore as well, nothing was too much trouble and we never felt rushed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only down side to this tour is Exodus are still supporting a couple of areas less than positive where animal welfare is concerned, when visiting the temple please do not support the horse and carriage rides this is a barbaric practice and sadly avoidable as for every horse and carriage their is a man trying to earn a living with a Tut Tut, speak to your guide and tell him you want a Tut Tut only, the more of us that do this the less horses will suffer in this practice. Also be aware that if doing the Nubian Village tour which I do recommend request that you only visit a house that does not have a caged Croc, we visited Fifi and her family and had a lovely time, a very confident and spirited young lady with a very clean and welcoming home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have always wanted to immerse yourself in the real ancient side of Egypt then do consider booking this trip, you won't be disappointed
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Louise Sampson

    Excellent well balanced trip

    This trip is a good mix of walking, city culture, great wine tasting and good food. The walks are leisurely - undulating - through lovely county side and vineyards. Not too long but long enough to know you have done something. Local guided tours had been arranged in Siena and Florence which made it more focused since there is really only time for a taster! - definitely go back for a longer trip to see all they both have to offer. The arranged wine tastings were very informative especially the one at the Tuscany wine school in Siena - we will be on the look out for the wines we tasted. The local restaurants used all served excellent food as did the Vila Casalta where we stayed. We also took part in an italian cooking lesson run by Edith on our free day. Well worth going to - but she only takes cash. Our guide Liz - was very experienced, very informative and knowledgeable. All in all an excellent holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz - Elizabeth Proctor was excellent
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jacqueline Menniss

    Full on trip with lots to experience

    Prepare for long days, early starts, long bus journey's and a full itinerary - but be rewarded by great varied scenery, busy bustling medinas with their labyrinth of noisy disorientating souks, to the tranquility of the Atlas mountains and the spectacular desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be the desert - the camel ride through the sand dunes to the Bedouin tent was magical and a great experience. Loved the High Atlas mountain stay meeting the locals and being invited in a home for a simple meal - the berbers were so friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed the hike through the High Atlas mountains with great views. Enjoyed free time by the sea in Essaouira - a chance to relax and wander the souks which were a lot more peaceful than busy Marrakech.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was a great guide - competent and knowledgeable with a great love of his Berber heritage and culture which he shared with us. He kept us safe and took us to lots of different places to eat, recommending what we should eat and avoid. A lovely man who encouraged us to ask questions about life in Morocco, it's people, culture and religion. He knew everyone. Thanks Abdullah.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some reading and preparation before you go especially if you haven't travelled much outside of Europe. This 'premier' tour is not premier by British standards. The accommodation whilst reflecting the Moroccan experience of riads and kasbahs looks lovely and exotic, in practice they are often very basic with hard beds, faulty equipment, poor plumbing and not cleaned to the standard you might expect. Once you accept this - immerse yourself in its difference as they are beautiful. The people on the whole are very welcoming and friendly especially in the rural areas but you will experience poverty and sights that you may find uncomfortable - but this is Morroco - prepare to experience all it has and you will have a great time. '
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Talfourd

    Accurate

    Different from most cycle trips but group kept together well and no moans or groans Also guide and assistant very good

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Generally feeling of isolation and proximity of Russian border.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good different from usual guides being older but group age older

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Open mind as to accommodation
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Carole Barlow

    Exceeded our expectations.

    A brilliant trip, combining quieter , less well known areas with the big cities of Amritsar, Delhi and Agra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at dawn has to be the highlight of the trip but we have so many wonderful memories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this holiday to anyone but try to get a couple of nights in Agra as there is so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus had obviously acted promptly in response to some negative reviews from a previous trip and had changed a couple of the hotels. They also responded magnificently when Jet Airways cancelled our return flight with less than 24 hours notice. They booked us new flights within the hour and we arrived home just a couple of hours later than scheduled.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tim Marshall

    Try the Moonstone trek!

