Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Amanda Stevenson

    First time snowshoeing

    I'd never actually heard of snowshoeing before so thought I'd give myself a change from my usual hiking/trekking holidays and was so glad I did. The scenery, food, location and walks were fantastic. I thought snowshoes would take a bit of getting used to but you soon master the technique and are able to walk through the most amazing trails. It was a fantastic week, helped by the weather, and a change to the usual walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day's planned walk took you through the most spectacular landscapes. We were blessed with good walking weather which enhanced the experience. Scaling the top of the mountains gained you a great sense of achievement, especially the ones which were quite steep and took some effort. You were rewarded with the most fabulous views at the top and Sara, our tour guide, always ensured there was enough time for photo opportunities and to catch your breath!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was so full of energy, enthusiasm and her love of the mountains was obvious. She was a wealth of knowledge and her guidance on using our shoes was clear and helpful. Sara made the whole experience so enjoyable and was always on hand for guidance and advice. It seem't that nothing was too much trouble and she's so much fun to be around. She kept the group together and made sure that every day ran smoothly. She's a great tour leader and so committed to her job. I was amazed that she ran a foot clinic each morning prior to the walk to address any issues the group were experiencing as a result of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of potential foot problems that may occur through wearing snowshoes. I didn't experience any discomfort but a few of the group suffered blisters and rubbing sores. Sara's advice was to soak your feet in surgical spirit prior to joining the trip to harden the feet up. Some feet were really sore and this could really have spoilt the holiday experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Adler is a great base. The hotel is friendly and very well equipped. The menu and food choices were delicious. The food is of a very high quality. The breakfast and lunch selection are extensive which all adds to the quality of the holiday. I certainly didn't come back having lost weight! With the spectacular walks, the location of the hotel and the hotel facilities and, of course, the excellent tour guide, this is certainly a memorable holiday experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Roberts

    Fantastic holiday. We really enjoyed snowshoeing which allows you to walk on fresh deep snow and to highish altitudes . The Dolomites are very beatific and our guide Sara has a lot of geographical and historical knowledge. the Hitel Adler is excellent.

    Highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was most enjoyable, active during the day and very good company with the rest of the group in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara , our group leader was friendly, well organised and an excellent guide .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a rucksack that has straps to attach snow shoes ( already suggested but I didn't) to and possibly some mini crampons that can fit over walking boots . There were times when we walked and carried our snow shoes . The tracks were a bit icy in places.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Dave Wynne

    Snow Shoeing in the Dolomites

    Another great Exodus holiday. Nice hotel Great routes and scenery with a variety of Winter conditions ranging from blue skies and glorious sunshine to romantic fluttery snow falls in magical forests to wild full-on winter conditions of wind and heavy snow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lutterkopf for the wind and snow on a broad ridge. Monte Piana for the glorious sunshine and views coupled with the fascinating history of the site from world war 1. Bruckele to Rossalm for the magic of climbing through the silence of a remote valley after heavy snow with trees coated in snow and hearing the distant roar of avalanches in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! A great guide in the form of Sara Bull, knowledgeable, good fun, encouraging and safety focussed but allowing the team to move freely and not corralling the group into a bunched single file route marching group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes. You are in for a treat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic holiday. Thanks to Exodus for great work in setting this up and solving any problems we had. Thanks to Sara Bull, our guide, for making the holiday into something very special. This holiday will live a long time in our memories.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Heinz Kobler

