Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

30 Reviews

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Graham Swift

    Fabulous Sicily

    This is our 6th Cycling holiday and one of the best so far. We were lucky to be part of a wonderful group made up of folks from the UK, Australia, NZ and Canada. We all had lots of laughs and good times. Some of the hills were challenging but all the better for 6/15 being e-bikes, so don't be afraid to book an e-bike. Some beautiful towns and scenery as well as good hotels, delicious food and restaurants selected by our group leader Davide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention but arriving in Noto was spectacular where we had a fabulous pizza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide was an amazing young man who had a lot of passion for his country and wanted you to share it at every level. A really good group leader and well briefed on local history and culture. Must also mention Giuseppe the mechanic, driver and picnic man, whilst he couldn't speak English, he observed the group and made sure we were all looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If in any doubt of your cycling abilities just book an e-bike. We loved them and they worked well with the group. The hotels were all good but remember to bring your swim shoes. Also if you like an early morning coffee, bring a travel kettle. Tea & coffee facilities are not provided in your room. Some roads coming into the towns can be quite busy, so make sure you are confident with riding in traffic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the first trip we have been on where we were able to take part in a cokery lesson at the Agro-Tourism hotel, great fun including a glass of wine.
  • Reviewed September 2019

    What a ride

    This was a fantastic introduction to Sicily and to planned cycling tours. We had a fantastic group of 15 riders from the UK, NZ, Canada and Ireland. We ate and rode together every day. The weather at this time of year is great for cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of each and every long climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide is conscientious, witty and engaging. We enjoyed sharing novel examples of English sayings and learning more about Sicily from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for the uphills Cleat pedals are a big advantage Enjoy the moments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some road crossings need you to be very cautious. Best to take time and care to cross safely
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Gail Hopper

    Great trip

    A delightful trip from many perspectives. Lovely scenery and interesting places to visit in the south of island. Very good company of lovely people. Amazing food. Hot weather What’s not to like??

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not necessarily inspirational but some really enjoyable experiences. On bike - the challenging climb up to Cavagrande del Cassibile and the wonderful views from the top. Off bike - possibly arriving in Noto or the wander through Marzamemi - really was a picturesque fishing village, followed by Guiseppe’s picnic, relaxation and swim at the agriturisimo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davida was a gentleman. Totally committed to ensuring we had a safe and enjoyable trip, kind and humorous. We liked his “stories” and his growing collection of English colloquialisms, that he tried to feed into daily conversation. He was well organised, ensuring an early start and finish so we had time to relax, swim or explore at the end of each ride. He knew, was proud of and described his country well. He wanted us to see the best of it ( and we almost did ). Took us to some lovely places to eat, to get the best pizza in Noto, antipasto in Syracuse and gelato and cannoli anywhere. A man with good taste! Giuseppe his assistant was a great supporter/driver/ bike mechanic and picnic provider. He has limited English but we managed to get by and the two made a good team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of how hot it can be in early June. Was 37degrees on day one. Didn’t fall below 30 all week. Davida sensibly had us out early each morning before it became unbearably hot. In some of the rural areas near the coast there were appalling amounts of rubbish dumped along the roadsides. We understood this was a result of political decisions about tax linked to recycling. This isn’t something Exodus are responsible for or able to change ( though I fear it could impact on tourism if it isn’t addressed). So very sad to destroy beautiful countryside.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sicily is very interesting and well worth a visit - lots of lovely places to enjoy on this trip. Would highly recommend it. The accommodation was generally good - even the less smart places had the benefit of lovely hosts and good food. I liked the fact that there were no transfers and we cycled door to door each day, but we also had 2 nights in 2 hotels so didn’t have to pack up every morning
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Timothy Sullivan

    Cycling in sicily

    The leader was excellent. The support person Giuseppe was also excellent. The bikes were good. The routes were very good and well planned. The accomodation was ok and variable. The starting accomodation had a disco night going till 2.0 pm just below our room! Meals provided ranged from poor to good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling gently along narrow country roads through rural Sicily.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide Di Mauro Was an excellent leader. Also mention the support, Giuseppe, also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely use E bikes if you are older or not an experienced cyclist.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great adventure with a very good group of companions
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Brigitte Schneeloch

