Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Martin Clementson

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    The Chalet & Food prepared by the staff was out of this world, it was very comfortable other than the form mattresses. The Walk Guide was very knowledgeable & friendly; & the walks were of right difficulty but could been slightly longer on a few days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to Lac Blanc & looking back over Mont Blanc. Also Paragliding on a free day, its amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very Good, very friendly & Knowledgeable. He Felt like a member of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No other than enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Saltiel

    A great experience

    I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the trip and was so impressed with how well we were looked after. All the travel arrangements went smoothly, the chalet was great and the food superb (thanks Zohi & Ben) and our guide Sally was brilliant. I'll definitely recommend Exodus to my friends and I'm already thinking of another trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery in Italy. and the biscuits and coffee at the Bonatti Refuge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sally was excellent. Really helpful and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy it. Worth getting moderately fit and used to rough hill walking so you'll take it all in your stride
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Susan Ressler

    Wonderful Mont Blanc Hikes

    Challenging hikes (for me) of about 8-10 miles per day to either summits or saddles that are part of the Mont Blanc classic circuit. We were blessed with excellent weather and terrific views of Mont Blanc, the glaciers, and the adjacent peaks. This trip fulfilled a lifelong dream of hiking in the French Alps. Great terrain, great guide, and great comrades to enjoy this spectacular place. The Chamonix Chalet was wonderful too, but I was a little challenged in terms of food because I am gluten free and also avoid red meat. I would have liked more cheese choices rather than heavy beet and bean salads for lunch, but the dinners were gourmet! A few times we were a bit rushed to make trains and avoid a long wait at the Mont Blanc Tunnel. This is definitely not a leisurely trip -- we were constantly on the go, but it was worth it. Overall, great trip! Thank you Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think hiking in Italy was very special, because the terrain and views were quite different than on the French side. I enjoyed the two summits the most, but each hike was different and the variety gave this trip a special flavor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Paul, was superb. He is an arborist and is so knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. Plus, he made sure we were all able to navigate the occasional difficult passage. He took good care of everyone and has a great sense of humor. Very congenial and wonderful guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is the second Exodus trip rated "3" that I've done, the first being the Picos of Europa. In both cases, I think a "3" level trip can be quite challenging. Just be sure to train and do regular hikes before you go. Anyone who is fit and used to mountain hiking will be able to complete the tour, but the more you prepare the more you will enjoy it.!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mats Liliedahl

    Chalet Chocolat - home for a week

    A great trip in all aspects! With the stunning scenery all around in every direction, and our very capable guide Sally safely guiding us up and down the sometimes challenging hills on our daily walks around Mont Blanc, days were full and tiring but also fun and energizing. Our wonderful chalet hosts Zohi and Ben took such wonderful care of us, spoiling us with gourmet meals every evening - and delicious cake after returning from our walks! Really enjoyed the homey feel to the stay as well as the great group of friendly walkers from three continents. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first view of Mont Blanc when the clouds cleared and we saw the peak for the first time on the hike by Lac Blanc. The Val Ferret on the Italian side was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sally did a great job leading the walks, making sure we're all doing ok and keeping a good pace. She's also got great knowledge of the flora and fauna in the area. Zohi and Ben were great as chalet hosts.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trails are sometimes quite steep and challenging and with some tricky parts to navigate. The distances are not huge but the trail was sometimes a bit tougher than I expected with the 'Moderate' rating. Good hiking boots and walking poles advised.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Saltiel

    A great experience

    I had never been on an organised walking trip before but I really enjoyed the experience. Travel, food and accommodation were excellent. Our guide was really helpful, knowledgeable and safety-conscious and the scenery was mind-blowing. The days were all set at a level that was fine for the standard of difficulty Exodus had set. All in all a memorable experience that I'd recommend. I'm already thinking of my next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through alpine meadows above Val Ferret, full of flowers and crickets, and being amazed by the walls of rock and ice across the valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good: very conscientious, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really, just enjoy it.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Frances Beuvink

    Mont Blanc Highlights tour is brilliant for moderate level trekkers

    Never been on an Exodus Travels tour before but after a fantastic week on the Mont Blanc Highlights tour I couldn’t be happier. The scenery was breath-taking, the daily treks were challenging enough and greatly increased my fitness, and the people I met in our group were great. The chalet accommodation was really good. And the food & three course dinners each night were outstanding. Can’t wait for my next adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being up high & close to snowy topped Mont Blanc, with big blue skies, grassy meadows, fresh alpine air all around. Every day was exquisite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun, our group leader, was outstanding. Calm, professional, security conscious, friendly & personable - and super fit! Such a nice man too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Start off with a moderate level trek if you are moderately fit. It will challenge you enough, yet leave you wanting more. A great way to feel when you pack up to go home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus Travels made it so easy. I had never done this kind of thing before and now I don’t know why I waited so long. Definitely booking with them again!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Vall Lee

    Fantastic 10 Star holiday.

