Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Alan Nunn

    Diversity at its best!

    Cosa Rica has such diversity,you will experience rouged mountains,rolling hills,virgin forest ,tropical beaches and beautiful waterways to view the homes of the turtles,not to mention the numerous butterflies,birds and mammals you will encounter. San Jose is not a place to savour but after a good nights sleep in a fabulous city hotel (the decor,staff and food is first class ) you will be off to start your adventure. You will have good accommodation in lovely locations. Be warned some nights you will be chilly and the dampness can be a problem,after all you are often in a rainforest environment,when I returned everything in my suitcase and its contents were damp. This is a small price to pay for the things you will see!...do be willing to take the walks,you will miss out so much if you decide to stay at the base or take a bus. We had lovely weather every morning before the rain came most afternoons...so dont go for this type of holiday to stay in bed till 9....you will miss the best times!...up at 6 and bed at 9-10 is a norm. This trip has a nice balance of trip and leisure with a brilliant guide,it you want a holiday....dont go!...if you want an experience book now!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having the pleasure of a different bird or mammal every day....they really are there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extremely good... very experienced and full of knowledge....told us important thing.... but appreciated silence! Didnt treat us like we were on a sunday school outing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of cheap t shirts etc because you will not have chance to wash and dry as your always moving ..it wont dry in time.....its not a fashion show...be practical.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Brian Harris

    Totally superb experience.

    Our Guide & tour leader-Johnny [Villalobos] made this trip the best we have experienced; with his expertise, knowledge & general manner. Superior to similar trips in the past this one was outstanding!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to name just one.! e.g. Moving sloths, quetzals flying & landing.macaws, frogs,snakes & all sorts of wild life in so diverse places from the coast,low level to rain forests, cloud forests to the Highlands. Truly wonderful experiences and so diverse. Well recommended!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't have been bettered.! [ Our boat & minibus drivers were also excellent & great wildlife spotters too.]

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good quality lightweight jacket advised. A pair of binoculars. A good travelling camera & a Dry Bag to keep it in. A choice of shoes e.g. covered toe tekking sandles/boots. Canvas decking shoes or similar lightweight after trekking shoes.& insect repellants. Enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our first time with Exodus Travels but definitely won't be our last.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jane Dare

    A great adventure in Costa Rica

    This was our second Exodus trip and again, we were not disappointed. An itinerary which covered many different ecosystems, plenty of wildlife, pleasant travel companions and an exceptionally knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide all went to make this trip a fantastic two weeks. Lots of early mornings, some long journeys and very hot and humid conditions did nothing to distract from the beauty, diversity and friendliness of Costa Rica. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so much wildlife. Sloths, monkeys, raccoons , a huge variety of birdlife and a couple of snakes. Fabulous!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katia's knowledge about the wildlife, geography and history of Costa Rica was astonishing. As a bird enthusiast, she was able to recognise everything from a tiny glimpse or a snatch of birdsong. In addition, she went out of her way to ensure everyone was enjoying their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget a sense of humour. It helps enormously when you have a puncture in the middle of nowhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would not hesitate to recommend this trip and look forward to our next Exodus adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jane Dare

    An great adventure in Costa Rica

    This was our second Exodus trip and again, we were not disappointed. An itinerary which covered many different ecosystems, plenty of wildlife, pleasant travel companions and an exceptionally knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide all went to make this trip a fantastic two weeks. Lots of early mornings, some long journeys and very hot and humid conditions did nothing to distract from the beauty, diversity and friendliness of Costa Rica. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so much wildlife. Sloths, monkeys, raccoons , a huge variety of birdlife and a couple of snakes. Fabulous!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katia's knowledge about the wildlife, geography and history of Costa Rica was astonishing. As a bird enthusiast, she was able to recognise everything from a tiny glimpse or a snatch of birdsong. In addition, she went out of her way to ensure everyone was enjoying their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget a sense of humour. It helps enormously when you have a puncture in the middle of nowhere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would not hesitate to recommend this trip and look forward to our next Exodus adventure.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Doreen Russell

    Discover costa rica

    An excellent taster of the country. Well planned with good locations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the owner michael Schnitzler of esquinas lodge. Such a wonderful work, he is passinate and inspirational about ecolgy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent ++.so kniwlwdgable and put on so many extra outings. Always helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Long lightweight cotton trousers to keep the sun and bugs off. Don't bother taking posh clothes for the evenings. Just smartish will do. We used smidge during the day and onky used deet dusk and dawn. So much nicer on the skin and we did not get bitten

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this tour fir a first visit. Great overview. Such a full itinerary. We loved it.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Marian Mulcahy

