Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019

    Fantastic Finland

    For me its was a amazing trip. Although my staying arrangements was not that good as expected but other things made my trip awesome. I enjoyed range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing,downhill skiing and dog sledding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riisitunturi National Park
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pamela Marshall

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    Hi - as a single female traveller over 60 years of age I really enjoyed this holiday. Accommodation was quite basic, but this was too be expected and food showed much creativity but the company was enjoyable and activities varied and very interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My favourite activity was the husky sledge rides and seeing all the dogs in their natural surrounding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great - she couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be wary of your own capabilities. On my free day off I chose to do a 6KM hike with a younger and fitter member of the group ; I think I would have been okay had we not cover the distance up to the highest point of the resort in 2 hours - however I've since suffered a repetitive calf injury and am still suffering 5 weeks later. Great views though and wouldn't have missed the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If booking this holiday think about the weather - winter months means cold weather, shorter days and a better chance of seeing the Northern Lights. April is early spring, the snows are melting, lighter, longer days but probably no Northern lights.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Grant

    Fantastic Fun in Finland

    We had the most amazing week at the logging lodge with Elina. What a huge variety of activities to try out. Our 16 and 18 year old daughters loved it too, particularly the dog sledding day and the downhill skiing in Ruka. Cooking pancakes and sausages over a fire was also a highlight. Elina was knowledgable, friendly and inclusive. Would really recommend to families with a sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dig sledding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try everything. Take your sense of adventure. All equipment provided was more than adequate.,
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Alice Nimmo

    Finnish Wilderness Week 14th-28th

    I really enjoyed the trip and it was Greta to see the transition from winter to spring as we were the last trip of the season. The most enjoyable part was the husky ride, so much I went twice. But also, Elina and Ismo really took care to make sure we enjoyed Finnish traditions, and we cooked pancakes and bread on an open fire as well as quinzee building and first aid in the wildness. I would definitely recommend this trip of you want a jam packed holiday and to tick off a few things from your bucket list. The guides are fantastic and you really feel a sense of being in the wilderness, especially of you are staying in the loggers lodge

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Do selling and baking bread on the fire

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was fantastic, so friendly and knowledgeable, she loves the first and nature and is so open minded. Ismo who helped her was also fantastic and he had a lot of knowledge about Finnish traditions and nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect 5 star accomodation as one of the people did when I went, she was shocked, bit I was pleasantly surprised as I was expecting mountain hut standard

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was spectacular and it was fantastic to experience delicious traditional Finnish food and drink
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Matthew Handford

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    I loved this trip. It was a chance to head to the frozen north (Finland/Lapland) in April and take part in a range of outdoor activities such as snowshoeing, x country skiing, downhill skiing and dog sledding. It was also great to go out in the wilderness and have a chance to see wildlife and perhaps the Northern Lights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What was special was a combination of things - a social group, feeling I could at least begin to get the hang of activities such as skiing and dogsledding, generally travelling around the Oulanka National Park area by road whilst seeing all of it covered in snow and getting to meet the huskies and reindeer. I also had the chance to take off on my own in the afternoon into the wilderness which gave me a sense of exploration!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina is a very good leader and had us clearly organised everyday. She took us out snowshoeing and showed us cross country skiing. Else kept us well fed from the kitchen and took us out on a night walk with the snowshoes. Both have a lot of local knowledge and were very social, as part of the group. Elina also organised us with the most outdoor kit I have ever been given on a trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a week where there is a lot of choice as to what one can do. Hence, perhaps, it helps to have some preconceived ideas as to what one would like to experience from the week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a rare trip in that I would really like to do it again. There is always the argument that there are too many places in the world to visit and hence it is not worth returning to the same one. However, this trip takes place in different locations in the National Park and it is possible to do different activities over the course of the week.
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Wonderful wilderness week

    My friends suggested this trip to me and although it sounded amazing I was a little cautious but went for it and I am so glad I did! The whole trip is just one fantastic experience after another. The weather was incdredible especially the -32 that warmed up to only -7! The scenery is stunning without exception and thats just the start. Ignore the neigh sayers about the accomodation and food. The chalets are lovely, cosy, comfortable and very warm. It's so serene in the morning its wonderful, I woke up to that amazing woodland view, peace and quiet and the occasional squirrel coming for food. The food is great and plentiful and filling just with a big grpup like ours (32 people) you sometimes have to queue to get it. Try not to be too British expecting a hot cup of tea each morning. I took my own kettle and onlu used it twice. The kit is great and does the job perfectly and the room floor dries things out very well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to name just one but the husky experience is unforgettable. Being driven by those beautiful dogs across the amazing landscape under an epic clear blue sky was just jaw dropping especially when they turn around and look at you if you dare apply the brake to slow them down. Actually getting to see the northern lights was truly memorable. Standing on that frozen lake in the middle of the night just watching the display in awe inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was wonderful. She explained everything well and really encouraged you to want to try that bit harder to get the hang of things. She mixed with us and seemed to really enjoy her time with us as much as we did with her. Special mention to Andrea who came to Riisilntunturi National Park with us. It was her day off and she had never been so came as back stop guide and was lumbered with the daft set messing about, she laughed so much I hope she enjoyyed it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Throw yourself into it, and you really should give the sleeping out in the quinzee a try its crazy but fun. As with other advice you don't need much so dont overpack. If you wear glasses and want to keep your face warm, try to find something tight fitting over your nose becasue as you breath the moisture in your breath feezes on your lenses. If you like a drink perhaps pick up a bottle or two up before you get there it is quite expensive at the camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and enjoy it, we went as 3 friends but made great ones when we got there, we even had people wishing they were in our group we had that much fun. Falling over is fantastic, getting back up again is hilarious!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Iain Maclean

