Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sarah B

    'Happiness from small things'

    ' 'Happiness from small things' is what we want to give our guests; peace and tranquillity from our countryside, and company with which to discover the secrets and beautiful areas of Garfagnana' so says the Agriturismo Braccicorti website - and this trip provided just that. I was a little apprehensive initially, never having done an Exodus trip before and because my own level of fitness wasn’t what it had been and should have been. Yet, those apprehensions dissipated when I met the group and discovered Tuscany. Great company in my trekking companions and leader, and kind hospitality from the family – an enjoyable and memorable break overall (despite the pain in my knees!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just stopping and taking in the breathtaking and spectacular scenery of the region, whilst walking or relaxing at the farmhouse. (and finding out that one member of our group had scaled Everest - three times!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz excelled at every level. In addition to being immensely knowledgeable and organised, she was incredibly industrious, understanding, caring, funny, helpful - and very, very patient! It was very evident that she was passionate about the region, the walking/activity and her role. I cannot believe she eats cake! A worthy runner up for the Tour Leader Awards in 2014 (check out the Exodus website!) – but very much a winner in 2018 ;-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore any apprehensions and go for it! Take mossie repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As others have commented - perhaps the trip could be extended to ten days? Or offer some dates for a ten days.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Gill Fowkes

    Excellent trip and experience with a brilliant tour leader - Nuts

    This trip was a great experience and the best cycling holiday we have been on to date. Our tour leader Nut was outstanding, he could not have done more to ensure everyone on the trip had a great holiday, we could not rate him more highly. The trip itself was well thought out and we covered so much in just a few weeks. The highlights included: Cycling in Vietnam, particulalry down the muddy tracks! the homestay in the Mekong Delta, the Killing Fields and the variety of food in each country. I would recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of all the people, the greetings from the local children and seeing Ankor Wat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was an outstanding tour leader, he thought of everything, he gave attention and checked on all group members and worked really hard to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. Looking after a group of 16 with a variety of needs and abilities is no mean feat and he handled it brilliantly, we could not fault him and he had a really positive impact on the enjoyment of our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip it is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing. Read all the info sent by Exodus and you will be well prepared.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Julian Hartley

    A well balanced adventure.

    A superb introduction to Peru. This was the first time we have used Exodus and we can’t wait to use them again. The trip way very professionally organised from start to finish. Cusco exceeded expectations...a surprisingly interesting city with lots to do and see during the day and a variety of good restaurants and bars. The group we were with were great fun and as well as having a common interest in the trip itself we soon realised we had a very similar sense of humour...which came in handy during periods of inevitable minor adversity. The Inca trail itself was perfectly planned with good food (no idea how the chefs did it really), porterage and general support. The walking was just challenging enough and the rewards in terms of scenery and sights were well worth it. Our guide, Julio, had the complete skill set...language skills,local network,man management and empathy with the group. He set expectations well throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As well as the clear thrill of realising we were actually at Machu Picchu the real thing for me was the way the team bonded ...due in no small part to the initial cohesive impact of Julio.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate...the complete skill set. He made it look easy...when I am sure it wasn’t.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers...it can be very cold and wet ...even in the dry season. Take lots of layers. Set up a Watsap group to share photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want a relatively short trip that gives you some spectacular scenery and one of the greatest sights on the planet (M C) whilst starting and finishing in relative luxury this is a great option.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ian Hudson

