Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Stuart Elks

    Stuart Elks - Wells Cathedral School

    Our trip to Nepal was wonderful. We were hosted incredibly well by Pasang and his team right from the airport where we were met and transported to the Royal Singi Hotel. All movements, interactions and correspondence throughout the trip were excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the local Nepalese people who live in the Himalaya and exist in such hardships.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang was outstanding! He was incredibly perceptive, understanding, communicative and showed true leadership by keeping all of us from any of the problems that he encountered along the way. I would definitely recommend him to others. He is a true professional and a brilliant ambassador.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To bring vitamins and dry fruit bars as the food available in the foot hills is incredibly carbohydrate heavy. To bring sun cream, a light coloured, thin buff. To bring lip salve/sun block. To make sure that you have enough local currency to pay for things each night. The ATM's in Namche did not work.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend EXODUS!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Steph Grundy

    Best honeymoon we could have wished for

    Where to begin.... we enjoyed every second from start to finish- the people, the scenery, the trekking, the guides (even the extra accidental flight to lukla where we had to return halfway due to bad weather) We booked this as our honeymoon so it was a special trip but made even more special by our amazing team of guides- exodus is lucky to have such inspirational and genuine people working for them, and by the great bunch of people that we trekked with, we had so much fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp and summiting Kala Patthar and watching everyone else on the trek do it too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Professional, fun, genuine, hardworking, inspirational and full of energy and enthusiasm. We would love to trek again with Ngima and the both assistant guides Sagar and Lal they were all outstanding. We left Nepal as friends.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare yourselves with long walks before going, ensure you are a good level of fitness. Take lots of cold & flu medicine, paracetmol and a good buff / scarf Go with an open mind and you’ll enjoy every minute, even the freezing cold temperatures at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We think the trek could be improved and more enjoyable if everybody is of a good / similar level of fitness. We are planning a harder trek next time but would be wary of going in a large group that may have people of a lesser fitness as it impacts the time spent trekking to places etc. I understand the difficulties of this suggestion.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Peter Watkins

    Everest base camp

    Very good trek overall. Well organised and run by the guides. Some personal disappointment that I didn't make the base camp itself, but scenery was fantastic. Route was very much more crowded than I had expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by 8000 m high mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! He managed an awkward group with limited resources and many disruptions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is very crowded in this area. Tea houses are generally not of the best quality, food can be poor. I found that lack of sleep was a problem (snoring roommate) but could be resolved in some tea houses by hiring an extra room for only 500 rupees, £3.50. This information is not generally to hand.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sally Difazio

    Amazing experience

    Well organised, fantastic guides, wonderful experience amongst the highest peaks in the world. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Landing at Lukla to be at the Himalayan gateway.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Complete trust in Kumar who knew exactly what to do, when to do it and how to do it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Trust the guides, they will get you to the destination.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Ian Elson

    EBC

    Very good guides,well organised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Everest for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good leader,very attentive,very informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the guides,their experience was invaluable.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Gina Moore

    Excellent trip

    Well what can I say about this trip?? It was amazing!! I have done a few Exodus trips before but this was the best yet. Not only were the views outstanding but the itinerary was great, the pace of walking was perfect to aid acclimatisation and the staff were amazing. The accommodation/tea houses on the whole were great, some were better than others but the trip notes explained this fully and what do you expect at 5000m. Highly recommended trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing scenery and climbing Kala Patthar. The mountain views as you walk to base camp are fabulous, each day the mountains did not disappoint. Climbing Kala Patthar was great, it is a 4.30am start so you set off with head torches on and for me this is always a highlight. Seeing the sunrise over Everest was breathtaking and not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay (Azzy) was great, as were our guide Suresh, assistant guide Mingmar and Kumar our Yak man. Nothing was too much trouble and they went over and above what was expected. The morning wake up tea was always accompanied with a smile and cheery "good morning, how did you sleep" and while this was a nice touch, it was also a cunning way to check we were coping with the altitude. Nightly health checks also made sure we were all doing OK with the altitude, these checked if we had drunk enough water, had headaches and how we were eating. Any issues were dealt with quickly and great advice given.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. I used a water-to-go bottle to filter water and also took purification tablets so I didn't have to buy water and both worked very well. Don't change too much money as you can live cheaply on the trek if you don't buy wi-fi every night or shower every day. Pack light, you really can survive with minimal but essential clothing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was just amazing from start to finish. Our group was fabulous so spending 2 weeks trekking with like-minded people was easy under the care of our amazing guides. Highly recommended trip!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    andrew longley

    Everest Basecamp & Back

    Amazing experience! Loved everything minute of it from Namche to basecamp and back. Our Guide Bikash was fantastic, creating a great group atmosphere and taking care of everyone with professionalism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Basecamp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was a great leader
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jo Griffiths