    A real doze of Fresh Air !

    What a great week, despite the unusual cold for late January (reaching below -30), the still fresh air was envigorating. Great mix of activities, in a stunning landscape, especially under the sun with its relative low point in the sky. And to top it off, we saw the aurora, never guaranteed, but on a clear night, a genuinely spectacular show of colour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed the dog-sledding, a 10km spin through the forests and over the lakes. Even on a cloudy day, spectacular scenery, under deep powder snow, with hot soup in a teepee around a roaring fire to finish (ahem) it off, hosted by Lauri, whose sharp wit had us all at ease and in great humour. And of course, seeing the aurora, never guaranteed, but on a clear night, a genuinely spectacular show of colour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The team were first rate, whether out on activities or at base camp in the kitchen, helpful, friendly and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Except for skin layer thermals, all the winter gear is provided, from hats to socks and base, mid and outer layers, and worked for us even in temperatures just under -30, so no need to overpack, though hand and foot warmers might be welcome ! And sensible to have some shampoo with you too. Accommodation is as you would expect for base camp, simple and functional, with underfloor heating and plenty hot water. The communal area is large, and on really cold nights (there that means below -30) a warm jumper or fleece is needed despite the roaring fire. If you don't fancy the free day, the Little Bear snow trail (12km/5hrs) is very worthwhile.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thursday was the least satisfying day for us. The reindeer trip was interesting, but the one short circuit we did on the sleigh was well short of the fun we had had with the dogs the day before. And Ruka, while an impressive winter resort, was such a contrast to the wilderness feel at Base Camp we so enjoyed. We hiked the Little Bear on Friday, it was a great day out, it would be a good addition/alternative to the programme if it could be fitted in, but it is a full 5hr outing ...
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Magical week in a snowy wonderland

    Thoroughly enjoyed a fantastic week at base camp. Scenery is absolutely stunning and activities are varied and fun. At the end of January/ early Feb there was plenty of daylight to make the most of everything on offer. There are superb snowshoe walks right from the front door, the little bear trail in particular. Accommodation is comfortable with plentiful tasty food and good variety. All staff work hard to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible. Although the clothes provided are perfectly acceptable, if you already own your own cold weather gear ( ski jacket / fleeces) you can wear these too. Lucky to share our holiday with a friendly bunch of fellow travellers who helped make it extra memorable. We would highly recommend this holiday to anyone thinking of going.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say - so many but the scenery and tranquility was splendid.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All base camp staff were friendly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you live near Birmingham airport do enquire about the Birmingham flight (we found out about it after we arrived) Take plenty of warm woolen socks, not necessarily all thick ones you will probably need to wear 2 or 3 pairs at a time. If you like downhill skiing the slopes in Ruka looked very quiet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As others have said before if you are thinking of booking this trip then do......you will not regret it.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Abby Willcox

    Amazing trip in a beautiful country

    We had a fantastic time in the Finnish Wilderness. Basecamp was great, the staff were all lovely and really helpful. We enjoyed trying out a wide range of activities and then being free most afternoons to do the activities on our own or just relax or have a wander around the forest. Having the marked trails was really handy for independent exploring. The food was varied and we always had plenty to eat. The constant availability of free teas, coffee and juice was nice, as was the lovely log fire in the main lodge for warming us up after a chilly day out. The equipment and clothing provided was excellent, much better than I'd expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was husky dog sledding, without a doubt one of my favourite activities ever. My partner enjoyed seeing the northern lights twice and having an endless number of photography opportunities, albeit very cold ones!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was great, our favourite exodus guide so far. She was so friendly and approachable with a really good humour. The only down side is your guide is not with you every day as you go off to do different activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with other reviews, you don't need to take many of your own clothes. We washed our quick dry base layers in the sink every other day. Be prepared to pay a lot for the optional activities, of which there were many more available than those listed in the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, enjoy yourself. Spend a week in another world doing fun activities, meeting nice people and eating lots of food. Nothing not to love about this trip.