Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Helen Belcher

    Fantastic family trip to Vietnam

    I have just returned from the family 'chopsticks and coconuts ' trip to Vietnam .The trip was excellent in every way ..The itinerary was well thought out .We started the trip in Hanoi and ended it in Ho Chi Min city using a variety of transport including an overnight train journey and 2 internal flights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Halong bay by boat was stunning .We all loved the old town of Hoi An and enjoyed our Vietnamese cookery lesson there .The Cu Chi tunnels were fascinating .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Tam was truly outstanding .He worked tirelessly to ensure that we all had a fabulous time .He helped the group to bond and took us to fantastic restaurants to eat .He showed great humour and patience and his local knowledge and English were superb .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy and varied itinerary with not much free time to laze by the pool but we all loved it .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring a sheet sleeping bag for the overnight train and sea sickness pills for the snorkelling .You can get clothes laundered cheaply so you don't need to bring too many Book this trip...you won't regret it !
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Sara Asquith

    Great Full On Tour of Vietnam

    Just returned from Chopsticks and Coconuts. It's a great, full on tour of Vietnam from North to South. We would never have fitted in so much if we had organised it ourselves. Our guide Tring was excellent at all times. Highlights: For me, yoga by the lake in Hanoi at 5am with hundreds of locals doing T'ai Chi. The Mekong delta's big skies and homestay. For my son (14), the Dam Sen Waterpark in HCMC and Hoi An time. Areas that we wouldn't have missed were Nha Trang as it is mass market tourism there. I'd recommend this trip wholeheartedly. Take lots of bug spray and a whole lot of energy, every day is full on, there's very very little time for rest at all - and when it comes it is really appreciated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mekong delta's big skies and slow pace of life. You can only go at the speed of the river!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, excellent, excellent with both adults and children alike.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of bug spray Vietnamese Dong, not dollars are more widely used
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Matthew Pearce

    Trip of a lifetime

    A fantastically varied trip that highlights the best that Vietnam has to offer. The hotels are great on the whole (special mention to Silk Village in Hoi An), the food is delicious and the people incredibly welcoming. If you have small children, be prepared for them to be patted, kissed, lifted up and posed for hundreds of photos! The pace is quite hectic at times with a few early starts and some long road trips, but the activities more than compensate for this. I would do it again tomorrow!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling with my 6-year old twins for the first time in open water in Nha Trang. An amazing homestay in the Mekong, where we were the only guests. Our kids helped to cook the evening meal and the wonderful guide Chinh entertained our kids all evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He organised everything, picked some great restaurants that we would not have found ourselves and went out of his way to find some Tiger balm for us in Saigon. We even met his family. Occasionally maybe did not make enough allowances for the extra time required for organising travelling with small children.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your kids are not great at getting up early without complaint, travelling long distances and moving on frequently, this is probably not the trip for you. The War Remnants Museum in Saigon, although a highlight of the trip and a must-see exhibition, shows graphic pictures of death, mutilation and deformity and in our opinion was definitely not suitable for young children. Other than that, just book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Saigon is hot, busy, noisy and not great for small children, and dependent on your Mekong/Cu Chi itinerary is maybe a day too long. Exodus should also consider ditching the Victory hotel in Saigon, which although in a prime location, falls well short of the standard of all the other hotels on the trip (not being able to swim in the pool due to the permanent presence of 25 armbanded adults learning to swim for example).
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Elizabeth Knight

    Chopsticks & coconuts

    An excellent family holiday, the best thing about it was our fellow holiday makers, lots of children who my son made friends plus a brilliant guide. Ps Vietnams not bad either!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Staying at the home stay in the Mekong delta

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for him, fun, informative professional and what he didn't know about Vietnam wasn't worth knowing!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, take 3/4 days to get accustomed to the jet lag before you start your exodus tour.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Melanie Appleton

    Chopsticks and Coconuts

    A great introduction to Vietnam with my teenage daughter. I want to return now to go the the highlands

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Mekong Delta was amazing The food was exceptional!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Courteous, calm and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely bring a sheet sleeping bag for the 'first class' train trip. It is just as you would expect in S.E.Asia. Be prepared for the traffic which is constant and watch carefully how the locals cross the road, zebra crossings are not zebra crossing here. I would recommend this holiday for 8 plus, there is a lot of long journeys with this trip and I would think carefully before bringing a five year old.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Marianne McWilliams