    A walk through a lunar landscape

    A five day walk through the land that allegedly inspired JRR Tolkien to write "Lord of the Rings". Go on your own journey to return your own one ring to Mount Doom. More volcanoes than you can count on both hands but no Orc's. Iceland has quite a high rainfall but not a problem for this trip because: 1) It didn't rain all week! 2) There is very little soil, so no mud, you spend most of the time walking over volcanic ash or lava!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking over a mountain of obsidian boulders/cobbles. For non geologists obsidian is a volcanic glass that appears black , shiny and breaks with sharp edges. Usually difficult to locate but here there is a whole mountain of the stuff. Being informed that Icelandic trolls are bad, big, don't live under bridges and turn to stone if caught in daylight. Familiar if you have read the "The Hobbit". Petrified Troll spotting was a highlight of most days. The company of a great bunch of Exodus clients.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gunnar is a very experienced Icelandic guide with a flexible approach to travelling in the mountains. The forecast of high winds early in the trip meant we we didn't use a couple of exposed campsites which made the trip more enjoyable, high winds and tents don't mix! He is a wealth of knowledge on the locality, its eruptive history and the Icelandic saga's. He even coached me in local pronunciation I can now say Eyjafjnallajokull .......(I think).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes the advice in them is good especially the bit about using duty free at the airport. Gunnar carried hot water flasks for lunch tea/coffee but if you a lunchtime cuppa soup person take your own flask and packets, plenty of hot water at breakfast. Strong winds over ash produce "dust storms", take a pair of close fitting sunglasses to keep it out of your eyes. Goggles would be a little OTT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is trip that will interest Geologists.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Richard Atterton

    Does what it says

    15 day trip travelling around Costa Rica discovering all it has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife close up. Being in the rainforest,amazed at the trees,vegetation and flower species.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe try to put your clothes in sealable bags as first days are in rainforest and everything will get damp and stay damp. Don’t pack too much, opportunity to wash clothes at halfway point of trip. Protection for camera or make sure you have one with two viewfinders in case of water ingress (my camera broke down on third day!). Good protection if you suffer from insect bites.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sara McDonagh

    I would do this again!

    This was an amazing adventure. I had never camped before nor had I ever trekked in the Alps, so lots of reasons to be a little nervous before I went. On reflection, any worry was unnecessary. The camping was fun and well managed. The scenery was amazing. And the trekking, although hard work at times, was entirely manageable and hugely rewarding. Incredible views. Wonderful people. If I could, I would do this all again. In fact I just might!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    How could you ever grow tired of looking at these mountains and trekking among them?
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Penelope Becker

    Good trip

    Went with my 22 year old son July 18 .. flew via Bogotá to Quito on Avianca ..Long transit at Bogotá Airport, recommend buying transit lounge pass, but staff very unhelpful, and on return trip . Quito high altitude and lovely authentic hotel .. restaurant close by , son ate guinea pig ,, and recommend artisan market for Alpaca poncho and Panama hats .Long boat ride to Napo destination and wonderful accommodation in newest palapa on lake edge with outdoor jacuzzi , deck and hammock, but very little free time to relax ..stinky turkey birds ...great character and plumage ...Canoe rides fab, but not much wildlife can be seen from canoes because of dense undergrowth . Super watchtower at Napo valley for birdwatching ..no good if you can’t do heights, climbed two other watchtowers for amazing views over canopy to see blue macaws and toucans ..best view from watchtowers with scope provided and set up by Eduardo ..also took pics through scope ..can sway a bit with large group up top ..not for the faint hearted ..also saw cayman and river otters from canoe ..managed to get away from noisy Australians by ducking out of village tour , and instead Eduardo took us for a. Jungle trek and climbed watchtower on our own to see blue macaws ..absolutely fantastic . He also presented us with an enormous male crested owl after a trek ..so exciting ... back to back excursions, got bitten last night as too tired to be vigilant, blessed the fact we had our vaccinations ..lots of monkeys ..very hard to see ..your own bins an absolute must .. one sloth , through scope ..hard to see ....Very remote location ....parrot licks amazing ..back to Quito and then to Galapagos, fortunately for us we were upgraded to Beluga ...lovely boat, no time to rest...daily very early starts ..on and off a panga to islands ..all that you could wish for ..2 more owl, barn in lava cave ..short eared owl on open terrain ..swum with sea lions, lots of turtles, son went diving in washing machine ..not good clarity .ha ha ...all the boobies you could wish for ..right next to you .. ..albatross ..nesting ..eggs, chicks tropicbirds , yellow warblers ..finch, Galapagos mockinbird .. marine and land iguanas everywhere ..sea lions ..no penguins ....could see golden rays from cliff top ..a lot of walking ..daily ..extreme snorkelling ..very cold water for me ...my shortie not thick enough ..even with rash vest ..too exhausted to do one afternoon on lava island ..thought I would rest in cabin, but staff had a noisy get together ..also rough sea on night journeys ..every night ..barely slept ..big day with tortoises ..returned via night in Guayancil ..more alpaca from market ..and then Bogotá to London ..arrived home totally exhausted ..not enough sleep throughout trip ..good food on board ..took my own snorkel and fins .. saw a juvenile hammerhead from panga on last day around mangroves , juvenile sharks .spotted rays and turtles plentiful ..managed to change cabins for final 3 nights ...put in tiny cabin .originally ...one porthole and not enough daylight ..make sure you get one with at least 2 portholes ..upstairs cabins open on to seating area ..but best with huge windows ..lots of getting on and off pangas and trekking ..would rate level 2 ... came home and slept for a week ......camera with bird watching zoom lens essential

