Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

69 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Janet Hoptroff

    A Very Special Safari

    My first Safari, and every day a new magical experience… photographing wildlife. It really was exciting and a privilege to be in close proximity with so many different animals in this wild beautiful conservancy (and with few other tourists around).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To be allowed to share the home of these incredible animals in the company of Wildlife and Photography experts Paul Goldstein and Chris Packham really was ‘something very special’… and inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein and Chris Packham, our leaders, are Wildlife and Photography experts and inspired us to take brilliant photographs… They gave some great advice on achieving that ‘special’ shot.. They were delightful company, helpful and full of suggestions to help us improve our photographic skills. They made the holiday very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love Wildlife and photography, this is the Safari for you! Go and experience this fantastic trip, the magic of the animals (there are so many to see) and the comfort and fantastic food of the Bush Camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It really was exciting and a privilege to be in close proximity with so many different animals in this wild beautiful conservancy (and with few other tourists around).
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Eric Bradley

    Kenyan safari @ Kicheche

    This was an excellent trip, full of amazing wildlife and beautiful scenery. The accommodation, food and facilities were also top notch, as were all the staff. I cannot fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all good but watching cheetah, lion and leopard cubs playing (not together, I might add!) were definite highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides are amazing and know their environment supremely well. Paul, the group leader, was excellent as usual and needs no further plaudits from me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to eat a lot of excellent food.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Robert Ordidge

    Inspired by the inspired.

    My latest trip to the Masai Mara was as good as all the others. Each trip and each day of every trip are different. New and different animals and birds to photograph and new situations and interactions.There is so much variety that you never know what is around the next corner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the big cats and their young ones interacting with each other. Yes good photographs but also memories of just watching them playing with each other in family groups and the affection shown by the mothers. I am describing lions, cheetahs and leopards. My impression was that the population of the big cats has increased since my last visit in 2016.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is different from other leaders of wildlife photographers. Can be rude and charming at the same time, but never spiteful. He gets in the way when photographing but probably because he instinctively seems to know what is going to happen before it does happen. He also seems to get better pictures. You travel with him because of his passion and knowledge for photographing wildlife. However it is not just about Paul. He has a very, very good team supporting him, the drivers in particular. They know the country. I am pleased that Paul frequently asks for their advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wildlife photography demands being in the right place at the right time. This means that you need to know the ways and thoughts of your subject. Sometimes you need to sit and wait and watch. Always travel with a dedicated group of people and that applies to the other members of your group. If photography is your aim then go with fellow photographers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will be going back to the Masai Mara.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    alan watts

    jonathan scott safari

    outstanding in every way. kicheche camp just superb - accommodation, service, friendliness and food all as good as it can get. hard work though getting up at 5.15 every day and being out till 6.30 in the evening. no issue though - that's what we signed up for. our drivers / guides were absolutely top notch and really great to be with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    just all the wildlife, scenery, colour and open spaces. the maasai village part made the trip very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    brian from canon just great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    not really

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    yes. given the distance and cost, i think it would be great to offer optional 'add on' package(s) at the end, e.g. 2 days in nairobi or a beach just to relax / learn something more about the country. this trip is intensive and tiring and you need a bit of r&r before going straight home.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Christopher Bruce

    Kicheche Bush Camp

    Absolutely brilliant safari. Paul Goldstein and the local guides went out of their way to ensure we had the best experience. The camp itself was superb and the food was the best we've had on any trip. The camp managers, Darren & Emma, were very friendly and welcoming and added to the overall experience. We would happily go back tomorrow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The number of big cat sightings, which was due to the spotting skills and patience of the guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is a legend. Inspirational and great fun, you learn so much just from being with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get on the next plane out. You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Cheryl Morris

    Leopards, leopards and yet more leopards - with cubs

    Another amazing week in the Masai Mara. Don't be afraid to go during the "rainy season". We had so many top quality sightings of leopards with cubs, lions with cubs, a cheetah kill and a new born elephant. Of course this cannot be guaranteed but we had very good fortune as well as maxing the time out searching for photographic opportunities. The guides were excellent and worked hard to get us into the best position for photos, whilst respecting the animals and ensuring they weren't disturbed by our presence. Lovely food and comfy tents - hot water bottles in our beds and in the jeeps were well-received.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending quality time with a new-born elephant who was learning to walk and suckle and very playful leopard cubs

