Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Anthony Lorbach

    Indochina is fantastic

    I booked this trip after doing the Vietnam cycling trip in February. I had really enjoyed that one and suddenly found myself with time off before Christmas, and with the threat of a cold Canadian winter looming, I decided to get some sun while I could. For a Canadian the logistics of this trip required getting the Vietnam visa ahead of time (Thailand didn't need one and Cambodia offered the ability to get one ahead or at the border). Luckily, having been there recently, my Visa came back quickly. The cost was prohibitive for the few days I would be there, but I enjoyed the country so much last time that I couldn't resist. Our guide was professional and knowledgeable. We also had local guides for Cambodia and Vietnam to augment his knowledge. The organization was top notch and things went smoothly, despite having to cross two land borders and meet up with bus drivers and local mechanics, trucks, and bikes. Everything was waiting and prepared for us. I needed pedals installed, but that was taken care of very quickly (three times) and efficiently. Three countries provided lots of different scenery, different food, and slightly different riding conditions. I saw rolling countryside, lots of livestock, rivers, rice paddies, lakes, vegetation....I am biased, but I liked Vietnam the most. The sights built into the tour were awesome and important. I am glad I went and I do not regret it for an instant. The accommodations on the Vietnam only trip were better than the ones on this trip, but there is nothing to complain about on this trip. Rooms were clean and air conditioned. Our group was small so that allowed for a bit more customization to meet our needs that might not have been possible with a bigger group. I appreciated that our guide worked with us. If you want to read more about my trip, I blogged about it almost every day (December 2 onward). Here is a link to the blog. If you have trouble finding it through the dates, look under the My Travels heading. https://todaysperfectmoment.wordpress.com/ I will definitely do another cycling holiday (when finances allow) though I am not sure where. When I got home, the new catalogue was waiting in my mailbox.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Angkor Wat was amazing. Eating delicious street food for pennies was pretty awesome too. Sitting in the Foreign Correspondents Club in Phnom Penn, drinking a cocktail while overlooking the waterfront was brilliant. Cycling over the new Dam in Thailand was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My group leader was knowledgeable about the locations, terrain, history and took time to answer any questions we had. He was a good cyclist, and took care of the group. Because our group was so small, we had more options than a bigger group would have had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. There are several opportunities to do laundry for a low price in each country. The food is amazing--and the beer tastes pretty good too. There is quite a bit of cycling packed into the first few days, so be prepared. There are not too many hills on this trip so you needn't worry about your ability.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will not regret taking this trip.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Vicki Nunn

    Cycling, food, temples, boats, villages, history, villages and cities - a great and varied fortnight!!

    Like cycling Kerala & the a Tropical South (which I can totally recommend) this was another wonderfully varied trip. Loved the fact that there were many cultural, religious, historical and culinary experiences intermingled with cycling in a great part of the world. The cycling in Thailand was not as scenic as we'd hoped but the food and stops to see temples, rubber plantations, etc. made the long cycling days more interesting. We changed bikes 3 times (different bikes and back up teams in each country) which was not ideal but crossing the busy border between Thailand and Cambodia was a highlight for us (like India without the saris!). It was very hot and humid and some of the fairer people were sunburnt on the cloudy days!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one thing! The variety of experiences was the best thing about the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was great - he looked after us all very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pad your saddle (take your own if comfy) and not yourself - padded cycling shorts were very unpleasant (they just became tight, sweaty/wet and hot). We ended up cycling in loose thin white t-shirts with loose thin shorts and walking sandals and found that to be most comfortable. You are on a holiday cycling through rural villages after all and not in the Tour de France!!). Despite the trip notes advice most of our group avoided taking anti-malarials and just used repellant (Incognito worked well and avoided nasty DEET products) and many didn't cover up but only one or two bites across the 18 of us were had! As always, an extra day or two at the end of the trip to just decompress and reflect on all you have seen and done is a good call - cocktails and reminiscence by the pool on our first full day in Saigon was a real highlight! And the Water Puppet show in Saigon is a must - bizarre but totally mesmerising!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't like cycling with your bottom in the air, a handlebar extender may be worth taking as in Thailand and Cambodia the bikes had wide and low handlebars which several of us found uncomfortable.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Peter Baylis

    Cycling Three Countries

    The whole holiday was a great adventure and turned out to be even better than we hoped it would be! So much to see and do, we packed so much in it felt like we had been away for a month! Cycling allowed you to get to see bits of the countries that you would never normally get close too on other types of holidays -Brilliant!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Depends what you call inspirational but the thing that sticks in my mind , is coming around a corner in Vietnam to be faced by hundreds of children, who all turn and look at you and start screaming "hello" and waving at you -made you feel like some sort of Rock Star!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai was excellent and looked after us all the way. His knowledge allowed us to stop and try local things as we cycled through the countryside, something you would think twice about if he wasn't with us. Learnt a lot about the local culture from him.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    NICHOLA CARTER

    Absolutely Fabulous Holiday.