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mating dance of albatross and the albatross nesting site ..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Too tired.. in Quito twice but only went to park and city tour ..artisan market ..too tired to go to cloud forest and very expensive ..however managed to see England v Sweden World Cup match .., and also when we were thrashed by Croatia ..there in no internet on the boat but can get on Darwin in cafe

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    High energy level needed !
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Jo Luckhurst

    Amazing Alpine Adventure

    This was our first Exodus holiday and it fulfilled all expectations. The walks, led by our guide Mark, were varied and provided us with a fantastic opportunity to sample some of the TMB. He had an abundance of local knowledge and we felt safe in his hands. Some of the days were quite long but the rewards well worth the achy knees! Our stay at Chalet Chamonix was super, Chalet hosts Rich and Sarah were so welcoming and all the food we were provided with was simply amazing. We were lucky to be with a very friendly bunch of fellow trekkers and have many lovely and happy memories from our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the highest point of some of the treks- a great sense of achievement coupled with stunning views (most days!) We were also recommended to take a trip up the Aguille de Midi on our rest day - this was fabulous- we walked from the Mer de Glace towards the middle station where you can board the cable car to the top - make sure you buy a day pass before you set off if you try this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very experienced and knowledgeable. Very honest with the group about what was in store each day and obviously passionately enthusiastic about this wonderful environment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are doing the walk to Lac Blanc on the last day as we did save a little energy for this ! Prior to this holiday we only had walking experience from long weekends in the U.K. and were able to manage all the walks. You will not regret booking this holiday if you enjoy walking!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Rob and Fiona Batten

    A wonderful Peruvian adventure

    Make no mistake, this is not a holiday as such but a full-on early morning to evening priceless adventure and experience. If you are doing the Inca trail you will probably find yourselves with only a couple of half days spare. Not one moment of this will you ever regret - we can honestly say that it was of the best experiences in 40 plus years of travel. Every day was well organised and went as smoothly as any holiday as diverse as this one could do. The hotels were of a good standard, particularly for a third World country. As far as the Inca trail is concerned, we are in our mid sixties, reasonably fit and had no real problems completing it. The porters are just incredible and ran past us as we laboured up and down hills! The food on the trek was amazingly good and we all ate well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Renaldi Chacca. After all our years of travelling we can honestly say that Rennie, as we called him, was the best we have ever known. This was a sentiment shared by everyone else in our group. His depth of knowledge about the history, culture, politics and all things Peruvian was truly amazing. He was by turns kind, sympathetic, humorous, efficient but firm when the situation required it. We felt that we were saying goodbye to a friend at the end of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In July it snowed on the Inca Trail so go prepared for all conditions.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Peter Woodward

    Don't waste another moment, book it now

    Vietnam was a very pleasant surprise, clean, superb food, great scenery and a fascinating history. Highlight for me were the Chu Chi tunnels north of Ho Chi Minh city (Saigon to the locals). Not for the feint hearted, claustrophobic or overtly large they gave an opportunity to scurry around underground and marvel at the ingenuity of the local people fighting a far better equipped army. Vietnam is on the verge of a building boom so I would not delay and book today.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding out that you could buy french bread baguettes filled with pork, pickles and chilli sauce, delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Lam was more a travel companion and friend. He expertly guided us through each day and like all the Vietnamese we met, nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is very humid, wear wicking tops that you can rinse out and dry overnight to cut down on packing. Anything else and you will need to use the laundry service at least once. Buy a poncho when you are out there for the sharp downpours.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087