Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Christine Lightfoot

    Atlas Panorama

    Our time in the Atlas mountains was a wonderful experience and we all found each walk very different and the scenery was stunning. Our Riad was basic but comforatble with a balcony giving superb views. The food was all local produce and typical of the area, making the whole mountain experience very authentic. Our visit to the local Hamman was a highlight and local village ladies that assisted in the ritual all helped to make the afternoon a very special one. One slight concern was that our walking guide Hassan was spending hours in the hot temperatures without any food or water as it was Ramadan. We all felt concerned that he was dehydrated by the end of the day. A lovely kind and experienced guide. We added a few more days on to our holiday to relax which made the walking break into a holiday! A wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was when we climbed to the top of the mountain and looked over the full mountain range of the Atlas Mountains. It was breathtaking.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Abdul Janjirker

    Mr

    A well organised and smooth trip from booking to return back home. Stay in Marrakesh at the beginning and end of the trip was excellent. We were well looked after by our guide Hassan and the visit to the Medina and our free time was well balanced. Hotel Gomassine was clean and the staff very polite and helpful, Breakfast was plentiful and good, Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance for topping up with water supplies and food. Comfortable bus (air conditioning may not be working) for the trip to the mountain location but the ride gets bumpy once off the motorway - this is all offset by the amazing and wonderful scenery en-route. Such variable landscape and beauty. Good stopover points for refreshments and break. Walk to the Riad from Anmiter is exciting - new location and scenery. Twisting dirt track road and lovely scenery. Riad is basic accomodation but clean with great staff. Food is excellent! Daily organised walks will leave a memorable experience. Tough ascents but worth it. Carry plentiful water and energy snacks. Our guide Hassan had extensive local knowledge and the pace was reasonable for every level within our group. Walks started at 8 a.m. and mostly back before 4 p.m. Walking poles are very useful due to the nature of the terrain. Trip to the hammam is fun and refreshing. A really enjoyable trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing the Tizi'n'Ourghsan and Mt. n'Oughlagal walks - so different and the views and scenery were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was superb in ensuring that we enjoyed our trip whether in Marrakesh or in the mountains. Always at hand to answer our questions about the places, environment and ' what's next' - extremely knowledgeable. He looked after us during and walks and afterwards too. He was part of the group but everyone recognized and respected him as the leader. I would not hesitate in following him on another trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Visit the Jardin Majorelle Gardens and Berber Museum which is about 10-15 mins walk from Hotel Gomassine. It was very cold in the mountains during the day and night so warm clothing is necessary. take some extra snacks as there are no shops in the village. Just enjoy!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really happy at the work and effort of Exodus in supporting the village and it's residents. Thank you for bringing water and electricity to the village.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Frank Rooney

    Pretty much perfect from start to finish......

    This was our (Wife and I) first group trip so wasn't sure what to expect. Booking was easy. We flew out early on the non-group flights to get extra time in Marrakech and were greeted outside the airport by the Hassan who would be our guide for the week and a driver for the transfer to the hotel. After getting checked in Hassan took us to a local restaurant for lunch and our first (of many...) tagines of the week. Hassan gave us some advice about being in Marrakech, some ideas what to go and see and off we went. Next morning with the whole group having arrived we met after breakfast for a briefing by Hassan and then a half days guided tour, and an afternoon to ourselves to wander. The group was a real mix of people, but everyone seemed to get on fine. Next day we drove up to the mountains for our Riad for the next 4 days walking. As they say in the brochure, it's basic......but comfortable. A bit cold in the evenings....and mornings, but great views from the balcony and tasty food. The walking was great, perhaps a bit easier than I expected but stunning scenery. Was a little bit dissapointed on the last day when some people in the group decided they didn't want to do the longer 18 mile walk, so we all ended up doing a shorter 23 mile walk which was still very enjoyable and included the drama of the mule that got untied and ran back down the mountain. A four hour drive back to Marrakech on the Saturday morning, and we decided on a group meal Saturday evening which Hassan arranged. People started departing early Sunday morning, we had a flight back in the evening so we had another day exploring the Medina with it's souks and square. I would sum it up by saying I loved it.....already planning to go back and do the 2 week camping trip with the climb of MT Toubkal. Hassan is a great guide, really informative, funny and looked after us really well. To be honest, once you have spent a day or two in Marrakech, you have seen it all......but the mountains and the scenery (....and weather, apart from the wind) was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscape and views of the mountains...........just amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan made the trip....knowledgeable, helpful and proud of his berber heritage.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go expecting 5 star luxury in the Riad in the mountains...............basic, but comfortable sums it up pretty well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot wait to go back !!!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    DENISE STEWART

    Atlas Panorama

    A very good trip with a guide who looked after us well. The staff were polite and courteous and the food was prepared to a good standard. Up in the mountains this is not a trip for the faint-hearted or people with health issues. It is tough but rewarding. Extremely cold at night be prepared to wear thermals to bed as well as using a sleeping bag. The term 'Walks' for me was unrealistic I prefer the term 'Treks' as there are no made up paths or cobbles not even in the village. The village women are kindly and made us feel welcome. Best treated as a camping holiday. We felt we had been given the privilege to witness a way of life completely different to our own and one that will probably vanish within the next 20/30 years, so we are eternally grateful for this experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going into the Haman with the local women for a scrub down and massage. I've never experienced anything quite like it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A real investment to the company. A man with a great personality and very helpful. He takes his responsibilities very seriously.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be fit. Be healthy. Be prepared to overcome obstacles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was made up of great characters from all walks of life and we were fortunate to get along really well and we bonded well over the week. Some of this was due to our guide and the staff who were excellent.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rob Tyas

