Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Eileen Cooper

    The Lost City of Choquequirao

    This trip challenges you physically, mentally and emotionally. It provides breathtaking scenery, camping in cloud forests, visiting Inca sites in beautiful and inaccessible places and the chance to observe how humbly people live in the harsh landscape. It fulfilled all of my expectations and more, spectacular scenery, challenging walking and indulging in the Indiana Jones experience. There was great camaraderie and our guides, Michael and Vladimir were just the best. They had infinite cheerfulness and patience and were determined that we would understand as much as possible about Andean culture, past and present. My only regret is that this trek may be 'it', the best one!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One every day! Camping on Inca terrraces, learning about how the Incas viewed the Mayu, the Milky Way, standing on the usnu, the ceremonial platform at Choquequirao surrounded by mountains, ravines and sparkling rivers whilst clouds swirled around, the cardio workout exploring the Llama terraces, walking down to Yanoma amongst wild lavender with horses passing, sitting on a rock edge at San Abra pass at 4200m, surreal bathing in hot springs at Santa Teresa with bats flitting overhead.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael ensured we had the best time. He made everything as easy as possible for us. He was so patient taking photos of us at iconic spots and being an archaeologist, we were in the hands of an expert. He has a great approach to life and was always conscientious. A very genuine man who worked extremely hard on many levels to make sure our holiday was perfect, which it was.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For those who are not super fit, do some training, legs, core and walking of course. Take extra clothes, it is hot and sticky and not easy to wash or dry clothes or towels.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any doubts, do some training and go.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    PETER WATKINS

    Peru adventure

    A challenging trek in Peru that managed to combine quiet trekking, magnificent scenery, the remote city of Choquequirao and the spectacle of Machu Picchu. Walking in remote areas of Peru, at times surrounded by snow-capped mountaings, or maybe cloud forest, or then again coffee plantations. Very varied and interesting at all times. The guides and support staff added to the atmosphere, providing a friendly and informative company. Helpful at all times, providing surprisingly good food in very basic conditions and unexpected "extras" - like the very welcome visit to the hot springs! All-in-all and excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a wild condor effortlessly flying past us at a distance of only 20m!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! Knowledgable about the Inca history, although sometimes a little to mystical. Always in control and adaptable to changing situations. Always felt safe with him, and the other support team around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles essential. The bugs bite a lot so bug spray essential, recommend always wearing long sleeves and long trousers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the passion fruit smoothies!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rosemary Dan

    Excellent trip

    This is one of the best trips I have done. This was my first visit to South America - Peru is a beautiful country with fascinating history. The trekking is hard but well worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several, including Choquequirao where it was so quiet (only our group plus 3 other people) and Machu Picchu, which although crowded is spectacular. However, the most inspirational moment for me was the San Juan pass; the conditions were perfect, the 360 degree views breath taking and several Condors flying around when we arrived.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was very passionate and knowledgeable about Peru and the Inca culture. Jonnie was a great and enthusiastic co-leader on the trek. The support team worked very hard to make sure we were comfortable on trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for the trek - it is hard with long ascents and descents but very rewarding. Take plenty of insect repellent - mosquitos are prolific particularly on the trek. I was worried about arriving in Cusco and coping with the altitude, however, the time spent in Cusco at the start of the trip was ideal to acclimatise.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Gina Lawrence

    Lost City of Choquequirao Trek

    An incredible trek, away from the crowds and through the cloud forests and passes of the Andes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being at Choquequirao - but it's only when you get to Machu Picchu do you realise what a privilege it is to see Choquequirao with so few people there. When we visited our group shared the entire site with only a dozen other people - incredible. The comparison with the business of Machu Picchu is startling! For the trek itself, the San Juan pass was my favourite spot - a perfect 360 viewpoint over the Vilcabamba mountains. We went in May and were blessed with glorious sunshine and the valley filled with wild lupins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando and Jonny were top notch, very funny and lovely to be around. Special mention must go to our amazing team of cooks and horsemen who were incredible and worked so, so hard to give us an amazing experience. We couldn't have done it without them!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fantastic trek which gives you an unusual insight to Peru, away from the popular spots. It's so special to have somewhere like Choquequirao to yourself. Go now before everyone else does!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Simonetta Taylor

    Lost City of Choqueqeirou - Adventure in the Andes

    This trip was an adventure of a lifetime for me. In places it was hard and very hard. The support from the trek staff team was superb making the effort worthwhile. Choquequeiro itself is like something from an Indiana Jones film in it's setting and to get there is hard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was the hardest physical achievement of my life and couldn't have happened without the trek team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando (leader) and Jonny (assistant) worked hard to make the trip amazing. If you go you will learn so much about the people, plants and animals of the Andes

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare in advance with physical training. If possible, spend an extra day in Cuzco at the start to help get over altitude sickness if you are flying straight to Cuzco from Uk

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an amazing trip - the sights are outstanding.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Kevin Wallace

    Choquequirao to Macau Picchu

    Top notch trip visiting two stunning Inca sites. One well publicised with 2500 visitors per day, while the other might only see 25! But you need to do some hard walking to reach that one........

