Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Sharon Burton

    A fantastic journey through Vietnam

    This has to be a trip of a lifetime. Cycling through a country that is unspoilt, dramatic countryside, mountains, lakes, coast, busy, manic towns and cities where the traffic stops for no-one. It is a country like no other and needs to be experienced to be believed. Be prepared to never come up for air. The people are so friendly and helpful and the food so delicious. Our group bonded well which made for the trip and our support team looked after us well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Whale Island and being blown away by its remoteness and uniqueness Cycling up the Hai Van Pass. Cycling 30km down a mountain pass where the temperature ranged from feeling like being in a fridge to feeling like being in a sauna. Finally, Halong Bay Cruise. Cycling through the craziness and mayhem of towns and cities but being expertly guided through safely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tong was good fun, very knowledgeable and knew his stuff. He was also very fit and cracked the whip every day. He was also very motivating and inspirational and kept us on our toes. He also looked after our health and safety implicitly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days in the saddle, intense heat and to get very sweaty. Please try and get fit before you travel as it would be a shame to miss even 1 hour of cycling. The scenery is so varied, the towns are manically busy so be prepared for some hairy moments but the guides ensure you are safely taken through the craziness of it all. It has to be seen to be believed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will not be disappointed with this trip if you go with eyes wide open. It certainly exceeded my expectations. I didn’t expect the cycling to be so difficult and I am a fit person so it helps to even do some cycling before you go. Be prepared to see a lot of rubbish as the country doesn’t seem to have got its head around recycling yet and it’s a shame to see the countryside and coastal areas littered with rubbish. However, that is a minor criticism in what is a beautiful country. My memories will live with me forever from this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Bob Adams

    Cycling Vietnam

    This was a brilliant holiday which exceeded all my expectations. So well looked after by our leader, Toan Dao, this was a chance to see the real Vietnam. There were so many other activities included in the trip as well as the cycling and the accommodation was faultless. Great group of fellow travellers who felt like old friends by the end of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the Hai Van pass

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it. You won't be disappointed.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Mabel Plesse

    Amazing Adventure!

    This is a great cycling adventure and a wonderful way to visit Vietnam! In addition to cycling through beautiful cities, villages, mountains and ocean landscapes, other memorable experiences included a wonderful relaxing overnight on Whale Island eco-lodge, overnight on a sleeper train, cruise and kayak in scenic Ha long Bay. Our enthusiastic tour leader Tung did an excellent job leading and keeping our group safe. I appreciated all the behind the scene logistics traveling from Saigon to Hanoi and seamless coordination of all activities on the tour. The support team driver Nhan and mechanic Trieu also did a fantastic job keeping us hydrated and fueled with fresh fruits and local snacks. We had a fantastic group of cyclists that made the trip even more enjoyable. The Vietnamese people were very friendly and inviting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling Hoi Van Pass. Visiting the beautiful city of Hoi An. Cruising and kayak on Halong Bay. Island stay at an eco-lodge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tung was excellent. He kept the group safe and took great care of accommodating everyones need. He prepped us well with the days activities. It was also nice he shared his personal history and experiences with our group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Would totally recommend the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not only did our mechanic Trieu help support the maintenance of our bikes, but he did an excellent job taking care of our refueling needs. His friendliness, helpfulness (wetting our personal towels, filling our water bottles, ...) and pride in supporting our cycling group shined especially in the way he lined up our bikes in the beginning and end of the day as well as the rest stops. Impressive!!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Beatrice Chachel

    Want to bike through Vietnam - choose Exodus

    Our experience booking a trip with Exodus was great. From the time of booking the trip to our return flight, after our trip, was working out perfectly. Thanks to a wonderful, amazing tour guide, mechanic, truck- and bus driver we had a well organized trip. Not once did we have to wait for a connection. The hotels were wonderful, the bikes we had, were in perfect shape and the mechanic, on a lay-over day, changed all our chains. Lunches we ate were supporting smaller restaurants in many rural settings. We highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    While riding along the street, many kids would come out of their houses and call out "hello"! Kids riding their bikes home from school would great us with a friendly "hello".

