Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Jodie Boldy

    Great trip if limited amount of time

    Great trip to do with a limited amount of time, but due to limited amount of time you have a pretty gruelling day on day 2 of the walk

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of course

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was nice and informative, perhaps a little serious, I love a bit of banter but a great guide all the same

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can do the longer Toubkal trip I would. Day 2 of the walk was really long and tiring, coming down is hard work with the loose scree and as we came in July due to a milestone birthday,it was absolutly baking hot

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had the airport transfers in with the trip but our return transfer did not turn up, we had parted ways with the group and guide that morning as they were all on earlier flights. Ended up having to get a taxi which we had to pay for arriving at Marrakech airport (notorious for how hectic it is) a little later than planned. I have contacted exodus about this a couple of times but they have yet to reply to me.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Louise Swiggs

    Amazing

    My daughter asked me to join her on this trip in preparation for her trek to Everest Base Camp. It was hard but amazing in equal measure and I’m so glad I did it! Keeping positive and being part of a great team are key to completing the trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of pride at reaching the summit was immense. Having not had much sleep the previous few nights and then the unexpected heavy snow made the achievement even more worthwhile. If you are lucky to get a clear sky at the top, like we were, the views are breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lahcen was fantastic - patient and kind and we felt completely safe with him. We had a 2nd guide, Mohammed, at the back of our team of 8 on the summit day who was equally great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It took us 6hrs (with breaks) on the 1st day to get to the Refuge. It felt like we would never get there! Due to the unexpected snow we were given crampons at the Refuge but thankfully it wasn’t icy so we didn’t need them. The timings of the summit day were longer than the itinerary suggested so I began to have doubts but dug deep and made it! We got up at 3am, left at 4 and reached the summit at 8. Magnificent 🎉 We spent about 45mins at the top taking pictures, snacking and taking in the scenery. It took 3.5hrs to get back down to the Refuge for a hearty lunch then a further 3.5hrs to make the final descent to the gite for the night. This last bit was draining but you know you are on the final stretch. Bring snacks but there are lots of places to stop en route to the Refuge. Our group did not have any problems with altitude sickness. The guides walk at a gentle pace which helps you acclimatise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A head torch and warm clothes needed for the Refuge which is very basic with limited lighting and heating only in the communal room.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Graham Seals

    Mount Toubkal 2018

    The trip was well organised and everything went to plan. The travel and trek information and description was informative and correct. There were no unpleasant surprises. I would personally rate the trek a 6 in difficulty due to the 8 hour trek on the first day and the 13 hour trek on summit day as well as the snow we encountered 700metres from the summit. I would also like to say just how good our tour guide Larchen was. He was very friendly and extremely helpful and professional in every way. This really helped the actual trek run smoothly and made it so enjoyable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, a magical moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As stated above, Very very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes. Be prepared for very changeable weather, hot weather at the foot of the mountain, heavy rain and cold and snow on route to the summit during September. The Refuge will be very very basic, with no heating and limited power for lighting

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Danielle Clifton

    Mount Toubaki

    We love this experience, it was challenging however so insightful to be immersed into another culture and to experience a trek through the Atlas Mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to base camp

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for night time climbing
  • Reviewed July 2018

    Amazing trip in an incredible country

    Had never been to Morocco before and I must admit it took me by surprise. I'm not sure what I expected really but it was so much more than my expectations; I'll certainly be back. I arrived in Marrakech the evening before the normal arrival day, Exodus booking me into the arrival hotel and arranged transfer from the airport which simplified things. Climbing Mount Toubkal itself is a fear challenge in such a short time and I was worried about my fitness. Abdul, our guide, though insisted we all took it slowly; which we did, and we made it. It's tough, but entirely doable. Loved the stay on the mountain in the mountain hut, though didn't sleep much, which meant the 3am rise was actually a relief. Heading off in the darkness, with just the small patch of light created by your head torch is an amazing experience, only beaten by standing at the summit. The quality o food on the trip was amazing, given we were on the side of a mountain. Lovely, fresh food and lots of it; believe me you will need it on summit day. After the long descent we'd have eaten most out of house and home, but there was more than enough to satisfy us all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Setting off in the darkness, in my own little bubble of my head torch light.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was incredible. Always smiling, chatty and proud of his country. He talked to us about his country and its customs, his life but was also interested in ours. He couldn't do enough for us all throughout the trip. Dinner in Marrakech on the final evening was amazing and he's a pretty good singer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A water bladder is very useful; I actually had a bladder and a water bottle, the bottle I regularly topped up whenever possible. Head torch is essential for the early morning climb. A wide brimmed sunhat, or something which covers your neck, and suncream also. I would also recommend walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great first experience with Exodus, it won't be my last. Very smooth and using local guides really gives a feel for the country, which in my view will always make it a better experience.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Julia Porter