    Discover Costa Rica review

    This was our first Exodus trip, which, to be honest I viewed with some trepidation, as I walk with crutches, and so wondered how it would be. I cannot praise Exodus highly enough, from my first phone call to the very end of the trip. When enquiring about accessibility, the person I spoke to listened properly to what I was asking, contacted someone in Costa Rica so they could answer my queries knowledgeably, and together we came up with a plan. The reality, however, surpassed the plan, due to our amazing guide, who organised things such that I could go into each of the forests we visited for a short trek, and then the rest of the group went on to do a longer one. Although obviously I was hoping we would have a good time, I really did not want this to be at the expense of others seeing and doing what they wanted. Katia's extremely thoughtful organisation, meant that we all really enjoyed and learned lots on our trip. The fact that our entire group was made up of lovely people helped! Although like I said this was our first Exodus trip, it certainly won't be our last!! Thank you Exodus, Katia and Francisco!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to choose one!! I think though it might have been being awoken at Howler o'clock and going out of our lodge to see lots of monkeys cavorting in the trees, especially seeing a mother monkey with her baby, both hanging upside down, having breakfast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    From what I have written above you will be able to tell, we thought she was absolutely exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have any queries at all, speak to Exodus staff. We found them incredibly helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    June Egglestone

    Discover Costa Rica

    I would highly recommend this trip. The trip is very wildlife oriented, so if that is not your main interest, it may not be for you. However, I wouldn’t say that is normally my main area of interest, and yet I really enjoyed this trip, and it made a nice change. You get 2 nights in each place (except San Jose), so its not as rushed as some trips where it’s mostly 1 night before moving on. The standard of accommodation is very good too. Bus journeys were broken up so they didn’t feel too long, so don’t worry about the time spent on the bus. Great customer service and standards of tourism infrastructure in Costa Rica. An excellent, well organised trip, as perfect as these things are ever going to be.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was a highlight, hard to pick one thing. Seeing the sloths moving (so slowly!) was good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Johnny Villalobos was excellent, its no surprise he won tour leader of the year - great at managing the tour and the group, extremely knowledgable about wildlife and nature, and always arranging extra (optional) walks. His enthuiasm was infectious, and this really added to the enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Carry a waterproof poncho at all times, even in the “dry” season. If you are prone to being bitten by mossies, DEET is best, especially for Tortuguero, so use it from day 2. Not all hotels have hairdryers, so if having one is important to you, bring one - I didn’t miss it for the few nights we didn’t have one. You do need a light fleece for 2 places which are at higher elevation and therefore cooler. Plan to wash clothes at Manuel Antonio, as it’s the hottest/dryest place. You can use dollars or colones or credit card in most places. I went on the BA direct flight, which seemed much better than the via USA options. Bring a good zoom lens if you want to photograph the wildlife, and binoculars too if you want – but the guide will have a scope for you to look through to see stuff close up, so don’t worry too much if you don’t own any and don’t want the extra expense/weight. Bring closed shoes (eg walking trainers) as well as walking sandals, as you will need them for some walks. Two swimming costumes would be useful, as they don’t always dry in 1 night. The spa at Savegre lodge was nice, reasonably priced (with Exodus discount), and you can still watch the hummingbirds from the jacuzzi!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Paul Hickson

    Discover Costa Rica

    This trip was one of the best holidays that my wife and I have ever taken. . Costa Rica is a beautiful country but the attention to detail provided by Exodus and their agents ensured that it was a magical experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a quezal and sloth

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Johnny Villalobos was outstanding Aside from his excellent communication skills and knowledge of all matters flora fauna and wildlife he knows exactly when to stop the bus for a walk to break the journey and when to talk and when not to

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It will rain in Costa Rica so be prepared at any time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book it
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Richard Hoey

    Fantastic all round holiday in Costa Rica

    A great way to experience all Costa Rica has to offer! Great Accommodation in a variety of hotels and eco lodges all with their own unique character. Food was excellent throughout the holiday. Very highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just too many to choose from!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Faultless! Great all round knowledge on all aspects.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good camera and binoculars a must.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Linda Felton

    Discover Costa Rica

    Costa Rica is a beautiful island and this trip shows it at its best throughout. It is bursting with wildlife, plants and fantastic National Parks. This is a well organised and varied trip and the ecolodges and hotels were just amazing. Beautiful scenery, well tended gardens and comfortable accomodation with great food at every place. The people are friendly, well mannered and polite. The Costa Ricans are proud of their country and the land is superbly managed and protected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! But for me watching the sloths and varieties of monkeys was fascinating. Birdlife second to none, and of course, spotting the elusive Resplendent Quetzals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Johnny Villalobos Munoz was absolutely inspirational. I can see why he has won tour leader of the year twice recently. He is so knowledgeable about everything, knows the names of all flowers, plants, trees, animals, insects and birds, and the stories behind them all. He can not only listen and say what the bird is but can make their sounds to attract them! Everywhere we went he showed us consideration and kindness, always checking that we were ok. He has a quiet confident manner with a lovely sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he made the holiday the fantastic experience that it was. He taught us to listen and look and had huge empathy with both his group and his surroundings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good pair of binoculars! You will need a variety of clothing for the extremes of weather: hot to chilly and pouring down. A good lightweight waterproof and plenty of sun cream and mosquito repellent. I wish I had taken more lightweight long sleeved blouses as I was bitten badly by mossies. Also a good pair of walking trainers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like wildlife and spending the days walking in beautiful lush surroundings then this is the holiday for you.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087