Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Ramplin

    Exceeded all my expectations

    A wonderful week jam packed with sights, activities and wonderful experiences. It started with a fantastic trip to Jerash, an amazing Roman Town, and just kept getting better and better. The two days spent at Petra were outstanding, and the trip to Wadi Rum exciting and so memorable. The last couple of days spent at the Red Sea and then the Dead Sea were the perfect ending to an unforgettable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the time spent in the desert, learning about the Bedouin way of life, and will never forget the camel ride to watch the sun rise - really worth getting up early for. That first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra as I emerged from the canyon is also one of those moments that will stay with me for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim, our leader was just perfect. He had a huge knowledge and an understandable pride in his country - we all learnt so much from him. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went out of his way to make sure that everything was as perfect as it could be for all of us. He had a fantastic sense of humour and helped to make the trip an unforgettable one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take some warm clothing as it can get cold at night, particularly in the desert. Jordanians are really welcoming and friendly and I felt completely safe travelling throughout the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly wonderful holiday. My only disappointment was seeing all the rubbish/plastic at the sides of the roads - such a shame in such a beautiful country.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Hawkins

    A fascinating tour

    This trip provides an excellent chance to see the main highlights of Jordan. Our guide Jihad was excellent, knowledgeable, organised, approachable with a good sense of humour. He gave the whole group confidence. I particularly thought camping at Wahi Rum and optional camel ride the best experience. It was well run, more comfortable than anticipated and the food was delicious. Petra too is amazing but does need a reasonable level of fitness. It is good to pace it over the two days, especially if tackling the climbs. Little Petra was an unexpected treat too. Most hotels were good though the one at Petra missed the mark on several levels. I believe there is an issue with Petra hotels, which could be referred to in advance. The trip notes were very helpful and helped considerably with what to expect and what to pack. Jordan is full of history and the whole trip was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wadi Rum, Petra, Little Petra, Jerash

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad was excellent. He was the major reason the trip ran so smoothly and devoted his timewith us calmly and efficiently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully and make sure you have good walking shoes, especially for Petra. Go for the camel ride at Wadi Rum, it's well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel at Petra was not good enough. The food varied hugely and the rooms had many faults/ problems. It did not have the swimming pool working which was very disappointing, especially after a long dusty day at Petra. It was a pity the hotel we spent the most nights at let the trip down
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Fred nocella

    A Transformative Experience in Jordan

    I feel like I've had a year's worth of memorable experiences in the last nine days! I knew I would like it; I just wasn't expecting to love it as much as do. I still can't stop talking about it since returning home. I will treasure these experiences for all time. If you are interested in the Middle East's rich history as a crossroads of people, ideas, religions, and cultures, I wholeheartedly recommend this tour. You will see Jordan from top to bottom, from mountains to desert to sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sorry, I just can't choose one moment: • Realizing that I could exchange pleasantries in Arabic with the people I met. • Seeing a shooting star in the night sky over Wadi Rum. • Seeing the sun rise from camel-back • Petroglyphs in the desert. • Seeing the Treasury at Petra. • Becoming friends with my fellow group members.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't say enough positive things about our guide, Ibrahim Isbitani. His expert knowledge of the culture, history, and geography allowed us all to get so much more out of the experience. He was able every time to create the right context for what we were seeing. I can confirm that my other fellow 19 tour group members all feel exactly the same. He clearly loves his job, loves meeting people and introducing them to the full mosaic of Jordanian culture and history, and has an enjoyable time doing it. His great sense of humor and flexibility eased the occasional discomforts of traveling. I wish I loved my own job as much as he loves his!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth it to take the time to learn a few words in Arabic. A half dozen words or less is all it takes. This will open all sorts of doors for you. This is not actually a requirement, component, or aspect of the tour, but Ibrahim was very generous with his time in teaching me when I expressed an interest. Steamed/cooked vegetables are always safer then raw vegetables. I took so many photos, I couldn't charge my batteries fast enough. Next time I would bring a portable battery/power pack. If you are coming from North or South America, it's worth it to spend the extra money on a really good voltage convertor. Don't cheap out like I did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will definitely be traveling with Exodus again!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    sarah Dawes

