Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Flash Sale - Save up to 15% on any Guided Group adventure (and 10% on any Self-Guided adventure). Learn more

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    andrew longley

    Everest Basecamp & Back

    Amazing experience! Loved everything minute of it from Namche to basecamp and back. Our Guide Bikash was fantastic, creating a great group atmosphere and taking care of everyone with professionalism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Basecamp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a great leader
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jo Griffiths

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    Hiking amidst the most awe-inspiring scenery, a not to be missed, truly outstanding trip! I have travelled with Exodus on many occasions, and this trip is so finely tuned it is impossible to find fault. Perfect pacing, acclimatisation, itinerary and physical challenge. Challenge is also present in some of the Tea Houses, but the trip notes give ample notice about how basic they can be, and I found this added to the whole experience. Some were terrific, and some were simply a place to rest and refuel before another day enjoying the magnificent mountains. Having said this, the food served in all the Tea Houses was always great; I enjoyed a whole range of local food, including Dhal Bhat and Sherpa soup, but also couldn’t resist the odd plate of egg and chips!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Kala Patthar. I hadn’t really paid attention at the briefing, I just thought it would be a nice optional trek up a mountain to see sunrise over Everest. We set off at 4.30 am, within 10 minutes my water bottle had frozen and I’d lost all feeling in my fingers (despite wearing 3 pairs of gloves!). Panic started to set in when I realised that the ice I was slipping on going up, would be 10 times worse coming down; the headache and nausea didn’t help either. However, the sense of achievement getting to the top, and getting the best views of Everest with a sunrise to boot were worth every second of hardship. Glorious! Special mention also for all the Porters, Yaks, Dzos, and Mules. It was both inspirational and humbling to see the vast range of products they carry on a daily basis to enable hikers to complete the trek with some degree of comfort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay is a superb Tour Leader, ably assisted by the two guides on this trek, Suresh and Mingmar and Kumar, our Yak Man. The service we received from this awesome team was outstanding; they couldn’t do enough for us. No task too big or too small, and always with a smile. Daily health checks and constant reminders to drink water and eat well helped us all to stay safe and healthy. Our last night in Lukla, when we had a lovely meal with the whole team, a few celebratory beers and a dance, it really demonstrated the special bond that tour leaders can foster in the groups they lead.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, in particular the information about buying bottled water. I took a Steripen and it worked perfectly, some others on the trip took purification tablets; they also worked. It was disheartening to see so many bottles of water being purchased when Exodus are working so hard to ‘Ban the Bottle’. Avoid the very long queues at Kathmandu and buy your Visa before you travel. Take really good gloves/mittens. The food is reasonably priced in the Tea Houses, so if you can live with showers and WiFi you won't need excessive amounts of money. It can be tricky changing it back to Sterling if you do underspend. `

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The success of a trip is always about the people. Like-minded fellow travellers, making new friends, plus the quality of the Tour Leader and support staff who make the experience so rewarding and unique. In addition, the people you meet on the way, the Nepalese people are so friendly and welcoming, and we even bumped into some potential Everest summiteers! Book the trip, it will not disappoint!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Les Wilson

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I was not disappointed. From my first enquiry, throughout the planning, during the trip and afterwards, Exodus were superb. I was kept informed of an changes to the itinary or flights and whenever I asked a question an advisor responded promptly. I hadn't met any of my group until we arrived at Heathrow or Kathmandu but very quickly got to know some great people who I hope to keep in touch with. There's even talk of some of us meeting up in the future for another trip. The guides were all first class. Ozzy, Sorros and Mingma along with Yak Man took great care of us and couldn't do enough for us. Acclimatisation and staying healthy is key to a successful trip to base camp. The guides took great care over getting this right. All in all, a great Exodus experience and I look forward to tackling Island Peak next year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise over Everest from Kallapatar. Beautiful!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very well organised, very knowledgeable, couldn't do enough for his clients and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the guides and take their advice. Ozzy's advice was simple but absolutely accurate: 1. Walk slow 2. Pack light 3. Sip water constantly 4. Don't lose your apetite Don't burden yourself with anything you don't need. 1 set of clothes will easily last several days!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great first Exodus experience. I will certainly use Exodus again for future trips.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Raj Muker

