Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Remember Life is Good - Save $200 on all small group and self-guided tours. Learn more >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Hayley Kennedy

    Fabulous! Holiday of a lifetime!

    Fabulous trip. Great Guide (Bikash T, TNT190427) great staff. Great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp as I’d been doing the trip for charity so felt such a sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Legend! Fab guy! Had a great team around him as well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more money than you need, electricity, wifi etc are expensive Train hard and get fit, you will enjoy it more! Work as a team to Ensure you all get there and achieve together.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent adventure.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Sophie Daubeney

    An experience you’ll never forget...

    Overall an amazing experience. Beautiful views. A unique, friendly group of fun people! There was a real team spirit, and I was never in doubt that anyone wouldn’t make it to Base Camp. The guides were fabulous, and enhanced a really special experience! Would definitely recommend this trek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waking up in Kyanjumar lodge and seeing Ama Dablam towering overhead. A real pinch me moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bikash was amazing! Such a kind, patient and fun leader! Felt very supported and encouraged throughout the trip, particularly on the tougher days. He was also incredibly knowledgeable about local culture and history. Can’t recommend him enough. It must be said that all the guides and the yak man were awesome too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare, prepare, prepare! Be of a good level of physical fitness- this trek is no walk in the park! Don’t forget the essentials; loo roll, hand sanitisers, lip balm and sun cream (don’t underestimate the importance of these small luxuries)!! And enjoy!! This trip will be once in a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    jacqueline walton

    Excellent trek

    As expected, an excellent trek. Fantastic scenery; lovely insight in to Nepali villages and epic mountains!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Managing to get our select group of ’Trevor’s Angels’ to the top of Kala Patar!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He was extremely personable and knowledgable but also very aware of how we were all doing. At the slightest sign of anyone not being 100% , he would check how they were doing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely get your visa beforehand - we did the online bit but still had a huge wait. The only way to avoid the wait is to send passport off for visa in UK. Sadly, if others in the group don’t you will still have to wait but outside! Stock up on anything that will help counteract the Khumbu cough - lemsips, throat sweets ...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although not an easy trip, taking it slowly and mental determination will see you through!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska on fly out hunting trips for over 25 years,(tents, sleeping bags on cold ground, grizzly bears).... so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA, Hot tea at your door every morning. SO, if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jimmy Werner

    EVEREST BASE CAMP..... GO FOR IT !!

    My 2nd trekking excursion to Nepal, the first was Annapurna Base Camp,(ABC) 10 days round trip, up to 4130 meters (13,550 ft) That was enough to energize my batteries to go higher, for I've been near or at 14,000 ft on 3 occasions without any AMS symptoms. I was anticipating Everest Base Camp (EBC) to be the trek that let me experience some AMS symptoms, however my pre-trip training (indoors at sea level) had my legs in shape and genetics most likely had a lot to the NO AMS, along with the gradual acclimatization in the trek was very well planned and organized. The research I have read says no one can predict who will get AMS, and genetics has a lot to do with it per some mountain guide I knew in Alaska. AS for the conditions in Nepal, well..... I am used to "ROUGHING" it in the bush of Alaska for over 25 years, so the TEA HOUSES are luxurious compared to the bush of ALASKA. SO if you are a pampered city slicker and not used to roughing it, YES, it will be a shock as Michelle M stated in the review before me. REMEMBER your training, and expect the worst, and hope (and Pray) for the Best. SUKMAN and the assistant guides were beyond fabulous, we all owe a debt of gratitude to them for getting us up that 5545 meters the last day for a SPECTACULAR view of the "TOP of the WORLD" CHEERS and BEERS from JW in ALASKA. THANKS SUKMAN.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    SEEING the TOP OF THE WORLD from 5545 meters (18,200 ft)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    FANTASTIC !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    READ my review above and TRAIN your legs for up, down and ENDURANCE.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    JUST DO IT, ...Life is an adventure waiting for you. He or She who has never tried has never failed, Let'er snap!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    michelle m

    So wanted to love it but just didn’t!

    I had been waiting to do this trip for 4 years and had to put off several times. I thought this was going to be one of those chance of a lifetime moments and for me sadly it wasn’t. Sadly I got sick with flu just as we were hitting higher altitudes this combined with the effects of altitude, lack of sleep, Khumba cough, pounding headaches, constantly being cold. (Weather was worse than expected) I just couldn’t recover and it became a real struggle. I knew the accommodation and living conditions were basic but I was shocked to see actually how bad they were in reality. A lot of toilet conditions are just disgusting. Food is boring and monotonous, if you have any sort of dietary needs then think again. I was gluten free and really struggled. Being told to bring ‘snacks’ is not enough.. Don’t get me wrong scenery is beyond stunning, it does get very bleak the further up you go though. Don’t plan on seeing Everest much either, barely saw the peak from a distance in a couple of occasions. Hoping in time I can look back with fonder memories but just can’t right now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery and seeing how local people in mountain regions live.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sukman, Kami and Penba and not forgetting our lovely Yakman Dowa. All great and felt in safe hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really know what you are getting into when you do this trip. No one knows how altitude can affect you, be prepared for this. It’s not fun being sick and living in such conditions. It’s not a holiday and it’s not relaxing so don’t expect either.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Gillian Gould