    Hungry for more

    This has been another memorable Exodus holiday. An excellent package, in line with the trip description, but made outstanding thanks to Sara our group leader and an exceptionally nice group of people. The trip offered exactly the right combination of manageable adventure and physical challenge with time to relax in the hotel's wellness centre, eat excellent food and engage in conversation with likeminded people. The hotel staff were also very friendly and attentive. The equipment provided (snowshoes and poles) were of an excellent standard. In addition safety equipment (avalanche transponders, probes etc.) provided reassurance that attention was paid to potential risks in the mountains. At the same time it was clear that Sara made appropriate risk assessments before embarking on a specific route. Having received a free public transport pass prompted us on the free day to travel by train to Bolzano to visit the Oetzi museum (highly recommended) and use the pass on a couple of other occasions. This is an excellent promotion by the local tourist board.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No single moment, rather a series of moments. Each day offered a new delight, a new challenge, through the change in weather, the landscape and the connections with the group and Sara our exceptional group leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara offered an outstanding combination of skill, expertise and attention to us, both at the group and individual level. All of it presented with humour and humility. Sara's enthusiasm for the outdoors and the local area and history was highly infectious. I shall treasure the conversations we had as a group and individually. It was also evident that Sara adapted the daily excursions to the weather conditions and the group as a whole which made each day such a success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip description - it provides a good guide to what to expect.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the only issue for some people from the UK is the typical continental spa etiquette, i.e. no clothes in the sauna and steam room. Loin cloths were provided, but they do not necessarily deal with some people's sensitivities. There can therefore be a bit of a conflict between respecting the local "customs" (and clear instructions) and feeling entitled to carry on as at home.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Gill Young

    Crampons were also used due to the snown conditions.

    Magnificent in every way - some of the finest scenery in Europe. Variety of walks with an afternoon stop at an Alpine hut for refreshments. Comfortable accommodation with health spar and plenty of food. One small niggle, you had to buy a bottle of expensive wine rather than a glass of Hauswein.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Monte Piana - we were lucky to go to both summits with superb views of 3 Cime. Also Strudelkopf, Lutterkopf and Durakopf walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was fantastic. She was so encouraging and helped people discretely without them feeling embarrassed. She ensured everyone reached the summits. After the second last days walk in order to see what the conditions were like, she went on the walk she was thinking of doing on the last day, returning at 10pm.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty to do on the free day using free train/bus passes. You can even go to Bozen to see Otzi
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Maeve Watson

    Fabulous introduction to snowshoeing, in Dolomites. 1st of many more !

    Excellent trip, we thoroughly enjoyed our 1st snow shoeing holiday from start to finish. the area is beautiful, the scenery stunning. we had mostly lovely sunshine, great snow and superb views.The hotel was very nice, friendly and comfortable with nice facilities, lovely to come back to after a longs day's snow shoeing. Sara, our guide was superb, she is experienced, very competent, professional, great sense of humour and takes very good care of all members of group, quickly picking up any difficulties.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Mudlerhof, Lutterkopf, Durakopf in our last day, in beautiful conditions, a perfect final/ last day's snow shoeing. The panoramic views were spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Experienced, very competent, professional, great fun, observant and attentive and quickly picked up if group members needed help/ encouragement.we were very confident that she could get us out of any unexpected challenges, thankfully these did not occur! Nothing seemed too much for Sarah, including Valentines Day treat for each of us, beautifully wrapped., ,post day out "stretch time', always prepared to " go the extra mile " for customers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit, you do need a good level of fitness for this trip. Bring lots of layers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous week.!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    stephen roberts

    Just as good the 2nd Time

    This is the 2nd time I've done this trip, last time was only 12 months ago. I pleased to say I had a fantastic time this time around as well. There were issues with the flight out due to bad weather, so nothing Exodus could have down about that. But they did re arrange the pick up from the airport, and kept us informed informed of what was going on, so top marks for their effort there. The hotel is very good, the dinner is filling, if sometimes a little unusual. I think a would have preferred a simpler menu. The rooms seem to vary greatly. Last year I had one of the superb rooms that you'll see on the hotels website, this year I had a room towards the rear of the hotel that was more traditional Tirol style, that was clean but a little tired, specially when compared to the other rooms. However it was more than adequate, after all you don't come here to sit in your room, you come for the great walking, and you get that in abundance. The walks are well paced , and gradually increase in difficulty as the week progresses. The views were fantastic, there was plenty of time to admire the view, take photos, and stop in the mountains huts for a hot chocolate or something stronger. There wasn't enough deep snow to make it worth taking the snow shoes, so we were supplies with crampons, which worked well. On the Friday there was plenty of deep snow, which great fun. Even if I did face plant a few times. There was plenty of advice and ideas on what to to do the "rest day" and the free travel pass was very helpful here and on the day of the departure when you have the morning to entertain yourself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the views from Durakopf on the Friday. Last year couldn't see anything, this year, this time we could see for miles, it made the long slog up worthwhile. Then coming part way down on a wooden sleigh. Great fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cant praise Sara's skills enough. Adept at keeping the group together, and encouraging us all to get to the top. Supplied us with loads of local history, and made every effort to speak to everybody to ensure we all got the most we could out of this holiday. She is a very experienced leader , and it showed. Nothing is to much trouble for her. I sustained an injury on the Tuesday, (tripped over my own feet) and needed assistance to get off the hill. Thanks to to her care, and advise I was able to make it back out on the hill after the rest day. She went well above and beyond to ensure I had a speedy recovery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you haven't done any winter walking before, you might find it a bit harder than your normal walking, so be prepared for that. Don't forget sunscreen. Make sure your boots are well worn in!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only reason I'm not going back next year, is that there are so many other things I want to do. But I will be going back
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Simon Allen

