Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Ed Helps

    Great guide and group made the trip

    The cycling was challenging in the heat but the guide, mechanic and driver provided great support. A group were inclusive and the sights seen were spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking into an active volcano at dusk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group letter was exceptional. Nothing was to much trouble. He looked after the safety and welfare of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hills are challenging for casual cyclist in the heat of the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An enjoyable trip.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Wendy Tomes

    What a fabulous way to explore these countries

    This was our first Exodus trip and I have to say we had a few reservations before we left . We have been on many of our own cycling holidays but never on an organised one . We were worried there might not be enough cycling or that we might have to wait ages for others or hold others up. However Roberto our leader was brilliant . We all cycled at our own pace but he kept us all together at regroup points and everyone was happy . What I loved about the holiday was the opportunity to do something we like -the cycling but also to do sightseeing and explore places I know we would not have seen if we were on our own . Everything was so well organised even down to our lunch being booked in advance and we pay at end of the week . I liked being in a group we had such a laugh it was like a two week party and those on their own were looked after well. I wish we had started looking at Exodus holidays before , I will certainly go on another

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the lake and seeing all the wildlife The views were amazing Also staying on a Caribbean island in Panama

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant He made the holiday special and created the team ethos

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can go a day earlier and stay a day later it is worth it so you see more of Panama and Grenada
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jennifer Steward

    Cycling, Scenery and Swimming

    The trip is a great combination of cycling in three Central American countries all with quite distinct scenery. The cycling stages are not too long but nonetheless quite challenging given the hills and heat/humidity. Some training - particularly hills - is recommended! There was often time for a swim at the end of the day and swimming one day in the Caribbean Sea and the next in the Pacific Ocean was a highlight. Frequently, there was the opportunity to spot wildlife along the route - sloths, howler monkeys and toucans! A visit to an active volcano and cycling across the Panama Canal are also part of the itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling a very hilly stage of the tour through breathtaking scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip leader - Memo - was very sociable, well organised and professional with a great sense of humour. He too k the time to get to know each member of the group and made sure that we were happy, comfortable and enjoying the cycling - offering encouragement up the longer steeper hill sections. Importantly, Memo was quite conscious of the safety of the group on the road. Memo's briefings were comprehensive and helpful and he was always willing to answer our questions - relevant or otherwise! Memo was well supported by the local crew who were also very engaged with the group and made sure our bikes were in good order and we were well hydrated/ fed with fresh local fruits at the cycling rest stops. The trip was well supported by a great team which contributed to the overall enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The stages are quite hilly so some training is essential. There are a couple of short off road stages so some off road training may also be helpful. Lunch and dinner is at the traveller's cost which can add quite a bit to a two-week trip. No too much time is spent in towns or villages so make sure you have all the essentials with you. There are no too many opportunities for engaging with local people or local culture.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama is a great way to get a taste of three different Central American countries.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kelly Nicholls

    Fantastic experience

    Fantastic to see three amazing countries on two wheels, it was an incredible trip and the scenery is just stunning. There are so many highs like cycling around a volcano, the undulating fast rides in Costa Rica were so much fun, riding a long the beach and seeing amazing wildlife. Having a dip in the volcanic hot springs was amazing too. The food was excellent and our leader Memo (Guilermo Sanchez) had the most amazing sense of humour and made the trip even more special. There were a few hard climbs but when you reach the top and see the stunning views - its worth it and there was so much support. If you get a chance to go - do it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are so many, seeing the Lava flow in the Volcano, cycling along a beach, hot and cold springs, Memo giving us a history lesson with his amazing drawing skills. Best of all was laughing every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We have been on a few Exodus trips and Memo, has been the best leader by far. He is incredibly organised and nothing seemed to phase him, he was always there for us 24hrs a day. He is extremely knowledgeable about the countries and the wildlife - best of all he always gave us support and encouragement when it got a bit tough on some of the climbs and we all made. He is a very warm kind and friendly person - I would definitely ask Exodus for him if I do the Costa Rica Coasts to Coast as he is just one of a kind. I miss his sense of humour and stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some hill training or spinning classes and pack lite. Definitely take mosquito repellent that has deer and plenty of sunscreen and some that you can carry on the bike as it gets quite hot in the afternoon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    if you get a chance to go - go do it. It was so much fun and don't be daunted by the climbs as you can do it all in your own pace its not a race. As mentioned before I thought Memo was just excellent and he made the trip extra special.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Elaine Willett