    Vietnam Chopsticks and Coconuts

    Fantastic family holiday with a mix of cultural experiences and activities for children of all ages, including teenagers. It is a busy holiday with quite a lot travel involved, but this is an experience in itself. Travelling with other families worked well and contributed to the enjoyment of the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cu Chi tunnels and War Remnants Museum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Bao Tran who made our holiday an unforgettable experience. He was always enthusiastic, knowledgeable and patient with us. He went beyond the call of duty even when we/he had "free time" and had valuable suggestions as to what would be best to do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about your children not having a selection of different types of food to eat - lots of choice and vietnamese food in general was very good. Go to the AO show in the Saigon Opera House and take the Cyclo tour in Ho Chi Minh City.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this holiday to all families who have a sense of adventure and want their children to see a different way of living. Vietnam is a varied county with lots to see and do and travelling with other families on an organised tour worked well for us - parents & children.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Richard Kelly

    chopsticks and coconuts FIV150405

    This was an amazing trip for us, our 12 year old son had a great time and I am sure there is no way we could have possibly covered the variety of sights and activities independently in 2 weeks. The schedule was busy and we really enjoyed the pace and variety. There was a good balance between group activity and excursions and time on our own. Having pools at every hotel was a real bonus as the kids loved having free time to play.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cruising and kayaking and the caves on Halong bay. The boat was spotless and luxurious, the food was amazing and the setting breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thao was extremely professional and very knowledgeable, he really looked after us and went beyond the call of duty on several occasions. He was extremely conscientious and ensured we all had a great time and learned so much about this beautiful country. He managed all the logistics perfectly and we were able to sit back and relax as everything was fully taken care of, from transport to eating out and all the excursions. Anything else we needed Thao arranged and nothing was too much trouble. He was fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a camera - there is so much to see. Mains adaptors - they use round 2 prong plugs as the type used in europe - we didn't see any of the flat type that guide books mention. I think for under 10's this is maybe a heavy schedule as there is a lot of sightseeing and travelling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is a great place to travel with children, its clean and the food was lovely as were the people. The hotels were very nice and the nearest we came to roughing it was on the overnight train but that was really fun anyway. The trip has given us so many great memories. It would have been nicer to spend one more day in Hanoi or Hoi an rather than Saigon. We found Saigon was a bit too hot and busy for kids with not much for them except the excellent waterpark.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Fiona Hughes

    Vietnam 2015: chopsticks & coconuts

    Loved vietnam from top to bottom. The trip was well paced and included so many activities, sightseeing, bicycle rides, boat trips, Cookery class, shows to name a few in a space of 2 weeks. Quan our guide was very friendly, helpful, informative and was well organised in all aspects of the trip. It was a country that provide a multi sensory experience. Our girls made friends for life and loved the trip as much as we did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the hustle and bustle of the city of Hanoi. We could sit by a bar and be fascinated watching the hundreds of motorbikes and cyclists rushing by loaded with families, crates of animals, mattresses, furniture and all sorts!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really friendly, informative, well organised and great with children.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definately book to see the A O Show in Saigon, it's awesome!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would definitely love to go back to Vietnam in the future, there's so much more to see, places we didn't get to visit on this trip like Sapa. Thank you exodus for a fabulous holiday!
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Sophie Lindsay

    Highly Reccomend

    The perfect Vietnamese adventure. Cong was an amazing guide!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I shed lots of tears at the History museum, it really was heartbreaking. All of the places we visited were just breathtakingly beautiful. Our holiday picture are other-worldly! I think the most inspirational part was seeing how these people live and realising what our contributions can do. We took colouring books and pencils for the children and the gratitude of the people whenever we did anything for them was so rewarding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cong was brilliant. He was very knowledgeable and very attentive. I spent a lot of time speaking to him on a personal level and he wasn't only a great guide but he was a really nice bloke. We had no waiting in queues and he only took us to the best authentic restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be sweaty 24/7. The humidity is crazy and it is impossible to stay clean. Don't pack excessively because believe me you WILL wear the same couple outfits repeatedly because staying cool is the main objective. Plait long hair! I had my hair in tight French braids for the entire fortnight because otherwise it be sweaty, greasy and knotty. It seriously is the best option. Remember to tip kindly, these people rely on this income and it isn't anything to us. Pennies can make such a difference out there.
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    CHOPSTICKS & COCONUTS - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    In my daughter's words 'exodus understand kids' brilliant mix of things geared towards adults, as well as things for children

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realising we were kayaking in Halong Bay, and following waterways on sampans. Managing to climb over a monkey bridge ( slowly!) being watched by a 5 year old Vietnamese girl who was wondering what we were fussing over! Standing in a bus stop sheltering from the rain in Ho Chi Minh City- 10 minute rain shower, avoiding motorbikes on the pavement - unique !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bao was excellent he did everything he could for the group nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book now! Seriously though it was well worth it. I would go back again tomorrow ( and my daughter wants to live there now...) and recommend it to anybody. The journey can be tiring at times, but you get to see all of Vietnam pretty much. Take a day pack that is big enough for overnight stays ( halong bay and mekong delta) and a waterproof camera of some sort. Western food is available practically everywhere ( bar the mekong delta) if you have fussy eater, but even some Vietnamese options on the menus suit most fussy Western palates ( pork chop with rice for example) Fixed price stalls in the tourist market in Ho Chi Minh city are not fixed price! Delve deep in and bargain for all your worth. Be cheeky! You may get a proper bargain!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is worth every penny. Vietnam must be seen to be believed. There are cultural differences obviously, but itbwas amazing. The trip offered the best, and was well organised. Go and eat pho!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087