Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Flash Sale - Save up to 15% on any Guided Group adventure (and 10% on any Self-Guided adventure). Learn more

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kerry Daly

    Dramatic trekking in the mountains of Madeira

    First time Exodus traveller and I was not disappointed. Madeira was every bit as beautiful as I had hoped: sea vistas (with huge waves on our Day 2 coastal walk), exotic flora and fauna, and at times, dizzying mountain heights that take your breath away. People in our group of 12 were delightfully friendly and supportive. Excellent leadership on this trip. Overall, a very satisfying travel experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking the cliffs on the northern coast with a raging sea below

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre, our leader, is a native of Madeira and he was very generous with his knowledge of the history, culture and nature of his beloved homeland. As others have commented, he has a wonderful sense of humour, is very effective in bringing the group together, and went out of his way to check in with each member of the group to ensure that they were safe and content.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Given the heights and some the slippery conditions (we had several days of rain), trekking poles indispensable. Need to be prepared for changes in itinerary (we had two days that were changed) as the weather in the mountains can be unpredictable (ie. cold, wet, fog). Fortunately our leader had good back up plans.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation was comfortable. Breakfasts however, were very uneven - some excellent with hot buffets, others really on the skimpy side which wasn't ideal when you had many hours of hiking ahead.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Dave Butterworth

    A pleasurable assault on one's senses....

    A crazy, exciting and fascinating trip to Northern India. The trip was amazing, full of surprises, and took us into lesser known areas and small villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights and so many experiences, ranging from Kulfa ice-cream brought to our hotel one day, to advice on the best place to purchase a singing prayer bowl, to a visit to see His Holiness the Dalailama.....and loads more too! Much of the trip was off the beaten track and I felt we were honoured to be able to meet some truly lovely people at various places en-route, including at a Tibetan children's orphanage and a village with it's own health centre, recycling project, and support for women.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Phillippa, has, along with her family, lived in India for many years and consequently has acquired a wealth of knowledge and contacts, which assured us of a very full experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is described as leisurely...it is however "full-on", with some very early starts on occasions. Overall, a fantastic, rewarding experience not to be missed! Dave

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go there! You won't regret it!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Brian & Ann Lythgoe

    FANTASTIC TIGERS

    The trip was excellent from start to finish. We were met at Nagpur by Krishna who gave us information about the trip and introduced us to the other members of our group. It was a group of mixed personalities and could not have been better. We all got on very well. The drive to Pench Jungle Resort was a bit of a problem due to an accident in the road ahead meaning we arrived late at the Resort, but the staff had kept the Restaurant open so that we could have a meal before bedtime. On our first game drive we saw our first tiger, but saw no more tigers in Pench. We did see a leopard with its kill and lots of monkeys, deer and a large variety of birds. We saw one tiger in Kanha and another 6 in Bandhavgarh. All in all worth every penny!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the tigers in their natural habitat We also saw a leopard with its kill and two wild dogs chase catch kill and eat a fawn. It was exciting and you didn't want to watch - but you did want to watch! It was fascinating to see how the dogs worked to capture the deer. The tigers of Bandhavgarh were fantastic. On our first game drive in Bandhavgarh we saw a male tiger lying in the middle of the road, to be joined a few minutes later by a female. They both lay there for a while and we watched them as they moved from the road to the bush and eventually into the forest. We watched them for almost 2 hours. It was fabulous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna was excellent. He made sure that we were at the gates of the reserves early so that we were among the first to enter. He was informative and extremely knowledgeable about the wildlife and especially the birds. It was clear that he loved his country and gave us information and insights of life in India, including the local villagers and their lives. At Bandhavgarh he managed to obtain an extra game drive, by getting up very early to go to the gate for tickets. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for him. He showed great concern for his party of guests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a scarf or 'snood' to cover your nose and mouth on the game drives - it gets very dusty. Make sure you have the correct electrical adaptors - although the European two pin (round pins) do fit. It does get quite cold in the early mornings as you travel n the open-top jeeps. It is advisable to have several layers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In Pench there was a fridge in the room, but nt in Kanha or Bandhavgarh. A fridge in the room would have been useful for keeping water cold. The hotel in Agra was excellent but that in Delhi left a lot to be desired. Although the room was clean and comfortable the breakfast was very uninspiring The overnight train trip was not as difficult as expected. All in all, Exodus were a great Group to deal with and we would use Exodus again if we wanted to do something in their itinerary. The trip was worth every penny!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    SID HILLS

    walking northern cyprus april 18

    A very enjoyable week,good mixed group ,interesting walks and perfect<for walking> weather. The hotel was of a good standard and the staff very helpful,also only a 15minute walk to the harbour and castle

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    thursdays walk starting with 600 steps up to a castle. getting up there

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very well organised although used turkish time when telling us how long we had to go on walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Any later than april would be very HOT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The difficlty rating was optimistic 2, we did a 3 in cappadocia last year this was at least on a par with that
  • Reviewed April 2018
    adam wardman

    secrets of sicily: an amazing experience!

