Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    LYNNE HORNE

    MAGNIFICENT COASTLINE

    Cycling the Dalmation Coast has to be one of the best cycling holidays so far. A really well run trip, with a tour guide that definitely went the extra mile and scenery that was out of this world. Well worth a try!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    THE MAGNIFICANT VIEWS

    What did you think of your group leader?

    TOP CLASS

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    THIS TRIP INCLUDED THE SUPPLY OF A BIKE BAG, SO ONLY TAKE YOUR GEL SEAT AND WATER BOTTLE
  • Reviewed November 2017
    nigel bradshaw

    Beautiful country

    The trip was well planned and executed by Exodus, the cycling was varied and contained just the right amount of challenge to make it interesting. Late September was a good time to visit as the days were sunny without being too hot and the evenings mild, places (with the exception of Dubrovnik) were not too busy either. Do take advantage of the free day to visit Mijet island - its well worth a visit and dont forget your swimming gear!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the old City of Dubrovnik at twilight on our penultimate day. If you havent been it is a truly beautiful place. Do visit the hilltop overlooking Dubrovnik too - either by walking up or the cable car, there is an interesting Bosnian War museum there and a surprisingly good cliff top cafe (not for vertigo sufferers!) with stunning views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario was fairly new to the job but proved himself to be enthusiastic, hard working, good humoured and nothing was too much trouble for him. Very good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik if at all possible. At the time of our staying there it was ranked by Trip Advisor as 62 out of 68 hotels in Dubrovnik.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my sixth Exodus trip and was well up to their normal good standard, unfortunately a great trip ended on a slightly sour note when we were accomodated in the Hotel Sumratin in Dubrovnik on out last two nights, however, Exodus have assured me that they will discontinue using it in future.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tracey Lawrence

    Recommend this (NOT EXPLORE - see below)

    I would highly recommend this cycling holiday. Not only do you get to take in the breathe taking views and islands on 2 wheels, but there is plenty of time to relax and explore whilst providing a few challenging hills with the reward of a stunning view at the top! Our guide Alan and driver Danny were attentive, informative and in my top tour leaders :) With the support of the cycle trailer and a bus to accommodate anyone who can't or doesn't want to complete a hill (or if you are injured) there is comfort in knowing this tour is still a holiday and not a fitness challenge. The island are beautiful, mainly tarmac back quiet roads, the locals friendly, the food delicious.....a few hotels were very dated and need of modernisation and I'm glad I left the trip early and didn't spend 2 nights in the Dubrovnik accommodation. I would add that I considered Explore tour and the 70km day put me off.....we saw this group along the way they arrived in at 8pm on their long day... and noted they did not have a support vehicle like Exodus and some of their group were not happy about this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Full moon rising...our tour leader planned this perfectly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    superb!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    meals were a lot more expensive than I had budgeted for and the pre ordered food was sometime £10 - 15 for a lunch that was cheese, ham, bread and olives!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    francis josephs

    An outstanding cycle trip

    If you'd like a highly scenic ride in a lovely country, then this is the trip for you. We cycled up and down hills with amazing sea views, and visited stunning towns, villages and vineyards. We stayed at some lovely places, swam in the sea and ate very well. Alan was one of the best leaders I've experienced, and our group was lovely. They ranged in age from 30s to 70s; some were strong cyclists, others not. However all were catered for, and the support bus was always available. There were no long transports, and the ferry trips were great. The climate was pleasantly hot, and the wine flowed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The islands were great, especially Korcula, and the town of Korcula- a medieval gem. Dubrovnik is unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was wonderful: kind, attentive, and highly knowledgeable, with a great sense of humour. On the road he ensured our safety, supported the weaker riders and also enabled the best riders to go for it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss this
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Michael Lawless

    Sun, Sea & Scenery

    This is our first Exodus trip , me and the wife fear we have experienced the best trip on our first tour! This trip was outstanding. The guide Marijo was fantastic, he is professional, knowledgeable and great fun! A real asset to Exodus. The trip is great for the leisure cyclist, mixing the right amount of cycling with sightseeing and socialising. The country is truly beautiful, the people have a sunny temperament which matches the fantastic weather. We met a wonderful and diverse group of people, who were great company and a joy to holiday with. We are now already planning our next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many it's hard to single one out. Mijet is a must, do not be tempted to take the rest day as it is a very gentle days cycling and you will miss out on a stunning island and a great day out. The first two days are the hardest but you do need to justify all the great food and drink you consume.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marijo will be an impossible act to follow. He is so personable that any little problem with the ferries, restaurants etc are so smoothly dealt with that it all ends in handshakes and laughter. In danger of missing a connecting ferry which would have meant a three hour wait, he sweet talked a van driver in front of us to let us take his place on the ferry! Marijo is not just a guide but becomes part of the holiday group, great fun on and off duty! Truly an exceptional guide. Tome the driver needs a out shout as well. A very happy chap who couldn't do enough for everyone. He also distills a mean homemade grappa!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not expect too much from the hotels and breakfasts! The holiday is great value for money. When you consider the amount of great staff care, great equipment, the cost of the ferries and the comfortable van used to carry us and the bikes, savings had to be made somewhere. This is a full on holiday so you do not spend any time at the hotels anyway! Best tip: most restaurants / bars don't like credit cards. So take cash or get it from ATMs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really, perhaps Exodus could try and find a better hotel in Dubrovnik, as this is definitely the weak link.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Helen Skeen

