Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lisa Brollo

    Extraordinary Holiday

    I had the most amazing and extraordinary holiday and most of that was down to the lovely people in the group and our wonderful guide Sam Benjamin. From start to finish it was out of this world. The holiday proper started at our hotel in Cochin and ended there two weeks later when I actually felt very emotional - it was all over! The trek and camping were just incredible- our cook should be on Masterchef. Food was out of this world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I had to use the hole to do my toilet in! 😂😂😂

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam Benjamin was the most inspiring and thoughtful and decent young man ever, he made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your expectations low! 😂😂😂😂

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you never visit India then you have never lived!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Chris Parker

    Great experience

    Our trip was the first visit I'd made to India and so having a guided tour was brilliant. Our tour leader was really good at his job and in addition was willing & able to discuss India and Indian life & society. This made our experience so much more than just a series of visits to tourist spots. I felt that the very best part of the trip was the trekking in the hills, which was hard work but well within my capability. We did experience unusual weather during this, with rain when it was totally unexpected. This meant a change to our schedule as one camp site became inaccessible. Our tour leader had this under control very quickly, and we had a night in a local hotel and a revised trek next day. This got us back on track by the end of that day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the achievement of reaching the summit of Meesapulimala, though seeing Indian Gaur and elephants in Periyar Park was very impressive too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanhtosh was great, managing things brilliantly and telling us an amazing amount about India, it's people and society. I can't praise him highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and other instructional material and follow the advice. We nearly missed our connecting flight in Mumbai due to the slow process for e-visas at immigration there. If travelling on an e-visa, get the immigration form at Heathrow or on the flight & complete it before arrival in Mumbai. Go straight to the e-visa queue and be prepared for delays.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Mike & Helen Hudson

    Great southern India Experience

    A great all round trip with lots of variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking to the peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santosh was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. Lots of small interesting stops and diversions along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At our time of year you really needed at least two pairs of long trousers (leech area trekking and temple visit). The reason the trip notes mention thin socks is that you will likely be wearing the free issue leech socks on top. You will likely get a beer or two every day (if you need one) but a plastic bottle or two of duty free sprirts is not a bad idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to see two scenic states in Southern India where much is changing as their economies grow. The walking is not hard but you do get into the wild, as well as seeing local country life close up.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Maria Leng

    Spice Trails of Kerala

    Very interesting and varied itinerary with beautiful scenery, great food and lovely group of people to share the experience . Felt like we were off the beaten track a little when trekking which was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the hills and varied vegetation during the trek

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Managed the group well, organised and informative , made sure we all ate really well the whole trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your own leach socks ,as one size fits all!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Michelle Mellors

    Spice trails Kerala

    Mind Blowing experience jam packed with activities and things to see and do

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting new people - experiencing their culture and visiting so many new places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extremely knowledgeable - fitted in so many extra visits and arranged anything we asked for

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax and enjoy the experience - everything arranged for you!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend 100%
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Stephen Taylor

    Kerala

    A varied trip taking in the landscapes, culture and architecture of a lovely part of India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the tea plantations. We never thought an agricultural area could be so lovely with waves of tea bushes stretching to the horizon. The trek section of the trip was good and not too arduous. The highest point was worth the climb for the views. The national park was scenic and plenty of wildlife incuding wild elephants. The houseboat cruise was a lovely relaxing way to wind down before a day in Fort Cochin and the journey home.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Umed was an excellent leader and very personable. Always on the ball and full of interesting anecdotes about the areas we visited. Umed made sure we were all looked after and well fed even in the remote camps. The local guides were also good and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a hard trek, but we had good weather throughout. Can get a little cold at top station, so take a thermal.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of booking this trip you will not be disappointed. A good introduction to southern India if you have not been before.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Linda Tansley

    A wonderful trip

    A mix of walking camping and sight seeing. A wide variety of landscapes and cultural destinations. Every day was new and different. The local guides were extremely well informed and constantly pointed out new plants, animal tracks or agricultural practices when we were trekking. In the Madarai, we learnt so much about the Hindu religion and practices brought to life by our temple visits where we had the privilege of witnesses local traditions including a betrothal

