Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Katy Smith

    Cycling in Chile & Argentina

    This was the one of the best cycling trips we’ve done and couldn’t recommend it more highly. There was so much contrast and diversity in the landscapes and terrain each day! No 2 days were the same! From high plateaus, salt flats, rainforest, rocky landscapes, river valleys, great tarmac roads and gravel tracks .... it was just breathtaking! Much of the trip was at significant altitude but the itinerary allows for appropriate acclimatisation. The whole team were great and the organisation from behind scenes was superb- especially the coffee stops and picnics!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had its own inspirational moment - the Moon Valley in the high desert, the Tatio Geysers at sunrise followed by a dip in the thermal pool, cycling on the salt flats, the 2 incredible 35km descents, the breathtaking geological features and amazing colourful rock formations.... I could keep going on!! One really special moment was being entertained by local musicians in the incredible amphitheatre - a fallen cavern created by an ancient waterfall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale was first class! He was a great leader and went over and above the call of duty every day. He also had great knowledge of the political and local history - fascinating sensitive and charming. Also the support team were fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for altitude- much of the trip is at significant altitude but the trip allows for acclimatisation. Also bring clothing for all temperatures- above 4000m it is quite chilly and it’s well below freezing visiting the Geysers at dawn! Others on our trip have recommended a good saddle or padding for the rutted gravel and a good camera is a must!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I just couldn’t recommend this trip and the leader and more highly - both were exceptional (legend) Book it - you won’t be disappointed!!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Alice Dain

    Fantastic scenery

    Great riding, fantastic scenery and superb support staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Salt plains, geysers and hill of 7 colours. Two awesome downhill rides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale was excellent- not only in role of trip leader, but also in imparting knowledge of local history and politics. Very organised and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking boots or shoes recommended for sand dune and geyser walk. Trip rating of 4 feels right. None of us had significant altitude symptoms. The only climbing at altitude was on the last day of the trip, when we had acclimatised. The 30% non tarmac was on sandy/gravelly/corrugated roads which needed some care for the uninitiated. The birdwatching/ barbeque option for the day off in Salta was hugely enjoyed by the 10 of us who chose this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The scenery was stunning - pack your best camera
  • Reviewed October 2019
    James Roscoe

    Brilliant variety of rides. Best trip ever!

    Such a variety of cycling through such a variety of landscapes. Some of the best days riding we’ve ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride through the rain forest; riding on the pampas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant - your tour leaders are always good, but Ale was exceptional and inspirational. The support staff were brilliant too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be fooled by seemingly short distances - most of the rides are at high altitude, so pace yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were astounded by the variety, the silence on the high planes. The best trip ever.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    L Fraser

    Smiling in Atacama

    This trip was absolutely fantastic, I really didn't want it to end. The scenery was jaw dropping with different views and a different cycling experience every day. It's hard to single out anything in particular that stands out because it was all stunning. I can't recommend it highly enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting on the bike every day and discovering that once again the scenery was superb and different.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Leader and crew were a brilliant team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure to have your own comfortable saddle or a gel seat cover because the corrugated gravel roads can be hard on your tail end! You might also want to take a buff or something you can use to cover your mouth as some of the days can be quite dusty. The cycling looks like short distances, especially at the start but the roads/terrain and altitude mean it is still quite challenging.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Monica Princic

    A fantastic trip with incredible varied sceneries

    The trip is incredible. The scenery varies every day and you'll ride on all possible terrains: sand, rock, gravel, tarmac and every day offers a lot of fun. The landscape of the Moon Valley in Chile is surreal and the Tatio geyser excursion is a stunning experience. Chile and Argentina are lovely countries; the areas visited still haven't been reached by mass tourism and you barely see any other tourists while travelling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding through the hill of seven colours in Purmamarca.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide we had on our trip has been working with Exodus for many many years and is very knowledgable of the area as well been born in Argentina. He went above and beyond to make sure everyone had the best time and gave us tips to ride on different terrain, as sand for instance and I felt I've learnt a lot by the end of the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book and go!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Brian Guest

    A rocky road; a wilderness of salt; and an ancient culture.