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein - you can read all about him in other reviews. Without doubt, you won't find a more hardworking guide, determined to maximise your experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Brace yourself for getting up around 5am and not returning to camp until 19.30 - every day. This safari isn't for wimps.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Cheryl Morris

    Leopards, leopards and yet more leopards - with cubs

    Another amazing week in the Masai Mara. Don't be afraid to go during the "rainy season". We had so many top quality sightings of leopards with cubs, lions with cubs, a cheetah kill and a new born elephant. Of course this cannot be guaranteed but we had very good fortune as well as maxing the time out searching for photographic opportunities. The guides were excellent and worked hard to get us into the best position for photos, whilst respecting the animals and ensuring they weren't disturbed by our presence. Lovely food and comfy tents - hot water bottles in our beds and in the jeeps were well-received.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending quality time with a new-born elephant who was learning to walk and suckle and very playful leopard cubs

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein - you can read all about him in other reviews. Without doubt, you won't find a more hardworking guide, determined to maximise your experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Brace yourself for getting up around 5am and not returning to camp until 19.30 - every day. This safari isn't for wimps.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Haydn Adams

    An unbeatable wildlife photographic experience .......................

    I had done the same trip once before when I barely knew how to use my camera. Six years on I felt I could fare much better and I wanted to put myself to the test. This wildlife safari gave me every opportunity I needed to exercise my skills. Fantastic wildlife viewing under the tutelage of an internationally renown expert in a wonderful environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several incredible wildlife experiences, one of which was to follow a leopard and her cub for nearly two entire days. But if I had to single out just one incident it was a stand-off between approximately twenty inquisitive giraffe and a completely unfazed cheetah. Paul, our leader, said that never before during his extensive career had he seen anything quite like it - and photographs of the event made into the UK national press.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is an expert in his field and he sets very high standards while constantly providing helpful advice and feedback. As I think the trip notes indicate, this is not a trip for the faint hearted. But Paul and his team of highly skilled drivers know how to get you into exactly the right place at the right time to capture those incredible wildlife moments. Paul is also an amazing raconteur. During quieter moments out in the field the time is filled with interesting anecdotes or amusing stories and it is exactly the same over lunch and dinner. Paul is an excellent group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip delivers exactly what is indicated in its title. This is a photographic safari and it is best suited to those fully familiar with their photographic equipment. If your main goal is to see as many animals as possible, stopping for every zebra, impala and other animal on the plain, you might prefer to look elsewhere. If you want the opportunity to take spectacular wildlife photographs then this is the trip for you. But patience is required. Long hours are spent out in the field and there are inevitably periods of relative inactivity, sitting in vehicles parked out in the African sun, waiting for that special moment. But, believe me, the results are well worth the time and the effort invested.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Jackie Freshfield

    The best safari yet!

