Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Edward Bird

    Knockout trip!

    A really wonderful trip, I could not find fault with it, even if I wanted to. Namibia is a fascinating place to visit, the scenery, wildlife and people make it a delightful destination. The itinerary is good and the trip is the right length.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting eating 'al fresco' in the evening (after a day tracking a rhino and watching a breeding herd of elephants) when we spotted a lioness and her cub passing by about 40-50 metres away! Surprised even our experienced + seasoned guides. Brilliant. The next day our guides (and us) tracked and found them again. Also the visit to a Namibian primary school was unmissable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two guides (Koos + Mathias) and they were absolutely first class. They were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and good fun. I cannot recommend them enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the trip involves a lot of driving on Namibian gravel roads + off-road tracks, and can be a bit rough and tiring. However, if you want to go to some of the less visited spots and see wildlife that is still genuinely running wild, then for me, it is well worth it. Also it is hot in Namibia in November, typically into the mid to low 30's during the day on our trip. On the plus side the nights were cool and made sleeping comfortable. For the primary school visit you can take exercise books, pens etc to donate. but our guides also gave us an opportunity to buy some before visiting (very useful as books/paper can be heavy).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support team (Magnes + Simson) were also first class, they were so efficient, every day we would return to camp and they would have everything set up. They made the camping a very enjoyable experience.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nick Ward

    Beyond the usual

    The first thing you need to know about this trip is that you will be spending a long time in the back of a Land Cruiser getting an 'African Massage'. So what do you get in return? First, some wonderful, mind boggling and ever changing scenery. And second, the opportunity to see some of Africa's most iconic (and rarest ) animals in their isolated and extreme home. On our trip these included Desert Elephants, Rhino, and Desert Lions (walking past our camp and interrupting dinner, would you believe). Even if we hadn't seen these rarities there would still have been more than enough to make for an excellent trip - the best of half a dozen or so we've made to southern Africa. Fancy going beyond the usual? Then give it a go! Excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Desert Elephant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris - one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Absorb every moment - it'll stay with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't go if you're just interested in seeing Africa's over-hyped 'big five'. This trip takes you much deeper than that. If you just want to go and see what's out there', then this is for you.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Penny Linemann

    Namibia 4WD and Desert Safari

    This was one of the best Exodus trips I have been on and this was largely due to the great organisational ability of Koos and his team of Andreas, Magnus and Simpson. These guys were so helpful and good natured and dealt with every situation that arose in a truly professional way. We saw the most incredible scenery, and the camping experience was amazing. It really was glamping compared to some of the trips I have been on, and our tents were up, beds made, and everything ready for us every night when we arrived back from safari. The food was fantastic and the camping areas were great, especially when we were wild camping. All the food was inclusive, even when we ate in cafes and small restaurants and there was no restriction on what we could order. All we had to pay for throughout the trip was drinks and souvenirs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to see a pair of rhinos in the Palmwag Concession and could creep up to within about 50 feet of them because we were downwind. They had no idea that we were there. We also saw large groups of desert elephants in the river bed in the Concession and were able to get up very close to them without disturbing them. The waterhole at Etosha was fascinating but a little bit spoiled by people talking on their mobile phones loudly when other people were trying to concentrate on watching the elephants and rhinos which came to drink. Still a great thing to see though. I have never seen as many giraffes in such large family groups as we did in Etosha, and the amount of wildlife we saw there was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Koos Hartslief was a terrific leader and apart from having a great sense of humour and an inexhaustible supply of jokes, was unflappable in unexpected situations such as when the vehicle broke down - he was able to arrange replacement 4WDs at short notice and this was in fact a blessing as the substitute vehicles were far more roomy and comfortable than the original. He knew all the best places to camp, and he and his team provided us with such an incredible experience through their knowledge, professionalism and attention to detail. The food was varied and delicious, and even the packed lunches were great. I couldn't fault any of the team and they certainly provided one of the best camping and safari experiences I have had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just relax and enjoy it, you will be in very good hands.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    J Wilkinson

    Enjoy ALL the animals!