    Well where do I start? This holiday was one big adventure from the start, right to the end. I saw and learnt so much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments but I think meeting so many Cambodian people who so friendly and happy, even though their country went through such a terrifying ordeal. They always had a big smile on their faces.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Chai was always so professional and calm and so knowledgeable. He always greeted us with a big smile and always did his absolute best to look after us. I just hope Exodus realise what an asset he is to their company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't bother taking Cambodian and Vietnamese currencies. Just take Thai Baht and US Dollars. Baggy shorts over your cycling shorts was enough to get you into most temples. Take your own saddle or saddle gel cover. I took the saddle I did all my training in and I didn't have a sore bottom all holiday. Try as much of the different food you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking at booking another Exodus holiday for next year. Everything was looked after and prepared for us and the whole holiday ran on rails (or should I say ran on bicycles?).
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Lesley Dixon

    Fantasitc trip

    Three countries with fabulous experiences in each. A great group and a fantastic group leader made this a truly great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. Angkor Wat is a sight to behold; the Mekong Delta is fabulous and the lovely feeling you get when children in rural villages literally jump up and down with joy as you pass by will stay with you for a long time. However the most inspirational part of the trip - as well as the most difficult - was our visit to the Killing Fields and TS21. Our guide helped us to understand this terrible part of Cambodia's history, but also how the country and its people have moved forward.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chai made the trip. He is genuinely one of the nicest people I've ever met. He went out of his way to make this a trip to remember and always had a smile on his face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can buy cycling tops in both Cambodia and Vietnam - both tops are very colourful and a great memento of the trip. There are some great restaurants in Seam Reap, Phnom Penh and Saigon that work with street children - giving them opportunities in the hospitality industry; Lonely Planet book has details.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip - if you book it you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Priya Chambers

    Amazing cycling holiday as an introduction to South East Asia

    My first holiday in South East Asia and my first cycling holiday! I absolutely loved every moment. It won't be my last cycling trip: seeing beautiful countryside, meeting locals, eating delicious food, great accommodation ranging from hotels to homestay, lovely cycling group and great memories that will stay with me!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wouldn't say inspirational but it's something that has stuck with me, and is very humbling: learning and understanding the culture and histories each of these three countries has lived through.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chaiya: what an amazingly professional and knowledgable guide! Greeted every morning with his smile and great sense of humour! The trip wouldn't have run so smoothly had it not been for him. From the cycling to lunch breaks, to organised visits. Got to see, taste and do so much thanks to Chai.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always I over packed, but make sure you have really (really) good padded cycling shorts, breathable cycling tops, and just go for it. Book this trip!! Make the most of it and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This will not be my last cycling trip with Exodus!! I've had a fantastic life experience that has got me hooked onto cycling even more!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Gobnait Kearney

    Cycling South East Asia

    Cycling South East Asia . We cycled from Bangkok to Saigon - crossed borders , through jungles , stayed in accommodation varying from hotels to homestay - all seamlessly organised by our group leader Chiaya .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's difficult to explain the insight we got into the history , religion ,countryside and cuisine in such a short time but it was very powerful and will stay with me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chiaya , our group leader was the most professional group leader I have ever encountered . He anticipated every problem and diffused any tension with great intelligence , charm and kindness . His knowledge of the history and religions of the countries is comprehensive , but it is his unfailing good humour and positivity that will remain with me and my husband and I'm sure all the group .
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Linda Penn

    Perfect introduction to a cycling trip.

    Absolutely the best thing we have ever done. Loved every second of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the group we travelled with, the group leader Chai and all the support team. The scenery was fantastic, as was the cycling. The organisation of the whole trip was faultless and smooth, from check in to the hotels to the bikes up and ready to go each day. The snacks along the way were wonderful (especially in Thailand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable, helpful with a great sense of humour. Chai made the trip what it was....amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it...you will love it. Pack light and spend more money on some decent cycling shorts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycle holiday and it won't be our last....we have the bug now and will certainly be looking for our next one.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Linda Simmie

    Cycling Indochina

    Fascinating cycle across three countries. All of them different. Very thought provoking. Showed how privileged we are to live in Western European democracies with checks and balances on the despotic use of power. Also showed the importance of free education and health services in Europe. One informed local told us "you get sick, you go to hospital, you can't pay, you die in the corridor!"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was very good. Possibly the most noteworthy moments were not so much inspirational as sobering. Visits to the killing fields and detention centre left most of us musing on man's inhumanity to man.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Helpful, well-informed, very sociable. Managed the logistics of crossing three countries and having to change bikes and guides at every frontier very well. Also a great guitar player.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat and humidity, high-fiving children in rural areas and a very educational experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support on the road was excellent. The picnics set up for each rest stop were an inspiration to keep going. Fresh lime drink is something to look forward to at every break in Vietnam.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Iain Haigh

    IndoChina cycle ride

    A fantastic experience and we really enjoyed every moment. The organisation and back up were exceptional and all the people who supported us were first class in every aspect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the people in particular the children smiling and being so welcoming along the whole route.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader was always taking our safety and well being as the number one priority. He also made it a totally enjoyable and fun holiday. The group dynamics worked so well because the leader included everybody in all aspects and ensured everyone enjoyed their time. He always explained what was happening so nobody was left unsure as to what was happening. Above all Chai was the nicest guy you could ever meet.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The only advice I could give is you can travel light as you don't need lots of clothes etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The entire holiday was excellent value for money!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087