    Booked trip late, so the Inca Trail itself was sold out. This didn't bother me, as the Moonstone trek sounded great - and it was. Loved the fantastic scenery, the pre-Inca and Inca structures, the glimpses of Andean village life, the excellent food, and the peace and quiet of the trek. Rest of trip was great, too - good itinerary, excellent organisation. Cuzco is a wonderful city to explore. Really enjoyed optional Sacred Valley day trip. Machu Picchu did not disappoint, either (and I have found the odd big-name sight disappointing in the past). Overall, hard to fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the trek from start to finish. Beautiful on third day of trek to see glaciers high up, then regular mountains, then the Sacred Valley down below, all at same time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike (main tour leader) was great - very knowledgeable, and proactive in responding to people's needs and requests. Henry (Moonstone trek leader) was a quieter character, but had the necessary skills to lead us competently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as you can to enjoy the walking more. Altitude can affect anyone, even if it has not affected you previously, so be prepared to feel out of sorts or have a headache. At the same time, don't worry overly about it - the guides are good at monitoring people's wellbeing, and know what to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the Moonstone trek, you miss out on the classic view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate high above, where 'The Inca Trail' ends. But the Moonstone trek is a far less visited Inca trail, and you still get a full tour of Machu Picchu. If doing the Moonstone trek, you might want to check how many are in the group, as the groups are apparently smaller for this than the classic Inca Trail. We had four trekkers, which was fine, but a smaller group than that might feel a little odd.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jules McKittrick

    Awesome trip

    This trip packed in a lot in the confines of a two-week itinerary! I really liked the variety of the trip - the first half takes you to less touristy places, such as Garli, Mandi. Even at the Golden Temple I felt like we were the only non-Indian visitors, and that made it very special. A stop in the home town of the Dalai Lama was made even more special by actually seeing him at his home - this was due to a well timed visit to the temple. Agra and Delhi are crazy busy places and not for the faint-hearted! But again a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the incredible logistical exercise of feeding the masses at the Golden Temple - even joined in with a bit of chapati making!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There was a great joint-effort between our guide, Sonham, and our two drivers. Anil, one of the drivers, went completely out of his way to look after us. His driving skills were quite something - especially the navigation around Delhi and some of the mountain roads. I have no idea how he did it but kept us safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip if you want to get a bit away from the big attractions of northern India (but a nice bonus at the end of the trip with the Taj Majal).
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Patrick Hetherington

    Most enjoyable trip in a fascinating and untouristy area.

    Varied but generally not too challenging walking in an area with a fascinating history and archaeological interest. Also an opportunity to visit Athens.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Discovering how widely the Evians travelled and founded settlements in various parts of the Mediterranean.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was an exceptional group leader. His knowledge of the area and its history was extensive and he inspired me with his enthusiasm. He was very attentive to our needs, ensuring all went smoothly, and going out of his way to give us the best possible experience. He took a flexible approach to the schedule, taking account of weather forecasts. Strong winds later in the week affecting the ferries necessitated delaying the Athens visit until the final day, but even so we were able to have a visit to the Acropolis and a walking tour of the city guided by Thanos.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for changeable weather! We were probably lucky not having any rain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Basic but pleasant tourist hotel with excellent breakfast. Wide choice of evening dishes in a variety of restaurants. Comfortable minibus. Excellent service from the drivers. A few of us not on the group flights were looked after with transfers provided.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Steve and Tracey Chivers