    Cycling in Sicily

    An excellent cycling trip, for me in a less well known area of southern Sicily. The cycling was good, and the hills were more than manageable with my very dependable ebike. Our leader made sure that we also packed in as much sight seeing as possible, so we learned a lot of cultural background to the places we visited. All were very interesting, but ending up in Syracuse and having plenty of time for eating wonderful food, and sight seeing, was a surprising bonus. I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would recommend it to anybody!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As above: visiting Syracuse, and seeing the Baroque town of Noto Two very beautiful places

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful! Full of knowledge, helpful, guiding us safely through traffic, And up the hills. And down again!!! Lots of fun, always on the lookout to avoid any potential problems. He and the very patient van driver guided us safely on the road sections And they excelled at making us wonderful picnic lunches on 3 occasions!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Sicily, then go for this trip! Depending on the season, it can be chilly . Be prepared to cycle some significant hills!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Fenella Butler

    Cycling in Sicily

    this was an amazing holiday I cannot rate Davide highly enough, he is knowledgable, kind and thoughtful and guided us so well. He is great fun. Giuseppi the driver also made a great difference, he took care of us at every steo, another kind and helpful man. The two men made an excellent team It would have been good to have been told that there would only be sandwiches on the plane then a long drive and no food at the hotel. The hotel was great and did their best giving us some bread and olives. If possibly would be much much better to travel earlier both going and coming back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being saved from falling off my bike because of the high winds by the leader. and coming down from the Cava Grande, 7 k of hairpin bends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Totally amazing - see comments in summary

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes get yourself some food to eat on the plane and ask Exodus to get earlier flights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on choosing where possible really good driver/machanics like Giuseppi - would not have been such a good trip without him. I have made a decision not to fly just for a holiday - so next time will have to budget for a train journey. has exodus considered getting group bookings on trains for ecologically aware travellers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Simon Hopper

    Great week cycling in Sicily, but very disappointing flights

    A great week's cycling in Sicily in October. Weather and scenery were great (sunny in high 20's), the group was very entertaining and got on so well that all 16 of us ate together every night, and the tour guides were very helpful, friendly and informative. The cycling route could have been extended, as there were a couple of very light days, but the only real problem was the group flights (see advice below).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not really any inspirational moments - Sicily was great and the group of 16 got on very well together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide di Mauro was excellent throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your own flights - Exodus group booking means you can't pre-book seats (or even be sure that you will sit next to your partner / friends), you can't check in online, and you get whatever Exodus can find cheapest. We ended up travelling from Heathrow to Milan to catch a connection to Sicily (and almost missed connection on return flight) when we could have flown direct with BA from Gatwick, and the four of us were scattered all over all four flights. Not an enjoyable way of starting or ending your holiday !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Offer customers alternative flight options so they can pay extra for what they want.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Louise Keesing

    Cycling in Sicily

    A great ride through the outskirts of the region. Accomodation was very good and the farmhouse stay and food exclent. Loved the pasta cooking lesson.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pasta cooking and watching the olive picking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was excellent, fun, with us all the way and rapidly found a great alternative when it was too windy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sicily is much easier than the Amalfi coast and probably don't need an E bike if you can cycle 50km. Really enjoyed Sicily.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Helen O'Connor

    The best of everything

    This trip was so good for the soul: amazing guide (Iris), superman (Giuseppe), towns, laughs, food, beer, wine, sun, storms, swims and group - all in equal measures.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspirational no, but as a fan of Montalbano, I was beside myself with giddiness when we got a quick look inside his 'police station and office' in Scicli. Lifetime firsts: I ate a prickly pear, cycled past fields of aubergines and pomegranates and found a fizzy water vending machine where you can fill your own bottle - why don't we have these at home?! I appreciated having 2 hotels where we stayed 2 nights each, particularly the agriturismo, with lovely pool and great staff. I loved all the places we visited, but Siracusa had a particular hold on me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Iris was wonderful. She made us all feel very safe, was super organised and attentive and good fun. A gem. Her side-kick Giuseppe was brilliant too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A bit of training beforehand would be good to help you up those hills, particularly if you haven't been on your bike for a while! Although, with e-bikes an option now, it's maybe not required. One point on the e-bikes, some people found them heavy and clunky on the descents. Bring a raincoat for any short, but heavy downpours. Be prepared for a lot of eating.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jane Holt

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    An excellent holiday all round. Beautiful scenery and architecture, great bikes, lovely company and a fantastic guide in Iris, supported brilliantly by the two Guiseppes!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling into Noto for a fab lunch after a challenging morning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Iris is knowledgeable, a great leader and good fun to be on holiday with.