Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    David and Jennifer Douglas

    An Amazing Week Walking in the Picos de Europa

    We spent an amazing week in the Picos de Europa from 25th May to 1st June 2019 and both enjoyed it immensely. Even though our fitness levels were different, we were both able to benefit from the varied levels of the walks, some of which had optional climbs at a more challenging level. The scenery was stunning and was further enhanced by our leader Ignacio/Nacho's local knowledge and ability to judge the walk to suit the weather. This ensured we gained the most benefit from the scenery as some walks would have otherwise been spoiled by the mist due to their altitude. We enjoyed the many sightings of vultures, eagles, Asturian Mountain Cattle, goats, sheep, horses and chamois. The family run hotel Torrecerredo was very much understated as the food and service were exceptional with a very homely atmosphere. It is a credit to Jim and Pilar for such a well run hotel. We were presented every evening with a four course evening meal of Michelin Star quality. Picnic lunches were individually prepared to order and wrapped for us ready to take on our walk. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel also offers a laundry service which most of the group availed of. We were very fortunate to be part of a fantastic group of 16 people who got on extremely well together and encouraged and supported each other throughout the week. The hotel bar was great to relax in after a day's walking with a bottle of local cider, beer or gin and tonic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me (David) it would have to be the climb to the top of Mancondiu peak at 2000m as you had to scramble to get to the top where the view was magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Ignacio/Nacho was exceptional in every way and was humerous, informative, patient and helpful. He was genuinely a very nice person who looked after everybody irrespective of their ability. He was able to evaluate everybody's individual strengths and weaknesses and advise accordingly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few weeks practice hill walking with walking poles beforehand would make the whole experience more enjoyable. Don't hesitate to book this holiday as we both found it amazing and thoroughly relaxing.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Mark Brookes

    Picos de Europas

    What a fantastic trip, loved it. Probably the best group I've ever walked with, stunning location and not what you would normally associate with Spain. The Hotel Torrecerrado was brilliant, lovely family atmosphere, Jim and the gang were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The food was sensational, high end restaurant quality, innovative and delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tackling my fear of heights, did a couple of scrambles, walked through a stunning canyon with a properly vertical drop, a good few metres down, but the group and guide were great, really looked after me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was great, really entertaining, spoke a lot about the history of the area and very considerate to the not so able members of the group, possibly to the detriment of the fitter people within the group as it was hard to walk at our own pace, but this is a minor detail.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is graded as a moderate 3, but in my opinion it was slightly more difficult in certain places, possibly a 3-4, which some of the group struggled with. Oh and take some ear plugs, most of the cows have bells which can get a bit tiresome when your trying to sleep at night, but please do not be put off by this.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rachel Speight

    Pico's May 2019

    An amazing trip assisted by the complete gelling of the group...everyone put in 100% from day 1 to make it a great success

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the peaks with the encouragement of the group and the tour leader...….amazing views and sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb!! Well informed and aware of the local environment - ensured that everyone was safe at all times and answered all questions and queries Nothing was too much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ear plugs for the cow bells if you are a light sleeper!!!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Matthew Butcher

    Food was excellent

    Food was well above the standard I expect. Well presented and varied menu. Lovely views and good company. Shame we had rain on the gorge walk

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking over the snow drifts

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Managed the various speeds of the walker well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take walking sticks. First time i used them but made life much easier
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Dave Johnson

    Fantastic experience!

    The Picos de Europa is a great National Park to experience wonderful mountain ranges at a moderate hiking grade. We were very fortunate to have an excellent tour guide in Nacho who really looked after us and filled the days with great facts on the local area and wildlife. The walking group was a wonderful mix of ages and backgrounds and we bonded from Day 1. The hotel accommodation was good but I have to highlight the excellent customer service from Jim/Pillar and their team. The food each night was simply fantastic...4 courses which would grace any London establishment. Also, a great bar to socialise in after the walks! Thanks everyone!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking in the wonderful mountain range of the Picos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was a great group leader...full of wonderful local facts, history and knowledge of the surrounding wildlife.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Terry Brown

    Cow bells and Cuisine......

