Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Paul Walters

    Kilimanjaro - Adventure of a Lifetime

    Kilimnjaro - Awesome - To the MAX !!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Clambering out off my frozen tent at Shira 1 Camp, and seeing the snow-clad summit of Kilimanjaro in the distance, and knowing in only a few days, we would be at the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was one of the funniest, happiest, and most competent outdoor professionals it has ever been my pleasure to meet. A totally indomitable spirit, and for whom I grew to have the utmost respect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the form of a list:- 1. Don't under-estimate the extremes of temperature. Days are hot and sweaty. Nights can be bitterly cold. 2, Make sure you have a very good sleeping bag... you're going to be spending a lot of time in it. 3. Don't under-estimate how cold it will be on the summit attempt. We had wind-chill down to -20deg. You'll be making the summit bid at night and we did ours in a snowstorm, even at the end of March. It was very very cold. Take lots of thermals, and layer up.... 4 or 5 layers is expected. 4. Don't use a Camelbak, Platypus or other water bladder system. Trying to suck a mouthful of water through a 1m length of tube at 4500m will disrupt your breathing and make you gasp for breath. Better to take a couple of 1litre bottles so you can pour water into your mouth and swallow. Your mouth will get very dry due to the dry air at altitude. 5. Don't take a Camelbak etc as the drinking tube WILL freeze solid on summit day. 6. Take some form of insulation for your drinking bottle. 7. Take a pee bottle for use at night. Campsites can be busy, and struggling to get out of a sleeping bag, get dressed and walk across to the toilet tent can be a real pain. Pee in a bottle and empty it in the morning. Much easier. 8. Take lots of snacks you enjoy, and comfort foods. The food on the trek is good, but nibbling something you love when you need a lift is the best feeling ever. 9. Take high energy foods, gels or "power bar" type snacks for summit day. You will need them. 10. Take factor 50 sunblock and apply it every day even if it's cloudy. I burned my arm and wrist in about 1 hour on the journey from the airport to our hotel, and it only got worse as the trek went on. Do not ignore this advice. UV effects are far more intense due to the thin air. Every one of us suffered with sun or wind burn. 11. Weigh your stuff. The porters will only carry 15kg, and you don't want to be carrying more than 6kg in your day pack. Anything heavier will affect your breathing. Leave spare clothes at the hotel to change in to when you return. 12. Enjoy every minute of it. The landscape is awesome. The experience is awesome. You will make some solid friends in the group as everyone suffers and shares the same. 13. Make sure you take enough cash in US dollars. They can be used everywhere. You will want to tip the porters and guides much more than they state in the trip notes..... these guys and girls are truly what makes the trip. 14. You will probably want to donate some of your equipment to the porters. In my group, we left behind rucksacks, sleeping bags, trekking boots, thermal gear, gloves, hats, buffs, water bottles, etc. Tanzania is a very poor country with around 30% unemployment. Working as a porter is a good job, but many of them have very little specialised equipment. They do not expect it, but are honoured to receive it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any specific questions, I will be happy to receive them by email and answer as best I can.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Richard Atkinson

    The Lemosho route to success on Kili

    Just back from a great trip. From the moment you land your African adventure starts. The Moivaro lodge provides a relaxing and comfortable start and end point, but your focus is inevitably on the challenge ahead. Our guide JT gave an excellent pre-trek briefing and throughout the trek provided support and motivation - always with a smile, a laugh or a song. If you have even the slightest concern about altitude and acclimatisation, the Lemosho route is an excellent choice: the extra time allows for a gradual approach over the Shira Plateau, with some acclimatisation walks (going higher and sleeping lower). And it’s attractive. Don’t expect to be trekking in splendid isolation on any route. Even on the supposedly quieter Lemosho route (which eventually merges with two other routes) there is the daily traffic of porters passing you every morning...and you get to recognise and chat with other groups as you pass each other on the way. I hadn’t realised when I first chose my dates, that this trip was a ‘female crew’ trip. I’m so glad it was. Apart from the value of this scheme in providing opportunities for females porters and guides, having a mixed crew really added to the friendly atmosphere of our camp. All organised groups seemed to have moments when their crew sang for the clients, but for us this went to a different level. Not only did their voices (and smiles) really lift the singing, but you never felt this was a performance; it carried on even when they were in their own tent in the afternoons. Oh, and although we were a small group, we all reached the summit!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit was the highlight, but scrambling on the Barranco Wall was exciting (there is a little exposure in short patches which could cause some anxiety for anyone with a fear of heights, but is otherwise quite manageable. Porters manage it with big loads!). And listening to the female crew members singing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT: exceptional. Highly professional and with a great personality. Always motivating us and ensuring we were ok. And he showed similar care for his crew.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! The Lemosho route is great for acclimatisation, and is an attractive route. Don’t be put off by the female crew departures - indeed, I can’t recommend it enough.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Mark Rendall

    Exodus delivers again!