    Had dreamed of going on safari for many years so made the most of this opportunity by choosing camping and 4WD so I could get as close to nature as possible. The animals arrived immediately - not many countries you encounter warthogs, baboons and rock monitor lizards transferring from airport to the only hotel on the tour! Loved being close to animals in their natural habitat with a guide who knew his stuff. Elephants, lions, cheetahs, gnus, giraffes, a variety of antelopes, 2 different types of zebras, black rhinos - yes, but our guide spotted the small stuff: over 120 different bird species; a skink; beetles; desert rat; ground squirrels; scorpions - fascinating creatures. Tents are comfy enough; the bush showers n toilets work well enough; good bush cooking. Was sad to return from the semi-desert to the game reserve campsites in Etosha. In the bush we viewed the Perseid meteor shower in the blackest sky, millions of stars I'd never seen before, the Milky Way with a bunch of jackals cackling round the hills!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 2: 1) tracking for black rhino we spotted 2 not far from the track (in Palmwag Concession). We kept downwind and followed them on foot to get closer. In a few minutes we were standing on rocks observing these rhinos eating breakfast just 25 feet from us. 2) following a young male elephant in the dry river bed at Hoanib, the bushes stirred and more appeared. In a few minutes we were completely surrounded by 16 elephants with 2 calves and 2 juveniles. We stayed calm, quiet and the herd stayed calm with us - I blubbed! :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our original guide was a good cook n storyteller. Due to a vehicle fault that developed on Day 1, our guide got it sorted swiftly and 2 4x4 replacements appeared, along with a 2nd guide to drive our group of 3. A bird expert and from the local tribe (Damara), his knowledge of the flora and fauna added to our enjoyment of the safari.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Water is highly precious in Namibia. Shower with less; expect cold water in the mornings; don't expect 2 showers per day so pack wet wipes for early morning starts. You're provided with juice/instant coffee/usual tea at breakfast/lunch or late afternoon. If you want different teas, juices or alcohol, the guides tell you where there are shopping opportunities, so make a list. We also bought extra fruit and dried fruit/nuts - everyone enjoyed healthy snacks on the road. Take a good camera for safaris - I did my research before going. Chose a bridge camera with max zoom so no trouble changing lenses in a very dusty environment (60x zoom). Delighted with the results - great memories. Buy 2/3 memory cards, not just 1 mahoosive memory card (if lost/stolen/damaged, you lose all pics). Take a powerbank to recharge camera/phone - recharged via USB in the 4WD. Enjoy each day for what it brings - if you wish it away hunting only to snap a leopard, then you miss all the other nature. Breathtaking landscapes too. For this trip you don't need walking boots - trainers or trekking sandals are fine for walking/ light scrambling over rocks at Twylfontein and Waterberg Plateau.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only event that marred the trip for me was the arranged visit to a school. Badly hosted, I felt uncomfortable for the children being brought out to see us, the School Principal had no idea who we were, why we were visiting, and the chap leading the visit harped on about needing funds. I felt I was being tapped for donations to a church-run school and seen as a 'benefactor'. It was not about 'meeting the locals'. Recommend Exodus vets these visits better.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Sanna Daw

    Full service glamping

    An excellent trip going to all those places in Namibia you never knew you wanted to explore in more depth

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking on foot to get a closer view of a black rhino AND 4 hours enthralled by the waterhole in Etosha, where we kept meaning to go to bed but more and more animals kept arriving. An evening I will remember for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans was a jack-of-all-trades and a master of all... he looked after us all with understated attention, was up to cook bacon for breakfast, drove all day, guided us and answered no end of questions, was excited to find the wildlife, either made lunch or kept us company at various restaurants, then jumped out and organised dinner. Then served it to us. There was nothing that was too much trouble... apart from he wouldn't let me go swimming in any of the waterholes (I checked at each and every one).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light... you don't need a sleeping bag, towel, or too many changes of clothes as you can wash at lots of places and it was so hot everything dried overnight. Take a head torch. Take spare camera batteries as we only had chance to recharge 2 things at a time (in the jeep). There is free internet in a few places, but you are totally off grid for around 4 days. Don't bother with Duty Free, it was much cheaper at the bottle store, and buy plenty of stocks at the bottle store. You can get soft drinks and snacks most days in small shops or petrol stations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This could be seen as a trip for those who have been to the main sights in Namibia but the 6 of us had never been before and loved it. You are wild camping or in fairly exclusive camp sites most of the time, so the first night in Etosha feels a bit over-populated (but we were at the water hole most of the time anyway). Gerson and Wilson were great and our camp was always set up with the fire going when we arrived. They worked so hard for us and I must admit we didn't lift a finger. I would even go on this trip again, there's always something new to see.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Daphne Lewsley