    Beautiful scenery and great cycling

    Loved this cycling holiday. Lots of great cycling in beautiful scenery with a knowledgeable and fun guide, Alan. Great group of people too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the changing scenery and the switchbacks up and down the hills allowed you to drink in the views ahead and behind you.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was a great leader. Helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Nothing seemed too much trouble for him.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Keith McLean

    Excellent week, lovely islands

    This was an excellent trip, that we thouroughly enjoyed. The islands of Hvar, Korcula and Midjet are lovely. The cycling is fairly straightforward, with the first two being the most challenging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the countryside of Korcula and Hvar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had an excellent group leader (Alan) who was well experienced and very organised. He knew when to lead the group, and when to stay at the back. First class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some accommodation is not great. Dubrovnik is very busy, don't hang around there if you want to avoid the crowds. Go out to Split a few days early - do a bike tour or kayak tour, both excellent.uhebc
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Wendy Carthew

    Cycling the Dalmation Coast - May 2017

    Once again Exodus has delivered a fabulous holiday in a beautiful destination. We highly recommend this trip and could easily have spent more time cycling the islands and exploring the coast. The cycling was interesting with a variety of terrain - some long but not steep climbs, which meant some refreshing descents. The moderate rating felt right. We'll definitely go back to explore Dubrovnik and other parts of Croatia. Can't recommend this trip highly enough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to decide on a single inspirational moment as Croatia proved to be a beautiful country with stunning scenery everywhere! Cycling along the coastal roads of Korcula and the vineyards of Peljesac Peninsula were particularly memorable - the views are spectacular. We walked to the top of cable car in Dubrovnik - well worth it for a magnificent view of the old city. We were blessed with excellent weather and great company with our group. This holiday was all the better for having people to share it with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic was excellent - well organised, knowledgeable, reassuring, calm, sociable and at ease with everyone in our group. Most of all, he had a great sense of humour - he understood the British sense of humour, apparently as a result of watching British comedy programmes when growing up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! Do it! It's a beautiful country and the holiday will stay in our memories forever. We are leisure cyclists and were a bit intimidated by the hill climbs but Alan was reassuring and supportive. We faced the challenge and feel much more confident about overcoming future cycling challenges. And we were rewarded with stunning scenery. The roads are quiet and the road surfaces are in much better condition than those at home, which again made cycling much more pleasurable. We highly recommend taking the optional trip to Mljet and the guided walk around Dubrovnik. Ana, our guide was excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We went in mid-May and it was warm enough for us! It's important to drink plenty and make the most of breakfast and snack stops - especially if going when the weather is even warmer.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    PENNY DAW

    Cycling the Dalmation Coast

    As a group of six ladies who are hobby cyclists, there was some in trepidation, but we needn't have been concerned. The support of our guide, Marijo and the group, along with our driver, Dani, made for a highly enjoyable week and so much was packed in. We needed to cycle each day to work off the lovely food we ate each day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the countryside was so beautiful. It was really quiet with not much traffic and the smells of cypress trees, rosemary and jasmine were just sublime. When there were hills ( and boy there were some!) the encouragement of the group was tremendous and don't forget at the top are some fantastic views, but a glorious ride down!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario was so supportive to all the different abilities within our cycle group. Not once did he get impatient or make you feel awkward. He was always informative in his briefings without making you feel patronised. He could enjoy a laugh with the group and if there was any language barrier in the shops etc he was always there to help out. He especially sourced one restaurant for my croatian friend who wanted a particular dish and several craft beer cafe for our brewer friend. He was the element that made our holiday so special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am glad I took padded cycling shorts and although I had done some training before, perhaps I should have done more to be able to cycle all those hills. I did take the bus on one occasion but was never made to feel a failure. Make sure you're happy to cycle in some traffic although in Croatia it is quite quiet. Don't forget your cycling gloves (some in our group did). We also asked Exodus before we went if there were bike bags, they said no, but infact there were bags to sit on the front of your handle bars, very useful to carry sunscreen or jackets etc. Also take your own water bottle. Pack light, as you don't want to pack and unpack full suitcases.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels are basic but clean and breakfast is probably not the same standard as we are used to in central Europe , but quite adequate for a day's cycling. In the evenings you mainly eat with the group at some lovely restaurants, but you're not obliged to and can go solo if you wish. When you reach Dubrovnik, you will need money for extra trips (which you will do on your own) e.g. the bus from the hotel to the town, The walls of the Old City, cable car and boat trip to Lokrum. Dubrovnik is busy as many of the cruise ships call in, but still a fascinating place. If you just want peace & quiet go to Lorum and take your swimming costume for a swim in the beautiful Adriatic sea. Here there are some lovely restaurants and even sunbeds. If you are in a group or on your own don't hesitate to go, can't remember when I've laughed so much!!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Jane Duffin

    Cycling in Croatia

    Just brilliant ! Just beautiful! Just about achievable for those that haven't put in the training. Just easy (ish)for those that have . Just great people, guide , hotels, views, sea. Just go !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The guide encouraging someone to achieve cycling up THAT hill! And the smile that said they made it - to cheers from everyone.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    You couldn't ask for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put in some training if not a regular cyclist to prepare your legs for the hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 1 844 227 9087