Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Pamela Woodward

    cycling vietnam

    We were "blown away" over and over again on the trip. Our guide Lam and the support team were beyond excellent. They seemed to know what we needed before we did. Everything was done with a smile and a positive attitude. Over and over again they were checking our bikes and gear. I am so very very impressed with them!!! The weather was hot hot hot in some places and torrential rains in other places. Luckily, no wind. I am coming off from a previous biking injury (broken back and sacrum) and am also taking medication that inhibits my physical ability so I usually finished towards or at the end of the group. I also was not able to finish the Pass however, the guides made every effort to help me out and let me ride in the bus when needed--with no frowns given. The bike rides down the two passes were amazing and had me shouting with joy. The food--excellent. The places Lam had chosen for us to eat were safe for our foreign stomachs as well as being traditional Vietnamese food and good as well. The mid ride refreshments perfect--and often. I have such a positive feel for this trip and the excellent guides. I have been fortunate to have been on several trips with 3 extended biking trips and this trip with the guides, scenery, cycling route... was one of the best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day I completed the 95 KM day. I have some physical deterrents so I was super excited that in spite of them, I was able to do it. Also, the descent from the two passes. Wow, what a ride! Also, the almost comical riding in the torrential rains with a smile on our faces. The continual "Hello" from the children. We, being from the US did not know how we would be received and the positive attitude and embracing by the Vietnamese was a lesson as well as a humbling experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam, our leader---oh my gosh! Excellent. Like I mentioned, I have been on several guided trips and Lam was one of the best I have experienced. Lam was accompanied by 3 others--Tang, Long, and Y. They anticipated what we would need before we even knew we needed things. They worked so well together. What a team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather can be extremely hot as well as humid. I don't think, unless you live in similar weather systems, that you can fully prepare for that. Train and do what you can to prepare but even if you cannot do the hills and passes, you can still be a part of the adventure. If having to ride in the bus once or twice gets you to experience this adventure, then "just do it". As I get older, I realize that I do not have to be first but to be part of it is so fulfilling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only hesitation I had with the trip was that there seemed to be several on the trip that were in extremely good cycling condition. They seemed to want to push the pace and wanted to be first or near it. Since this was my first time in Vietnam, I wanted to experience the countryside and it's people and stop to take photos, or marvel at something I saw or stop and go back to take a photo when I passed a school with young students and everyone of them called out "Hello" to me. Lam, our main guide kept stressing that this was a holiday but I felt that if I stopped to take the photos I wanted, I would keep the others back. This was a frustration. This was not Lam's doing but more the pressure from many of the other cyclists. I can do the push push push here at home with just concentrating on the road in front of me and seeing how hard I can cycle but in a new country, I want to experience that country--not the push. I don't know what to suggest to change this... one of the extremely fit cyclists would turn around and redo some of it. Perhaps this could be something suggested in situations like this. ???
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Gudrun Meisl

    Highlights of vietnam

    A fun way to see a lot of vietnam

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some great downhill, giggling children wherever you say hello

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danh was great fun and worked very hard to make this an enjoyable trip. I would have never tried egg coffee otherwise

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a very busy itinerary. There is hardly any time to see Saigon. If you can, book an extra day or too before and after the trip. The bikes are good but bringing your own saddle is worth considering. The traffic can look scary but drivers are very respectful. Don't hesitate or break and everything will flow around you.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Tony Glaser

    A great trip

    A great trip overall, which I would recommend. The itinerary was good, the hotels (with 1 exception) were really good, the trip leader (Le Long) was fantastic, the bikes and support team were good, the food was good, and Vietnam is very interesting. However the itinerary is very busy - although some down time is built in, there were lots of early mornings, and a lot of cycling time (good) and bus time (not so good), so there was not as much time for sightseeing and soaking up culture etc. as I would have liked - we rode past a few places I would love to have stopped an spent time exploring. There would be no solution to this other than making the trip a couple of days longer - so I am not complaining at all, just noting the reality - this is the only reason I give it 4 rather than 5 stars - 4½ would be more appropriate

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long downhill ride on the 5th day. I loved riding through the markets and town of Dalat

