Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Beth Shamrock

    Variety of hikes, beautiful scenery, fabulous group

    Each day's hike offered different terrain, different challenges, different views...and different cakes. Eric was a wonderful guide. And this group was the most fun I've had through Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking the Rofan range and hearing the chimes of cow bells on the mountains amused me and warmed my heart!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was delightful. He was always in good spirits and always participated in our daily puzzler questions. He helped the group be cohesive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring boots with good traction! Many single-track trails were sloped and some were indeed slippery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Day 1 hike was so much longer than the rest of the days. Instead, I think the hike on "hike day" 4 perhaps could act as a decent "read" of participants, so the guides can see what level makes the most sense for them. It didn't make sense to hike 23 km mostly on easy fire-roads on day one and hike half of that on single tracks every other day.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Joan Reid

    Super walking week in the Tirol

    Achenkirk provided an excellent base for a great week of hiking in the Tirol. We got a great flavour of the area sampling a range of walks around the range. The Lake, the mountains and the accessibility of excellent walking made the trip. Weather for the most part was great and the terrain was challenging but manageable to walk on. Really enjoyed the hotel and facilities as well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the five treks at level 5 was a great achievement and probably in particular Hochiss.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was very competent and met the needs of the level 5 group very well. He was encouraging and empathetic in balance. In particular his knowledge of alpine flowers Provided an interesting addition to the story of our journeys into the hills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared. Level 5 walks are well worth the additional effort required to reach the top where we were rewarded with magnificent scenery. For all of the level 5 group on this trip it was within our limits and manageable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel and walk leaders work well together to make the experience seamless.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Paul macdermott

    Great walking and company in Achensee

    This was a lovely week of great walks amid stunning scenery in the Austrian Tyrol. Based in Achenkirk, we were able to access many of the best mountain walks available using cable cars, lake steamers etc as well as our own feet! We had 2 very friendly and knowledgeable guides-Paul & Eric, 1 for each level of walking and a comfortable base at Hotel Fischerwirt. A really nice week and a great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of various peaks as planned.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was inspiring & patient and full of little anecdotes of his past experience. He set the pace and adjusted it according to how the group was managing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good introduction to intermediate Alpine mountain walking ( if you do level 3) but be aware there are a few steep climbs so come prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Paul macdermott

    Great walking and company in Achensee

    This was a lovely week of great walks amid stunning scenery in the Austrian Tyrol. Based in Achenkirk, we were able to access many of the best mountain walks available using cable cars, lake steamers etc as well as our own feet! We had 2 very friendly and knowledgeable guides-Paul & Eric, 1 for each level of walking and a comfortable base at Hotel Fischerwirt. A really nice week and a great group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of various peaks as planned.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was inspiring & patient and full of little anecdotes of his past experience. He set the pace and adjusted it according to how the group was managing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a good introduction to intermediate Alpine mountain walking ( if you do level 3) but be aware there are a few steep climbs so come prepared.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Clare Grindrod

    Great walking holiday in beautiful mountains

    Five challenging walks all close to the lakeside base, plus cable car, ferry and steam train rides. Great location, great views.. walks were good length, not too long so had time for a beer,swim,relax afterwards.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Highest peak in the area from lake level.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was cool,calm and encouraging. Knew lots about the local area, flowers and routes and set a good pace for faster and slower walkers. Time for photos and slower pace at the back without slowing down speedy ones at the front and still making ferry or train schedules. Laid back and relaxing attitude, as a holiday should be!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be afraid to mix and match groups. No need to stick to level 3 or 5 everyday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel was lovely with spacious rooms and balconies, near enough to a shop to get supplies. Swim in the lake..it's cold but refreshing. Cycle hire was great on the day off, but so was using free transport with travel card so theres loads to enjoy in this spot.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Patrick Thompson

    Awesome Trip

    I thoroughly enjoyed my second hiking trip with Exodus. The guides (Bob and Paul) were superb. They went out of their way to make us all feel comfortable with what the hikes would be like and what our options were each day. The scenery was amazing, we lucked out with good weather until the last day which was raining. I can't say enough about how well the trip was organized and well thought out. Hats off to Exodus and especially Bob and Paul.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery at the summit of the mountains. It was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob and Paul were both excellent leaders. Really great guys and they went out of their way to take care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip it was excellent.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Olga Alliloueva

