Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

9 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony Wilson

    Does what it says on the tin - and a great deal more!

    A truly inspirational holiday, helped by a very accomplished leader, a super friendly group, awesome scenery, great weather and good food. The Iguazu Falls extension was the perfect end to a truly wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have two : 1 ) Seeing the Fitz Roy and Cerro Torre range from above El Chalten with hardly a cloud in the sky on the last day of the main holiday. 2 ) Iguazu Falls (on the extension)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good at his job - friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, a great laugh - just a fun guy to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the "Estancia Cristina" option from El Calafate on the "rest-day". Do the Iguazu Falls extension.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Roy FRANCE

    Classic Patagonia

    On reflection, I would of liked there to be more trekking. Land only booking is 11 days of which only 6 are trekking. I fully appreciate the size of the region and the need for transfers to see "it all" but given the distance travelled and the cost involved I think DAY 7 should be a trekking day rather than a rest day. There is plenty of time to rest during transfers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Las Torres

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was outstanding. 10/10 only just covers it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    consider arriving a day early to see a little bit more of Buenos Aries. Take flip flops for the showers in the refugio's

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The mini and full ice trek on Perito Moreno are a full day excursion 8am-6pm. Our party signed up expecting a 4pm return with a view of visiting El Calafate before dinner but that was never the case which was made clear once we were picked up.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Chris Jennings

    Stunning Patagonia

    Where to begin. I've been on some amazing trips but this tops the lot! Exodus clearly do their research, so you are guaranteed awesome walks with excellent competent guides and as described accommodation. The variables typically are a) weather b) the group c) how you get along with the group / guide. On this trip all these were far exceeded - I have memories that will always bring a smile to my face, a sure sign of a great trip. The nature of Patagonia ensured we got to experience all types of weather conditions, high winds, heavy rain, sun, hot, cold, but importantly we were lucky and got to see and do almost everything on the itinerary, and where cut short there were alternatives to keep the group occupied such as the micro brewery in El Chalten :). Excellent beer! The group came from all walks of life and had interesting stories to tell and quickly gelled over our common interests that all brought us to this holiday. Finally, our group leader Tomas, what can I say apart from repeat an earlier review comment, the guy is a legend!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights, having a shot of Jim Beam on reaching the viewpoint at 'Mirador Britanico' on day five. The views of Fitzroy and Perito Moreno Glacier that take your breathe away, soaking up the vast landscapes and enjoying the journey, exploring cosmopolitan Buenos Aires to the large quantity of ice cream and steak I consumed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I'll repeat again Tomas is a legend! Always on the look out for people's well being (include those not on the group!), from simple things like pointing out open zips on rucksacks to dealing with angry people in dorms, that was a simple misunderstanding (nobody from the group I must add!), to carrying peoples bags. His knowledge and spoken English were both excellent and he had many an interesting story to tell of prior jobs and life experiences. After the trip extension I caught up with him for my final evening in Buenos Aires and again he was hard at work attempting to address flight issues for the next group (caused by the G20!), I don't think I seen a harder working guide. Socially he got to know the group very well and our sense of humour, and I hope that we, and the group, stay in touch.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Highly recommend the trip extension to Iguazu Falls, particularly if you have time to see the falls from both sides, Argentina and Brazil. Note - I packed 3 bags, one for this extension (t-shirts, shorts etc), one for Chile where you have to carry everything and one main rucksack for the rest of the trip. Worth nothing that you are not carrying all your stuff as much as you think in Chile.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try the Ice Cream in El Calafate it is superb. The local beers are good as well and if you have time possibly add extra days to explore Buenos Aires. Finally, if you like 80s / 90s rock you're in for a treat!
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Steven Porter

