Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Harvey Trop

    Bermuda in Seven Days and One Pair of Shoes

    This was an fantastic trip. If you like sandy beaches, azure waters, history, and good walking/hiking, this is great adventure. In seven days, you will see most of Bermuda and the daily itineraries can be rearranged and adjusted to meet your personal interests. The Bermuda bus system is excellent and makes getting from place to place easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset on Elbow Beach was one of the highlights. Another was visiting Fort St. Catherine on St. Georges.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Since this was a self-guided trip, I can't talk highly enough about my leadership during this trip. [The arrival briefing provided by the Headwaters staff was excellent.]

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The South Shore hike is the longest and seemed much longer than the distance in the guide. I would recommend using the bus system to bypass some sections of the Railway Trail on this hike. Alternatively, you can choose to forego one or more of the side trips, especially Hog Bay. [Definitely do the Horseshoe Bay section, however.) Carefully read all the daily guide materials before setting out. Some of the directions are dependent upon distances and having a good pedometer is useful. However, you're on an island, so even if you miss a trail marker, you can't get too far afield.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed my time spent on Bermuda. The Coco Resort dinner menu never changed. but you can mix and match starters and entrees to provide more variety. Also, the creme brule was disappointing, but most of the other desserts were good!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Miles Alexander

    Walking the Francigena Way

    My wife and i, early 60s, still working and reasonably fit, wanted something different from day trips from a villa. Italy, late summer, activity, smaller towns and with Rome as an objective - this seemed to be, and was in fact, an excellent tour. The range of rural walking is varied from wooded sections to open fields. There is some urban walking and a short section along the Autostrada but this does not detract from the overall experience. Apart from the weekends, when we met some local walkers, the greatest number of 'pilgrims' that we encountered on any day was 6. There was plenty of time to enjoy the walk and the hill top towns.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single moment but we lost count of the number of time that we opened a door of some undistinguished church in a small town to reveal a stunning interior. The rock-cut church of the Madonna del Parto, a former mithraeum in Sutri was extraordinary - not to be missed. Each of the towns seemed quite sleepy when we arrived mid-afternoon but being Italian, they came to life in the early evening. They all had architecture of interest and although (or possibly because) this is a less fashionable area of Italy, people were very welcoming and helpful, Getting our Testimoniums from the office just off St Peter's Square on the afternoon we arrived in Rome was extremely satisfying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is a moderate level walk, it does involve some hills and although we traveled in late September, the temperatures hit the 80s on a couple of days. Taking a litre and a half of water each was essential as there isn't necessarily the opportunity for obtain a drink along the route. along the way. We also bought simple food (bread, cheese, meat, fruit) each day for the next days lunch for the same reason. I would certainly recommend walking shoes or boots.; trainers will simply not be good enough. We took walking poles but these were not really needed and quickly ended up in our luggage. I agree that it is difficult to get lost, but equally, that an English version of the notes rather than what appears to be a translation would ensure best accuracy. If you do get wildly lost, there is a VIa Francigena app which shows where you are in real time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would start each day before 09.00 and arrive at our destination by mid-afternoon allowing time to enjoy the walk without it becoming a route march. The prospect of an ice cold Peroni was very motivating. This allowed time to relax at the hotels before exploring the towns as they awoke in the early evening. Do not obtain your own Credenziale as we did - Exodus provide them in your travel pack. Learn some basis Italian phrases which is not difficult and is only polite. As these are not tourist towns, English is not widely spoken. Notably, the young owners of Enoteca da Ronko in Vetralla lived in England for a while and are happy to chat. If you have time, tag on a few days in Rome at the end of your walk.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Elizabeth Smith

    Excellent way to walk in La Palma's rugged scenery

    Well organised trip with all we needed to do some reasonably strenuous but not technically challenging walks in a mixture of coastal and volcanic terrains. The travel arrangememts, accommodation and food were all fine, and it was good not to have to move on every night to new accommodation(3 moves). The route guides were straightforward for the most part and the paths well marked. La palma is relatively unspoilt and we liked meeting almost no-one on several of the trails! Weather was fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Caldera crater walk was stunning - the rock formations have to be seen in real life - photos don't do them justice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the number of steepish descents and ascents the ravines (of which there are many) entail - they're fine but good to be mentally prepared!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Brenda White

    Self guided walking tour in italy

    The self guided maps were easy to follow. The hidden costs of park passes and transportation should be explained better in literature. The B&B was close to train and water, clean and friendly staff. We had a great week. It was a wonderful week of hiking in Italy. The dinner voucher was the only disappointment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sharing the walk with my daughter. Challenging terrain to traverse which made every view more beautiful. We were blessed with dry, sunny weather

