Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

123 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    valerie crompton

    Where the wild Things are.

    I have just returned from this trip which was very good indeed. We were a very diverse group and I don't think we were very easy for our leader Anthony but he coped very well with a difficult person and a demanding situation. H was helped by the crew Melo an excellent cook and Ronald and KT who worked so hard and were always kind and helpful. We were all struggling with the tremendous heat and I would not recommend october as the best month. it was exceptionally hot, drinking hpt water was something we had to get used to, to keep from dehydration, very diddifcult indeed, We had elephants in camp which was a treat and at night could hear the lions and hyeanas outside the tents. We saw numerous birds and wonderful lions also saw a cervil a real treat. Dont expect it all to be easy but it is worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mokoros, the elephants and the surroundings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Anthony was very capable in sometimes difficult circunstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please take wet wipes because you cant always get the chance to wash, sunhats and scarves which can be soaked and wound round the neck in extreme heat. rehydration powders were very useful too. You dont need many clothes but as it is hot and sandy everything gets covered a few pairs of socks are good as they get very dirty. Just read the trip notes on clothing and that should be enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You must go with the right attitude you will be part of a team so looking out for others safety is important, I broke all my nails trying to do the tent zips up they are very difficult, just a warning!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joanne McMullan

    Cape Town to Victoria Falls Lodging

    Have just completed this epic journey and can honestly say it’s been one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever taken. It’s really more of an expedition than a holiday, but for that very reason delivers so much. We covered around 5600km in 3 weeks so that involves a lot of early starts and long days spent bumping about on dusty, rocky roads. The diversity of experience however makes it totally worthwhile - from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town to the red sands of Namibia and the quiet majesty of the Okavango Delta.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the most inspirational moment was when our guide Timon organised for us to have dinner with a local family in one of the townships in Swakopmund. I have never been made to feel so welcome by complete strangers in my entire life. The memory of the hospitality, good humour, excellent food and crazy dancing will stay with me to the end of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Timon was absolutely superb, demonstrating great patience, empathy and outstanding leadership throughout. Some of my best memories are as a result of the nights we spent listening to his stories from years of experience in the tourism industry - all told with such energy and genuine enthusiasm. He was also an exceptional cook - anyone who can rustle up Chicken A La King from the back of a truck in the dust and heat in the middle of nowhere gets my seal of approval! A real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please, please come with an open mind and prepare to step out of your comfort zone. You will stay in a variety of places - some very comfortable, some less so .... they’ll all be clean and safe. That’s all you need. Also, take the advice of your guide/s. They are all well trained and know the conditions/circumstances on the ground. You’ll get so much more out of the trip if you just go with the flow and let them lead the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Africa is a huge and diverse continent. There are sights and sounds you’ll never encounter at home, and some traditions and conditions that might make you uncomfortable. The landscape is incredible and the food is top quality, but for me it was the people who made my trip - from fellow travellers to our crew and the local people along the way. If you take the time to listen to their stories, your experience will be even richer. Oh, and finally, take more $$$ than the trip notes suggest - I think the amount recommended somewhat underestimates how expensive the countries visited actually are.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Bridget Bennett

    Exceeded all expectations

    This trip was fantastic from beginning to end. The scenery, particularly in Namibia, is stunning and amazingly varied, and the wildlife viewing (again particularly in Namibia) outstanding. We saw lions mating, black rhinos fighting, several visits by herds of elephants to the waterhole in the Etosha campsite, a cheetah with cubs, and a huge number and variety of other animals. All four boat trips were great, and very different from each other. The desert scenery, en route as well as at the main places we visited, was beautiful. Camping was more comfortable than I'd expected, with camp beds, as was the truck, and we had great food throughout. Also the hotels in Swakopmund and Cape Town were excellent. And of course our guides (Ende, Timon and Tariro) were all excellent - good company and so knowledgeable about not just the wildlife but the culture and history of the countries we passed through. Timon was an excellent and inventive cook, and Ende kept us all safe (and got us to the front for the climb up Dune 45!), while Tariro kept us entertained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many inspirational moments to settle on one, but if I had to choose, seeing herds of elephants on several occasions visiting the waterhole in Etosha was probably the very best.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Gordon Towner

