Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Denis Kaye

    Wonderful holiday

    Perfect combination of good cycling, great company, excellent accommodation and fine food and drink. The negatives? Be prepared for even more potholes than in the uk and many of the roads are lined with garbage/rubbish which spoils the natural beauty

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling from Otranto to Lecce

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonio was brilliant with endless patience, great sense of humour and fluent English

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and stick with standard hire bike.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mike Baker

    Exceeded my expectations; and they were pretty high!

    This was my third cycling holiday with Exodus and I can't wait to book the next one. Once again, I chose somewhere where I had no previous knowledge, thus making it a bit of an 'Adventure. Inevitably slightly apprehensive about how well I would fit in to a group of sixteen people that I had never met before. My worries were needless; we all got on famously and just got on with enjoying the well organised trip. Great hotels, food and wine. Distances not too challenging, although the heat was at times. All breaks, rest stops and overnights were entirely adequate. Important to bear in mind that this is first and foremost a cycling holiday. There were many occasions when, as a keen photographer, I would like to have stopped but that wouldnt have been fair on the 'Back Marker'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day had its magic moments but the selection of fascinating hotels could never be described as ordinary. Breakfast overlooking a ravine in Matera, rooms in a former Palace and a night in a former farmhouse (Masseria) surrounded by olive trees and vines. So many great memories...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuel was excellent. He kenew his bikes and how to treat a group of intrepid explorers, Top man!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for heat: it was up to 30C even in mid September. However, there was always plenty of fresh cold water in the backup vehicle with Piero.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    ALBIE BARR

    Puglia

    great trip all round

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    new Masseria San martino,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    great guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    book it now !
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Margie McKenzie

    Allora, Andiamo!

    This was my 2nd cycle trip (both with Exodus). And it did not disappoint. Fabulous and challenging. This is a beautiful region in Italy. We enjoyed great food and wine and lovely accommodations. The weather was hot and sunny, although we did out-cycle a few potential storms! The group of 16 were terrific and our leader, Emanuele, was wonderful ~ so well organized, and tireless in his efforts to meet all the diverse needs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being from eastern Ontario, where the land is quite flat, I was really challenged on our first day out by the length, pace, heat, and "undulating" terrain. Our last day involved cycling against some pretty significant winds. By the end of the week, apart from being very sad it was over, I really felt good about my accomplishment and becoming a better cyclist as a result . I had great encouragement from our whole group and from Emanuele.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele is just a wonderful person and excellent leader. He is kind and organized and hard working. His goal is to make sure that everyone is enjoying their experience. He really loves and is proud of the whole region. And it showed in his great story-telling and history lessons. He was able to answer all our questions, and to take us places and point out so many things we would have missed otherwise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the challenge ~ there are definitely hills and there can be winds. Be prepared. Although, my British buddies seemed to find them much less surprising and challenging than I did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved this region ~ the food and architecture, the people, the landscapes. You definitely won't be disappointed. Our group of 16 were a really fun and generous crew. So many experiences and adventures to share over the days and the evenings together.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Graham Swift

    An Interesting Area of Italy

    A great week of cycling staying in fascinating old towns with narrow picturesque streets. Whilst the countryside is no match for Tuscany there are some nice sections and some glorious coastlines. Another star of the holiday is the food of the region, certainly some great group meals enjoying excellent food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying in a Trullie House as well as the view from the hotel terrace in Matera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader with good local knowledge and always happy to help resolve any issues that crop up along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whilst the mileages were ok and clearly stated in the trip notes, I do feel that Exodus should state the average cycling pace expected throughout an holiday such as this. Personally whilst I cycle these mileages at home but I nevertheless found the pace a tad quicker than we cycle at home.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    David Penny

