Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Heather Shanahan

    Excellent trip

    Our guide, Wilmer, was extremely knowledgeable, interesting and helpful. Chef provided excellent food, hotels were comfortable. There were some magical moments such as watching the stars and moon at night and the sunrise in the morning over the mountains. I would recommend the trip although recommend getting to Cusco a couple of days early to acclimatise.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Inca trail and enjoying the views of the mountains. Climbing up to the Sun gate and suddenly seeing Machu Pichu below - magical..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wilmer was excellent. Couldn't have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get to Cusco a couple of days early to acclimatise
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Susan Fuller

    The trip of a lifetime

    What a fabulous experience, amazing views, great walking, excellent catering and accommodation, a truly memorable trip and you get to visit Machu Picchu! Brilliant, we thoroughly enjoyed and highly recommend this trip, outstanding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The journey through the cloud forest and along the Inca trail was stunning but when we arrived at sun gate and the mist lifted to reveal Machu Pichu, wow, that was a very emotional experience for me, a sight I have wanted to see for more than 10 years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Raul, was superb, such a lovely man, extremely knowledgeable and accommodating, we couldn’t fault him, he was truly committed to ensuring we had a great trip and experienced all his country has to offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To avoid altitude sickness take it easy for the first couple of days, drink lots of water and avoid heavy meals and alcohol. Make sure you read the trip notes, there are a lot of steps, which you need to be prepared for. Get booking and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were 12 amazing porters including the cook that provided everything we could possibly need in the middle of nowhere. They work extremely hard, can’t do enough for you and are always cheerful, Thanks to them all.
  • Reviewed June 2018

    A Life Experience to Treasure

    Walking the trails ancient Inca pavements provided breathtaking mountain panoramas and impressive archaeological sites seemingly at every turn, coped with a physical challenge including traversing the high point at Dead Woman’s Pass. Culminating in the truly stunning natural location of Machu Picchu. Our leader, Mike, provided a fascinating insight into Inca beliefs and their way of life that really brought the civilisation to life. At the same time he motivated, advised, cared for and entertained each and everyone! Our Cheskis support team amazed – conjuring 3 course meals from a tiny kitchen tent and portering all tents and equipment with a real style. Truly unforgettable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Holly Streak

    Experience of a life time

    The Inca Trail was always on our bucket list and this trip was beyond our wildest dreams. We had a fantastic group of people but our tour guide Mike really made the trip a 5 star experience! He was extremely knowledgeable of the Inca and Pre Inca culture as well as knowing the Inca Trail like the back of his hand, giving us a secluded environment away from the crowds of the trail. Above all else he kept us safe and made us feel extremely comfortable under his leadership. I would highly recommend him as a tour guide to anyone! Mike was a key connection between us and the porters, who provided fantastic meals and service throughout the trip. We were all truly amazed at what the porters were able to achieve! Thank you Mike, Safe travels, Holly and Sam

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Throughout the trip Mike told us the journey was more special than the destination. He was completely correct. The final camp site provided a stunning backdrop for a sunset and sun rise. A true moment to reflect on the past days hiking and camping.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike was the best tour leader we have ever had. He was always full of energy and really made the trip special. I hope that we are able to do another trip with him. There was a balance of detailed knowledge of the South American history, fun and laughter within the whole group and a keen eye on safety. He is a true asset to exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip was harder than expected (the second day is a real hike!!) and having a few days to feel comfortable at altitude was key for us.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Colin Barclay

    Inca Trail breathlessly

    A wonderful trip to my top Bucket List destination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wandering around Machu Picchu and visiting the floating islands on Lake Titicaca have satisfied two of my lifelong ambitions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raul Guerra was an excellent guide for the Inca Trail part of my holiday. He was very enthusiastic, friendly and incredibly knowledgeable about everything Peruvian especially about the Inca ruins and civilization.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My strongest recommendation would be to arrive a couple of days before the group holiday starts in order to acclimatise to the high altitude.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Stephanie Pinto