    The hosts of Chalet Chocolat, Ben and Zoe, were great. Very welcoming and the food would easily sit alongside anything a top chef would produce in a Michelin restaurant. Plenty to eat all the time, especially home cooked cakes by Zoe. The chalet is just like home from home which is what you want after a days hiking, nice and relaxing. We could not fault this holiday and it was probably one of the best we have had and we've had quite a few.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just hiking so high up! Our leader Jim would point to somewhere near a mountain peak and say, that's where we will be having coffee this afternoon and you would think, NO WAY, its not possible to walk up there - but you did. Verrrrry inspirational. Our approach to hiking in the UK has changed dramatically following our holiday with Exodus, it has broaden our horizons.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Jim, was fantastic and fun. He was ever mindful of how each member of the group was faring. He made every walk enjoyable and achievable. All the walks were, although taxing, wonderful. Both my husband and I, both young [we think] 69 year olds achieved far more than we thought we would and never felt better. Jim really knows his stuff, you felt safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a spare pair of walking boots or walking trainers. Going can get tough. If you damage any of your footwear you can get boots repaired in the centre of Chamonix so no problem really. Exodus covered everything you will need in their literature so no further advice really necessary. Just be prepared that moderate standard is quite tough going but don't be put off - we did it and so can you. Your leader will get you through.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that if there is a group booking of close friends of more than 6 people it could take longer for the whole party to gel.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Donna Davidson

    TMB Highlights - Chalet Chocolat

    The chalet is a perfect lodge for this trip, easy access to the local bus and train and only 10-15 minutes walk into the centre of Chamonix, with fantastic views of the Mont Blanc massif. The walking holiday itself was a fantastic chance to sample some sections of the full tour route of Mont Blanc, Sally our guide was great, full of local knowledge on the mountain range, plants and flowers and we couldn't ask for more from our guide for looking after our group. The assents at times were quite tough but doable and Sally kept a steady pace and the team together, the descents at times were quite steep but again doable (make sure your boots are broken in if new). The chalet was warm and welcoming due to the fact that at it's heart were the hosts Zohi and Ben, it was clean and tidy. The food was AMAZING, continental breakfast, pack-up for lunch with a great selection of salads, rolls, fruit etc. A fantastic surprise was a delicious and different type of cake waiting for us back at the chalet every day after a day's walking. The finale of every evening was a three course dinner thanks to Zohi and Ben which was just superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One morning whilst waiting for a local bus the mountain was covered in cloud but then for a brief moment the cloud cleared revealing the mountain in it's full splendour, it was a magical glimpse which faded as quickly as it appeared.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Joanne Millar

    Exodus Mont Blanc Highlights Tour

    We had the most amazing tour. Exodus organised fantastic accommodation (Chalet Chamonix) with tremendous hosts Sarah and Rich. The food was 5 star restaurant quality and the couple made sure all stop offs and pick ups ran smoothly. They were entertaining and informative, nothing was too much trouble. Exodus also arranged a fabulous guide for our hiking, Sean was excellent, he planned the hikes according to the ability of all the group and judged the pace perfectly. Sean was extremely experienced and a real pleasure to follow. I would not hesitate to recommend this amazing hiking tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views on all our hikes were varied and remarkable and the food in our chalet was incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sean was wonderful, relaxed and very experienced, he planned our hikes well according to the groups ability and the weather. We all thought he was terrific.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pat & Dave Thomson

    Mt. Blanc Highlights

    We had an excellent week. Staying a Chalet Chocolat, our hosts Zohi and Ben took good care of us. The food was home cooked and superb and they were very friendly and accommodating. Our hikes were varied and our trip guide Sally set a good pace and was knowledgeable about the area.the

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The vistas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent
Call us on 1 844 227 9087