    Classic Patagonia Trek

    A thoroughly enjoyable trekking holiday. Fantastic scenery, the company of like minded walkers, in a variety of accommodations in both remote and popular locations in Patagonia, Chile and Argentina. The services of excellent tour and local guides made the experience feel both authentic and comfortable. My hat off to the whole team from Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pinnacles of Mt Fitzroy behind the glacial lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was extremely competent and helpful, rescuing me on a very difficult long day in the heat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love spectacular mountain scenery, you'll love this trek. If you have the chance, take the Iguazu extension. This was fantastic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand we were very lucky with the weather we had. As a consequence I carried alot of gear which was unnecessary - additional fleeces, gaiters and extra waterproofs. This extended to towels which were provided at all accommodations but we weren't told.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Tim Hurst

    Patagonia Rocks (pun intended)!

    Views of Torres Del Paine and Mount Fitroy are breathtaking. We were very lucky with weather throughout and the trekking was very enjoyable with scenic views at every turn. My inspiration for going was pictures of TDP and it didn't disappoint. However, Mount Fitzroy is just as impressive - if not more so. Overall I didn't think the walking was overly demanding (weather helped of course) and am surprised it was a 5 rating. I believe next year, the real tough day is being split into 2 days?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had looked at pictures of Torres Del Paine for a few years and couldn't wait to trek to this area. I was concerned that weather would impede the views but as we entered the National Park, what cloud there was gradually dissipated to reveal the true majesty of these amazing rocky peaks as we got closer and closer. Could not have been a more dramatic or fulfilling. For me, the rest of the trip was a bonus - but what a bonus!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomas Toro our group leader was a true legend! Looked after us like a father even though the average age of the party was probably 30 years older than him!! Very conscientious, friendly, personable, knowledgeable, good humoured. The list could go on. Seemed to hear every voice, wanted to ensure our tour was memorable. Nothing seemed like too much of a problem. Carried an extra 10kg rucksack for one person who was temporarily struggling. Well done Tomas!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful when reading trip notes. The link I had for final joining instructions was for 2018. This has changed quite a bit. The first long day trek on the 'W' walk in Torres will be split into two days next year and the 2 day trip to the Estancia El Condor has been dropped. With regard to the former, the long trek was tough but not over-demanding. I am surprised it is category 5. I enjoyed this challenge - though we were exceptionally lucky with weather throughout. The packing instructions are also quite confusing as others have said. I took a big holdall with everything in. Left stuff at El Calafate and continued with a 40litre rucksack which I thought was about right for the W walk. Usually in Argentina you can get away with a smaller day rucksack. I travelled with Air Europa to Buenos Aires as organised by Exodus because of problems I had with my own flights on a different occasion. However, it is definitely worth paying a bit extra to go BA to BA
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Emma Thomson

    Classic Patagonia

    This trip was fantastic! Even though we didn't see many of the most famous views due to the cloud (there's always an element of luck where mountain weather is involved) it was still an awe inspiring place. The mountain scenery was dramatic and atmospheric in the mist and the lakes in Torres del Paine were the most beautiful shades of blue and turquoise that changed in the light. No two days of walking were the same, the landscape was varied and we never tired of seeing another glacier or the condors soaring above us again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would be impossible to pick just one! The mountains appearing and disappearing through the mist in the French Valley was eerie and beautiful. Seeing the lenticular clouds forming above Los Cuernos also sticks in the mind. But I think my favourite moment was at the estancia when we hiked up to a ridge where the condors nested and saw them soar beneath where we were standing. I could've watched them all day! And the even without the condors the view of Lago San Martin from the ridge was stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pepe was fantastic... His knowledge about the region was impressive and his enthusiasm and passion for trekking were inspiring. He obviously spent a lot of time making sure everything was organised for us and the trip ran smoothly, though he did this so discretely it would've been easy not to notice. Pepe made sure that everyone got what they wanted out of their trip, whether that was to take it slow, soak in the scenery and take lots of pictures, or to set a more challenging pace. And because we were always with local guides no one was unaccompanied. But most importantly Pepe was brilliant fun, we had a great laugh!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The packing instructions seemed a bit complex but you should take a holdall or pack with all your gear, then when you go to Torres del Paine to do the point to point trek you can leave this behind securely and only bring what you need for the W-trek in a smaller back pack (~30L-40L capacity). Prepare for all weathers and heed the advice to wear layers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was initially worried about joining the group on my own but after the first evening any worry I had was forgotten. We all got on well and everyone was really inclusive. Finally, although all the local guides who joined us for certain parts of the trip were fantastic, Sarah and Camilla who were our guides in Torres Del Paine were particularly fantastic! Much like Pepe they were enthusiastic both about the place they worked and about Treking. And they were brilliant fun.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Ashita Patel