    4wd Namibia

    Trip was well balanced building through the whole experience of wild camping in the desert to the amazing wild life in Etosha. The crew who looked after the camp and the two guides who as well as acting as drivers and guides were also very able chefs could not be faulted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think probably coming on a herd of about 30 wild elephants thoroughly enjoying bathing in a waterhole but the floodlit waterhole in Etosha was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable , hard working and experienced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need a South African power converter if you have anything other than the odd camera battery to charge. The camp sites have points and the inverters in the land cruisers are limited. I am glad to have done the Swakopmund extension but given the long journey in the crowded shuttle to get there and back it really needed another day and the option to book activities before you arrive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes weren't accurate for our group but the itinerary was fine. Camp site on at Twyfelfontein was poor but would not have changed anything else.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Jo Dolan

    4WD Desert Explorer

    A fantastic trip - which more than lived upto my expectations. We covered a lot of miles, and got to see so much of this fascinating country, its wildlife and people. We travelled in Toyota Land Cruisers which had been adapted - so the roof lifts to give excellent game viewing to all passengers. The support vehicle carries all the tents and camp equipment - so space is never an issue!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's impossible to say, as there were so many, each time we thought the wildlife could not get any better, it would. However for me it had to be sitting in the middle of nowhere under the clear star filled southern hemisphere night skies, no light pollution and no "man-made" noise. We were also lucky enough to be able to view the Desert Elephants in the Hoanib river from a hill-top, which gives a totally different perspective on these fascinating creatures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Like Graham said, Hans and Richard were just great. They did a fantastic job of looking after us, I am sure Hans could see Rhino even before they came over the horizon! nothing seemed to escape his eyes. I would also add that the support crew were fantastic, each evening when we arrived at camp, the tents had been erected, camp beds made up, fire lit, table set etc etc etc. And then each morning we moved on, the reverse, after breakfast as we headed out on our next adventure the camp crew would pack up and move on to the next site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep take plenty of batteries and memory - you will be amazed at the number of pictures you will take. In the group I travelled with most people took over 2000 pictures. I'm not much of a photographer so I used my binoculars most of the time. The tents, bedding, towels, toilet-rolls etc and just about all your meals are provided, so yes pack light. We travelled in September - and at times it got incredibly hot - so if you don't like the heat, choose the time of year for your trip carefully.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some of us in the group found that we had different trip notes - so make sure you do your homework. One of the earlier reviews commented on the long drives, which yes there are some - however with frequent stops, stunning scenery, great guides, the well prepared Land Cruisers - the journeys are very much an integral and enjoyable part of the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Graham Johnson

    Superb trip!!

    This trip delivered exactly what I had hoped for. Namibia is a huge and rugged country and this is an ideal trip to get beneath the skin of it and get close to nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots, but 12 rhino at Okaukuejo waterhole in Etosha at night was spectacular. Tracking a rhino on foot was an unexpected bonus, a late evening vantage point on top of rocks in the Hoanib river watching elephants passing below was magical. The wild camps in Palmweg were wonderful, food exceptional and camp facilities extremely comfortable. Finally on our last day in Etosha we were lucky enough to see a leopard at Klein Namutoni waterhole in the morning. We returned there for sunset, and right on cue 2 rhino appeared. What more could we ask.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans and Richard were true professionals. Both extremely hard working, bearing in mind they drive, spot game, prepare lunch and then cook the evening meal. In addition, two great guys, sociable and instructive but also keen to interact with the group. I personally give them top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you read the trip notes right you will pack warm clothes, and after the first 2 nights you may well be thinking you've brought too much. When you get to the 2nd camp in the Palmweg you'll be glad you brought warm stuff!! Also, I don't know whether it was the heat or whatever but we all seemed to go through camera batteries at an alarming rate. The vehicles have charging facilities but you will need AT LEAST one spare battery, preferably more, for each camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The amount of wildlife, the spectacular scenery, the al fresco lunches, the wonderful camp stops ( provided you can ignore the overlanders in Etosha, but hey we were all young once!!) do make this a superb trip. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Debra Anthony

    Namibia 4WD Desert Explorer

    I can only echo what has been written in the review below. This has to be one of, if not the best trip I have made. The camping was excellent, under the circumstances far preferable to lodges, the game viewing great with each day bringing it's own wonders- bathing elephants, rhino, leopard, giraffe, zebra... If you are thinking of booking this trip but unsure just go for it you will not be disappointed. Pack light, there are opportunities for hand washing, everything is provided in the tent - sheets, blanket, pillow, hand and bath towel even a flannel! Don't forget a head torch, it's a must.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many, but seeing all the stars with no light pollution was pretty amazing
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Peter Rogerson