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi, our group leader, was amazing, helpful, genuine, caring, organized, engaging, knowledgeable, punctual and many more wonderful characteristics. He was not only a great group leader, but you could see that the support team (mechanic, bus driver and truck driver) respected him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the ride from Saigon to Hanoi. Not the other way around
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Chris Leadbeater

    What a fantastic experience - absolutely world class from Exodus

    Other reviewers say it all, but i would add the following. What a great group we had, 10 Brits and 8 kiwis - as one of our number said, we quickly became like family. Our tour leader, Linh Vo was outstanding and was always working hard to keep us safe, fed and entertained, but it was his willingness to go above and beyond to help members of our group that had some serious challenges to deal with that marks him out as an exceptional tour leader. we were blessed with a superb support team (Y, Vu and Tanag - we salute you) and all four guys worked seamlessly to deliver a unique and truly memorable experience. Vietnam is wonderful - the people, the food, the scenery and the traffic in Saigon !! But it was made 100# better because of what we learned and where Linh selected for us to eat some truly wonderful grub. We cant recommend this highly enough - quite simply the best holiday we have ever had and a list or fabulous memories too long to list here. Thanks to our wonderful group, to Linh and his team and to Exodus for creating life long memories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    30k downhill from Dalat and then 10k up the Hai Van pass a couple, of days later. Oh yes, and whale Island of course - fabulous

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional - a truly superb ambassador for his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it - live the moment, live every single experience, savour the food, meet the friendly, warm and welcoming people and remember - the safest way to cross the road in Saigon is to just walk slowly across and keeping your fingers crossed and your eyes closed :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you - we want to do it all again
  • Reviewed March 2019
    John Wynsma

    Fantastic Cycling Trip

    This was a fantastic cycling holiday and excellent way to see a good part of Vietnam and experience its culture from the bustling cities of Ho Chi Minh and Hanoi, to historical cities such as Hoi An and Hue, as well as local villages and varying countryside. The trip is well balanced between biking (8 of 14 days), other activities (i.e. exploring the Cu Chi tunnels, caving, snorkeling, touring historic sites, shopping, etc.) and rest days at some idyllic locations (Whale Island, Ha Long Bay). The biking is rated as moderate and geared for biking enthusiasts or generally fit people as its mostly flat, some undulating sections, some "upulating" sections as our guide liked to characterize the predominantly uphill sections, a few tough climbs and a couple of super fun descents! The first few days on cycling is outside Ho Chi Minh, a bit busy and not too interesting (although the destinations were great). Thereafter the cycling becomes much more interesting and really fun! The trip is extremely well organized - I can't say enough good things about our guide Son and the rest of the team. Our group of 17 was diverse but bonded quickly, were very supportive of one another (even to those who spread the Canadian cold around...) and enjoyed a lot of laughs and Tiger beer together, and even some singalongs with "Kennaoke" and his ukulele! The food and accommodation exceeded our expectations, and the Vietnamese people are extremely friendly and hospitable. Fantastic trip, don't hesitate to do this one!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking, its a toss up between the joy of the 5000 foot descent from Dalat and the 2000 foot climb of the Hai Van Pass (wasn't smiling nearing as much but great sense of accomplishment). Culturally, riding through the countryside with its lush rice paddies, water buffalo, hard working locals and many friendly children saying "hello" as you passed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Son, was awesome. Well organized, very informative on Vietnamese history, culture and the environment (kudos here), communication skills were excellent (more understandable than most Brits...yikes, going to be in trouble for that comment!), very safety conscious, enthusiastic and encouraging, and able to keep the group focused and on schedule. Son and his family hosted dinner on the final evening of the trip, everyone from our group attended, and it was a magical evening, amazing food, lots of shared memories, laughs and hugs! The entire team supporting Son was also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Do some training beforehand, you'll enjoy the rides more and you'll want to experience the satisfaction of climbing the Hai Van pass. 2. Try all the food, its mostly great, just beware of the little red chilies! 3. Be prepared to barter in the markets and recognize you are getting fake products (make good gifts!) 4. Don't drink the water, stick to beer! Tiger is "go to" beer but the rest are good too, and inexpensive! 5. Buy some tailor made clothing in Hoi An at Yaly's or another reputable place. Its great quality, good value. I bought a number of Egyptian cotton dress shirts (and promptly threw out my older off the shelf ones when I got home) and my wife bought a few jumpsuits that she is eagerly waiting to display once the snow melts!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    First trip with Exodus, very impressed, highly highly recommended!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    John Grant