    Good trip which could be great

    We thought we should start by explaining why we would score this trip a 4 rather than a 5; 1. On the game drives seating is allocated so you have no say on who you share a drive with (other than your partner) or what zone you visit. As a result, the groups often go to different zones and there didn’t seem to be any rationale as to who was doing what and when. 2. There is some seat rotation however we found this to be extremely limited, therefore out of our 10 fellow travellers we didn’t spend any game drive time with 6 of them. 3. Because of point 1 and 2 we had the understandable issue of some people experiencing better spotting (especially tigers) than others. Our group seemed to have the least sightings and were happy for the others but a tad jealous. That said we had a great group, who were very respectful and with our encouragement were happy to share their experiences and photos, which we loved. 4. Vijay joins a jeep on each game drive and due to the need for a local guide, regardless of whether Vijay is with you or not, when he joins your drive the 3 in the back tend to have an uncomfortable time (this seemed to be the overall view of the group). Although Vijay rotates which Jeep he joins, for us, we had a group of 3 jeeps meaning that for a 1/3rd of the time we had 5 in the jeep not the advertised 4. 5. As with all of these trips there are a few travel days, which was absolutely fine, however the opportunity to mix up the groups up wasn’t taken. 6. As a consequence of the above points we had limited quality time with 6 of our 10 fellow travellers, which was a shame. Putting the above points aside, we wouldn’t want to give the impression that we didn’t have a great time because we did. In the end we saw 16 tigers which was far more than we thought we would. The majority of these came in the last few drives and we were really pleased we took the option of the additional drive, during which we saw 3 tigers, 2 of which were mating. We also saw a huge array of other wildlife although we didn’t see a leopard. The hotels were perfectly fine, although we would agree the food option as a tad repetitive. Loved the train journey and what really adds to this trip is the visit the Taj Mahal which is a true wonder of the modern world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Has to be the 90 minutes we spent with a young male tiger, on game drive 15, it was incredible!! We were lucky enough to be first on the scene and because of this and due to it being in one of the smaller zones we didn’t have to go through the “jeep scum” that takes place in the bigger zones.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It seemed to us this is a pretty tricky trip to lead, given the pressure to ensure everyone has the “once in a life time” tiger experience they are hoping for and the added stress of the train journey. During our trip it was Tracey’s birthday and without asking Vijay organised a birthday cake and even bought her a present, which was very much appreciated. We thought he managed the subject of tips well and gave the group the option of allowing him to manage this which everyone agreed was the best option. Vijay provided the group a summary towards the end of the trip detailing how the tip money had been spent which was a little unnecessary but a nice touch. We both loved how excited he got when a tiger was spotted and he waited at the lodge entrance for all the jeeps to return and was always keen to hear how successful the drives had been. Overall, we would say Vijay was an excellent group leader and we both enjoyed his company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read Jackie’s review “its not all about the tigers” with interest as in reality its really difficult to avoid the trip from not being so. We can only suggest you remain patient and enjoy the wildlife that you do see. Out of 16 tigers we saw, our first sighting was on drive 8, with 4 being on drive 15 and 3 on the additional drive. The trip notes are pretty decent and offer any additional info you may need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We are sure some of the fellow travellers would give the trip a 5, and with some fairly basic changes we would agree that the trip should rate a 5. This was the second time we have visited India with the aim of seeing tigers in the wild and this trip offers an excellent opportunity to do so at a very reasonable price. Compared with our previous experience, we came away with the opinion that everything was being done, that can be, to help tigers survive and we got the impression that numbers are on the rise which is fab news!! This was certainly reflected in the fact we our many more tigers this time than the last time we visited (should add this wasn’t with Exodus). In summary, we would certainly recommend the trip to others.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    John Pickard

    Everest & Gokyo lakes Circuit

    Do not read these trip notes and think, "oh thats a nice trip we have walked that in the lakes" This trip is a test of your physical and mental state. The views are spectacular, but so is the weather, when is snows it snows. sleep can be difficult at altitude, as can eating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing Everest from Namche, as the day before had been a huge slog, we needed some sunshine and a view

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader of the group kumar, Harry and Saga were all very good and helpful. There were times that i am sure we pushed their patients

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not rely on cash machines, take new english notes and exchange them. Get fit before you go!
Call us on +82-(0)02-6320-4111