    Wonderful trip

    A superb trip. A good balance of time in the city amongst the hustle and bustle of the souks and night markets, to the remote and wonderful mountain villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I've been able to see more stars in the sky in morocco than anywhere else I've been in the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    And Hassan made an excellent guide with his friendliness and knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good trip and a good one for someone new to trekking and maybe apprehensive about camping it makes a great alternative

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The riad was superb, far exceeded the standard of any I've been in on previous trips.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Cathy Weaver

    Atlas panorama

    Fantastic trip. Well organised from start to finish. Marrakech was a wonderful experience shared with a fun group. Our guide, Hassan made the walking in the mountains a pleasure with his knowledge and great sense of humour. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience a totally different landscape. Yalla!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stars in the evening were amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An inspiration
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jane Walker

    Marvellous Morocco

    From the moment we landed to the moment we left, Morocco unleashed a cacophony of colour, excitement and fun. The Hotel Gossamine was ideally situated in the modern district but only 15 minutes by bus from the historic main square and souk. We enjoyed street food in the square and European food close to the hotel. The banter when bartering in the souk was hilarious. By contrast the time spent in the Atlas was peaceful and the villages almost biblical in character, the scenery was stunning. We had the best of both worlds, definitely would return to Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating our hot picnic which had been carried up the mountain by mule and cooked on the spot, surrounded by the most amazing mountains in colours of ochre, palest green and white and watching the goatherds watering their flock.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a fantastic guide and host, he was unfailingly patient with the many questions we asked and always concerned that we were safe and well looked after; he also has a brilliant sense of humour and we laughed a lot. Would love to go on another trip with him as guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid of the street food and don't be afraid to go into the souk. The traders will call out to you (sometimes with some quite funny comments) but they won't bother you if you aren't interested, just say no firmly. If you are bartering make it light hearted.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our only negative experience was ladies who insisted on applying henna to our hands without asking and then demanded money. Another time I wouldn't allow them to.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Allan Peters

    Fantastic

    Great trip. From being picked up at the airport to being dropped off Exodus were brilliant. Our guide gave us really good insight into local history and culture of Morocco and the Berber people. Meals were great. Walks were fantastic. Only issue was the travel bag I was supposed to get never eventuated. I would do another Exodus trip again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on a hilltop with a view that went forever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We all loved our guide. Was always there when we needed him but still gave us space.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go for it. My friend and I took wine with us and we're envied by those who didn't. Be prepared for a cold snap.Take a book

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This review is for myself and fellow traveler Oliver Cooper.Aged 67 and 69.
  • Reviewed November 2015

    Yalla! Yalla!

    A well-organised and well-balanced trip, which highlights the differences between the frenetic city of Marrakech with the tranquility of village life in the mountains. The terrain of the mountains is quite varied and a little challenging, so ensure you are well prepared!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure whether it was 'inspirational' but there were two stand-out moments. Firstly, standing on the balcony at the gite, staring up at the night sky and being able to see the Milky Way with the naked eye, while two of my fellow travellers explained the constellations. There were so many stars; being a city girl, I'd only ever seen a fraction of that number. The other one was reaching the highest point of the second (shorter) walk and seeing the glorious panorama of the High Atlas and Anti Atlas ranges. There was a lovely clear sky and you could, to quote The Who, see for miles and miles and miles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was a lovely, gentle and humourous man. He seemed quite introverted and didn't join conversations easily, but if you take the time to ask questions or show an interest, he opens up and can be very funny, in a dry way. His timings for the walks was impeccable (one fellow walker said he could run the Swiss Railway) and he really pushed us on the last day to be able to get us back by nightfall. I think, at the time, we felt a little abandoned and that we had to look out for one another, but in hindsight I can see why he pushed us. He was also very helpful in the city, giving tips and advising as to where to go. He has been with Exodus for nearly 25 years and knows his stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much spending money - at the gite the food is provided and Marrakech is generally very cheap. Also, you can only change your money inside the country so it's worth keeping that in mind. Learning a couple of basic words of Arabic is useful - the waiters/taxi drivers etc seemed to be very happy when I said hello and thank you in Arabic rather than French.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The gite isn't as basic as the trip notes advised - there are showers and comfortable semi-private rooms. The weather in November was akin to a British summer - warm in the day but cooler at night - and a couple of us struggled at night with winter sleeping bags as it was far too warm. Do a weather check before you fly out! There are blankets, sheets and pillows provided by the gite - a couple of nights I climbed out of my sleeping bag and used these, it was much more comfortable. I would also question Exodus' meaning of 'moderate' - I am quite fit, a rambler and a jogger, but really struggled, especially on the last day, to maintain the momentum stamina required to get through. A couple of my fellow travellers agreed too, including one that had climbed Kilimanjaro. However, the spirit of camaraderie kept us all going!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Corine de Groot

    Great trip!

    A very beautifull trip to the High Atlas. The 3 walks are all very different and all very beautifull. The food (at evening and cooked lunches allong the way) are very good. Hassan is a very responsible guide with a lot of knowledge and a very nice person.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gazing at the stars from the balcony of the Gite. Never seen so much stars and never had such a good view of the milkyway before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan is really good in keeping everybody safe and on time. He has a lot of knowledge of the surroundings, and of may other places outside Marokko. His advice on how to deal with taxi drivers in Marrakesh really helped and kept us from paying to much. When one of us got stomach problems he was really concerned about her wellbeing and he made sure she took all the precautions to not become sicker. His guidance of our little group made this holiday very pleasant and relaxing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the trip notes and come prepared. The gite was equiped with head cushions, so no need to bring your own.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087