    Cycle Nicaragua Costa Rica and Panama

    Wow what a brilliant trip... not only did we cycle in 3 amazingly beautiful countries, we experienced so many added extras... looking down on an active volcano at night; seeing the molten lava moving ... brilliant. We cycled around a nature reserve one morning prior to the main days cycle... our guide Memo spotting all sorts of wild life I would surely have missed and his knowledge is just outstanding. River cruises, hot springs and visiting the Panama canal centre. This trip rates among the best I have done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the nature reserve. All of it actually it's hard to pick a single moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Memo our group leader was out standing as a guide... His knowledge of nature, ecology, history ... just brilliant. He communicated with drawings, diagrams and a wicked sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I did a few spin classes prior to going and whilst I think they are evil they really helped with the hills
  • Reviewed March 2018
    VASILIKI NTAVLOUROU

    An amazing trip with the best guiding team ever!

    This was by far the best cycling holiday I have ever been to. Amazing places and views! A challenging cycling route for someone with a minor cycling experience like myself. But I made it, thanks to the support and encouragement of this amazing team: Roberto, Paul, Alvaro, Jose, Ronaldo! Names and personalities we will never forget! Thank you for helping me add beautiful images and feelings, in my life's "memory box", but most of all, thank you for keeping us SAFE and happy! It was more than obvious that you were there for us to ENJOY our trip, see, feel and taste the beauty of the most amazing part of the world. Feeling fit and healthy, looking forward to our next adventure! Thank you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    RESCUING A SLOTH ON THE WAY TO LA FORTUNA!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    John LAIDLOW

    Just what we wanted!

    This was a great trip which we really enjoyed. It was described as 'moderate/challenging', which related to the 'undulations' and sometimes dirt tracks upon which we cycled, and some of the 'normal' roads and paved roads were a little rough. Having said that, we all managed OK. Additionally, the trip was 'full on' with some early starts, some late meals and other activities such as boat trips, and other options too. No two days were the same, variety was the key. There were 16 of us on this trip, ranging in age from 32-69 (which was me!) with two couples (all in their sixties) the rest friends/singles, and a majority of women.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was mixing with different cultures and seeing at first hand how people can string a life together with minimal resources and facilities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roberto was quite exceptional, with amazing organisational skills; he was on the go all the time, dealing with our cycling needs, giving advice, and permanently planning ahead whether it was pre-warning hotels of our arrival, ordering our meals in advance or paying for activities to be re-imbursed later. And delightful with it..... Fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were a little anxious about the challenging nature of the trip, but we all managed OK. I would certainly recommend some pre-hol training; some of us hadn't done any and perhaps wished they had - rather like a skiing holiday! We'd also strongly recommend gel saddle-savers unless you bring your own saddle. Also, we were a little anxious about mosquitoes and malaria; in fact there was minimal mossy activity and we didn't take anti-malarials. However, insect repellent was occasionally necessary. Roberto was really helpful on this one, as with everything else!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was fun, fun fun but full-on too, as is often the case with biking/skiing holidays. We loved it and only one week after arriving back we're booking another trip with Exodus next year.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Dave Hyslop

    Cycling Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama

    Would class myself as a 'veteran' having been on many previous cycling adventures but this is the first trip I have ever left feedback on. I realise that when you return from holidays you are on a high but I can honestly say this is one of the best, maybe even the best cycling trip I have done. The whole thing gels completely. The cycling, the views, the rafting, the different cultures, the wildlife, all brought together by a fantastic support team makes this a 5 star trip. Breakfasts are early, sometimes 6-30am, to get you cycling before it gets too hot, but this means you have downtime at the end of the day to relax, and take everything in before dinner. It's a full on trip with always things to do, then bang, a day off on a pacific beach before going at it again. Brilliant planning. Loved every minute of it. Thanks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In no particular order.....Masaya volcano....... The rafting where the wildlife was awesome, Iguanas, crocs, lizards, monkeys, beautiful birds (saw more Ospreys in 2 hours than I have seen in my entire life!).... Seeing a Toucan.....Working hard to get up the hills.....Those awesome views....... Chino's obvious love for his country and the whole area.... The children shouting hello as you cycle past.... the anticipation of that first cold beer after a hot day in the saddle knowing that the weather is cold and miserable back in the UK!!!!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The luggage of some of our group did not arrive so Chino took on the responsibility to chase it up and was brilliant at keeping everybody informed at what was happening. When the weather deteriorated in Costa Rica (and boy did it deteriorate!) he took the decision to change the itinerary and move us over from the Caribbean coast to the Pacific coast, that included changing cycling routes and hotels. All this done with the minimum of fuss and just presented to us and off we went! So much work done behind the scenes. He was of course supported by his team of Albarro (Nicaragua), Paul and Ronaldo. Special mention here for Ronaldo who after the changes in Costa Rica must have spent around 8 hours driving in sections to get across Costa Rica and Panama, and we still got two cycle rides in that day. Viva Ronaldo! Pura vida guys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy cycling and wildlife this trip is for you! All 3 countries accept US dollars so you don't need to change any money on arrival in Nicaragua. Food is good and plenty throughout, standard of cleanliness is also good in the soda's and restaurants. Bike quality is also good and we had very little maintenance problems (3 punctures and 1 broken chain I think across 16 of us). Biscuits, fruit, water and hydrating powders are always available.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Rachael Johnson