    AMAZING

    Wow what a way to see botswana on Brians fun bus,from start to finish our every need was met by Brian and his crew,having never camped before we were worried about bush toilets and open fire cooking and wild animals wondering about in the camp,but all of these things are part of what makes this adventure special the bush toilet was fine and discreet the open fire cooking was unbelievable best lasagne fish and chips and beef fillet potatoes and green beens i have ever tasted thanks to Abis the cook ,there are long dusty journeys but is a good time to get to know the other travellers in your group and nature seems to provide all the way to your next destination,the camp beds were comfortable and the kettle always boiling,sitting around the camp fire at night listening to all the sounds and looking up at the night sky really is awe inspiring,the game drives were amazing and Brians knowledge of every animal bird tree plant insect and animal poo was incredible there was nothing we asked that he didnt give a full explanation about, And we saw every animal except cheetahs and Rhinos ,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To many,wild camping mokoro rides herds of Elephants on walking safari,bull Elephant not wanting to let us pass in mokoro,wild dogs with pups ,leopard, hyenna family playing with pups ,lions vic falls white water rafting inthe Zambizi,night sky at salt pan Abis cooking and Brians infectious laugh always happy

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brian makes this adventure special,always happy helpfull and cant believe his knowledge and love of his country,Top class guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it,you wont regret it ,amazing experience
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Rachel Cox

    Trip of a lifetime

    I always wanted to go on safari, but had never been camping before, so I was a little apprehensive about that. But camping was all part of the adventure and it was lovely gathering around the campfire in the evenings. It also makes you feel very immersed in the wildlife, e.g. hearing lions roar as you're going to sleep and wondering how far away they are! So if you're worried about camping, just do it, you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were countless amazing moments on the trip! Being right next to a leopard that used our vehicle to hide behind to stalk an impala. Finding two cheetahs. Seeing two female lions sneak up on a giraffe while it was drinking water! Hippos crashing out of the bushes and through a herd of elephants, to get to the water to mate. A hippo blocking the path of our mokoro in the delta (scary, but exciting!). Numerous sightings of lions, including lion cubs playing and suckling from their mother. Being so close to a male lion he was sniffing the air around our vehicle! And absolutely countless sightings of elephants, hippos and 148 different species of bird.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brian was amazing. He is very experienced and so knowledgeable about how to find the animals and about the animals themselves. All of the other guides know him too, which obviously helps to exchange information about recent animal sightings. He went above and beyond to give us great experiences and we got so close to a lot of animals!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ladies, bring a buff/headscarf to control your hair while in the vehicle. A fleece is a must, as it gets very windy in the vehicle. I had a shewee and an empty plastic bottle for emergencies and I did use them one night when there were too many eyes staring back at me to use the bush toilet! Babywipes are useful to wipe away the sand before bed. Toilet paper is provided, but make sure to bring plenty of kleenex for the stops by the side of the road (I also used lots of tissue blowing the sand out of my nose!). I brought a diary, which was a nice way to document the trip and keep myself busy during downtime. Bring flipflops and a travel towel for the shower. It's possible to get laundry done in Victoria Falls (In-Da-Belly, down the road from the lodge, only charges 5dollars/bag), but it's not feasible in Maun due to time constraints, so just plan ahead for that. Make sure you have US dollars for Zimbabwe (visa and spending money). Oh and maybe don't opt for the scenic flight if you're in any way prone to motion sickness... I vomited and most of the others felt unwell too (although maybe it was a particularly windy/turbulent day when we did it).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If anyone is curious about the facilities (because I was), the "bush toilet" is a hole dug in the ground, with a metal frame and toilet seat over it. This is surrounded by a large metal frame with canvas material attached for privacy. There is also a shovel and a pile of sand to cover your business after each use. The "bush shower" is a canvas bag of hot water suspended from a tree and a mechanism so you can control the flow of water. This is surrounded by a metal frame with canvas material attached (similar to the toilet). They get the job done anyway and it's all worth it for the wildlife experiences!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Helen Brown