    Brilliant weekend

    A brilliant adventure, and all in a weekend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obviously getting to the top, but the walk through villages, drinking tea in small hostels along the way, and the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hesham was a great leader, tolerant and friendly who would go that extra mile for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exodus as usual took care of everything, so much to pack in to a short space of time. I wondered if the tour of Marrakesh would prove too much but was really interesting, again so much to see but makes me want to go back!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Susie Morton

    Beautiful but brutal (on the legs)

    A whirl wind trip with amazing memories! Amazing scenery, welcoming locals, a fun group and a mountain worth conquering!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top!! The altitude on such a short trip (up and down the mountain) does play a factor on this trip, so making it to the top felt a huge achievement. The views were breath taking, literally!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aziz was an excellent leader - very well organised, calm and coped well with a large group with differing abilities/needs. Aziz also had an excellent team around him, we were well looked after by the full team and the food was fantastic (both in terms of quality and quantity).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even though this is just a weekend trip, don't underestimate how exhausting it will be. My fitness levels were ok but I would have enjoyed this trip a little more had I trained a wee bit more beforehand. That said, everyone had sore legs the day after the climb, it's a long ascent/descent day! Change money at the airport in Marrakech (after security but before going through to landside) as you can't change money at the hotel. Or use ATMs near hotel (which we did without any issues). Consider doing the trip in early April to get the chance to climb on snow (without it being full on winter) for me having to use crampons added to the fun of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's great to see exodus offering weekend mountain breaks. Definitely consider this trip if your time is tight but also consider doing the 8 day trip if you've got the time available - I'd have loved to have stopped to explore more of Morocco, even for an extra day or two.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Joseph Mateo

    An inspirational climb up Mount Toubkal

    If you're seeking a challenge and awe inspiring scenery, this climb is hard to beat. Easily reached from the centre of Marrakesh you get a real sense of the region, it's beauty and it's Berber heritage. This is my fifth time in Marrakesh and this climb has been the most memorable of all my visits and one that I'll remember in future years.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being above the clouds is pretty damn spectacular. The experience is quite surreal as you've had to concentrate on the climb, putting one foot in front of the other for hours. All that is forgotten in a moment as you see your first glimpse of sunlit mountains surrounding you and cloud below. An awe inspiring sight and a real privilege to have been able to set foot on that ground. If you can do that, you can do anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was amazing. Never stopped smiling throughout the trip. He ensured we were all safe and taken care of at every stage.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For the night at basecamp I would definitely take ear plugs with you as sleeping quarters are cosy and some people talk in their sleep...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Doing this trip has given me a real craving to do more of them. I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for a once in a lifetime experience.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Louise Gilchrist

    Mount Toubkal - long weekend

    I absolutely loved my trip, which included the relaxed delights of Marrakech (sitting on a roof terrace drinking mint tea and visiting a beautiful tiled hammam) and lung-busting strenous walking and scambling to the summit of Mount Toubkal. I'm so grateful for the wonderful guides who helped me during the stay, particularly Abdi who held my hand and helped me get up and down the moutain! I'm also really grateful to the other members of our group who were funny, inspiring and kind.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    About half way up Mount Toubkal, turning round and seeing the sun slowly illuminating the slopes below: one by one they turned from black to orange and suddenly we found ourselves illuminated in the blazing African sunshine. It was a strange sensation - as we were so high up, the air still feel cool and chilly so I kept my woolly hat on!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Just amazing. Our group leader was my cousin Jae and our main guide was Abdul. Both were wonderful - patient, kind, encouraging and they worked really long hours to make sure everyone on the trip was having the best possible time. Thank you Jae and Abdul.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as possible - I wouldn't have made it to the top without lots of help from Abdi! Also, bring walking poles. And I'd recommend buying some goodies from Mrs Mills Bakes Cakes to help you keep your energy up!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to say thank you again - I'm going to remember this trip for years and years...
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jennifer Mullen

    The top of North Africa!

    I took part in a private group's 5 day trip climbing up Toubkal. From the moment you start climbing up through the Berber villages, traversing walnut tree groves and zigzagging into the hills, you are won over by the beauty of the Atlas mountains. Make no mistake, you have to work hard for the views, therefore sturdy boots and plenty of water are essential. Read the trip notes, as items such as a head torch are also non negotiable (I suspect the lady I saw wearing Ugg boots probably wasn't an Exodus customer, as they gave us excellent preparation advice on what not to wear!). This jouney will challenge you physically and you do need a good level of fitness. Some parts are a bit rough, such as scrambling over boulders and scree, but the view from the top is breathtaking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not a religious person at all, but watching one of the guides quietly praying on a rock surrounded by dawn mountains felt like I was inside a Khaled Hosseini novel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul was a legend with his local knowledge, patience and cheeky smile. Mohammad set the pace on the way down....you could tell he had done the climb 450 times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit, break in new hiking boots well in advance and don't forget to sun screen your neck (1 week later mine still matches my fuschia bedroom curtains!)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus genuinely go the extra mile to give their customers the best possible experience. The passion and knowledge of their staff are outstanding.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445