    Jolly Hockey Bikes

    What a fantastic way to see 3 fantastic countries. This trip however is not for the faint hearted - expect to be on the go 24/7 from the moment you land in Nicaragua. Despite this trip being focused around cycling it was so much more than that with plenty of activities off the bike. If you are looking for a real adventure with lots of laughs along the way then this is the trip for you. Cycling - There was a real mix of cycling from tarmac roads to gravel tracks. There were some challenging hills that required a decent level of cycling fitness to complete especially in the heat that reached over 100 on some days. The views were spectacular and wildlife was spotted along the way. We averaged around 30 miles a day and our group was fairly fast so this was usually completed within 3-4 hours. The approach to the cycling was pretty relaxed so if you wanted to stop at any point for a rest or to take photos you were free to do so. The cycling catered for everyone and it was up to you if you wanted to race or just relax at the back! We had our guide along with 2 support cyclists (mechanics) in Nicaragua - Roberto Aguilar (aka Chino), Albaro and Paul and then for Costa Rica and Panama there was just Chino and Paul. The support vehicle, driven by the very safe driver Ronal, was always on hand to assist anyone who may have been struggling, to provide water, rest-bite or even extra fuel (fruit & biscuits). Other Activities - One of the trip highlights for me was going up to the top of the Masaya Volcano in Nicaragua at night and actually looking into the top of it - looking into the top of a live volcano was something that I never thought I would have the opportunity to do - breath-taking! Volcanic Spa at La Fortuna (Costa Rica) - a great way to relax in the evening after a days cycling. It was like being in heaven with Cocktails on hand! River Rafting (Nicaragua) - our guide spotted all kinds of wildlife that unless you have the eye for you would have never seen. Crocodiles, Toucans, Iguanas and much more. Nature trail on Ometepe, natural Spa........ There is just too many things to mention. A special mention has to go out to our tour guide Chino and his support staff who were exceptional. If you are considering this trip - DO IT!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views Wildlife Masaya Volcana Natural Spa on Ometepe Island Volcanic Spa - La Fortuna River Rafting Meal in Panama Old Town at Las Bovedas

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roberto Aguilar AKA Chino - Fantastic. His local knowledge was exceptional and he was fluent in English. Really couldn't have asked for a more helpful guide who by the end of the trip had become a friend. He couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The support vehicle is always on hand so you always have access to your day bags. There is no need to carry anything on your bike with you apart from cameras etc.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Lindsey Taylor

    An amazing trip

    Cycling is such a great way to see a country and this trip didn’t disappoint. There was a great range of cycling from tarmac roads to rough off road. Cycling experience and fitness is a must. The roads are undulating and on some days there were some long climbs, made all the more difficult in the heat. It also meant there were great views! In addition to the cycling there were great trips and even some free time to relax.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to highlight one moment. The whole trip was an experience. It was fantastic to see the views and wildlife whilst cycling along but one highlight would have to be getting so close to an active volcano!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a fantastic team, they couldn’t do enough for you and all worked really hard. Our leader Roberto (Chino) went out of his way to ensure that everything on the trip was perfect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Deciding what to take is always difficult. Cycling gear can be rinsed through in the hotels although drying can sometimes be a problem. Snacks are provided whilst cycling and the minibus is always nearby so you don’t have to carry everything with you on the bike, stick it in a day bag on the bus. Clothes when not on the bike are very casual and long sleeves and long pants are handy to cover up in the areas where more mosquitoes are out. We did get bitten but not too bad. Things that don’t crease are ideal and good packing is essential so you know where everything is, there’s no time to keep unpacking your case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend the white water rafting in La Fortuna, it was fantastic. We went with Arenal rafting, they were brilliant and great value for money. Take dollars in small denominations as you get change in local currency.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087