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided - n/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The costs of trains/buses/boat plus cost of park passes should be better explained and better understood by traveller. These costs were considerable every day and added up for the week. Do not accept dinner voucher substitution - huge disappointment !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very disappointed with the last minute dinner substitution. the dinner venue changed a day before I left. The restaurant was very disappointing. There were only exodus diners present. The first 2 nights it was a set menu with only seafood items. The quality of the food was poor. We were starving after a full day of hiking and could barely eat what was presented. On the last night, we were given an actual menu. We thought this would be better. It was marginally better but still disappointing. We actually went to the restaurant that was on the original dinner voucher. The food here was excellent and lots of other diners! We would have been thrilled to enjoy 3 pre-paid dinners at this restaurant. I would like to be compensated for this last minute sub- par change. I believe the dinner charge was 20 Euros each. I also need reimbursement for downloading the app. I did not have the code to enter and had to pay for download.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Barbara Dolynchuk

    HEADWATERS TUSCANY WALKABOUT

    The walkabout was lovely. The agritourismo, food, wine and walking were great. The problem with the walkabout is namely directions. The directions submitted by Headwaters need to be updated. Sometimes, they just DID NOT WORK. This is very frustrating when you're in a country that you are unfamiliar with, are on a walking trail that is already moderately difficult, and unsure if you are on the right trail (and sometimes we were not). In some instances street names which were available would have been useful. In other instances, it would have been nice if the directions had said, continue for 4 km or 3 miles (instead of just continue on until you get _______.). That was the biggest/only "frustration" of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenic views on the walks.....so astounding!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephano was fabulous. He is a very thorough and conscientious guy. Even with the language barrier, Stephano was easily able to make his directions or point of what he was discussing clear. He was ALWAYS on time for transfers etc and very easy to chat with from destination to destination.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To do the walks you must be minimally in average shape/conditioning. Some of the hikes are easy but some (especially one) is quite steep and quite physically demanding!! Overall, Tuscany is very hilly so there is no getting around climbing!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, a trip of my lifetime. I enjoyed it very much. The 4 course meals are fabulous....sometimes too much. For example on one of the days we do a wine-tasting around 5 pm and then headed back to the Agritourismo for our 4 course meal. In retrospect, I would have asked the kitchen not to prepare a meal for me that evening because the wine-tasting we experienced was #1. fabulous #2. lots of meats, cheese and bread was provided to enjoy with the tasting. We were stuffed when we left.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Rosemary Gregory

    great gozo

    A great holiday. Ta chenc is a lovely hotel. Single storey buildings with very spacious room and bathroom. A fabulous choice of food at breakfast with plenty of choice for dinner. Staff very friendly and helpful. Gozo is laid back with a very good public transport system to get you to start walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the ancient monuments and magnificent churches along with stunning scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a huge choice for vegetarians at dinner in the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The written instructions for the walks provided by headwater were very clear and easy to understand. The best walk instructions we have come across. We were very impressed by the speed and efficiency of responses to queries to headwater.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mark Walmsley

    Huh?

    This was a very well organized trip that my wife and I greatly enjoyed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from meeting some wonderful people, the walk into Santiago de Compostela was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Did not have a group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are some mighty hills to contend with. Also, because on some days the proprietor of the accommodation needed to come and pick you up due to the fact that the accommodation was well away from the Camino, there was often a long wait after completing the days walk/bike. A bit of a drag when all you want is a hot shower and a beer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would definitely used Exodus again. Well organized and good value.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tom Roberts

    Walking the Francigena Way

    A fantastic experience. This was not a difficult walk that basically had one walking from one hilltop town to another. These hilltop towns are just absolutely delightful and so full of history. Having walked the St James Way in Northern Spain, this walk provided a different experience in that the number of walkers is far less and the accommodation points were way more historic and interesting vrs those on the St James Way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but rolling them all together it was the history of the hilltop towns that we stayed at every night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a difficult walk and one that can be done without poles and specialized walking boots. A good pair of running/walking shoes is all that needed. Get hungry .The food that is available in your accommodation points is fabulous. All foods of the local areas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The self guided directions provided in written form for this tour need a serious look at. It would be dufficult to get lost as there are any number of signs providing directions , but in a lot of instances the instructions provided in written form pre the tour did not match the permanent signage on the tour journey. I would suggest that Exodus have one of their England based team do this walk with the instructions provided so they can be altered to a correct format.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Marjorie Barnes

    SELF GUIDED CAMINO

    A fantastic trip with easy to follow detailed notes. No map really required. The accommodation and transfers arranged by Headwater were first class. Blessed with great weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day of walking going to O Cebreiro. The mountain scenery was stunning. Also the most wonderful groups of people met along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pay 30 Euros for a taxi from Madrid airport to Charmartin Rail Station. If you have your rail ticket to Leon then just go by free shuttle bus to Terminal 4, use the machines and get a free rail transfer to Charmartin. Staff are at the machines to help if you get stuck.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get to Santiago de Compostela Cathedral early as it becomes very busy. Be prepared to queue a long time in the office for your certificate/Compostela. Self guided was a great experience to be thoroughly recommended.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Katie Woodson

    Recommend

    I was a bit hesitant to take a self guided tour, but I am glad I did. The hotel staff was great and the fact that food was included with the package made it a fantastic affordable going abroad trip. The trails are well marked and the areas are beautiful. The train ride from Zurich to Kandersteg is actually 2.5 hours but the scenery on the route is amazing. If you like the outdoors and hiking this is the package for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nature! Living in the city the fresh air and green felt good.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087