    Safari of a lifetime

    An amazing trip that got better and better each day. The wildlife exceeded all of our wildest dreams made possible by our guide, Brian and 'Top Gun' our specialist local guide in the okavango delta. The food cooked by our chef on a log fire was incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost missing a leopard as it was so close to the track. Having an angry hippo charging through the water towards us whilst in a makoros canoe. Getting up in the night for the bush toilet and looking for red and/or green eyes!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brian was an excellent. extremely knowledgeable guide. His team of a chef and two others were great too. Brian always went that extra mile to find the wildlife. Lions eating a kill, lion cubs suckling, hippos mating in the water, cheetahs hunting impala, a herd of cape buffalo being hunted by lions and so much more. My husband ticked off 148 different birds! Brian could identify the birds from a brief description or a wing pattern.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very early starts. Packing up camp in the cold and dark with no washing facilities on some days when wild camping was hard but made up by the incredible wildlife. When we were in the vehicle it was as if we were wearing invisibility cloaks! Definitely pack warm windproof clothes for the early mornings and take a head scarf/buff for when travelling in the open sided truck. be prepared to get very dusty/sandy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was my most grueling Exodus trip to date but also one of the most incredible. i couldn't believe how close we were to the animals when in the vehicle, in the boats and on foot.
  • Beyond wonderful

    I had visited eleven game parks on two continents, and spent twenty-six years trying to see a leopard. We saw four different individuals, close enough to get some excellent photographs. We also saw countless lions, two cheetahs and a serval, as well as lots of other game. The food that was cooked on an open fire was terrific, and it was a lovely group of like-minded people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many it's hard to choose one. Seeing two cheetahs giving each other a very affectionate wash and brush up. The stand-off at the OK Waterhole - when five lions approached the two elephants occupying it, the elephants weren't having it. The lions called for reinforcements, and another five turned up. So the elephants also called for reinforcements, and a third elephant arrived. We then watched them squirting the lions with water, and chasing them off now and again. The lions had to make do with a puddle at the far end of the waterhole. Seeing an adult male lion sniff out a tiny three week old cub. We watched with our hearts in our mouths, but he was a new dad and had been left to babysit. The cub wanted to cross the road, and dad tried to stop it without much success. He was very gentle, and it was a delight to watch. Seeing a serval, which our guide said was most unusual. And last but by no means least - a mother leopard taking a surprising lunch back to her half-grown cub - an African wildcat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Anton was very knowledgable, and extremely clever at driving round the back of the other vehicles to get a better view from the other side. He also knew when to wait - if nothing exciting seemed to be happening and he was in no hurry to move on, there was always a reason.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a small camping light for the tent, and lots of wet wipes. Also take a power bank if you have one, and as many spare batteries as you can afford. I have a camera trap, and I set that up on several nights so that I could see what was sniffing round the tents - turned out to be a honey badger and a hyena. If you need to go to loo several times in the night remember that it's not a good idea to leave the tent. I took a litre-sized plastic jar with a lid, and was very glad I did.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the fourth safari I have done in Africa, and the best by far. Magic.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Caroline Fielden

    Eletastic -more elephants than you can count.