    A fantastic, immersive safari experience that gets you close to the wildlife for some great photographic opportunities, with a five-star luxury camp to enjoy when not out on the Mara plains filling your memory cards. This is not a relaxing holiday, but it is the best way to get close to the incredible wildlife and to take your photography skills to the next level. It’s also lots of fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is tough but I can narrow it down to three: First night, waiting for sundowners, Paul had tracked a cheetah and anticipated it would climb a Boscia tree. We positioned our vehicles so that the setting sun would be behind the tree and waited. Sure enough the cheetah climbed up and we were able to capture it as a silhouette against a stunning Mara sunset. Cheetah kill: we spent the morning waiting for Malaika and her 3 sub-adult cubs to hunt. They eyed-up some wildebeest in the distance and we positioned the vehicles for the best vantage point, but in so doing, we disturbed a hare that ran off at speed. The cheetahs spotted this ‘amuse bouche’ on legs, made chase and executed a perfect kill right in front of our vehicle. Adrenalin overload! Leopard with cubs: Bahati, a beautiful leopard, moved her 8-week-old cubs to a new den, carrying them one by one in her mouth. A very rare sight, and a privilege to watch. And then there’s the Scotch egg that also deserves mention: voted Top Mara breakfast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I’ve been on a few trips with Paul and know that he takes no prisoners. My two friends and I were called the ‘Sunshine Variety Club outing’ because we were so slow with our cameras; (which we thought hilarious). So if you’re too slow, or you don’t know how your camera works properly or you are not prepared to take risks with your photography then you may get an earful. However if you want to learn, then Paul will pass on hugely useful tips and advice so that you will never take just a plain old ‘record shot’ again (though of course we amateurs need at least one of those!). Paul is harder on himself than on his guests; if he calls it wrong (admittedly this is rare) or is himself too slow to get the correct lens on (it happens!), then the air will turn blue. His objective is for you to get the great shots, he works hard to make this happen and his good cop/bad cop approach pays dividends in the end. Wallflowers need not apply… But bring a thick skin with you, and throw a few filthy jokes into the mix and you’ll be fine, and what’s more, you’ll go home with a gallery of photographs that you will treasure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get to know your camera – not just ‘auto’ but all the other buttons too. Bring the best lens you can, and hire one if the eye-watering prices for new glass are beyond you. You will regret not doing so once you are in situ: lens envy is not good. I had a Canon 7D and a 1D with a 100-400 lens but was v envious of the 500mm lenses. However, I got some great shots once I’d got all the various bells and whistles on my camera sorted – and used the bean bag for stability (they are in all vehicles). Bring a wide lens too as the Mara skies are simply stunning. One of my favourite shots has no animals in it at all. In addition to your usual pro-style camera bag for taking as hand-luggage, bring a softer day pack for using in the vehicles: these will get dusty and need to be crammed under the seat - big camera bags will be too bulky. Bring enough memory cards or a laptop/hard drive to download – you will take many more photographs than you could ever imagine. A laptop/tablet is also useful so you can review your photos at the end of each day; there are plenty of UK plug sockets in the mess tent for recharging but no sockets in the tents which are solar powered (no hairdryers required!). Take note of the luggage weight limit and pack accordingly (though our luggage was not weighed for the internal flight). Ballgowns and tiaras not required as it is v casual in camp. Pack light and take advantage of the awesome laundry system (taken in the morning, washed and ironed by 5pm). Take a fleece for the early mornings as it is cold out before the sun rises, but the heat of the midday sun can be scorchio, so bring sunscreen. I stashed an energy/nutty bar in my day-pack each morning, as there can be a long wait until breakfast if you are on a stake-out!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an expensive safari, but you get what you pay for. The brilliant guides at the Kicheche camps know every inch of the plains and can spot a big cat from a mile away. The vehicles are especially adapted for photographers and the guides are photographers themselves, so they know how to get you in the right place for the best shots. If you go on a trip with Paul, he will work you hard but your photography will improve and he is committed to finding the best wildlife, whatever it takes. Be prepared for long days, but they pay off. We stayed at Kicheche Bush Camp and were treated like royalty; the staff are fantastic and the food is amazing, but beware the scales when you get home!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Jacquelyn Turner

    A Baptism of Fire!

    Be prepared to hit the ground running and to keep going - Everything you may have read about his trips is true. Paul and the fantastic Kicheche guides work really hard to get you in the right place at the right time - leaving camp in the dark to be in the Mara when the sun comes up backlighting a cheetah and her four cubs, or watching the most amazing river crossings that even the National Geographic would be envious of. Even if, like me, you are a complete novice you will get lots of helpful advice. Just when you think you will practice photographing a bee eater in flight (thinking Paul is far enough away not to notice) the radio will crackle from three vehicles away and you will be told your shutter speed is too slow! But at the end of the day you will learn a lot and come home with some photographs you will be proud of and want to go again. This was my first trip with Paul and I have already booked another one - although I will have to try and master slow panning before then!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The river crossings were phenomenal especially watching a leopard stalking along under the river bank to take an unfortunate wildebeest. Watching a two month old elephant with no control over its legs or trunk running about and ending upside down with all four legs in the air. Just about everything else - lions and cubs, cheetah and cubs, leopard and sub adults ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul lives up to his reputation and works really hard to help you get the most out of the trip. His enthusiasm and energy is legendary and he is not joking about 14 hour game drives (although they never seemed that long!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for lots of helpful advice and take an ipad or laptop as he likes to have a look at what you are doing. He uploads his photographs after each game drive - take a look at them and see how to really get the best shots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On top of everything else you get to stay in a fabulous camp with terrific staff and top guides.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445