Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Julia Burchell

    Prosecco Hills

    My first Exodus trip and I wasn’t disappointed. Very well organised with excellent variety each day. Beautiful walks in an amazing landscape. I wanted to know more about Prosecco and on this tour you will do just that with tasting opportunities. Both wine tasting events were a joy with excellent food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked for couple of hours in an undulating landscape and reaching our lunch stop we sat eating our simple packed lunch looking down on endless vineyards basking in the heat of the day. Perfect...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was pleasant, leading the walks with patience and she had good knowledge of the area. She was sometimes uncommunicative and didn’t want to engage in conversation but upon reflection this may have been self preservation in that with one tour after another she had to pace herself.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellent! The hotel does not have a restaurant.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Peter O’Gorman

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    The group of 15 people were good as we all got on well with one another. The Hotel Villa Soligo at Via Marconi Soligo, from the outside it looked impressive & from the entrance & reception also. It had 4 floors & my room 302, as well as others was on the top floor. However I paid a supplement of £190 not to share & have own room & expected a larger room than size actually given 3m x 4m with bathroom attached that had brown old fashioned wall tiles. My toilet seat & rim came off on the first night as the fittings were loose. Toilet stayed like that all week despite daily bed & bathroom maid attendants. There were no tea - coffee facilities in the room for late night refreshment. Instead you had to go down to reception & pay Euros 3:5 for tea plus drinks at other cost should you need them. My air conditioner was faulty & reported twice with receptionist, they visited the room & tried it however it ran for 2-3mins & stopped each time. Breakfast selection was limited cold meat, cheese, yogurts in pots, bread, croissants & strange very thin bacon slices & egg. There tea bags were compared to uk tea very week, I used 3 per cup & milk was not fresh milk & small selection of fruit in a bowl. It lacked a larger choice for daily walkers who needing to have a substitute start to the day. Also no restaurant in the hotel, at breakfast or other times sitting outside you were lucky if you didn’t get pigeon droppings on you as these were many on the room window ledges above where the seating area was situated. Swimming pool maintenance was poor as many insects were floating on the surface, also found scorpion in the water, plus water level on my last 3days was low. Meaning you could stand in the deep end & water was only waist high !! Limited number of restaurants 2, within walking distance of hotel & no shops other than pharmacy across the road & further on ice cream & cake shop.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The winery visit called San Gregorio. The owner has 5 daughters & the oldest girl, was so pleasant & welcoming in her presentation. Always with a smile giving full information on the vines & production process. To tasting the selection of Prosecco from basic to the superior DOCG Brut & table laid out with plenty of food between tastings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader : name Serena She was uninspiring & seemed distant most of the time & never fully engaging with the group or telling us when on the coach as it past through villages or small towns any of there names. On the coach she very rarely spoke about the scenery or towns & seemed to be always on her mobile phone as she sat on the coach front next to the driver both talking to one another in Italian. Also on the walks there was little conversation between her & the group as she rarely volunteered information about the walk or scenery we were passing through, we had to ask her questions & I felt most of the group didn’t bother as she was distant & lacked engagement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Each group to try & see if they can get better team leader & improvement from Hotel There is only 1-2, restaurants within walking distance of hotel No actual tourist shops close by Has pharmacy across the road from hotel Taxi service from hotel is limited & expensive as I found out having to return to airport to collect my lost luggage .. BA & baggage in Venice airport despite many phone calls, never answer then ... hence taxi back to airport euros 150 rtn.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel to have restaurant Rooms to have tea & coffee with milk Breakfasts to show larger selection Interior of hotel including my room maybe others too, were out dated & needs updating Team leader to be friendly & engaging Swimming pool needs regular cleaning Apart from those niggles the walking was good.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Peter for his review, although we are very sorry that he was disappointed with the hotel, and the tour leader’s performance on this departure. We have used the Hotel Villa Soligo for the past three years and, whilst it generally receives positive feedback from our clients, we constantly review the suitability of our accommodation. In fact, from 2020 due to renovation works taking place at the villa, we will be using an alternative 4-star hotel which we are confident will deliver great service and standards. We regret that Peter was disappointed with the leadership on this tour. Serena is a very experienced and knowledgeable tour leader, who has led for Exodus for three years, during which time she has excelled in the role and always received excellent feedback above our global average. However, we will continue to closely monitor the feedback we receive from clients who join her trips to ensure that she is meeting our expectations on every departure she leads. Marta Marinelli - Product Manager

  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Savage

    Prosecco & walking

    A really fabulous week, great mix of really enjoyable walks, good food, great company, and of course, lots of Prosecco!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the high level walk in the pre-Alps with great views of the Dolomites, the fine sunny weather, the great Italian food and also learning all about Prosecco.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was a really great leader and host, looking after the group with great thought and care. Really liked all the little touches - she even selected the music playlist on the bus to suit the day / occasion!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Late June it was really hot on some of the walks, so be prepared for that if travelling at that time of year! Most places were away from the main tourist areas of Italy so very pleasant and uncrowded. Day trip to Conegliano on the free day made a great alternative to visiting Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of our very best Exodus walking holidays!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Karen Todd

    Don’t understand this question ?

    Really good trip, great walking, pretty scenery and a good balance of things to do eg. The Prosecco tasting and meals out were a nice balance to just walking. The villa was a little dated but the outdoor area was superb with a beautiful pool. Vania the trip leader was amazing. Her English is faultless, she couldn’t have been more helpful and gave lots of information. She was such a lovely person too and very diplomatic in trying to deal with any concerns. She was a lot of fun and loved by all. she’s a real credit to Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day we walked through beautiful woods to a high beauty spot where there was amazing views. Vania had carried up 2 bottles of Prosecco so we could have a drink at the beauty spot. That must have beer really heavy in that heat! That was very thoughtful and we all appreciated it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. (As above).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have space in your luggage for the a Prosecco you are likely to buy. If you fancy a more gentle day, the short walk along the river to Pieve di Soligo is very pretty and easy.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mary Charalambos

    Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!!!