    This would be a 5* PLUS trip for me, but it has to be mentioned that it does lose a star because the cow bells on the very beautiful but very close cows in the adjacent field kept us all awake half or most of the night which is not helpful when you are mountaineering the following day! It seems Jim the hotel owner can do nothing as its not his field. Having said that the hotel was great, all staff were happy, helpful and always willing to please. The food was really amazing again 5* plus which you don't expect on a walking trip. It was truly one of the highlights. So now what to choose? the wonderful group of people that came together in an inspiring way, all having fun, helping each other, laughing a lot and enjoying every minute of our trip. We were a true team. So what's left? oh yes our wonderful, kind, caring fun leader Ignacio or Nacho to us. He is great and truly looked after us all and was enthusiastic and knowledgeable too. Finally of course the walking! Well, what a place. Glorious scenery, magical walks, varied and interesting. Some were a bit tough for me especially when hot but that was my age and ability rather than the level. I've been on many Exodus trips this one is right up there as a great one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was inspirational - can't pick one. Walks were so varied it's hard to pick. Maybe, just maybe the wonderful G&T's that awaited us at the hotel at the end of each days walking.............

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, fun, friendly, caring and not only that he was very handsome!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take ear plugs - they are essential. I'm sure notes suggests poles - not every one used them but I needed them. A fan - it gets hot up there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really great trip and as always I cannot decide which was better - the group or the walking!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    karen lane

    Such a beautiful place

    Excellent walking in the mountains. I loved the fact that it wasn’t crowded and on one day we didn’t see anybody else on the walk. The hotel has mountain views and the food plentiful and tasty. The owners Jim and Pilar are lovely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the stunning Cares Gorge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    ‘Nacho ‘ was excellent. Knowledgeable, sociable, organised. Couldn’t have asked for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cows have bells on them . Ear plugs may be useful at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would love to go back if Exodus did an alternative itinerary with some different walks.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Simon King

    Great week in the picos

    An absolutely outstanding trip! The hotel was very comfortable and the food we had was outstanding. The picos themselves are beautiful and every walk was spectacular. Our guide Alfonso was excellent and the whole trip was extremely well organised. Thoroughly recommended. I hope to return to this beautiful part of Spain soon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the walks were excellent but the gorge walk was a particular highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Alphonso did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get a decent waterproof if going in April. My one was anything but waterproof. Good shoes or boots are a must. It can get very warm quickly from quite chilly mornings so wear layers. I would go out of season at the start or end of the year again. Our tour had the picos to ourselves but when we were leaving on the Easter weekend it got very busy. Make sure you try the local blue cheese, it is spectacular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Many thanks for such a great break.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alan Gelson

    Varied walking in The Picosd'Europa

    It was probably the most challenging trip that my wife have done together and despite being in our 70's we felt equal to challenges with Alvarro's encouraging approach. The walking varied from forest trails to gradual ascents with some sce=rambling on the penultimate day. The Cliff walk on the free day to Llanes was delightful and a contract with the mountains. The Carres gorge was very special and we were fortunate to be there at a cool time of year and with few other walkers, We have been on half a dozen or so trips with Exodus and this was up there with the very best

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scrambling to the top of a 2000 metre peak

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was conscientious knowledgeable and utterly committed to our safety and enjoyment. He was one of the very best we have travelled with- almost up there with Sarah Bull.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to be challenged but there are many opportunities to opt out if the going gets too tough. The Hotel may appear a bit spartan and basic but the quality of the service and the food and the overall spirit of the place is exceptional.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All praise to Jim and Pilar for creating something very special
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Janet Milne

    Spectacular limestone scenery

    This was a very interesting walking holiday with spectacular views, wildlife, flora and fauna. The trails took us into some very quiet valleys away from the main tourist routes. The hotel was excellent in terms of service, accomodation and meals. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Despite being in September, there were still some orchids in flower. We often saw vultures soaring above. The scenery was quite spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Jairo was very knowledgeable of the area and shared with us his passion of the Picos mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always in mountainous areas be prepared for all weathers! On the rest day we did the coastal walk to Jannes which was very pleasant.
Call us on 052-4811569