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two really. Looking down from the 'bowling green smooth' viewpoint over Choq, in all its solitude. On this my second visit to MP, finally getting the classic view overlooking the city in all its glory.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was very good at his job. Informative about all aspects of the Inca culture. Showed a love both for Peru and for the mountain people of the Andes. Crucially he also had a good sense of humour!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for testing walking conditions. My walk was in November but we experienced very hot sunshine. This made the steep zig zagging ascents and descents very hard. Walking poles extremely useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Peru is one of my top destinations. Widely different parts to the country with so many Inca (and older) sites in good preservation.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Sarah Gooda

    Chocoquiero

    This was a wonderful holiday. We went as a family including 2 teenagers and we all had a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at a beautiful lunch spot in an Inca site, with tables set up on the terraces on the mountain side, and water channels cascading down, built by the incas. The first view of Macchu Picchu glimpsed from across the valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando was amazing. Inspirational, fantastic attention to detail, devoted to his culture, friendly and resourceful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your sleeping bag is warm, have a down or synthetic jacket as it gets very cold - below freezing - in the evenings and at night at altitude. My daughter used a metal water bottle with an insulating cover as a sleeping bag. It's warm during the day though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food on this trip is worth a special mention. It was absolutely delicious, vegetarians were well catered for and the food hygiene was meticulous. It included a large breakfast, 2 course cooked lunch, afternoon tea and 3 course evening meal, as well as snacks. Boiled water was provided for our water bottles.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    John Halstead

    The Lost City of Choquequirao

    One of the best trips I have done. The food was the better than on any previos trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The earthquake resistant Inca stoework.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very experienced and professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is steep with extended periods of height gain and loss. Make sure you have done some training. A pair of poles help the knees considerably. The Lake Titicca (spelling?) extension is worth doing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked more information about the extension. Just knowing what hotel I was staying in and a name and telephone number for the person meeting me would have helped. In the event everything went like clockwork, but I experienced some anxiety about what I would do if the rep. hadn't turned up. I had no plan B.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Nigel Trevor

    lost cities of choquequirao

    A must do trip. for most of the 8days on the choquequirao trail we hardly saw other walkers, and when we did it was in passing. and at choquequirao there was one other group, and we pretty much had the site to our self. the trails were tough at times, but the rewards of stunning views and totally amazing sites . and every time you turn a corner, they appeared to get better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    their are many but having lunch on the terraces at pinchaunuyoc absolutely stunning , lunch and seeing condors at parador abra san juan. valentine and achillies prepared the most amazing food. every day something different macho picchu

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando saico excellent new his country and the history of the sites has a real passion for his country . this really came across then speaking with him. nothing was to much trouble. made the difference of this being not a good holiday but a brilliant holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if your thinking about this trip do it now . I thin with new infrastructure going on this trail is going to get a whole lot busier. insect repellent don't forget it. their not about most of the time, but make up for it when they are.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    peru is a beautiful country full of culture. with great people . that respect your space and don't try to push you into buying things you don't want . this is a country to put on your bucket list.
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    THE LOST CITY OF CHOQUEQUIRAO

    Very enjoyable and well lead trip through some of Peru's less busy trekking trails. Some fairly tough climbs and descents but well worth it to find the tranquility of the Lost City of Choquequirao and explore Peru's beautiful and varied scenery. Was also good to be able to visit Machu Picchu on the last day - a great way to finish the trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    3 key mommnets stand out;- climing the hill from the camp site and entering the Lost City of C. Stunning.- the point where Machu Picchu first comes into view in the distance- the indiviudals in the group each reaching the top of the Choquequirao Pass - a great sense of achievement!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Really knew his stuff in terms of the history of the Incas and was a very approachable. Also had a very good sense of humour and interacted very well with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of insect repellant!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, loved every minute of it. Thinking about my next one already!

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note that this review refers to a previous version of the trip which Exodus operated in the past.

Call us on 1 844 227 9087