    From start to finish I could not fault Nordic walking the Prosecco hills of Italy with Exodus. My first Exodus holiday. Our walk leader Serena Cassol was amazing. Her calm approach to the structure of our day was clear and informative. Everything ran smoothly as the day progressed and each day was a new mini adventure with Serena. The Hotel Soligo was spotlessly clean with helpful staff. The private minibus a welcome treat. I felt utterly spoilt. I can’t wait to travel with Exodus again. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing Prosecco vineyards. A delight to experience such beauty across the rolling hills. Visiting Venice on our day off from walking. Soligo is so close to Venice, just 50 mins by train, you would be foolish not to visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena Cassol was amazingly personable. A calm, organised, knowledgeable leader. We could not have wished for a nicer group leader. Serena structured our day in such a way that each step was an adventure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Prosecco hills are a delight to walk during the month of May. The weather, however, can be unpredictable so make sure you are prepared for the odd shower!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful holiday which I would love to repeat. Thank you Exodus and the Nordic Walking UK Group.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Phyllis Slack

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    Well organised trip and I would especially like to thank the staff at Exodus Travels for all the help and support they gave me individually. This was truly a trip to remember.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My first visit to Venice . It was beautiful walking around the city with no cars. Tour of the San Gregorio winery in Valdobbiadene, culminating in a wine-tasting session. Standing on top of Mt Cesen on the 7th day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Serena Cassol, Villa Soligo. She was amazing. She was very calm; gave clear instructions, attentive to our individual needs and overall a great group leader. I would also like to nominate her for the title of the 'Best Group Leader'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take adequate waterproof clothing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The staff at Hotel Villa Soligo were very friendly and accommodating, especially the lady who prepared breakfast and our lunches.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jane Ermer

    Get there as soon as you can!

    Walking the Prosecco Hills was amazing from start to finish....I found it hard to leave when it was over! Our tour leader, Vania, is such a great young woman - she couldn't do enough for us, always had a smile on her face and boundless energy and got along so well with everyone in our group. This was my first experience of a walking holiday and now I'm a convert! I found the walks pretty challenging but that served to make me feel that I had really achieved something when I'd finished each one. We had quite a few experienced walkers in our group which I thought might be a bit intimidating, but they were all wonderful people who were happy and willing to share their knowledge, experience and helpful tips to assist the novices amongst us along the way. The whole area is just beautiful...gorgeous scenery even in pretty average, rainy weather and it hasn't been discovered yet by large hordes of tourists! The prosecco was plentiful and amazing and the food....heavenly!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Triumphantly reaching the end of our incredibly long and mostly uphill trek in the heart of the Prosecco Hills, dealing with the driving rain, fighting the streams of water flowing down the hill underfoot...our destination? The Bar with no Host and the holy grail, the Prosecco vending machines!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli is an absolute credit to Exodus! She is a pleasure to spend time with, helped everyone (with grace and a can-do attitude) as much as she could with anything they needed, looked after us all and was sad to leave us a bit early to head off and lead the Chianti Walking tour. She inspired and encouraged us all to keep going when things got tough and she was the social glue that helped our whole group get along so well and enjoy our week together. Can't wait to go on another 'Vania' tour soon!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go, as soon as you can! This area is still undiscovered, stunningly beautiful and the prosecco and food of the whole region is just divine!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not many Australians know about Exodus tours, especially the great value and fun they represent! I'm trying to get the word out though!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Ann Regan

    An excellent Spring break

    This trip proved to be all we expected and more. The scenery was excellent. Our guide was fantastic and took care of a group with diverse needs, while keeping us all happy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking prosecco purchased form the prosecco dispensing machine, after a very steep climb to reach it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was an excellent group leader. Her local knowledge gave us chance to explore the area's beauty spots and culture thoroughly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walks are up steep terraces in the vineyards, but are worth the effort, once the top is reached. Walking poles can be useful on some of the rocky and steep paths.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Ann Regan

    An excellent Spring break

    This holiday proved to be all we wanted it to be and more. The scenery was fantastic. Our guides local knowledge meant we saw the best of what was there and had time to explore. Some of the walks were up extremely steep hillsides, but with sufficient time and encouragement, we all got to the tops of the climbs and were rewarded with wonderful views, and sometimes a glass of prosecco!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drinking prosecco bought from the prosecco dispensing machine after a steep climb up to this

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was an excellent group leader. She took care of the diverse needs of the group and kept us all happy. She even carried 2 bottles of prosecco up to the top of a climb, so we could all sip some while admiring the excellent view point we had reached.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks can be testing, due to their unusual steepness up the terraced vineyards, but are always worth the effort. Walking poles were an advantage, as the terrain can be rocky and uneven in places.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Catherine Trillo

    Nordic walking holiday

    Particularly enjoyed the variety of walks - good standard for relatively fit walkers. Plenty of time to do things on one's own as well as walking every day. Lovely food in restaurants and good choices made by Exodus. Hotel spacious but rooms a bit tired. Delicious breakfasts and staff could not have been more helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking near the snow line that fell during our week and the mists on Mount Grappa The beautiful rivers Piave and Sile

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was wonderful. Always cheerful and ready with information. Excellent at pacing our walks and keep us guessing as to what was to come. Helpful and reassuring and engaging. Good calm driver and well organised and proactive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own kettle and tea bags if you want tea in your hotel room!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would have been very helpful to have a decent map of the area at the beginning of the trip. Serena did have one to show us, but I would have like to have had the chance to have one of my own before the free day when I managed to get one at the Tourist Info office.