    Rocks; mummies; Routa 40; rocks; vineyards; rocks; cactus; salt flats; rocks; Inca ruins and more rocks!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The heat and stark beauty of the Salinas Grandes salt flats

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a series of leaders over the week. The first was very helpful and acted a driver and guide. Later we were on minibus day tours with different leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't put too much trust in LATAM's schedules. There were several flight amendments before our trip and finally a 12 hour change just days before we were due to fly to Salta. Further delays made us 14 hours late and we missed our first day in Salta. The trip notes and itineraries are liable to change. But this allows you to extend the tour by a few days. Spending a whole day in Purmamarca proved a really good option as it's a long day in a minibus. Your tour may be cut short or altered due to other travellers being late or preferring not to visit sites. We only had 30 minutes to visit the Inca ruins because we were running so far behind the schedule. Research beforehand. More options are available for your free days than may be advertised. Take a good camera with a wide angle lens as the landscapes are stunning. And it also pays get up early for the dawn light on the rocks at Purmamarca. ATM's in Argentina restrict you to 4,000 ARS and cost a lot to use. But Santander Rio have branches in all the towns we visited. If you have an account, it gives you a much better rate. Spend a few days in Buenos Aires if you have the chance. It's pretty safe and easy to get around. There's some lovely Art Nouveau architecture, a lively cafe culture, craft markets at the weekend, fine Opera and bookshops, tango dinner dances and lots of urban art. We recommend a 5-hour cycle trip: Hidden Graffiti And Urban Art Tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The climate, food, scenery and culture of the indigenous people in the Salta region is very different from elsewhere in Argentina: and a real contrast from Patagonia and Buenos Aires. A holiday in itself.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Brian Guest

    One bike - two countries.

    The snow-clad volcanoes and emerald lakes of the Andes mountains. Gravel tracks, black lava fields and ancient forests of monkey puzzle trees.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Andes by bike: not once but twice!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tai and his younger brother Yal worked tirelessly to support the group. They gave a clear briefing on each day's itinerary and generated Stava maps to show the route. On the road they shepherded us through the traffic and managed to control both those keenest to reach our destination and those more content to just enjoy the scenery and walk the hills. They coped very well with the inevitable problems which occurred: our punctures; occasional falls; late transfers; variable accommodation; wet weather; etc, etc. They were always ready to chat with the group and explain about the local people, their history and culture .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes are not always updated and itineraries may well change. Our mountain bikes were very good but with limited space for carrying spare kit or a camera. Although the support vehicle was close at hand, you might consider a ruck-sac or handlebar bag useful. Research beforehand. More options are available for your free days than may be advertised. We really enjoyed excursions to Mount Tronador from Bariloche and later to Huerquehue National Park from Pucon. Take a good camera with a wide angle lens as the landscapes are stunning. And it also pays to get up early for the dawn light. Breakfasts are sometimes meagre but expect your waistline to expand: portions for lunch and dinner are huge! ATM's in Argentina restrict you to 4,000 ARS and cost a lot to use. Santander Rio have branches in all the towns we visited. If you have an account, it gives you a much better rate. Spend a few days in Buenos Aires if you have the chance. It's pretty safe and easy to get around. There's some lovely Art Nouveau architecture, a lively café-culture, craft markets at the weekend, fine Opera and bookshops, tango dinner dances and lots of urban art. We would recommend a 5-hour cycle trip: Hidden Graffiti And Urban Art Tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If the weather is fine, as it fortunately was for us, cycling in Argentina and Chile is a joy. Traffic is generally respectful and the distances covered are easily manageable in the time. Where the trip notes describe parts of the route as gravel, be prepared for some pretty rough going. In places it was safer to walk. But the best is saved for last: the Parque Nacional Conguillío - with black lava field and forests of monkey-puzzle trees under the brooding Llaima Volcano.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Brian Guest

    Grab your camera ....... big skies, mountains, lakes, glaciers and wildlife!