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    An amazing lifetime experience that was challenging which made it all so satisfying. The mountains, terrain and general scenery was breathtaking, never forget the colour of the sky.......deep deep blue!!! The living conditions were definitely NOT like home but that's part of the challenge and you come away so appreciative of what you have.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This might sound selfish but making it to Base Camp and the next morning to Kala Patthar was absolutely exhilarating and the sense of achievement was overwhelming. Also to do it with a group of people who had like minded ambitions was very satisfying and it so good to have someone to hug to share the moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is not enough nice words in the English vocabulary to describe Bikash and his team. Bikash was a great leader, his sense of care game through glowingly very early which immediately gave us assurances that we were in good hands. He made our ambitions his ambition which ensured we all successfully made it to Base Camp. He gave us that extra care and gentle touch when we needed it as it wasn't all smooth sailing in trying to keep healthy. Exodus you have a gem of a person on your team , a person who is so passionate in what he does and makes ordinary peoples dream come true. Hope our life cross paths again Bikash so I can give you another big hug to say thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a good level of fitness, be positive and keep healthy and Base Camp is at your mercy!!! Listen to your guide leader, warm clothes, eat and drink well, and enjoy the occasion.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Nicole Schreieck

    Everest Base Camp March 2018

    What an absolutely amazing experience, too beautiful to ever put into words! Everything from start to finish was simply perfect - the organisation, the people, the nature. Without a doubt one of the toughest, coldest and most incredible things I have ever done!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have to say I really loved every aspect of the trip! The people, the fresh air, the landscapes. The mountains are incredibly beautiful and you never get sick of the views. Reaching Base Camp was a fantastic feeling, such a great sense of achievement and also a bit emotional. It was amazing to see us all so happy and proud of each other, celebrating the moment together as friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash and team were absolutely exceptional. Very professional, knowledgeable and caring. All three guides really went above and beyond to make this a successful and unforgettable trip for every single one of us.. lending us their poles, gloves, sunglasses when we lost or broke our own equipment and even carrying our daypacks when we couldn't. Absolutely outstanding. Bikash I can't thank you enough for what you have done for us! And thank you for the birthday cake!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit and you can absolutely do it! I am not a trekker and had never climbed a mountain before but with a generally good level of fitness and a few weeks preparation in the gym I was absolutely fine. I do recommend to bring everything on the packing list - you will need it! Do bring a thin buff as the trek is very dry and dusty especially in the lower altitudes. In general I think a bit of common sense will go a long way in the mountains - no coffee or alcohol (on the way up, do try the Everest and Gorkha beer on the way down), hearty lunches as you will need the energy, light dinners. I also had multivitamins with me as the diet can be a bit unbalanced. Most importantly, don't forget to have fun! Walk slowly it's not a competition, take lot's of pictures, make friends!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kevin Beards

    Everest Base Camp

    An excellent but demanding trek amongst the most beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Base Camp &Kalla Pater and also reaching Lukla at the end of the trek which inspired a great feeling of "mission accomplished "!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash made a good trip into a great one! I really can't fault this man,he was excellent in every respect-a top man and a credit to Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit,go with a positive attitude and enjoy! You CAN do it!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Dan Gibson

    Trip of a Lifetime

    Ive wanted to do this trip for 20yrs and it didnt dissapoint. Each day i was in awe of how spectacular the route and views became. Nepal and the Himalayas are absolutely spectacular. I was so pleased i booked through Exodus. Its the only company i would use for any future adventure trips. They were excellent and super professional throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the first time is truly awe inspiring. Also climbing Kala Pathar at first light and seeing the sunrise behind Ama Dablam was simply amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Dorji and Sherpa Kaji were both fantastic guys and people id now consider good friends. They work so hard to make sure you enjoy the trip. Theyre a true credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well before hand. Its harder than we expected. Also take lots of snacks as the food in the tea houses isnt great and can become quite tedious after 14 days. If i did it again id take cured meat, cheese and chocolate! Also make sure you take immodium and altitude tablets as i ended up with AMS for 4 days which was horrible. Also take a 5 season sleeping bag as it can get seriously cold and uncomfortable on a night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Pack light! You wont need half the stuff you think and its a lot easier treking with a light pack and you can only take 12kgs on the Lukla flight.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Phil Burrows

    Trekking in the footsteps of Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay

    What an experience! After a delayed start due to weather conditions we finally landed at Lukla for the beginning of an awe inspiring trek in the Himalayas. A team of 15 meandered across the Dudh Kosi river to reach Namche and then North eastwards steeply through forests to above the tree line reaching Thangboche. From there we headed to Dingboche, Loboche, Gorak Shep and our ultimate goal Everest Base Camp. The scenery was excellent from walking through fertile farming settlements, through forest, high altitude settlements and glacial moraine to reach EBC and it wasn't a disappointment - witnessing the khumbu icefall and ice seracs at base and seeing Everest flanked by Changste and Nuptse and other giants was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Everest Base Camp was the moment for me. It is the fourth time I have trekked in Nepal, and the last time I reached base camp was 2001 so experiences were new for me - even base camp was in a higher position on terminal moraine. It was amazing to see how settlements had grown.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nirmal, our guide together with Bhim, Khami and Chong were exceptional. They were informative and encouraging. They managed to get all fifteen of us to EBC with no major problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Food and drinks were extremely pricey. I have camped previously so all food was catered for however I was surprised how expensive things were in the tea houses and hotels. I didn't buy water I filled by water bag and used a steri pen to treat the water and I had no problems. I managed with a 2-season sleeping bag as blankets are provided so had more space in my trek bag as it didn't take any room up.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Kingsley Barlow

    What an Experience!!!!!!

    From the moment we landed in Lukla and started the long journey to Base Camp, we were in awe of the scenery and the atmosphere of the mighty Himalayas. It is very much like going back in time. The nepalese people life very basic lives and are so hardworking, this adds to the experience. it was a demanding trek, And we were affected by altitude sickness at times. Overall one of the most rewarding things we have ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The immense size of the Himalayas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tenzig was brilliant - he was caring, personable, organised, with a great sense of humour. Always having our best interest at heart. Ably assisted by Pindu, Pema and Nima. They were truly a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is a must. Do not under estimate the cold. The tea houses only have heating in the dining room, the bedrooms are very cold so be prepared to sleep fully clothed. It is very dusty so a buff around your mouth helps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!!!!!!!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    DAVID STEEL

    MY COMPLACENT BUCKET LIST TICK TO EVEREST BASE CAMP!!

    Gotta say, this was an absolutely brilliant trip! The group, 14 of us in all, was a very eclectic mix with Canadians, Icelandic, Dutch, Irish, a couple of very entertaining "Cor Blimey" guys, and the rest of us were Northerners, but fortunately none of the others seemed to hold that against us! Me and the 2 Cor Blimeys were mates who had embarked upon this jaunt in virtually complete ignorance of quite what was in store for us, so we thought our preparations of a couple of leisurely jaunts up Snowdon followed by a couple of pints of Guinness in the same PYG pub frequented by Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay 65 years earlier would stand us in good stead. I confess that the complete ignorance I referred to above was mainly down to me not having read any of the reviews, but to be honest, I am glad I didn't read them because it would probably have put me off going and I would have missed a truly great experience. The other 11 people were all seasoned trekkers, who were rather surprised by our inexperience (and stupidity?) in embarking upon this full-on 18 consecutive days High Passes Trek which is widely regarded as one of the toughest available. However, despite me picking up a dose of food poisoning in the UK even before we flew to Delhi, we ALL made it across ALL of the High Passes, due in no small part to the expertise and skill of the Trek Leader, Pasang Lama, who I have to say was brilliant at coaxing, encouraging and looking after us - not surprising really, given his 21 years' experience in the role! The scenery of course is second to none, and on a few practical points, supplies like toilet paper, snacks, drinks, sun cream etc. are readily available throughout the trek, plus the food available in the Tea Houses was far better than I had anticipated, which is more than can be said for the general standard of ablutions, but hey, even they were manageable. I am 70, but reasonably fit I suppose, so my advice would simply be get fit, shed a few spare pounds, do a bit of aerobic exercise like jogging or riding a bike, make sure your boots are comfortable and go for it! The Altitude thing is a bit of a lottery so no point in worrying about it, although it may be prudent to have a try-out at altitude somewhere before you go to see if you may be susceptible to it? Some of us took Diamox, some didn't, but nobody had any significant symptoms of AMS apart from the odd headache, a bit of nausea, and a little bit of water retention. Loss of appetite is quite common at altitude, and the only thing which bothered me was the inability to sleep when we were above 5,000m - which we were for 10 days in a row - so actually quite debilitating!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of satisfaction in overcoming the challenges and hardships of oxygen deficit and lack of sleep for days on end. Oh, and yes, OK, I suppose the magical sight of such a legendary panacea of scenery was pretty cool too . . . . yes . . . . that too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. He inspired confidence, was amusing, direct in his manner when it was needed, and conciliatory when it was appropriate. Full marks Pasang!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just Do It - but get fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087