    Fantastic holiday experience

    From the very start my wife and I were warmly welcomed by our guide Emanuele and our other 12 cycling companions. We had done a couple of other cycling holidays but this was our first with Exodus and with a leader who cycled with us along the way. Emanuele was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble for him, he has a great sense of humour and knows when to use diffent options when things might not go as expected. His vast experence meant that we visited places we would never have found ourselves - absolutely beautiful villages, landscapes and places to enjoy Italys wonderful food and drink. The cycling was on mainly good surfaces and well paced each day so that no one felt left out. Our group quickly became friends enjoying each others company and watching out for those inevitable potholes! We will definitely do another Exedous trip - we throughly reccommend it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful scenery particularly the coast along the Adriatic Sea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele is a very experienced guide who knows thlocale network of roads and trails in the area very well. But most importantly he made sure that everyone of us was ok whether it was the set up of the bike or having trouble with translating the menu. I would describe him as a real leader and gentleman who really made the trip a success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We would definitely recommend this trip to potential travellers - it s a beautiful area with great friendly and engaging local people and amazing food and wine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to all who cycled with us -we loved your company it was a memorable holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2018

    Total harmony

    There is a cast of ancient towns, beautiful countryside, fantastic food, tremendous wine and 16 highly sociable cyclists. Nevertheless, you need a guide like Michele. "Why?" you ask, as would Michele himself. The answer is because every orchestra needs a conductor and Michele is up there with the Italian greatest, creating, with his never-ending good humour and meticulous organisation, the happiest of harmony between the cyclists, the towns, the countryside, the food and the wine. Overlook this trip to your eternal regret!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every evening meal: we were such a close group that we all dined together every evening but in different combinations: the conversation and laughs were loud and inexhaustible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You spend a lot of time in the countryside. When we were there the fields and orchards were a riot of wild flowers and blossom and I would guess that April is the best time to go.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ted Cornell

    Amazing Trip!

    The trip was really amazing. The itinerary was perfect, with long and short rides, a variety of interesting places to see and to stay. The group was very compatible, and we elected to eat all dinners together. As said at our final meal, we really became a team over the week having fun together and looking out for each other. Our leader, Michele, was terrific and kept us all together with friendly and upbeat manner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several high points, including touring Matera and Lecce and staying in a trulli and a farm house, as well as the views of the coasts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was the best! As a leader he kept us together in a friendly, gentle way and was always upbeat and positive. He knew all of the cultural attractions, and would stop to show them to us on the way or walking around town after dinner. Michele also arranged some great dinners for us. He really made it extra fun for all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good idea to spend an extra day in Matera and Lecce, lots to see there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would re-examine two hotels we stayed at. Rooms were fine but very hot, as they hadn't turned on the air conditioning systems yet.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    S J

    Cycling Puglia and Matera

    I have just returned from a fantastic week, exceptionally well organised and led by Michele our superb guide. Through his infectious laugh, confident and approachable manner he quickly developed an excellent group spirit. It was great to cycle through such a rich and varied landscape, visiting many UNSECO sites. He found amazing restaurants for us to eat at every night and organised a fantastic array of dishes for us to try. He was well informed about all the places we visited and for those that wanted to he would show us around.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The way the group of like minded individuals quickly gelled as a group and shared many life experiences and loads of laughs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb. This was my first trip of this kind. As a sole traveller he instantly put me at my ease. He was always happy and cheerful, ensuring everyone thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With the spring flowers, lack of tourists and a great climate for cycling April was a great time to go. Invest in a good pair of bib cycling shorts - well worth it!! The cycling was relaxed and you could cycle at your own pace.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Suzanne Potts

    Cycling in Puglia

    A varied week of cycling terrains offering an insight into Puglia. The locals were the friendliest yet and their food spectacular and inexpensive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting other nationalities, discussing our differences, laughing about our shortfalls, learning from each other and growing in strength as a group as the week progresses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many adventure holidays with different companies and without doubt Michele - our group leader was the best so far. He manages to lead in such a way that makes you feel confident and secure in your abilities to tackle any terraine. His humour ensures no one takes themselves too seriously and therefore the group gels very quickly and is able to support and encourage one another all the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember it's a holiday and don't take yourself too seriously - those who laugh last and make lots of friends!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087