    A week in Winter Wonderland

    A fabulous, varied week of snowshoeing in the Italian Dolomites lead by the inspirational Sara Bull. If you haven't used snowshoes or crampons before, don't worry. If you're reasonably fit, don't worry. We experienced a wide variety of weather conditions during our stay at the welcoming Hotel Adler, from warm sunshine to freezing blizzards and our leader Sara selected the perfect trek for each occasion, providing all the instruction, encouragement and support that our group required, regardless of their level of experience and fitness. Her catchword is 'enthusiasm' and hers is infectious. If you want to enjoy the Dolomites at their most dramatic and beautiful, then this is the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I find it impossible to pick an individual moment, as there were so many. But I suppose standing in glorious sunshine enjoying expansive views of some of the most beautiful and dramatic snow encrusted mountains on the planet takes some beating. And fortunately that moment occurred again and again during the course of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've been on quite a few guided treks over the years, many of them with Exodus. I have generally been very impressed with the group leaders, but none have proved to be as inspirational as Sara Bull. She has boundless energy and enthusiasm, and whilst her levels of care and support for the group know no bounds, she feels more like a member of that group and a friend rather than an employed guide. That is a very difficult feat to achieve and adds immeasurably to the overall experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think Grade 3 is appropriate for this trip, but walking through snow for prolonged periods can be physically testing so, as the trip notes state, it is important that you are comfortable with your own level of fitness. I regularly go hill walking in the Lake District and found the treks to be perfectly manageable.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sue Duncombe

    Great snowshoeing in stunning scenery

    Great variety of walks to mountain summits with fantastic views of the beautiful Dolomite scenery. Walking included a couple of ascents of 650m. We walked through wooded hillsides to mountain tops. On most days we stopped in mountain huts for a drink whilst we admired the scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from Lutterkopf - 360 degree panorama of the Dolomites and Austrian Alps. Reaching the top of Monte Piano with views of Tre Cime

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah was professional and friendly and dealt with the range of individual abilities in the group effectively. She was knowledgeable about the area’s geography and history. We had utmost confidence in her. On top of this we appreciated the biscuits she provided en-route!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a decent level of fitness to get the most out of the 5 days snowshoeing as a couple of days have ascents of 650m

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this to anyone who enjoys walking and mountain scenery. It would take a lot to beat snowshoeing here!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Fiona Walters

    Fantastic holiday

    This was a great holiday for our mixed group of complete snowshoeing beginners and those who had tried it before. The scenery was stunning, helped by perfect weather! Sunny all day with brilliant blue, cloudless skies. The family run guest house was perfect for relaxing after a hard day walking. The pool and spa area were great, food delicious and a couple of warm bar areas for socialising.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best thing for me was being able to enjoy stunning mountain views without having to ski. I think I have found my perfect winter holiday! It was so peaceful, despite being half term school holidays. I also enjoyed the days we used crampons to walk rather then snowshoes, and the 4km sled run was great fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was a great leader, very knowledgable of the area, attentive to the group and lots of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hard work, so ensure you are reasonably fit. If your leader says you must drink 2-3l of water, then do it!
Call us on 1 844 227 9087