Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17615 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Inger Griffith

    The Kingdom og Jordan

    An excellently put together itinerary , with a good variety of places of interest and information. We were lucky with the weather, which helped, so we could make the most of all the sights. I would recommend the trip to others

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed many of the places, from mount Nemo and all that place represents, the roman ruins and of course Petra which lived up to all the hype....the stay in the desert and not forgetting the Dead Sea. Jordan is a magical place and it’s people lovely and friendly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was excellent. He gave us an insight into the country and it’s people which totally changed my previous thoughts. The tolerance of different religious beliefs and the mutual respect for one another Unfortunately there was a stabbing incident on our last day where a good friend of our guide was hurt along with several tourists, but our guide treated the situation gracefully ,condemning violence ,and showing real shock ,just like his countrymen ,that such an incidence should happen here. Top notch

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack good walking shoes and keep an open mind to everything you encounter and you will have a life changing experience

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one thing I missed was fresh fruit at breakfast. We only got that at the last place we stayed. I thoroughly recommend the trip and our guide
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Colin Wigston

    An Outstanding Experience

    This is a great week of strenuous walking in a beautiful area. The Guadalest valley is inland from Benidorm. It is surrounded by limestone mountains and has terraces of almond, orange and olive trees. There are several pretty villages and Moorish castles, with a river running down to the Mediterranean. Although strenuous, everyone in our group managed all the walks without too much difficulty. The weather was excellent sunny with a cool wind; ideal for hill-walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summits of Serrella, Puig Campana and Serra de Aitana were all great moments. Fabulous views unfolded on each peak. Emerging from the tunnel on Bernia was also rather breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose Miguel is a great guy with a terrific sense of humour. He really helps to make this trip a special experience. Our other leader was Jaime who had great mountaineering credentials. He was extremenly informative which added a lot to every expedition he led.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A variety of mountain clothing is required. The weather can be warm and sunny but there can also be very cold winds so fleecy warm clothes and wind-stoppers are required.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip. I've now done it twice which is something I seldom do. It's a great way to get sun over the winter months.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Gillian Hoile

    A week in Jordan

    An excellent itinerary which was varied and interesting. Plenty of history with good hotels and excellent food. The local people were friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Entering Petra with the magnificence of the Treasury. Also the jeep safari in Wadi Rum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed Aziz had an excellent knowledge of the history of Jordan however he was rather disorganised regarding timings and there were far too many coach stops which were unnecessary and resulted in a delay to significant sights such as The Dead Sea.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All forms of clothing are allowed in Jordan(shorts are fine). We did not even have to cover our heads when entering religious sights however I would recommend a headscarf for the jeep safari and warm clothes for the overnight stay in the desert.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please be aware that there are only 2 toilets in the desert for women and these were not cleaned! You need to bring wipes to wash with or a towel for a shower although I would not recommend this as the floors in the toilet block are dusty and dirty. I would suggest that the toilets are cleaned from a hygiene point of view especially as there were around 13 women in our group!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Clare Smit

    Tough trek but views are amazing!

    Great mix of cultural diversity and natural beauty of India - starting and ending in the manic centres of Delhi and Kolkata respectively, the majority of the trip is in quieter parts of West Bengal and Sikkim, which are simply beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise and cups of tea at campsite 3 with views of Kanchenjunga, Lhotse, Mt Everest and Manaslu. It was cold but an absolutely magical experience! Also, the visit to the Himalayan Mountaineering Institute in Darjeeling - it was quite humbling to see the gear that Tenzing Norgay and Edmund Hilary summitted Everest with so many years ago and how the equipment has advanced.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rajeev Rawat. What can I say - an amazing leader....nothing was too much trouble!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all kinds of weather. We had a torrential hail storm half way through the Singalila ridge trek, followed by thick fog...so thick that we couldn’t see the tents from the dinner tent! Head torches are a definite must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Singalila trek was one of the toughest walks I have done but totally worth it for the views. India is a very different place with so much diversity - take each place visited for its own uniqueness and try everything!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Clare Smit

    Tough trek but views are amazing!