    This was a wonderful break. You stay at a number of very beautiful places: Scapello, Marettimo and San Vito La Capo. The walking is enjoyable but not too challenging. There are many opportunities to enjoy the food and culture of this part of Sicily; for example the town of Erice and the ancient site of Segasta. We also had a chance to spend an evening in Trapani and i would really recommend this too. I hadnt done self-guided walking before but really enjoyed it. We went in April and the weather was super. Not too hot so perfect for walking and little rain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The days on Marettimo were just awesome. Its a tiny place. a few hundred people, one bar and restaurant open (sure more open in the summer). The residence you stay in was lovely and the walks lead to amazing views. We particualr enjoyed walking along the coast to the Norman Castle, but it was also lovely going in the restaurant Il Veliero; the menu consisted of laocal pasta dishes and the catch of the day: so charming, friendly and delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As it was self-guided we only met him once. He was very friendly and positive about Sicily. They were very helpful when bad weather was forecast for Marettimo. Rather than have us stuck on the island (as the boat may not have run) they organised for us to transfer to Trapani early and spend the evening there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We ended our trip with a few days in palermo. This was fantastic and i really recommend it; a great way to round off the trip. Also try cous cous if its on the menu, eat lots of ice cream, visiting the tuna factory at Scapello is worth the walk, the B and B at San Vito La Capo is in quite a secluded spot which is lovely (the views from the garden at brekie are wondeful) but you may want to buy some supplies/snacks to take on your walks.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Oliver Mills

    Varied and exciting tour of a fascinating country

    An excellent 2 week trip exploring the culture, nature and history of a beautiful country which, despite its complicated history with war, was one of the most friendly and welcomes places I've visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspirational is not quite the right word, but I loved the first hike when we reached the top of a lookout point where all around you you could see mountains and lakes. I also loved cycling through rice fields.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phi was friendly, knowledgable and easy to talk to. He struggled to motivate the group when the overnight cruise was cancelled due to predicted poor weather, which never materialised, much to our frustration. I liked how he recommended local specialities at each restaurant, they were delicious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light and make the most of the washing facilities provided, as small bags are required for a number of stops. Expect wet weather in the north/centre and very humid sun in the south. Bring a poncho and be aware that the itinerary may be forced to change due to weather conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Growing up in England, you are not taught about the Vietnam War (or the American War as they call it), so learning about it in Vietnam was truly eye opening and horrifying. This trip combines culture, history and nature in equal measure and its multi-activity style meant each day was different and exciting.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Neil Baker

    Jordan - Thoroughly Recommended!

    A great experience, you get to see so much, from crusader castles to the Dead Sea and the delights of Wadi Rum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Well this comes down to two: - Petra, just amazing, nobody told me it was such a massive site. You will need a couple of days at least to fully explore. - Wadi Rum and staying over in the Bedouin camp, once again an unmissable experience. Just don't bother with the camel ride, that's just slow and boring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was just great, plenty of personality and did a good job of sheparding the group around. He did spout forth a lot history and I know sometimes his facts weren't 100% accurate but hey I wouldn't have it any other way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep the hardest part is the lack of alcohol, it's not illegal they just do not serve it in the eateries. So beware and brace yourself for an almost dry trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great quality of Jordan is the people they are genuinely warm and friendly, which always helps.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    David Brady

    Maximum damage, maximum fun!

    This was my first group ride and, as such, didn’t know what to expect. However, from arrival at the airport and meeting the group leader, it was obvious that this was going to be fun and a little challenging at times, mainly due to the heat and humidity. I have to say that the whole trip was very well planned out, with plenty of good cycling, fabulous sightseeing, food and drink sampling, with friendly locals along the way. Many happy memories, new friends and a longing for the next trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several of the amazing sights, wonderful temples, massive variety of great food; some good challenges on the bike too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is one of those people who make managing a group of 16 people, bikes, itineraries etc look easy. Calm assurance and reassurance, if need be, along with a permanent smile and sense of humour, helped us all through the cycling even when the going got a bit tough. He’s a great asset to Exodus and I’d recommend him for ‘tour guide of the year’ without a moments hesitation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own saddle and pedals if possible, as this can make a big difference to you; keep well hydrated throughout and eat sensibly.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    S J

    Cycling Puglia and Matera

    I have just returned from a fantastic week, exceptionally well organised and led by Michele our superb guide. Through his infectious laugh, confident and approachable manner he quickly developed an excellent group spirit. It was great to cycle through such a rich and varied landscape, visiting many UNSECO sites. He found amazing restaurants for us to eat at every night and organised a fantastic array of dishes for us to try. He was well informed about all the places we visited and for those that wanted to he would show us around.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The way the group of like minded individuals quickly gelled as a group and shared many life experiences and loads of laughs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb. This was my first trip of this kind. As a sole traveller he instantly put me at my ease. He was always happy and cheerful, ensuring everyone thoroughly enjoyed the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With the spring flowers, lack of tourists and a great climate for cycling April was a great time to go. Invest in a good pair of bib cycling shorts - well worth it!! The cycling was relaxed and you could cycle at your own pace.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    J John

    Comprehensive

    The guide was informative and well organised. We visited all the key sites in the week and had time to explore. Not a lot of time to relax, but the emphasis was on visiting the sites of special interest. There were two afternoons with opportunities to sit, by the Dead and Red Seas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash. Both places were huge and had so much to explore. The time available was insufficient to familiarise oneself with the area properly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was polite, efficient and friendly. He knew the areas well and how to get the most out of the time available. He also organised a couple of unscheduled treats for us - a picnic and an evening meal under the stars.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be surprised by early starts and having to keep to a schedule. A rucksack or light handbag is essential for day time use.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087