Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tracey Taylor-Preston

    Peaks & Valleys Of The High Atlas

    I enjoyed this trip immensely. Just the right level of challenging. A great fun mixed group of people who all encouraged each other through the trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a number of inspirational moments - the views are breath-taking, how the Berber people live was so far removed from the day-to-day life we expect - no electricity or running water, almost inspiring myself by how I could actually sleep in tents and achieve the high altitude climbs

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was excellent, his knowledge of the mountains extensive. I do feel as though he could have done with more support - ie a back marker. We did have one issue where a member of our trip became ill. It was thought to be mountain sickness - however this particular member was an experienced trekker and climber and knew his illness wasn’t that. They ended up paying a passing guy with a mule to get him to the refuge where that evening, he arranged for a taxi to Marrakech. He had to have stents in Marrakech as a result. I gel that had we had a back marker - that person could have got him to Marrakech sooner, or had Omar had a satellite phone -there could have been a quicker result. As it was it fortunately turned out ok in the end.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take plenty of snacks. The food is good, but it’s amazing how much energy you use, and whilst camp food is also good, it can’t help but feel a little repetitive by the end of the trip. Food is fuel on these trips. Insurance - given the experience of a member of our trip. Make sure you have the correct travel insurance. Walking poles a necessity - a couple of members of our group didn’t bring them. I would suggest they are a necessity.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Michael Batt

    Atlas Peaks and Valleys

    This was a very good trek. Sadly had to miss out the most remote 4000m peak due to weather, but our guide did a great re-route. This is a good mix of trek and exposure to Berber culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed being with the group, but also enjoyed at the day's end taking a bit of time to sit and savour the views alone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't speak highly enough of our Berber group leader. A highly capable mountain leader who shared his culture with us, and was extremely thoughtful towards all members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Brace yourself for drop toilets and sometimes unhygienic toilet conditions. Take t roll and sanitiser. Take a few of your favourite snack bars for the longer trek days. Take it steady at altitude. Be fit enough for 8 hours hill-walking in the UK without being exhausted and you'll be okay on this one. Can drop close to zero at higher camps at night - equip accordingly.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andy Longden

    Superb trekking in the Atlas Mountains

    An energetic trekking holiday through the High Atlas with summits of Toubkal and Ouanoukrim as the ultimate goals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed all of the trekking, but the climbs to both Toubkal and Ouanoukrim (in fair weather) were especially rewarding and enjoyable. We also enjoyed passing through Berber villages, along with the hospitality of several families who invited us for tea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I see from other reviews that this trip has very highly reviewed leaders, and our trek was no different. Youssef was a terrific leader - one of the best we have had on any trek. Calm, engaging, unruffled, yet authoritative when it mattered. Youssef is a young man with a great future, and he is a credit to both Exodus and his country. We particularly appreciated the pace he set, which served to both keep the group together whilst also allowing us to make good progress. Other leaders could learn a lot from this approach.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In September the weather can vary widely - we experienced very hot conditions, storms, driving hail, torrential rains, cold nights in the mountains etc etc, so come prepared. We’d also recommend you bring a Thermarest as the provided mattresses are dirty and thin. The food is excellent - no real need for snacks (the local trail mix is superb!).
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Gregg Raynor

    Amazing

    This is a massively rewarding trek with great views, truly impressive peaks and the fantastic opportunity to travel through Berber communities and villages. The trekking could be demanding at times but was manageable throughout and completely worth it. Our guide was superb and was able to answer all of our questions confidently and point out features at all times with a fantastic in-depth knowledge of the Berber region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The third and final peak was really incredible, the early start meant the morning twilight gave spectacular colours to the surroundings and make summiting the peak really special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Muhamed, was great. He was very easy to get on with and made sure we enjoyed not just the trekking but the time in accommodation too. He was able to support everyone throughout the trek as well as giving a great deal of information about the areas we visited and Morocco in general.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Training is important, not necessarily trekking (as I booked this trip quite late I did not get the chance do much long distance trekking prior to travelling) but certainly cardio, specifically running or cycling, was very important and made life easier once out there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Along with light technical walking clothing for the heat of the day it is well worth taking warmer clothing for the evenings when the temperature drops, I was very glad for taking a light down jacket, as well as some warm clothes to sleep in as it could get quite cold even in a sleeping bag.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Robert Dipalo

    Outstanding

    The trip was excellent with stunning views, demanding hiking and then travelling through interesting villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summiting the third peak of the trip. The day was cold and windy and it would have been easy to stay in bed and pass on the climb. I was glad a couple of others were motivated enough to go up that day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought the group leader Omar was excellent. The group had a wide range of ability and fitness levels and he tried to accommodate everyone and help them achieve their goals. He was very knowledgeable and answered every question we asked him. He was very pleasant with great English. He even invited the group into his home to enjoy a tea with his family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Review the challenge level of the trip and the length and elevation of each day. Then honestly evaluate your ability before booking the trip.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Joanne Bartlett