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    Hiking amidst the most awe-inspiring scenery, a not to be missed, truly outstanding trip! I have travelled with Exodus on many occasions, and this trip is so finely tuned it is impossible to find fault. Perfect pacing, acclimatisation, itinerary and physical challenge. Challenge is also present in some of the Tea Houses, but the trip notes give ample notice about how basic they can be, and I found this added to the whole experience. Some were terrific, and some were simply a place to rest and refuel before another day enjoying the magnificent mountains. Having said this, the food served in all the Tea Houses was always great; I enjoyed a whole range of local food, including Dhal Bhat and Sherpa soup, but also couldn’t resist the odd plate of egg and chips!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Kala Patthar. I hadn’t really paid attention at the briefing, I just thought it would be a nice optional trek up a mountain to see sunrise over Everest. We set off at 4.30 am, within 10 minutes my water bottle had frozen and I’d lost all feeling in my fingers (despite wearing 3 pairs of gloves!). Panic started to set in when I realised that the ice I was slipping on going up, would be 10 times worse coming down; the headache and nausea didn’t help either. However, the sense of achievement getting to the top, and getting the best views of Everest with a sunrise to boot were worth every second of hardship. Glorious! Special mention also for all the Porters, Yaks, Dzos, and Mules. It was both inspirational and humbling to see the vast range of products they carry on a daily basis to enable hikers to complete the trek with some degree of comfort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay is a superb Tour Leader, ably assisted by the two guides on this trek, Suresh and Mingmar and Kumar, our Yak Man. The service we received from this awesome team was outstanding; they couldn’t do enough for us. No task too big or too small, and always with a smile. Daily health checks and constant reminders to drink water and eat well helped us all to stay safe and healthy. Our last night in Lukla, when we had a lovely meal with the whole team, a few celebratory beers and a dance, it really demonstrated the special bond that tour leaders can foster in the groups they lead.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes, in particular the information about buying bottled water. I took a Steripen and it worked perfectly, some others on the trip took purification tablets; they also worked. It was disheartening to see so many bottles of water being purchased when Exodus are working so hard to ‘Ban the Bottle’. Avoid the very long queues at Kathmandu and buy your Visa before you travel. Take really good gloves/mittens. The food is reasonably priced in the Tea Houses, so if you can live with showers and WiFi you won't need excessive amounts of money. It can be tricky changing it back to Sterling if you do underspend. `

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The success of a trip is always about the people. Like-minded fellow travellers, making new friends, plus the quality of the Tour Leader and support staff who make the experience so rewarding and unique. In addition, the people you meet on the way, the Nepalese people are so friendly and welcoming, and we even bumped into some potential Everest summiteers! Book the trip, it will not disappoint!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Les Wilson

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I was not disappointed. From my first enquiry, throughout the planning, during the trip and afterwards, Exodus were superb. I was kept informed of an changes to the itinary or flights and whenever I asked a question an advisor responded promptly. I hadn't met any of my group until we arrived at Heathrow or Kathmandu but very quickly got to know some great people who I hope to keep in touch with. There's even talk of some of us meeting up in the future for another trip. The guides were all first class. Ozzy, Sorros and Mingma along with Yak Man took great care of us and couldn't do enough for us. Acclimatisation and staying healthy is key to a successful trip to base camp. The guides took great care over getting this right. All in all, a great Exodus experience and I look forward to tackling Island Peak next year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise over Everest from Kallapatar. Beautiful!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very well organised, very knowledgeable, couldn't do enough for his clients and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the guides and take their advice. Ozzy's advice was simple but absolutely accurate: 1. Walk slow 2. Pack light 3. Sip water constantly 4. Don't lose your apetite Don't burden yourself with anything you don't need. 1 set of clothes will easily last several days!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great first Exodus experience. I will certainly use Exodus again for future trips.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Raj Muker

    Everest Base Camp Trek

    An amazing lifetime experience that was challenging which made it all so satisfying. The mountains, terrain and general scenery was breathtaking, never forget the colour of the sky.......deep deep blue!!! The living conditions were definitely NOT like home but that's part of the challenge and you come away so appreciative of what you have.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This might sound selfish but making it to Base Camp and the next morning to Kala Patthar was absolutely exhilarating and the sense of achievement was overwhelming. Also to do it with a group of people who had like minded ambitions was very satisfying and it so good to have someone to hug to share the moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is not enough nice words in the English vocabulary to describe Bikash and his team. Bikash was a great leader, his sense of care game through glowingly very early which immediately gave us assurances that we were in good hands. He made our ambitions his ambition which ensured we all successfully made it to Base Camp. He gave us that extra care and gentle touch when we needed it as it wasn't all smooth sailing in trying to keep healthy. Exodus you have a gem of a person on your team , a person who is so passionate in what he does and makes ordinary peoples dream come true. Hope our life cross paths again Bikash so I can give you another big hug to say thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a good level of fitness, be positive and keep healthy and Base Camp is at your mercy!!! Listen to your guide leader, warm clothes, eat and drink well, and enjoy the occasion.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087