    Namibia 4WD Desert Explorer

    I had an absolutely wonderful time on this trip. Namibia is an amazing country with some breathtaking views and wonderful wildlife. Given the small population, it also feels very wild and remote and it's very easy to get off the beaten track and find yourself with a huge African sky all to yourself. The camping is very comfortable - with fold up beds and sheets in tents you can easily stand up in. The food provided is excellent and varied. Camping is the only way to see Namibia I think as you spend the evenings looking at the stars over a beer, and the mornings having tea while the sun comes up over the mountains .. simply wonderful (and someone else puts up and takes down your tent for you).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved visiting the Himba people & Etosha is amazing with huge quantites of wildlife in a stunning setting - I'd suggest it can rival the Mara as a safari destination. The landscapes around the Palmwag concession, and seeing the Elephants in the Hoanib River were also very special. We saw a leopard in Etosha too, which was a treat. Watching 12 Rhinos come and go around the floodlit waterhole in Okuquejo (1st night in Etosha) was also memorable. I think the scenery really makes Namibia special as although dry, it is surprisingly varied.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were Hans and Richard from Tracks & Trails, the local operator. Hans had led Exodus tours before, but it was Richard's first time. Both were excellent guides. Nothing was too much trouble and they cooked some amazing food and drove a VERY long way in hot conditions, jumping out of the 4WD and straight into camp to start working again. They constantly volunteered information and taught us a huge amount about the country, and basically, worked extremely hard, yet both still managed to be enthusiastic about everything we did. They were both among the best guides I have travelled with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. The trips notes are not quite accurate. The first night is in the Safari Hotel in Windheok and the second night, in the Erongo mountains, is not at Farm Eileen as the joining instructions suggest, but somewhere else, and according to the guides, a better campsite. 2. Alcohol cannot be bought or sold in Namibia on Sunday's, which is why the first night in the hotel (on a Sunday) is a good idea as hotels CAN serve alcohol and you are on the road on the second day, Monday, when beer CAN be bought for the subsequent six or seven nights before you will have another chance to purchase any. We bought a LOT of beer on the Monday to see us through this period - the guides were a little surprised by the quantity, but there was room for it on the trucks and there are powered fridges on the support vehicle to keep a day's worth cold each day. 3. You don't spend much money at all on this trip - when you do, everything is very cheap. Beer was less than a pound a can when bought in bulk and food also cheap. The Rand is currently about 20 to the pound, which certainly helps. 4. You don't need to take towels with you as these are all provided for the camping. 5. You won't have access to your luggage during the day as these are in the lockups on the 4WDs, so don't take things you think you "might" need as you will only have access to your day pack while driving. 6. The weather is hot during the day so shorts are better than long trousers generally, and while camping you won't need to be changing clothes all the time so pack light for this trip as you will be in a 4WD or a campsite for most of the holiday. 7. It doesn't actually get that cold at night either, despite what the trip notes suggest. There was only 1 or nights when you needed your fleece, in PalmWag and Hoanib when the wind gets up in the evening. In Etosha it stayed warm into the evening. I would stick with a fleece and long trousers for the evenings, when required and the tents never felt cold. Certainly, hats and gloves are not required (based on September departure). 8. On the last day on the way back into Windhoek you stop at a huge wood carving market where you can do loads of shopping - although bear in mind you are en route to the airport by that point. 9. You only spend around 1 hour with the Himba, so don't expect an immersive experience. It's more of a photo opp and a chance to buy some rather overpriced trinkets from the village which can transform itself in to a market in only a few minutes it seems. 10. There may be a little walking on rocky ground - we had a couple of goes at getting closer to Rhinos in Palmwag. I found an old pair of trainers fine for this so you may wish to leave your walking shoes at home if you are comfortable with some basic hiking. This also includes Twyfelfontein, which involves a walk to the rock paintings. If you are not confident, make sure you have some sturdy walking shoes, but otherwise, trainers will be fine. 11. you have to work hard for your wildlife in the Palmwah concession as the wildlife is very skittish, being so remote, so your initial photos may be of distant blobs or bottom shots. Don't worry too much as Etosha is very different with stacks of photo opportunities with much more habituated animals in much greater quantities. 12. In September, the sunrise / sunset times meant getting up and going to bed in the dark, so a light you can hang from the centre of the tent would be a good idea. 13. South African Rand could be used everywhere we went, so no need to buy Namibian at the airport if you can get a good rate for Rand before you go. 14. Don't worry about the camping if you've not done too much before, it's very comfortable and a great way to see the remote locations in Namibia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the most enjoyable trips I've ever been on. I loved Namibia and would really love to go back some day and I'm so pleased I chose the camping trip as I'm sure this is the best way to see the country.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087