    Exceeded Expectations - Inca Trail - Breathtaking

    I have just returned from Peru and would thoroughly recommend this trek. From enquiry to booking and throughout the trip, the service was excellent. Having been on several other trek's throughout the world I had high expectations and these were exceeded! The Inca Trail is an incredible journey and our guide was exceptional. Throughout I felt well looked after, the customer care was superb. I would happily recommend Exodus to anyone, it was 25 years since my last holiday with Exodus, I will not leave it so long this time! The porters were an inspiration and the food provided on the trek was superb!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every part of the journey was an amazing experience, but the moment you first see Machu Picchu has to be the highlight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Tomas Llancay was exceptional, he had the patience of a saint, a lovely sense of humour, is very knowledgeable and cared for us throughout. Tomas really could not do enough for everyone. It is clear he loves his job and is proud to work for Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is rated as a 3 and suitable for anyone with moderate fitness. Having been on a number of trek's, as this trip is at altitude I would grade it a 4. There are some steep hills and we had all weather to contend with, which at altitude is a challenge. That said if you have a good level of fitness and a positive attitude, I would thoroughly recommend this trip!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Susan Dean

    Wonderful Moonstone Trek!

    Our group of three selected this trek as we wished for a more challenging and less crowded hiking route. The scenery was gorgeous and we also saw many Incan sites, p,us examples of everyday life---children walking down the mountain to school, a family harvesting their potato crop, animals being moved to high pastures, etc. Aside from another group of about ten hikers (which we passed early each day and never saw the rest of the day), we were alone to enjoy the unbelievable vistas and beauty of the country! Our guides were very knowledgeable and we felt well cared for. And kudos to our cook who managed to feed us wonderfully and with great variety!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although I'd have to say Machu Picchu was the crown jewel, seeing the beautiful stars at night, fabulous sunsets, and visiting Incan burial sites were all awe-inspiring!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    For the trek we had Tina, who was great fun and took superb care of us. It was as if we took another friend along! We were able to hike at our own pace and felt very well looked after. During our time in the city, and with the entire group, Fabrizzio was just as good! He was very knowledgeable about Incan history and culture, and had obvious pride in his country and heritage, as did Tina.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is some tough hiking! I'd advise going a few days ahead to Cusco for extra acclimatization. (And drink the coca tea ALL the time!)Being aerobically fit does not necessarily help overcome the altitude issues. Bring a pole or poles! (Even my 22 y-o daughter found a pole useful to steady her footing.) Nights at altitude are VERY cold (near freezing)l although daytime temps are mild. LAYERS! The sun is fierce! Have a good sun hat plus sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't overpack. We had more than enough of the right clothes and just used a carry on bag plus a day pack. Consider the Moonstone Trek if you'd like a more challenging and equally beautiful hike with plenty of Incan sites along the way. I personally like the peace and quiet of the trail versus constantly passing and being passed along the trail, so I found it perfect in that regard. I read "Turn Right at Macchu Picchu" before I went, and HIGHLY recommend it as informative and entertaining reading to get yourself in the mindset for the trip!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Josephine Farrell

    Inca Trail in Comfort

    Very well organised trip.A lot harder than the impression given on the website and very challenging if fitness levels not good. Altitude sickness can be a problem and do come prepared to cope with all weathers.The food provided by the porters carrying the luggage was excellent. If you like learning about history and being active this is the holiday for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the steep steps to the Sun Gate on the final day in pouring rain knowing we had finally made it to glimpse a first view of Machu Picchu virtually deserted

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Raul Valle was excellent in his knowledge of sights, flora and fauna along the way and kept our spirits up when the weather changed. He set the walking pace according to our different fitness levels in the group. His organisation skills were excellent and his idea of having a group kitty saved a lot of messing about with the different groups of people responsible for taking care of us over the 11 days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your packing down to essentials only, take dry bags and be prepared to be physically challenged.
  • it was a challenge

    Well I can honestly say this was the hardest thing I have ever done, but at the same time, the sense of achievement after walking through the Sun Gate and seeing Macchu Piccu, it was incredible and emotional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finally reaching the summit of Dead Woman's Pass, I never thought I would finish the incline, but with the group and words of encouragement from Dennis our leader, I finally got there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dennis Dolmos was great, he made sure we were all ok, assisted when anyone was struggling and encouraged us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate this trek, do some training beforehand. You can not account for the altitude but good cardiovascular and leg training will help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Peru is a lovely country, the food and team who look after you are incredible. Excellent trip.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Lisa Dilley

    A fantastic time on the Inca trail!

    Fantastic 4 days trekking to Machu Picchu. Our guide Wilbert Ramos was truly exceptional - managing our timing so we missed the crowds, fluting us up the mountain and continually impressing us with his encyclopaedic knowledge. Thank you Wilbert!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cloud city campsite. Spectacular sunrise there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a superstar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Wilbert! (And bring walking poles!)
Call us on 1 844 227 9087