Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alexandrina Duncan

    Unique

    An amazing and varied cycling adventure spent with a really lovely group and a fantastic local support team. This trip is filled with cycling challenges while riding both up and downhill on various terrain, cultural stops at temples and through villages as well as well deserved downtime by beautiful beaches. Wholeheartedly recommended to the adventurous curious minded cyclist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of Mt Ijen, camping under the starry skies

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wira is calm, knowledgeable, organised, always motivating and giving us notice before treacherous or difficult stretches. His team were perfect, worked very well together, cooking delicious lunches, preparing refreshments, fixing bikes and catering for our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train before this trip and expect to cycle in temperatures of 30-35C on a daily basis. The accommodation was very good standard, however be prepared for very basic facilities at camping and homestay sites.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Dona Wallace

    Great Cycling, Food and Sights in Southern Italy - Cilento & Amalfi Coast

    Fantastic trip. This was our first guided group cycling trip and our first trip to Italy. Loved the mix of cycling and culture. We enjoyed interacting with our fellow travelers very much as we shared the journey. There is a great variety of cycling with beautiful views throughout: from steady climbs, fun descents, undulating rolling and winding roads, long stretches in the quiet countryside, and exciting sections of busy but good flowing coastal traffic, Besides cycling, we also got to do some swimming and to boat into a lovely blue grotto. The food and scenery on this trip is really wonderful. We had amazing lunches in beautiful spots every day. Our bikes worked very well and were well cared for. On our final free day, Paulo led a (steep) hike up to Ravello and down to Amalfi. This hike into the orchards and quiet areas above the tourist-heavy centers was a beautiful trek that deepened our appreciation for the region's culture and history. Others in our group enjoyed their free day in Pompeii or Capri.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding up to the temples in Pasteum at sunset was a wonderful moment after a ~60km day. It capped a day filled with rolling on quiet roads, through small towns, swimming in the Mediterranean, and enjoying lovely food and drink.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Paulo, made the trip a pleasure with well-thought out routing and pacing of the day. Paulo was very knowledgeable and passionate about the region. We also very much appreciated Raffaele, who followed the group with the van, provided water and the bike mechanic support, and gave a lift on the few occassions someone in the group needed it. Often he helped guide us through busy intersections.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some climbing and descending. The trip notes are very accurate regarding the elevation gain/loss, distance and type of terrain for each day. Be ready to encounter the heavier scooter and car traffic on Amalfi coast so you are comfortable in this busier section.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Amanda Hemsworth

    Lots of variety and stunning scenery

    This was the second trip to Bolivia that Exodus organised, and there are still perhaps a few things that could be changed in terms of the itinerary, that said we had a brilliant holiday which exceeded our expectations in terms of what we saw and did. From crowded cities, to the countryside, the salt plains and iconic Lake Titicaca, with flamingos and lamas along the way. It is a very scenic and vibrant country with people dressed in fabulous colours. There is something for everyone in this trip, history, culture, nature and different food to try. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending a trip to Bolivia to experience all it has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without doubt the three day 4WD jeep safari to the Salar de Uyuni. We saw the train cemetery, salt flats which are half the size of Wales, lagoons, and cactus island. Some of the days were long, but we felt that we saw it all and as we are unlikely to go back then it was good to pack it in, although perhaps an extra day here would have been good. We had great fun taking optical illusion photos on the salt plains, as well as other surprises the guide and jeep drivers laid on for us. The scenery was just beautiful, I took a lot of photos but there were so many photo opportunities I could have been there twice as long !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was enthusiastic about his country and genuinely wanted us to enjoy it. His English is excellent and he explained a lot of things to us along with local guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely go if you are thinking about it. the trip notes say take lots of layers, this is good advice as its pretty hot at times, but did get quite cold also. I took far to much, there were opportunities to wash a few things out even though we move hotels regularly. Sun screen a must, particularly on the salt plains when some people got pretty burnt, hats and sunglasses to vital for here. We thought there would be lots of nice coffee in hotels at breakfast but often it was a jar of instant, so coffee bags might be a good idea. Be prepared to feel the effects of the altitude, most were tired and a bit breathless at times from it, its manageable though and the guides do look out for you and carry oxygen if it was necessary.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Terry Fannon