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the mountain and the trek as a whole. I found it difficult as I had a breathing problem but I was well supported by the assistant local guide (Edison) all the way. The food was excellent, when walking we had drinks and snacks every mile or so and an excellent three course lunch. Camp sites were good and interesting and the camp cook talented.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    V Santosh Kumar was an excellent leader, quiet and modest he was able to anticipate our interests and needs. When we had the storm which washed out our next camp he arranged a decent hotel and for the next day an alternative walk to the local town which was fascinating. Several times he came up with a plan B when people where unable to walk which were thoroughly enjoyable. He also had sound eco principles

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cash free policy and ban in importing or exporting rupees is a nightmare. There is a limit on the amount you can withdraw ATMs are often empty. Please make sure you have your card with a bank that will allow you to register that you will be travelling in India (my bank Barclays doesn't and I was blocked and could have been in difficulties). Take two cards if you can and take every opportunity to withdraw cash in you first few days. The trip leader was helpful with this problem

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip for me and because of my personal circumstances it may be difficult for me to do another one. Trip of a lifetime with lovely fellow travellers and leaders, guides and crew. Loved it!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ellen Momsen

    Spice Trails

    A fantastic trip with a lot of variety! We enjoyed every activity. Our guide,Santosh Kumar was outstanding, and wow! The food while camping was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many inspirational moments that it is hard to select just one. Seeing elephants, making it to the top of the second highest peak in So. India, walking through the colorful markets, visiting a rural school, and meeting amazing fellow travelers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santos Kumar was wonderful! He was so knowledgeable, patient, and fun. I can't imagine a better group leader, and would love to take another trip that he leads. Since getting home, I have told everyone I know to go on this trip, and hope that they get Santosh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for a couple days of challenging hiking! The walks were very fun and rewarding, but for some people, they might be difficult. Also, pack lightly, and bring walking sticks. Light weight long sleeve shirts are recommended.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the best trips I have ever been on! Truly an adventure of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Andreas Hoelscher

    Stunning South India trip

    Extremely nice trip with a good balance of activities ( trekking), culture (temple, optional programs) and relaxation (houseboat) with plenty of nature and wildlife to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming close to a group of wild Elephants during morning walk in the wildlife reservation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santos's is a Very knowledgable guide with good feeling for the group dynamics and lots of stories to tell. All extra wishes were taken care of and always everything arranged a very proficient manner.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amazing food was prepared in the campsites.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Marian Watson

    Spice Trails of Kerala

    A mixture of trekking, culture and relaxation, this was probably one of the best Exodus trips I've ever done. Well organised with lots of extra 'surprises'. The trek, followed by some cultural discovery, then the mini cruise down the backwaters and ending up on the Malabar coast in a homestay and swimming in the Indian Ocean, couldn't have been a better itinerary. Even the hotels were better than expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking through the Western Ghats. Different walks every day with different scenery and opportunities to see the local wildlife. Just one day was slightly more strenuous with lots of ascents and descents but the other days were fine. Also the sighting of wild elephants in Periyar NP was an added bonus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cannot speak highly enough of Santosh Kumar. One of the best. Professional, extremely knowledgeable, cool, calm and collected even under extreme pressure. At one point no-one in the group had any money because of the sudden demonitisation by the Modi government, Santosh did everything in his power to help everyone to obtain some money in every way possible. He was entertaining during our campsite evenings and informed us on a wide range of Indian customs and traditions. Sociable at all mealtimes. Informative of our day by day itinerary. Not for nothing he was voted best leader in India in 2011

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if it's hot, don't wear shorts with your leech socks. Keep to long trousers. Or if you do wear shorts keep some insect spray handy. Nothing to worry about but not very pleasant to find leeches attached to you! Don't bother taking gaiters. The leech socks the trekking crew provide you with are much better.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it's your first time to India this is really a good introduction to the place. Quieter than the north and very laid back on all fronts, with spetacular scenery
Call us on 1 844 227 9087