    Fantastic

    Fantastic trek through remote Berber Villages, and the beautiful high Atlas mountains and valleys! Our guide, Omar, was very kind, patient, and organized and informative, briefing us each evening on what to expect on the following days trek, and teaching us about the Berber culture and life. He looked after our group very well, and took great care to attend to individual's needs. The cook, provided delicious meals which were always beautifully presented. The muleteers were very hard working and kind. I also enjoyed the wonderful group of fellow trekkers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the summit of Mt Toubkal with its amazing panoramic view, as our guide pointed out our entire route.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was a great guide, very friendly, patient and kind.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit before starting this trek. Bring warm clothes, as it was cold at the higher camps at night and during our early starts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The guided tour of Marrakech at the end was too long. We visited a few interesting places, then spent several hours walking through the souks, which was a waste of time. The toilet tent was disgusting and unusable.
  • Reviewed October 2016

    Well paced trek off the beaten track (except Toukbal)

    An excellent trek. Well paced to build up to the altitude, early starts and big ascents and descents with more restful days following harder ones. Going to high peaks and high passes was followed by descent into valleys for the night. The first part of the trek was on less popular routes, the final few days around Toubkal were a bit busy. Toubkal summit is bit like Snowdon on a busy day, but hey, you have to do it. Enthusiastic and efficient support team of muleteers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably ascent of Anoukrim, final 4000m peak. Some impressive early morning light and sunrises. Some very nice winding paths over steep terrain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Friendly with a humorous attitude. Very good at pacing the day's walk and keeping the group interested. Good local knowledge and obviously enjoys being in the mountains. I had the impression he managed the support team of muleteers very well and obviously got on with them very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trek is quite physically demanding but should be within the abilities of anyone who is used to consecutive big days in UK. The main challenge is making a fairly big walk every day for 12 days. Altitude effect was perceptible but not debilitating and there were few if any problems with headaches etc, due to the well planned ascent profile. Excellent food considering the location and a very good support team.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It seemed unnecessary to subject the trek leader to the final day in Marrakech. The walking tour was good but it had a different guide and I felt his presence was superfluous and I had the impression that so did he! His mountian skills and knowledge are wasted in a city. I did not enjoy being rushed through the souk and only stopping at one shop. I think it would have been better to explain that we were going to make a rapid transit of the souk as a familiarisation and leaving us to go back later
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Megan Kaye

    Peaks & Valleys of the Atlas

    Absolutely fantastic! Loved every second of it and couldn't of wished for better trip. The views were astonishing and the pride after completing the peaks is overwhelming, everyone should do this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of all of the peaks is just amazing, especially to complete them with the new great friends you make on the trip. Swimming in the lake is unforgettable, with views to die for.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was incredible, he was constantly checking up on each member of the group making sure everyone was safe and enjoying their time. He made the trip factual too and told us all about the places we visited during the walk and our time in the villages. He was just fantastic and made the trip unforgettable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't waste your time thinking about booking the trip, book it now and be ready to make some incredible memories that you will never forget!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Absolutely Awesome !
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Catharina Van Ramshorst

    Peaks & Valleys of the Atlas

    The Peaks & Valleys of the Atlas holiday in Morocco as organised by Exodus was a wonderful trip. We used it as a private group of 12 and I cannot fault the organisation. The 12 day trip with three 4000 meter peaks was a tough walking trip but it was very doable and we were taken care of magnificently. Our guide Hassan was great, our Muleteers were enthusiastic and hard working, our cook was the best and provided us with great meals. The trip was well planned in that we gained lots of height slowly and descended often enough to let us get used to the high altitude. Because of this nobody suffered bad altitude illnesses and most of us completed all three 4000 meter peaks. There are many big descends involved but luckily most of our knees survived. It is recommended to take trekking poles. We camped half of the time and slept in gytes the other nights, and this variety was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many inspirational moments were there on this trip. Off course to feel the achievement of going to the summits of the great peaks and having spectacular views. But also the interaction with the people of Morocco who were without exception all very welcoming and very friendly. The landscape is stunning. Special moments are also the brilliant night skies one has when camping in the middle of nowhere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan our group leader is a great guy, leading our group onto every hill. He is enthusiastic and full of knowledge. We had many laughs with him. I can't fault him in any way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is quite a tough trip, but if in general good health and used to lots of walking over tough terrain, this holiday is great. Because of the high ascents and descents (often 1000meter up or down) and some long walking days (max 11 hours) one has to be reasonably fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you do not bring too much luggage. It is not needed. Make sure you take dehydration tablrts as one sure way to enjoy this holiday is to drink plenty!. Also take tablets to clean drinking water as although bottled water is available, the environmental impact is too big to rely on these alone. Aldo keep good hygiene all the time, as a tummy bug is easily got, and would spoil the holiday.
  • Reviewed October 2016

    A challenging and enjoyable trip

    This was my first experience of high and hot trekking and it was everything I hoped it would be and more - a delightful experience, a superb guide, and a unique opportunity to see views and landscapes that were out of this world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people - people I travelled with, the people we met on our journey, and the people who helped us get through the tough days were all lovely. The moment I will remember forever is standing on top of the highest mountain in north Africa, having got there thanks to the hard work of a wonderful team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was great, full of useful information and facts, always enthusiastic, professional, and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure our experience was the best possible. He made 13 hours of walking seem easy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a challenge, but so worth it. Keep a few layers of clothes available - the weather high up changes often and dramatically!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087