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic - simultaneously very efficient and the life and soul of the party!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You might need a few days off after all this activity - especially if you are prone to jet lag problems if you are traveling from the UK or the US. I would also suggest getting to Ho Chi Minh City a day or two before the trip starts, to get over jet lag and also to explore the town a bit (there is no time for this in the trip itself) - I would recommend a back-of-the-motorbike city tour, the War Remnants Museum, the cocktail bar at the top of Bitexco Tower, among other. Vietnamese city traffic (mainly motorbikes) looks absolutely scary, but is not at all - all the motorbikes just flow around you like a school of fish, and the (relatively few) cars and trucks are very aware of 2-wheeled traffic and respectful. Everyone is friendly

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of our overnight destinations was destroyed by the typhoon that came 2 weeks before our trip - Exodus handled this very well and the alternative accommodation was great
  • Reviewed November 2017
    jill baker

    Fabulous cycle tour and bus, train, boat journeys across Vietnam from S to N.

    Overall, the trip deserves 10/10. Everything was great: the country, the scenery, the people, the weather, the group, the organisation, the guide and the support team. Danh, our guide, gets a special mention for his excellent and informative leadership.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights - Cu Chi tunnels, Hoi An, Halong Bay and cycling through some of the rural landscapes - rice fields, dense vegetation, water buffalo, and the villages with local markets. The war museums in HCMC & Hanoi were poignant and at times disturbing, they were also heartening, and to me were an essential part of a visit of Vietnam.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danh, the Happy Buddha, was an excellent guide/leader. On some trips the guide just steers the ship and perhaps does so quietly in the background, only there when needed. Not on this trip. This was very much Danh's tour. He was very informative in history and culture. He provided lots of advice for places to eat and his recommendations never disappointed. They were not the cheapest but they were good. He ran a kitty his way, which being a generous kitty, was able to supply some nice surprises (no spoilers). He explained everything we needed to know, daily. However, we were a large group of 18no, and sometimes it was difficult to hear in the bus with his rapid delivery, his accent and the background noise. Danh and the support team (total 4no) looked after us as cyclists very well indeed, by seeing us safely across junctions, servicing the bikes, and providing frequent drink & snack stops. Danh really did improve my overall Vietnam experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was mainly flat with only a couple of days with ascents. I wondered how I would cope cycling in the heat (max 37deg) and high humidity but I'm pleased to say that whilst you're moving on the bike it is very pleasant. As soon as you stop, you're seeking the shade. The animals, often found meandering on the road...cows, water buffalo, dogs...all seemed very content and chilled. I didn't have the rabies jab before travelling and this was never a worry. If you like fresh seafood, spicy food, fruit and veg, strong smooth coffee, you'll love the local restaurants, cafes and street food. Freshly prepared eggs for breakfast. Every meal was a joy. It is generally a very cheap country to eat and drink...though as anywhere that depends where you go. We paid up to 120,000Dong (£4) for a can of beer in HCMC and we also paid 4,000Dong (8p) for a glass of fresh beer in Hoi An. And the fresh beer was the nicest! Oh yes, the overnight train is an experience, and more comfortable than you might imagine. MOV - get it booked, you'll love it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very minor things which could be improved. The private bus was designed for local people, not the larger westerner, so many of us found the seats a little uncomfortable. A whole day was spent in Hue before the overnight train and whilst the visit to the temple/citadel was interesting it was tough going. An option to cycle in Hue would have been good or less time in Hue if the programme could be rejigged. I would have happily spent longer in Hoi An, a magical place. There is little time in either city at the start/finish of the trip but it would be difficult to cram any more into the already fast paced agenda. I added a couple of extra days at each end to explore the cities (HCMC & Hanoi) and I'm glad I did. I also managed a Mekong Delta tour before the Exodus tour started, which I'd recommend.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Hugh Price

    What an amazing holiday

    Brilliantly lead, excellent fellow travellers and a very full and varied itinary. Probably the best of many great Exodus holidays...so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact there were so many speaks volumes, nbut the 34km downhill definitely was one of the best

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Extraordinarily good. Nothing was too much and he never faltered. Without doubt the best of many good leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its hot and it is humid so nothing dries. The humidity can really limit your physical ability, certainly around mid day, but there is always the support vehicle to jump into.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday was a lot of fun and passed in a flash. We all had an absolute ball and acted as one big family. A real joy.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tricia Arbon