    Classic Patagonia Treks

    The breath taking landscapes/views, whether you were sitting in the bus or hiking. Don’t forget to look up!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Las Torres from a distance as we were driving into Chile and then actually getting to the base . It was same feeling when I saw and climbed to the base of Mount Fitzroy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was everything that you want in a guide and more. He was knowledgeable, organised, very friendly, accommodating, possibility the most patient and considerate guide I have met! Our other guides, Paula and Sebastian, were equally excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes are confusing, as my fellow hikers have suggested, - Activity Level of 5 is very valid and nothing to do the accommodation nor the fact that you need to carry you stuff for a few days as suggested by the guy I spoke to in Sales. - you definitely need a bigger pack, max 40L, rather than a day pack - you will have to carry kit in your pack for all weathers so layer up. We had good weather but it did include sunshine, rain, snow and lots of wind - Essentials to pack, definitely bring a pair of flipflops/jandles/tongs/crocks, pain killers, dry bags - ATMs are rare so load-up with dollars

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put of my the long hikes, the views are so worth the effort. At the end of the hike there is usually a cold beer or nice glass of wine to look forward.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Helen Gentles

    Classic Patagonia Treks

    A fantastic trip which I would have given 5 stars until we had major delays with our return flight. The scenery is stunning and the walking excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Numerous moments but seeing Mount Fitz Roy for the first time was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was a first class leader who looked after us all very well. He was very knowledgeable and had developed good relations with people wherever we stayed so the trip ran very smoothly. The local guides were also excellent. Paula in Chile deserves a special mention as she was outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You never need to carry all your luggage on a hike. I had a 36L day pack which was just ok, perhaps 40L would have been ideal. Take a travel towel for a couple of the refugios.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The first day's hike took us 12 hours so was a tough start. As Andrea has said, we felt that an extra day in Torres del Paine would have been beneficial. I won't be flying with Air Europa again. Our return flight was cancelled, we were taken to a hotel but then pretty much left in the dark - finally flew out 60 hours later.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Andrea Kolatchew

    Classic Patagonian Treks

    This is a physically demanding but very rewarding holiday which takes you to a beautiful part of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The remote Estancia El Condor, located on Lago San Martin, was a sensational final location.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier Espil was excellent, very committed to his country and patient in trying to provide for all the needs of the group. As well as completing the physically arduous treks with us, he had to organize a series of guides in specific places and he seemed to have good relationships with many people (drivers,guides, hoteliers,etc.) who contributed to the success of the trip. He went out of his way to make all the details work. I really liked the way he took care of individual tips from a kitty - this is often not handled well, in my experience, but he worked it out in a fair manner on our behalf.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of packing and repacking to do, a sensible day pack is necessary (30 litres seemed to be about right). Keep your head torch with you, as it is necessary in the refugios and on the camping night. Bring enough US Dollars to be generous with tips and to be able to have coffee and extra meals. The ATM's are often not working. Tourism (money) is essential to enable these remote areas to sustain viable programs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group I was in thought that an extra day doing the Torres Del Paine (W Trek) section would have been desirable, as we were all a bit stunned after the first 13 hour, 30Km day. Most of the inconvenient injuries , (knees and feet) started from that day. An extra day would still make the trek within the 2 week holiday window.
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445