    Hiking in Austrian North Tirol

    It’s been a wonderful experience, rather challenging on some walks, but worthwhile the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moments are related to being surrounded by lavish alpine meadows, with a multitude of flowers. It was fun putting a name to a flower.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have taken both level 3 and level 5 walks. Both leaders were professional guides and knowledgeable in the local matters.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a sufficient quantity of band-aids, mole skin plasters, etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was impressed by the in Fischerwirt inn. The inn offers abundant breakfasts and restaurant-like diners, with multiple options to choose from. I don’t think the dishes were ever repeated! A great choice of beers as well. I opted for a single accommodation. The room was quite spacious and nicely furnished, with lots of drawers and hangers. A very comfortable bed and a warm duvet. The hotel was full, but very quiet at that.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Paul Richardson

    Great week in the Tyrol

    Authentic Tyrolean hotel, in a picturesque location served as an ideal base for series of well guided walks showcasing the surrounding mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the lake during heavy rain and a thunderstorm.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob Mason and Paul McDermott were both excellent hosts, guides and organisers. I should add that i have been on about 8 Exodus holidays and can state these two gents were up there with the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You've read it before, but its true, even in July, waterproofs and gloves are needed. And this is from the guy who swims in the lake, so I'm not adverse to the cold!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Read the trip notes, make sure you know what you are letting yourself in for. The walks are graded accurately, but can still take some people by surprised if they have not done their homework. My flights outbound and home bound turned to a complete shambles thanks to KLM, not I add Exodus's fault in any way. However Exodus' teams in the resort and the UK swung to my rescue on both occasions and rebooked flights as required to get me to my destinations. The level of expertise and speed applied to resolving these problems was outstanding. I do not think I have received such good customer service in the realm of solving a problem at any other time in my life. Use this company with complete confidence.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Richard Ireland

    A Enjoyable Week in Achenkirk

    Very good overall. Competent, well qualified guides and diverse, friendly fellow walkers. Large, comfortable hotel with a good self service breakfast menu and reasonable range of dinner options. Added attraction of an impressive sauna suite, which helped recovery after our more taxing, and mostly damp walks. The area is very attractive, with a good choice of walks and a variety of efficient and novel transport modes. A couple of small issues relating to my bathroom, which were dealt with as soon as practicable by reception.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the challenge of getting to the summit of Hochiss and, perhaps more crucially, descending without mishap, with the encouragement of our guide (Paul), despite quite wet and tricky conditions, and one walking boot that had seen better days!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders (Bob and Paul), quite different in nature, but both very effective, competent in what they did, and good companions for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For some, the level 3 walks, might be a little easy when compared with, say, those in the Picos itinerary. However, it does give more time to look at the alpine plants and enjoy the mountain hostelries!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was good to have free access to the various modes of transport, including the free day. If so inclined, one could spend the whole of the free day ferrying up and down the lake, interspersed with cable car trips and the odd steam train ride!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Janet Tinney

    The Heidi type mountains I always wanted

    My intention for taking this trip was that I wanted to have some pleasant walks in the mountains that did not require great technical difficulty like ropes or high altitude gear. I wanted to see beautiful mountain views, and mostly, alpine flowers. This trip did not disappoint me. I chose the easier of the two itineraries. The level 3 was a very comfortable but full day for me. Every day was a different experience, sometimes a ridge panorama or a descent to a lake, but always a beautiful and varied landscape. I thought utilising local transport was a brilliant way to travel greater distances and thus increasing the variety of terrain explored. A steam train, a ferry, a bus, all a lot of fun. And do enjoy the farmhouse coffee and cakes! I sure did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our last day we took a bus to Steinberg then walked back to our hotel in Achenkirch over the mountain pass at Köglich. We had a view below of a dense flower carpeted meadow leading down to an Alm, with a view of Achensee, our home for the past week. The whole view was terraced: flowers, farmhouse, lake so that one view encompassed so many outstanding features. Maybe Bob can help you find Black Vanilla Orchids, or Alpine Rose. I had no idea of the variety or complexity of these flowers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was very accommodating to individual needs. He kept an eye on those at the back of the group. He made sure each member was safe, and engaged each member of the group in conversation. He is very knowledgeable in trails and geography of the vicinity, as wall as other hiking trails in other countries. He provided us with accurate weather forecasts for the day so we knew we were wise to pack waterproofs or extra water.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is a very affordable way to see a beautiful part of the world without spending months in the planning. Very worry free: just be well packed and show up. I loved the alpine mountains, lakes and flowers. Although I was travelling as a single, other couples enjoyed that they could have the evenings together but select different itineraries in the day according to individual preference. The level 5 is certainly challenging.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087