    A unique experience

    Although the walking was manageable if you were reasonably fit and prepared, the altitude, cold and tummy bugs made it a challenge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some wonderful mountain walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very supportive with good leadership skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare well and take plenty of medication for all eventualities.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Louise Parr-Morley

    Excellent but challenging

    This is a great trip but not what you might expect ! !.. the scenery is fantastic, with clear skies, mountain views, green valleys and rushing bubbling rivers. The people are friendly and we saw many happy smiling children wanting to say hello as we walked through their villages.... prayer wheels and flags are a regular recurring feature on all the trails...and watch out for the trains of yaks and donkeys carrying everything up and down the 'very dusty' trails. Long days and in winter frigid temperatures above 4,000 metres when the sun goes down, but the sun warms nicely during the day. A slow steady pace on the way up with constant descents and ascents but on well formed paths.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As you struggle with your 5 kilo pack give time and thought to the locals carrying - fridges down to Luckla for fixing, the construction materials being carried up the mountain for tea houses and the lady carrying 80 kilos of water bottles to stock her shop for the trekkers. The self sufficiency of the small holdings and the constant reuse and recycling of scarce resources to ensure sustainability. This is a lovely country and the people inspire and remind us of a simpler life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As a large group of eleven the leader and supporting guide had a big job to get us all to base camp - but they were friendly, helpful, really supportive on days when we felt under the weather, carried our packs, tried really hard to teach us the mountains, explained the culture, ensured we were fed and overall did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You have to pack light for the transit flight so in winter bring different layers, a fleece is a must for the cold evenings, our RAB Alpines were a godsend. layer gloves and hats as well. +19 down to -30. Layer your down jackets for EBC and Garek Shep lodge, there is no heating.... Check out DIamox before you travel so you are informed - most of our group used it. A merino buff or 2 to filter the dust. hydration packs froze so wide mouth water bottles and socks to keep them warm. Food is plentiful -rice, noodles and eggs ( bring electrolytes or equivalent - mix of water, food and altitude!!) hand sanitiser and toilet rolls are a must, there are small shops all the way up for coke, water, snacks etc....Steps, steps and more steps - constantly up and down, the days are long but it is all perfectly doable..... enjoy :-)
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Sherry Knight

    Amazing!

    What an adventure! We had been planning this trip for a couple of years and it did not disappoint. It was a real test of character - the coldest winter in a long time and -27 at base camp. The views are simply stunning - we had clear skies so every step was a different view. There were times when sat in our icy teahouse room that we questionned what we were doing but it really is a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting through the Lukla flight! I hate flying so that was one of my biggest fears but all part of the experience. Getting to base camp was surreal ..... still can't believe I have been!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. DB looked after us really well and kept everyone motivated. Always cheerful and had lots of laughs. Kami and Kami worked really hard and woke us up every morning with a big smile and hot 'knock knock' tea!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness is required. Take plenty layers and thermals for winter trips. Dont be afraid to take anti sickness tablets... they worked for me. Take plenty loo roll and chocolate .... more expensive to buy as you go further up. Have a hot chocolate and pastry n Dingboche cafe. Book it!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Susan Barnes

    An experience of a lifetime!

    This was simply one of the best experiences of my life! We were very fortunate that all 12 members of our team got on really well and we had a brilliant leader with a 'dream team' supporting him. The trek itself is hard work, but I never felt that we wouldn't make it to Base Camp. Our leader and the guides did everything to encourage us to "reach our destiny" and did so with professionalism and a great sense of humour. However, at no time was our safety compromised and the pace of the walk was judged to perfection. Some days are very long, with early starts; but well worth it. The scenery is breathtaking. This is definitely a holiday that is worthy of being on any bucket list.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This has to be the arrival at Base Camp after 9 days of trekking. Everyone felt a real sense of achievement and really bonded the group. We were also extremely lucky to have Kaji on our team as one of the Guides. Kaji has summited Everest 8 times and his insight and knowledge was inspirational, which was matched by his modesty, humility and kindness.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't speak highly enough of our leader, Ajay. He took the trouble to get to know every member of the team and put our health and safety above everything. Ajay has a great sense of humour and is extremely knowledgable, providing answers to our many many questions! If there was a problem with a room or the toilets, for example, he made sure it was resolved. Ajay had great support in Kaji, Cami and Nowoan, who led the yaks, so the success of our trek was really never in doubt. Just to add also (having seen some of the other reviews) that there was no mention of tips until the very end of the trip and, even then, it was only a suggestion, not a demand. We decided among ourselves what we should give to Ajay, as his tip wasn't mentioned at all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the itinerary carefully and make sure you bring everything you need to protect yourself against the cold (especially in the evening) and the dust! You don't have to be super fit to do the trek itself, but it is worth doing some interval training before you go. Don't expect luxury accommodation: it's a bonus if you get an ensuite toilet - sometimes you just have to 'go with it'!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For most people, this is a once in a lifetime trip. Just do it!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087