    Cycling Vietnam

    A great trip really well organised from start to finish, fantastic to see so many places in one holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt the people of Vietnam, fantastic people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An excellent group leader who kept everything together and on time. Great knowledge of Vietnam and its history a really interesting man with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some practice in and take Cycling padded pants. Get your drinks before you get on the overnight train as they ran out of beer very quickly.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Katherine Gatehouse

    Exodus Moderate Cycling holiday

    This holiday was the most fantastic holiday I have ever been on. Every day was a challenge that was broken down into small sections so it was possible to complete. The route was so exciting, the lunch stops were fantastic, really delicious food. The hotels were such a treat at the end of the day after a hard days cycling. Our tour guide Tung was the best and his crew were fun and so encouraging. Vietnam is a beautiful country and biking is a fantastic way to see it. The train ride was really different and such a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing 100k in one day with a fantastic group in the most sensational scenery. Conoeing in Halong Bay, stunning. Swimming and snorkling on an eco island

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tung gave us excellent historical And political context. He was so knowledgeable about the area. He was great fun and a GREAT GUIDE.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The people were so respectful to us as travellers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it, enjoy every experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Peter Cooke

    Brilliant memorable Trip

    Overall a fantastic trip. Lucky with the group members and Son the leader and his team. Vietnam is wonderful... the people, the food and the countryside. A bonus being it is very cheap!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Moments! The children shouting "Hallo" formed the sound backdrop to the trip. Add to that the food in the local restaurants (we are veggies and were catered for exceptionally well).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not praise Son enough. His gentle but firm organisation, sense of humour and unshakeable positive outlook. Also his explainations about the culture and the economy. Lastly his enviromental concerns.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!!! But, do some riding first to make it more enjoyable.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Paul Court

    Great Trip In A Fascinating Country

    This was a very well-run tour which, because of the daily combination of medium-to-long bike rides and substantial bus rides, requires a fair amount of coordination. Since a bus was required, it was a simple matter for those not up to the full day’s ride to spend part of it on the bus. It was quite a treat to have a guide, a mechanic riding the tail end, a bus driver and a truck driver. They were a great team and didn’t miss a step. A particular mention must be made of the team leader, Son Nguyen, who ran things with a firm hand without being overbearing. Guiding a group of Western cyclists through the chaotic traffic of Vietnam, with its swarms of scooters going in every direction, is not for the faint of heart. He was on top of every detail. For example, one of us has an allergy to shellfish. He had this in hand before every meal, and she usually received her crustacean-and-mollusc-free dish right away, rather than having to chase it up. Lunch was typically a delicious bowl of pho in a small family restaurant. Restaurants and hotels were always ready for our arrival, and there were no problems or long waits for check-ins The tour itself is well structured, with a free day with no riding every four days or so. The riding portion started and ended outside the major towns and cities, where the traffic would have been insane. The hotels were much nicer than we expected, in the 3.5 to 4.5 star range. The rides ranged from 50 to 100 km per day and were not technically challenging. There are a few hills, and the one long climb up the Hai Van Pass is a 500+ meter climb over 10 kilometres. Everyone who attempted it crested the summit within an hour. However, it is humid and the temperature ranged from the high 20s to mid 30s. There were hourly stops for fruit and hydration, and we certainly used our bottles on the bikes. Expect to sweat out many litres over the course of a day’s ride. The Vietnamese are lovely and welcoming people. We have fond memories of many children waving and calling out “Hello!” as we rode past, often reaching out to snag high-fives. They also have a real interest in visitors, asking us where we came from, and giving us interesting insights into the country. This rapidly growing and modernizing country, however, has major problems with transportation and trash. There are millions of scooters and small trucks with little regard for the rules of the road, so one has to be alert. At least there are relatively few cars, which would make traffic much worse. Fortunately the truck or bus would go ahead and block traffic for our left turns and major intersections. There is a lot of air pollution because of the traffic, and a lot of scooter riders are wearing masks – not really an option for cyclists riding the distances we did in the heat and humidity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The children calling out "Hello!"

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Son was very well organized and didn't miss a step.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087