Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Save up to $500 on small group & self-guided adventures to 100+ countries. Click here to learn more.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

157 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019

    Amazing, once-in-a-lifetime adventure - but be prepared!

    We have just returned from EBC, and it really was quite the adventure. Great scenery (when the clouds lifted!), fabulous trekking, lovely company and lots of laughs. We had a wonderful team - Leader Ajay ('Ozzy'), Sherpa Kaji, Norbu and Newang, our Yak man. We made it to EBC in the snow! Be as prepared as you can, expect long days trekking with lots of both up and down, embrace the culture and you'll be rewarded with incredible views and a great sense of accomplishment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to EBC obvs, but also chatting to Sherpa Kaji (who has summited Everest 9 times), visiting the memorials, sitting in the Monastery listening to the monks chanting, seeing the expedition tents at BC, seeing the Khumbu icefall, hanging out with our trek mates..…….

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay ('Ozzy') was fantastic - he looked after us so well, was a delight to be with, was open and honest about everything. Couldn't have been better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are unable to cope with squat loos, smells, very cold bedrooms, and basic living conditions, then perhaps this isn't the trip for you. If you can cope with those things, then you'll be fine, enjoy the experience and it is all so worth it. Loo roll, wet wipes, Imodium, water treatment equipment, and sense of humour are your friends. Discuss the use of Diamox with your leader. We also valued our Powerbanks, Merino underwear, hand sanitisation gel, well broken-in walking boots, and snacks (although you can buy them along the way). Oh and playing cards! Food is basic but plentiful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were pleasantly surprised by the number of places we could actually get a hot shower. Many tea houses have invested in Gas showers, and they were very welcome (you do have to pay.) Remember prices for everything go up the further from Lukla you get. Take more ££ than you think you'll need, and make sure you change any spare back (into dollars only, not pounds) before you pass through passport control at the airport on your way out. Dengue fever is currently a significant problem in Kathmandu - take precautions to prevent mosquito bites (see trip notes).
  • Reviewed June 2019
    paul bester

    breath-taking, in both senses

    having done a few mountains before, I was just hoping to get a view of Everest, but was amazed at just how unexpectedly-beautiful the route was. the initial lush green valleys were replaced with breath-taking views of majestic mountains. every turn produced another stunning vista. i found it really difficult to relay just how big those mountains are to anyone who hasn't been there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the sheer size of the Himalayas gives a humbling sense of ones place on earth. I simply could not go through life without seeing the "big one" up close- (relatively speaking).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a true gem. he is an experienced and confident leader, beyond his years. besides his general information, I learned so much about Nepalese culture from the one to one chats, while ambling at the back of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    it's a challenging trip, but certainly not limited to the super-fit.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Hughes

    Everest Base Camp - a journey to heaven!

    This trip met and exceeded my expectations by miles! I have never seen scenery so beautiful in my life , it was truly wow! It was the hardest thing (trek wise ) I have ever done and breathing at times in the higher parts was tough but it was more than compensated by the experience. A big shout out to Bikash T ( TNT190427) who was a brilliant leader and encouraged us a long the way and ensured we paced ourselves the result of which we all made it to Base Camp! His team were all brilliant too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Base Camp after such a long journey to get there. I never thought in my lifetime I would see this and it literally took my breath away and was very emotional when I arrived!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above Bikash was a great leader and was certainly always reassuring me whenever I had any nervous moments and was easy to talk to and great sense of humour too !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how tough this trip is. The more preparation you put into this , the more you will enjoy it. It is worth it! Also , it gets expensive to buy snacks the further you go up, I would recommend bringing energy bars etc from home it save you money. And, finally , when the leader says pace yourself , take notice, as walking too fast is not a good idea at that altitude!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wonderful trip and life changing experience!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophie Daubeney

    An experience you’ll never forget...

    Overall an amazing experience. Beautiful views. A unique, friendly group of fun people! There was a real team spirit, and I was never in doubt that anyone wouldn’t make it to Base Camp. The guides were fabulous, and enhanced a really special experience! Would definitely recommend this trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up in Kyanjumar lodge and seeing Ama Dablam towering overhead. A real pinch me moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was amazing! Such a kind, patient and fun leader! Felt very supported and encouraged throughout the trip, particularly on the tougher days. He was also incredibly knowledgeable about local culture and history. Can’t recommend him enough. It must be said that all the guides and the yak man were awesome too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare, prepare, prepare! Be of a good level of physical fitness- this trek is no walk in the park! Don’t forget the essentials; loo roll, hand sanitisers, lip balm and sun cream (don’t underestimate the importance of these small luxuries)!! And enjoy!! This trip will be once in a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    jacqueline walton

    Excellent trek

    As expected, an excellent trek. Fantastic scenery; lovely insight in to Nepali villages and epic mountains!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get our select group of ’Trevor’s Angels’ to the top of Kala Patar!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He was extremely personable and knowledgable but also very aware of how we were all doing. At the slightest sign of anyone not being 100% , he would check how they were doing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely get your visa beforehand - we did the online bit but still had a huge wait. The only way to avoid the wait is to send passport off for visa in UK. Sadly, if others in the group don’t you will still have to wait but outside! Stock up on anything that will help counteract the Khumbu cough - lemsips, throat sweets ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although not an easy trip, taking it slowly and mental determination will see you through!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska on fly out hunting trips for over 25 years,(tents, sleeping bags on cold ground, grizzly bears).... so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA, Hot tea at your door every morning. SO, if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska for over 25 years, so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA. SO if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    michelle m

    So wanted to love it but just didn’t!

    I had been waiting to do this trip for 4 years and had to put off several times. I thought this was going to be one of those chance of a lifetime moments and for me sadly it wasn’t. Sadly I got sick with flu just as we were hitting higher altitudes this combined with the effects of altitude, lack of sleep, Khumba cough, pounding headaches, constantly being cold. (Weather was worse than expected) I just couldn’t recover and it became a real struggle. I knew the accommodation and living conditions were basic but I was shocked to see actually how bad they were in reality. A lot of toilet conditions are just disgusting. Food is boring and monotonous, if you have any sort of dietary needs then think again. I was gluten free and really struggled. Being told to bring ‘snacks’ is not enough.. Don’t get me wrong scenery is beyond stunning, it does get very bleak the further up you go though. Don’t plan on seeing Everest much either, barely saw the peak from a distance in a couple of occasions. Hoping in time I can look back with fonder memories but just can’t right now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery and seeing how local people in mountain regions live.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman, Kami and Penba and not forgetting our lovely Yakman Dowa. All great and felt in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really know what you are getting into when you do this trip. No one knows how altitude can affect you, be prepared for this. It’s not fun being sick and living in such conditions. It’s not a holiday and it’s not relaxing so don’t expect either.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Gillian Gould

    A unique experience

    Although the walking was manageable if you were reasonably fit and prepared, the altitude, cold and tummy bugs made it a challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some wonderful mountain walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very supportive with good leadership skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare well and take plenty of medication for all eventualities.