    An amazing trip up Kilimanjaro, with a professional leader, guides, porters & support team (66 in total). The team got all 16 in the party up and all were very supportive!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making the rim for sunrise and of course the summit at Uhuru Peak - a moment and memory to savour!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional and dedicated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put in some training, it will make the trek more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Has to be one towards the top of the "bucket list" & to be proudly crossed off!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    ah mak chow

    kilimanjaro lemosho route

    amazing holiday, professional n experienced guides. felt extremely safe. look no further book with exodus. i"'ll do this trip all over again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    scaling Baranco wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    professional n experienced. felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    recommend Exodus

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All guides n porters, extremely helpful would like to do it all over again.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Amanda Brass

    Kilimanjaro Climb- Lemosho Route

    The whole trip has been incredible, very well organised and everything has been thought off. The climb was amazing, beautiful scenery and wonderful people. Easily the hardest physical challenge of our lives to date but also the most enjoyable and rewarding. The crew were first class and we will never forget this wonderful experience for the rest of our lives. A real privilege and a life changer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Stella Point was incredible as we were getting to the stage where we were so physically tired that we were doubting whether we could make it, our wonderful guides gave us the support, encouragement, positivity and inspiration to get us to the top, allowing us to adopt the mind over matter approach and they were with us all the way. I can honestly say the crew have had a huge impact on us as people and they have inspired us as much as the climb of beautiful Kilimanjaro itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I will be writing to Exodus separately from this review with a glowing and detailed letter of praise for the crew as I feel Justine was outstanding in his role as our group leader. He was thoroughly deserving of the award that he won and I would go further to say if there are any other awards in the world of mountain guiding on a national or international level I would not hesitate to nominate him. It was a real privilege to have met him and to have been guided up Kilimanjaro by him and as my family were on the trip with us I would like to say we felt so secure, safe and had complete trust and confidence in him. He was positive, encouraging, sensitive, thoughtful, very kind and was very well organised and thought of everything. To top this all off a great smile, personality and a brilliant sense of humour- a very inspirational man! I would also like to point out that the entire team were first class. The other guides were also outstanding, I would like to point out that Mussa was a wonderful guide, also incredibly positive and supportive with also a lovely personality/sense of humour. We had complete trust in Mussa and he was so helpful and kind to us, again I will be writing to you to explain in detail. He would make an excellent tour leader too. James aka King James was a fantastic guide who was very knowledgable, kind, helpful and again encouraging and supportive and kept giving us boosts of positivity. We were never rushed along,even though we were walking a slower pace to some of our fellow climbers. Again we had 100% trust in James and he would also make a brilliant lead guide. It was an absolute pleasure to have 2 female guides, Anjela and Lucia who were both a pleasure to walk with. Again, both very supportive, kind and could not do enough for you. Both very smart and strong ladies who we had our trust in. We feel so lucky to have had this team of 38 looking after us so well and we have so much praise and admiration for all the porters, cook etc. I cannot fault any of them, they were all brilliant. I will be mentioning a few of them in my letter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say if you are thinking about doing this challenge, just book it! You will not regret it and I doubt you would find any other trip where you are looked after so well, I read that they 'have your backs' before we went on our trip and I can honestly say it is true. Go for it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will be writing to you in detail shortly, so not at this time.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    John Farrington

    Kilimanjaro - Lemosho route

    An outstanding trek. Organisation was superb in every detail. Special mention to the African Walking Company for their guides, porters, cooks and everyone involved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Crater Rim summit in clear sunshine, and earlier in the week The Baranco Wall and Lava Tower

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was really outstanding - in leadership, organisation and motivation

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whatever your age, it is essential to get as fit as possible ahead of the trek - whatever anyone else says. Particularly practice uphill severe walks with a backpack (eg in UK hill country).
  • Reviewed January 2017
    James Earlam

    Lemosho Eight Day Trek

    Excellent. If you want to get to the top of Kilimanjaro and stand in awe on 'The Roof of Africa' which is surely why you are considering this trip, the eight day Lemosho Route is the trek for you. It's the right length, with three days or more of going higher but sleeping lower and it will give you the best chance of making a successful summit bid.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All six of our group making the summit after being together for eight days, that incredible sense of satisfaction that comes from doing something that is not easy, that takes something from you, but gives you so much more back and the fulfilment of a long held ambition.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joshua Mlay is an inspiration and his success rate in getting people to the top tells you all you need to know.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your eye on the prize, eat, sleep, walk, repeat until there is nowhere higher to walk to on the whole great continent of Africa! and Good Luck!
  • Reviewed November 2016
    paul carpenter

    Kilimanjaro - Lemosho route

    This is one of those experiences that will stay with you for the rest of your life! To stand on top of the worlds highest freestanding mountain and know that you did it on your own steam is a fantastic feeling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    waking up in the morning , opening the tent flap and watching the sunrise and the clouds far below you

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I want to thank our chief guide , Mekeke. and the other guides for all of their help over the trip. Without their experience, humour, knowledge and encouragement we would not have all made it to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are of average fitness, and you want to, you can do this, and you wont regret it! It,s easy for me to preach now that I have done it , but I was concerned that i wasnt fit enough, or I was going to suffer from altitude sickness , but there was only one way I was going to find out. do plenty of walking beforehand, follow the packing lists on this site , and trust your guides to look after you !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    just again my thanks to exodus, the African walking company ,and the guides , the cook and the porters for their organisation, communication and hard work to make this an experience of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    David Hill

    Mount Kilimanjaro

    Superbly organised and our guides / porters were the best!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, against all the odds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Makeke, went above and beyond to make sure that I reached my ambition. He's an excellent asset for Exodus and I wouldn't have made it to the top without him. A true professional who takes real pride in his job and simply looks after everyone in his care.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough, indeed gruelling physical challenge but well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, I was very impressed with Exodus and The African Walking Company.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Sarah Pritchett

    The Best Kili Experience

    I couldn't have asked for a better Kilimanjaro experience than what I had with Exodus. The guides and rest of staff were incredibly knowledgable and attentive, the Lemosho route was beautiful and varied in its scenery and summit night - though mentally and physically taxing - was an incredibly fulfilling experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting the mountain was obviously very inspirational but I also thoroughly loved the Shira Cathedral and the Branco Wall climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group leader John Maeda was a really big reason the experience was so great. He was so knowledgeable and switched on and was loved by everyone in the group.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087