    Review of Cycling Morocco's Great South

    Itinerary: This trip leads through the Atlas Mountains, a geographically striking region formed with crumbling sedimentary rock (frequent rocks on the road). It has relatively few people, with homes nestled on mountain hillsides and very limited architectural diversity (and confusing abandonment of homes never explained by guide though asked several times). There are very limited crops (confined to irrigated areas). Traffic was generally limited but roads were very narrow with crumbling edges leaving limited space for bikes and vehicles and many potholes (especially down from peak on Day 3). Vehicles were consistently courteous and safe in passing. Inclines were long and steep, especially Day 3 (elevation gain 1009m to Tizi n’Test Pass) and Day 6 when ½ the group quit cycling. Wind was a major factor on Day 3. Some rain but not a factor. Day 6 included a long muddy road (under construction) no one was prepared for so everyone got muddy (why not load up the bikes to get around?). The bikes were fine: hybrids with triple cranks and disk brakes. Almost no facilities while enroute; no complaints including from ladies in group. No maps provided. Accommodation: This was diverse from rustic to exquisite. The group appeared satisfied with this mix. Service was generally very good. Food: Again some range with generally very good food and service. Most meals were included making overall costs for this trip very reasonable and a number of very good meals were had in our hotel (easy access after a long day cycling). Communication: This was the weakest element of the trip. Our guide, Marouane Bagaz, provided vague and sometimes misleading cycling information (how far; how steep) and provided little or no cultural or historic information. He routinely put off questions asked or gave mumbled responses. There was a mike in the bus but never used. This frustrated everyone. I left Morocco with no added understanding besides what I read or observed. This was, without question, the weakest cultural experience on any Exodus trip I have taken. Overall: I would not recommend this trip. The terrain is dry, hot and almost barren with limited interest among flora and fauna (besides goats). The roads are narrow, rough and hard on bodies especially wrists. The climbs are long and steep raising questions about whether this is a “4” or “5” trip. It is suitable only for very-trained intermediate and advanced rides. And, unless the guide situation is improved, I will recommend a number of other Exodus cycling trips with none of these caveats.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not competent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Find another Exodus trip. This one does not currently meet the Exodus standard of excellence for tour guide.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    David Crookston

    Cycle Namibia

    Great scenery and opportunity to see wildlife. Some hard hot slogs on slippery and dusty gravel roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery. Wildlife, especially rhinos at the watering hole at night at Etosha. Fantastic meals by chef McLeod.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent organizational and people skills. Knowledgeable and fit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Need to be quite fit and heat tolerant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Felt very safe and well cared for.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Richard McGaw

    Bucket list trip

    Everything was seamless. The balance was excellent: two days hiking, a day of Pompeii and Herculeneum, a hike, an optional day in Capri or Naples, and a closing hike. The hotel and its staff were welcoming. The views are stunning in Amalfi, and when you look back at where you came from you are amazed that you did it. I travelled to and from Agerola off the Exodus schedule and the hotel arranged it perfectly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide rescued an abandoned pup that we found on a hike. He made the effort to carry the pup until we came to someone who knew where it likely came from, and took over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. Sevario was enthusiastic, well prepared, indulgent of perhaps too many questions, made an effort to encourage people in difficult terrain, helped rescue one of our group who stumbled off the trail and fell down a steep slope, and led someone with vertigo through challenging terrain. I never expected that he would be with the group from morning till late in the evening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take the trip. Amalfi is breathtakingly beautiful. The walks in some cases are probably a little more difficult than advertised, but most of our group was 60+, and if you are reasonably fit you will have no trouble.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Val Manning

    Walking in Puglia and Matera in reverse

    The information about the trip was inaccurate. The length of the walks were longer than given in the information and the difficulty was underestimated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Trulli houses and Matera.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. She was very solicitous and very well informed. Her local knowledge meant she always took us to excellent restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Realise that the level of the walks in the holiday is harder than advertised and be prepared for this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am very glad we ended the holiday in Matera as this was definitely the climax of the trip
  • Reviewed October 2018
    JANET ALLAN

    Great times in Italy

    I flew from Manchester and made my own way to the hotel in Moneglia. The travel instructions were easy to follow. I met the rest of the group later that evening. Michela Wicks was our excellent guide. She put no pressure on us to do the walks and offered alternative activities. The walks were as tough as I expected but the weather was good for walking. We had lots of stops and time to enjoy the various villages. Michela took us to various restaurants at night in Moneglia but it was not compulsory to join the group. As a group we gelled well and enjoyed everyone's company. The Hotel Piccolo was very comfortable, a good breakfast choice and a small pool with waterjets to ease the aching muscles and knees. Bathing in the sea was also pleasant. The weather wasn't good on our day off so on Michela's advice a group of us went to Chiavari which was very interesting (although most shops and the cathedral were shut between 12-3.30). We had a lovely pre-dinner wine tasting one night which was included in the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Surviving the walks! I have trouble with my knees especially going downhill but we were never rushed. I enjoyed spending time with the group. I have done a number of group holidays and there has always been a good mix of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was excellent and wanted us all to enjoy our holiday. I certainly did.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The distances covered in the walks are not long but feel much further due to the ascents and descents. Walking boots are essential. If the weather is inclement(!) and the guide cancels the planned walk there is a good reason. The paths would be really slippery and dangerous. We were lucky. The trains are excellent for getting about. I like tea so always take a kettle and teabags away with me to have in the room. Don't expect nightlife!!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Jane Nelson

    My etna

    Excellent brake saw lots great experiance

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up Stromboli and mt etna

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent he was very good at explaining the volcanos
Call us on 1 844 227 9087