    Great fun, great memories

    I booked this trip after reading positive reviews on the Exodus website. From booking and right through this trip I have nothing but positive things to say. Our guide Chi and his team were first class. Nothing was too much trouble. We were a small group of 13 and I can say that we all became friends along the way. Accomodation was good, food was excellent and our guide gave us some great evening meal recommendations. I was a solo female traveller and never felt alone the whole trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all made it up Hai Van Pass and great effort by 2 who thought they might not make it. Dancing at a petrol station. [You had to be there] Halong Bay. Amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chi was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy trip so be prepared.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Tammy Grey

    Ms

    The customer service before departure was excellent, the organisation from start to finish was excellent, the accommodation was better than expected, the group leader was excellent, the itinerary was excellent. As a solo female traveller I felt completely comfortable with the rest of the group whether they were traveling alone, with friends or with partners. The mix of activities, geographical locations, sights, sounds, terrain and communities left you feeling like you had experienced and encountered Vietnam, its history, its people and its landscape.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there were many inspirational moments on this trip. these centred around the group members coxing, motivating, encouraging and supporting others to achieve their goals, this was particularly evident when two members became slightly unwell but were determined to continue with the cycling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Group leader was excellent. His passion for his job was evident in everything he did. He created an environment which allowed everyone to participate according to their own skill, ability and desire. No one was left behind or left feeling like they were moving too fast or too slowly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For a trip like this it is important to accept that other cultures have a very different relationship with their environment, each other, their food and how they view health and safety. If you are someone that embraces difference, loves cycling, and desires authenticity when traveling, then this holiday could be for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am looking forward to being able to book my next holiday with Exodus. In the meantime I am recommending Exodus to all my friends.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Roy Firth

    Best Way to See Vietnam!!!

    We had an absolute blast on our recent cycling tour of Vietnam! We had a great group with diverse and interesting backgrounds with a common love of cycling and touring. Great weather (albeit a tad on the warm side), great food, enjoyable cycling, an excellent leader and team..... and a lot of good laughs! An absolutely fantastic way to see Vietnam, both the scenery as well as how the people live.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me the Vietnamese people were a wonder. Industrious, friendly, enthusiastic! They have overcome many obstacles over the past 50 years or so and are moving forward rapidly! The country is incredibly beautiful and lush and a pleasure to cycle through.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long was and excellent leader for the group. A font of information about his country! Very knowledgeable about agriculture, industry, history, cuisine and just about any other topic we raised. His organizational skills were great and he looked after all of the details and requests made of him! And a great sense of humour too! Bravo all in!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few long stretches on the bus but nicely broken up and still a great way to see the country. Don't get sun burned! Be prepared for the heat. But don't be hesitant to book! Great food, great people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an excellent program from just about every angle.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    S Nunn

    Cycling Vietnam

    What a fantastic trip. Cycling Vietnam was a great way to see an amazing country with its stunning scenery and really friendly people. Our tour leader Long was superb throughout with excellent organisation and support from this team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day brought new experiences and sights from the busy streets of Ho Chi Min to the quite backwaters and fishing villages we cycled through. Hoi An was a great location for a stop over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Long was a great tour leader. His organisation was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about Vietnam and the areas we travelled through. Great sense of humour and worked well with his support team ensuring that during the cycling days we were frequently fed and watered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great way to see Vietnam. Accommodation was good throughout and no safety concerns at all. The cycling was rated as moderate, but in reality was verging on easy and the only challenging part (if you wanted it to be) was Hoi Van Pass. Be prepared for some long stints in the coach though......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing must do trip, made even better by a great group of fellow travellers and the leadership of Long.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    John Bannister

    Cycling Vietnam April 2017

    One of the best holidays I have had, although very hot at times for cycling, best when we were on the move. The scenery is wonderful and great to see it from the bike. Bikes were of a good standard, but take your own saddle and pedals if you can.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The descent from the stop after Dalat, scenery was awesome, the climb and descent on Hai Van Quan was impresive, very hot and most of the group made it - impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thang was excellent, worked hard to ensure everyone got a lot out of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals. Do not get sun burn snorkling on Whale Island. The insects were not nearlr as bad as we expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant, Thank you.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087