    A Week in Jordan

    An amazing trip, would highly recommend it. Jordan has soo much to offer. So much history and culture, so many wonderful places to visit. The Jordanian people are very friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I couldn't pick just one thing. Everyday was different and amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was Nidal Alateaq. A very knowledgeable and friendly person. Always went that extra mile, nothing was too much trouble. You can tell that he very passionate about his work. Plus he was always very honest with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a small overnight bag with you for the night at the Bedouin Camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really would recommend this trip 100%
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Bev Heath

    Jordan trip

    Good balance of sights and some relaxation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Less trips to stops with gift shops attached to avoid wasting time on route, better to get to next location with more time to chill
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Mary Anthony

    Jordan

    Wonderful holiday exceeding all expectations. We really got to enjoy the country with the help of the ever cheerful Jihad. The sites were awe inspiring and were all seen at their best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the lunchtime stops at sandwich bars, bakeries or markets, it was like being part of Jordan rather than looking on as a tourist. I was determined to immerse myself and happily enjoyed climbing, snorkelling, camel riding and floating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad was the perfect guide. He was kind, funny and tolerant at all times. His knowledge of his country was obvious and his ability to give an unbiased view of its history kept us all enthralled. Actually his gentle tones lulled me into little naps between the sites!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Warm clothes for Wadi Rum night Good swim shoes for Dead Sea Try a falafel sandwich

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Julie Verity

    Not the Xmas experience we were promised

    We were promised tailor-made, but our 5 day Xmas treat was not quite what we asked for. We requested and were promised trecking near the Dead Sea on Christmas day, but the Jordanian driver decided otherwise and we never did see the Dead Sea. We were taken to a different hotel from the one we reserved and were given no explanation. The country has lots to offer, just not sure Exodus can offer a tailormade experience to match.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Garesh

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a driver who hardly spoke - he was a safe driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont do 'tailormade' with Exodus.
  • Reviewed January 2019

    Review of A week in Jordan trip

    This is my third trip with Exodus and overall I have to say that it was a great experience - with lots of variety and some fantastic highlights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely Petra - the best thing about this trip is that there is two whole days in Petra and your really need it as the place is VAST!!! With this trip you get to see huge areas of the lost city - especially away from the crowds around the Siq and the Treasury - we basically had the place to ourselves - and it really added to the experience. I do acknowledge it was the low season and we were lucky with the weather! Indeed, the blue skies and cool temperatures (15c) helped make it very pleasant to do the all walking and climbing steps - there is a fair bit of walking involved around Petra! The highlights for me was walking down the Siq to the Treasury - its very length created real anticipation which was rewarded by the final view of the treasury!! Also the trek up to the Place of High Sacrifice was incredible - again a little of the beaten track so devoid of any crowds apart from our group. Another highlight was the roman city of Jarash - I thought it would just be a few interesting ruins but it really exceeded my expectations - it is vast and very well preserved - and again due to the time of year we had the place pretty much to ourselves - which was great for taking photos!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa - was a great tour guide - very professional and if you asked him for something...be it an ATM, a toilet break, Pharmacy he would make it his priority. He had a great knowledge and love of the country and went out of his way to show it. I should also mention the bus driver Admed - who also great at his job and very careful on the roads (unlike some past travel experiences I have had). Despite his limited English he was also very friendly and courteous, easy going and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Overall I would say definitely go.... but when you do keep in mind the follow issues: - Be prepared for long days (leaving the hotel at 8pm -so really up before 7am) - this is needed particularly in the winter as it gets dark in Jordan at 4.30 pm and lots of sites close at sunset. -I'd advice people to bring some snacks, cereal bars etc as the days are long and you stop at a lot of places to buy snacks which are ridiculously over priced for the country - for example I was charged between 1 and 1.50 dinar for a Mars Bar in a touristy type service station but paid 0.3 dinar for one in Amman in a regular shop. - Bring sandals to wear into the Dead Sea - I cut the bottom of my foot pretty badly on the extremely sharp salt crystals on the seabed - this caused me a lot of grief in the subsequent days when I was hiking for long periods.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only bad experience I has was when my friend and I wanted to climb the cliff path in Petra to look down on the treasury (a great photo opportunity). However when we attempted to walk the path the locals that loiter around the site - blocked our path and demanded money to guide us up (this is free!!!) - when we refused they got very aggressive and verbally abusive toward us - we tried to ignore them but it got so bad that we just gave up and walked away. Maybe it was the time of day - everyone was leaving the site and it was pretty empty but I would advice anyone that if they want to see the Treasury from above take the more scenic (but more round about route) from behind the Royal Tombs (ask your guide) - you won't be bothered by these people (others members of our group did this). We later heard that this is a con job play on tourists as after paying these people to 'guide' you up to the top of the path they then demand even more money to escort you back down! While some of the meals we got were amazing ( especially in Amman, Karak and at the bedouin camp) others were more miss than hit - and a number of us definitely felt ripped off at being charged the equivalent of 20 euro for some falafel, a piece of chicken and some flat bread - this was particularly the case when we ate in Petra. One point I would like to make about the Bedouin Camp is that it gets very cold at night - so definitely bring a base layer and some warm pyjamas. Also there were huge holes in the roof of my tent - If it had rained it would have been a pretty miserable night!!!!! Lastly - I advise you to not waste your money on a Turkish Bath in Petra - for anyone that has been to a proper turkish bath you will be very disappointed. If you do want to have the experience, go to the one opposite the hotel the group stays in Amman - its a bit pricey (about 50euro) but its worth it!!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Joanne Hart