    Two weeks to sample Patagonia with long days hiking through beautiful scenery and the chance to view outstanding natural features and wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views at dawn of the Torres del Paine Massif.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomas was more than excellent. He was very attentive to all the group and their needs. He gave us a great deal of information and led the tour very well. His only fault was I think he tried too hard to please everybody. Oh, and he does talk a lot!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes are not always updated and itineraries can change. Pack light. You're only allowed 15kg hold luggage on the internal flights - but you can carry 8kg as hand luggage. The airline does not always enforce its rules though. Research beforehand. More options are available for your free days than may be obvious. Expect crowds on the most popular hikes and attractions. The Perito Moreno Glacier expects half a million visitors a year but only 2,000 tourists get to La Leona Petrified Forest ! Take a good camera with a wide angle lens as the landscapes are stunning. Try to get up early for the dawn light and enjoy the sunsets. Wildlife can be elusive and more often spotted from the minibus. See the penguins! Breakfasts are meagre but expect your waistline to expand: we dined out every evening and meal portions are huge! ATM in Argentina restrict you to 4,000 ARS and cost a lot to use. But Santander Rio have branches in all the towns we visited. If you have an account, it gives you a much better rate. Spend a few days in Buenos Aires if you have the chance. It's pretty safe and easy to get around. There's some lovely Art Nouveau architecture, a lively café-culture, craft markets at the weekend, fine Opera and bookshops, tango dinner dances and lots of urban art. We recommend a 5-hour cycle trip: Hidden Graffiti And Urban Art Tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were expected to contribute to a kitty at the start of the tour for tips. This and the gratuity for our tour leader added considerably to the overall cost of the holiday and the amount of cash we needed to carry. While I agree we should reward good service, I felt this was excessive on occasions. We would have liked to have had longer to enjoy the El Chalten area and the Torres dal Paine. Maybe at the expense of the long journey down to Tierra del Fuego.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Barbara Dean

    A Volcanic Undertaking

    Once again Exodus delivered. Our guides were fantastic, the bikes were well maintained, and the accommodation was for the most part great. The food was also better than some previous trips and only somewhat challenging for a gluten free/vegetarian. Power bars go a long way! Finally, the scenery was picturesque and breathtaking. Lots of lakes and Volanoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 4 of the tour. We completed a 20km cycle on some serious gravel and then my husband and I opted to walk the 7.5km climb over 700 metre ascent versus cycling it. We passed a few people who ended up frustratingly walking their bikes but getting to the top felt like quite an achievement especially with blisters on both feet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tai was a very impressive young man who did a fantastic job. His brother Yal was a great support and eventually their dad, Marcello joined us making the group complete. Their obvious bond as a family just made our experience that much better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A gel saddle wouldn’t go amiss as the gravel was sometimes more like boulders.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes need to be updated. For anyone interested in seeing southern Chile and western Argentina, I would highly recommend this tour.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Andrew McGregor

    Amazing Patagonia

    An amazing trip. We were blessed with excellent weather which made it all the more special. The hikes were incredible with stunning scenery. The food and wine weren’t bad either!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The three hikes: Torres del Paine Laguna de los Tres Lomo del Pliegue Seeing the Milky Way from the hotel in Torres del Paine. The glacier boat trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was great. Dependable and knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long driving days as per trip notes. Also the hikes are not gentle. Most are uphill most of the way and moderately difficult in areas. If you’re keen on ice climbing on the glacier book we’ll in advance. Currency: a mix of US dollars and pesos is best as not all places accept dollars. Get pesos out of cash machine but there is a charge. A few of us did a scenic flight in Ushuaia as the weather was so good. Reasonably priced and worthwhile. Book ahead. Suggest having a few days in Buenos Aires at the end to unwind and see the city in a relaxed pace. Even better - Xavier can organise kayaking trips in the Tigre delta which is a great way to get away from the hussle and bustle. When you arrive in Pueto Natales you’ll be wiped out and won’t want a fancy meal... ask about the pizza bar/restaurant along the road. Pizzas were amazing - and big. The beer is good too. Left overs served a great mid-morning snack the next day.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445