    If you love seeing wildlife up close and personal then this trip is for you. It visits some of the best national parks in two amazing countries with a bit of added comfort. Each park has its own special characteristics - being in Botswana is like being on a permanent safari, animals can be seen on the side of the road as you travel from A to B; there is nothing more bizarre than having to slow down for a family of elephants or a herd of zebra - beats a flock of sheep! Any preconceived ideas you may have about Zimbabwe will prove to be wrong. It is one of the most beautiful countries I have travelled in - the parks are spectacular, from the rugged beauty of the Motopos to the sweeping plains of Hwange and the people amazing. It completely exceeded my expectations and I would love to return one day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was amazing, but a few stand out. Being a few metres from a group of five white rhino on foot. They were totally chilled and accepting of people in their environment. Sneaking into a tent 2 meters from a bull elephant who decided to visit the water hole outside. He made for an interesting night as he enjoyed himself breaking trees just the other side of a piece the canvas. The most memorable moment was the visit to the Painted Dog Sanctuary. The staff there were so passionate about what they do and as a bonus there was a pack of wild painted dogs who regularly visit one of their family who was too injured to be released back into the wild.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan was passionate about the wildlife around us and very knowledgeable. If he didn't know the answer he has his library of books. He arranged a cake and bubbly to celebrate my birthday with the stunning sunset of the salt pans as the back drop. Our driver Sifiso was amazing and so much more than a driver. He joined us on all the early morning game drives and was as excited about the animals as we were, plus an awesome pair of game spotting eyes. He also had a wicked sense of humour and enjoyed spending time in the our company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few hints: 1. Currency in both countries is almost impossible to get hold of so arrange a credit card which can be used with out fees when abroad if you don' already have one. 2 Take torches and power packs for the frequent power cuts and a South African round pin adaptor as you will only find UK plugs in Victoria Falls. 3. Immigration at Vic Falls in a nightmare. You need to buy a multi-entry visa at $70 (not the Univisa Exodus suggests). 4. Finally, take the plane flight over the Delta and helicopter over the Falls. Both are stunning. We booked our helicopter flights before leaving with Bonisair - as we wanted a longer flight - however this is the company that the tour guide suggests if you book in situ.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go, you won't be disappointed. This is the stuff holidays of a lifetime are made from.
  • It is an awesome trip with lots of memories

    As mentioned in previous reviews it is a full on but very worthwhile trip. From start to finish there are so many experiences. It is a trip for you if you want to see wildlife but have a bit of comfort. The camping trip was fabulous - not roughing it too much - everything is done for you - you just have to sit back and enjoy - Rowan even bakes a cake. I was a bit apprehensive about the bush toilet - but its was no problem and the bush shower quite fun. We didn't manage to see any lions - but that is the luck of a safari - you are venturing into their habitat so nothing can be guaranteed. There is not much down time - except during the long travel between places but that is undertaken in a very comfortable mini bus. Plus there is always something to look at - or playing who wants to be a millionaire! We didn't win a lot! The group of people we were with were great company and thus also helped to make it a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to decide as it was a fabulous trip with lots of experiences - Seeing the leopard in Chobe NP, watching hundreds of elephants get together in the water hole in Hwange NP, coming up close to Rhinos in Matobo NP or the fabulous camping trip in Okavango Delta or seeing Victoria Falls for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rowan our guide and Sifiso our driver certainly lived up to the good reviews others have previously placed. Nothing was too much trouble, Both shared there experiences and information Sifiso was a great driver - so we felt safe all the time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember your torches and head torch for the camping plus if there is powercuts - which occurred in Zimbabwe. Remember to take a travel plug adaptor for Botswana/South Africa you will need it to charge up anything. Also take an additional battery pack for charging your phones ( if used as a camera) whilst camping. It does get cold on the morning game drives - take layers - hats, gloves, windproofs etc you will need them! Also the evenings can get cold. We took lots of photos - but also you need to take time to experience the wildlife not through a lens. If you are thinking of doing this trip - just do it - you will not regret it. It is fabulous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We took items to give to schools - ideas from pack for purpose - which we left at the village school where the villagers came from who poled our Mokoro canoes and looked after us whilst camping. They need more colouring pencils, exercise books, counting cubes and other items for teaching maths, plus games fro small children to play. We also paid extra for the flight over the Okavango delta which was awesome - seeing the animals from above and gave us an appreciation of how little water there was at the time we had our trip. They were still waiting for the water to come down from Angola. We also all did a night safari where you are not guaranteed to see anything but we saw elephants, zebra, etc The helicopter ride over Victoria falls is also a must.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Byers

    Full on every fay

    A full on safari/trip through Botswana and Zimbabwe - not for you if you need 10 hours sleep every night. The highlight without doubt is the trip via Mokorro canoe and camping trip into the Otovango delta. Some long days travelling in the mini bus but all very worthwhile.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Otovango delta

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 00 97150 5550 445