    Perfect Petra

    A very interesting week, lots to do and some amazing places to see....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the souk and walking out to see the Treasury

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good and friendly and knowledgeable. I did feel that we could have had longer at certain places and I felt rushed on a couple of occasions to get to the hotel. When we were at Aqaba we only had 3 hours at the resort and this wasn’t long enough to relax properly... we had to eat lunch all together on a set menu and I think we could have got our own lunch when we wanted it and then we had to leave at 2pm and go to our hotel with nothing to do in the afternoon. We should have stayed at the resort for the day or been given the option to get a taxi back to the hotel.... I also felt our time at the Citidel in Amman was rushed - there wasn’t enough time to walk around the site which is disappointing as we could have stayed much longer. The Citidel is incredible

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book the trip - you won’t be disappointed... But I’d say get a taxi back to the hotel and stay at the seaside resort in Aqaba all day....
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Andrew Thomas

    A delightful Week in Jordan

    With short winter days in November there is a lot packed into this week - the early starts are worth it though. Travel arrangements in Jordan went well - even with a large group of 20 it never seemed as if we were rushed anywhere. The remains of the city of Jerash visited on our first day were impressive (those Romans got around). The Dead Sea was a novelty but either side of our 'private' beach was a lot of rubbish. On the whole Jordan is not a 'picturesque' country - they have a huge challenge ahead with the amount of plastic waste strewn across the countryside everywhere - roadsides, fields, olive groves etc etc are all littered with the remains of plastic bottles and bags - they seem to be blind to it. That said, the fantastic highlights of the trip - Petra and Wadi Rum - both superlative world class sites (and with a huge number of visitors) were not littered - so it is possible! The two days in Petra are worth the whole trip alone - a spectacular and huge site (wear comfortable shoes or boots) but you quickly loose the large crowds after the Siq and the Treasury. The drives through the desert and night spent in the tented camp in Wadi Rum also provided really amazing memories. Dramatic sand blasted scenery and sweeping sand dunes had us all humming the Lawrence of Arabia theme tune.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up to 'The Monastery' at Petra - 850+ steps but worth them all - lots of chances to get coffee or tea (and buy a souvenir) from local Bedouin stalls on the way. The quieter climb up to the the 'High Place of Sacrifice' also makes an excellent circular loop away from the main valley but still passes some spectacular tombs and caves (they are everywhere). Great views across the whole valley from the tops.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Issa our group leader was great - he really did make the trip a success. Very enthusiastic, with great organisation and local knowledge he is a great ambassador for his country. He made sure everyone had what they needed by way of ATM stops, toilet breaks and chose good restaurants for lunch or supper (not always easy for a group of 20) explaining the menus and ensuring there were always vegetarian options where wanted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you usually use a walking pole over uneven ground consider taking it for Petra (I was pleased I did). Take warm clothes, a torch and a small towel for the desert trip. The bus travelled with large water bottles on board - so you just need your own bottle to fill every day. Just go - its a great trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Jordanians are really friendly, proud of their country (they should be) and delighted to share it with foreign visitors. Over the past few years they have taken in millions of refugees from their war torn neighbours but remain positive about the future.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087