    Great mix of cultural diversity and natural beauty of India - starting and ending in the manic centres of Delhi and Kolkata respectively, the majority of the trip is in quieter parts of West Bengal and Sikkim, which are simply beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise and cups of tea at campsite 3 with views of Kanchenjunga, Lhotse, Mt Everest and Manaslu. It was cold but an absolutely magical experience! Also, the visit to the Himalayan Mountaineering Institute in Darjeeling - it was quite humbling to see the gear that Tenzing Norgay and Edmund Hilary summitted Everest with so many years ago and how the equipment has advanced.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rajeev Rawat. What can I say - an amazing leader....nothing was too much trouble!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all kinds of weather. We had a torrential hail storm half way through the Singalila ridge trek, followed by thick fog...so thick that we couldn’t see the tents from the dinner tent! Head torches are a definite must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Singalila trek was one of the toughest walks I have done but totally worth it for the views. India is a very different place with so much diversity - take each place visited for its own uniqueness and try everything!
  • Reviewed November 2019

    Great autumn walking in a beautiful area

    A very enjoyable holiday in a surprisingly quiet area of Spain, despite being quite close to Benidorm. The walking was varied, in beautiful limestone country, with great views from the summits and interesting paths. The weather improved over the week for us - one day's walk was rained off so we visited a local town instead - but we had sunshine on the later walks. Our guide, Jose, was very knowledgeable and has a passion for the area, its people and way of life. He guided us well and was supportive of group members. Our hotel was well-positioned with views to the coast, and the owners were very hospitable. The food (vegetarian for us) featured local dishes and was excellent and plentiful. Our guide made our triple-decker lunchtime sandwiches and they were the best we've ever had on a walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from the summits, particularly Serella and Puig Campana. Also, those amazing sandwiches!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jose, was excellent throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking poles for the quite lengthy descents

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were pleased to be able to book a grade 4 (moderate/ challenging) holiday in Europe and would welcome more at Challenging grade.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Leesa Hodgson

    Tough but Rewarding

    A great trip with challenging cycling & beautiful views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The encouragement of the group towards one another when cycling became difficult

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had great tour leaders in Sanjay & Manu they were lot's of fun and had great knowledge of the area & the culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for plenty of hill climbing, which done at a steady pace is achievable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip never to be forgotten. Even though we were off the beaten track for a few days, evening meal times were great fun and the food was excellent. Summary of our trip: We were very fortunate to have a fantastic group of 14 people to enjoy the sights and sounds of India with.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Julia P

    A lovely introduction to the Great Wall of China

    The Great Wall is even more mind-blowing than in your imagination and doing this fantastic trip at the end of October is a great time to see it. We had beautiful autumn colours, with pleasant, warm days and slightly cooler mornings and evenings, and it's not crowded with visitors. It's suitable for people who are fit and enjoy walking, but it's most definitely not a trek, so if that's your thing you may not enjoy it as much as we did. You get to visit different parts of the wall - from the restored and more touristy, to completely wild and unrestored and we appreciated seeing these different facets. The toboggan at Mutianyou is a hoot so it's well worth giving yourself time to fit that in. The food was good quality and varied (though see below if you're veggie).The hotel in Beijing (Golden Sun Commercial Hotel) was very nice; a little away from the city centre but we enjoyed wandering the local hutongs, parks and temples and we easily got into town via the subway (Guang'anmennei station is an easy walk from the hotel).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight was undoubtedly the sections at Jiankou and Panlongshan, really beautiful and well away from the crowds. They were also the most steep and challenging, but eminently doable if you have a reasonable level of fitness - you get to challenge yourself and work as a group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jack was lovely, he was helpful and considerate and looked after us really well. He sorted out little extras like a Kung Fu show, tea ceremony, paper cutting and even making dumplings at a homestay. He even arranged for us to have a Chinese massage in our hotel, which helped with our stiff legs!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There's lots to see in Beijing in the free time available and the subway is very easy to use (in English as a well as Chinese) so don't duplicate what you'll see on day 9. As a vegetarian I found the food better than I expected but not always very substantial. I was never hungry but ate a lot of cabbage, spinach or courgette with rice. By the last day of walking I felt quite tired and came back 1 kg lighter than I arrived. It's not a problem but do consider taking some protein bars, nuts etc. for a bit of a boost. Food at the Mutianyou homestay was the best with lots of good and varied veggie options. You won't be able to access Google, Twitter, BBC or the Guardian but we found that WhatsApp worked (though not for photos) and we managed to keep up with the news headlines as much as we wanted.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary didn't seem to match what we did - the distances were significantly shorter than indicated on a couple of days. We did the Xi'an extension and enjoyed seeing a contrasting city (which did feel quite different). The train ride there was fun and comfortable. Our guide Mrs Ling was informative and an interesting contrast to Jack. The Terracotta Army is well worth seeing but be prepared for some jostling by the crowds. We had a dumpling banquet at a very touristy place but the food was good - choose the veggie ones - they were very tasty and beautifully presented!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Paul Griffin

    Bay of Bengal to Arabian Sea in about 500 smiles

    This was such an excellent trip from start to finish. We experienced all types of weather from baking hot sun to cyclonic rain and along the way were constantly amazed by the friendliness and generosity of the local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt the guided tour of the Madurai Meenakshi Amman Temple where we witnessed Bullock and Elephant in ceremonial costumes in a procession.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shekar was great, organised everything and sorted out a visit to a chemist for me when things got a bit awkward.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will drink a lot of water whilst cycling so take something to put in it for flavour as it gets a bit dull after a while.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Phillip Pomeroy

    Egypt Ancient and Modern

    A fascinating, informative, and very enjoyable tour with the chance to dress up thrown in for good measure! As with all Exodus trips we had some early starts and long days with now wasted time in between. If you want to see a lot of Egypt and experience its history from ancient times through to the modern day then this is the trip to take.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids without crowds (not at Giza, for this head out to Saqqarah). Being inside the tomb of Ramses VI in the Valley of the Kings and admiring 3000 year old carvings and paintings everywhere you look, again without crowds (extra payment needed - not a lot and well worth it!). Wouldn't describe them as inspiring but certainly unforgettable and at times jaw dropping in their grandeur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed must rate as one of the best group leaders. He is knowledgeable on all aspects of his countries history and had the ability to tell a story and hold his audience throughout. His knack of bringing out members of the group to play the roles of the characters in the story (no acting ability needed) brought the tales to life. I was pleased to play the part of Pharaoh Thutmose III Egypt's most successful ruler. As well as being a font of information he looked after the needs of the group when they suffered from "Pharaoh's Curse" and ensured that we all knew where to be and when. If you read this and are fortunate enough to have him as a group leader you will not be disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the usual health precautions, stick to bottled water and avoid salads except in hotels and restaurants recommended by your group leader. Have some small notes / coins for toilets. Cash is better than credit card as you avoid the 3% service charge. Changing money is easy but all traders and shops will take sterling, euros or dollars and give you a fair exchange rate. Optional tours will add up (£450 ish for two) but they are all worthwhile. We did everything on the trip note lists apart from the sound and light show. Abu Simbel is an expensive trip but is worth every penny. Go by road, have the excitement(?) of a pre-dawn start and see the sunrise over the Sahara desert on the way. As a bonus you will be able to admire genuine desert mirages on the trip back. You will miss so much if you fly (and pay a lot more). Go inside the pyramids for the experience. The Red Pyramid at Saqqara is far less crowded that the Great Pyramid at Giza.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt is a poor country, though you wouldn't think it with some of the prices they ask for souvenirs!. The locals need you to spend money, but haggling is expected and can be very intense. Sellers will look broken hearted as you knock the price down but don't be fooled they want to make a sale and, as with everything, some you win and some you will lose. Be prepared to be spoken to as if you are a long lost friend but beware all acts of kindness (except directions) have a price. If some one offers to take a picture for you it costs, if they offer to carry your bags it costs. Be wary of the item offered for "one dollar", that is the price to look at it not buy! Expect a friendly welcome wherever you visit and have a great time. Thanks to everyone in our group for making this such a memorable tour.