Request your free brochure for adventure inspiration. Order now >>

Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

on small group & self-guided adventures to 100+ countries. Click here to learn more.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019

    Good experience

    It was an extraordinary excursion with changing scenes, atmospheres and pressed with new encounters. The course extraordinarily catches the wide scenes and the natural life of South Africa. I adored it and would prescribe it to anybody.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to Kruger
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Jan Flynn

    Wow! What an amazing adventure!

    Mongolia is a stunningly beautiful country. Miles and miles of vast open vistas, dotted with the occasional ger and nomad herds of animals. The Gobi desert was fascinating, including a visit to the place where the first dinosaur eggs were discovered! We visited many interesting and fabulous places, including several beautiful Buddhist temples. Wherever we went, the people were charming and very hospitable. The Eagle Festival was a spectacle I will never forget, with 120 eagle hunters competing to win the honour of being the champion. Dressed in their finest traditional clothing, riding their sturdy horses at speed, they called their massive golden eagles down from the rocky hillside to land on their arm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The spectacular Eagle Festival The peacefulness of the temples The wildlife throughout the trip Visiting nomad families and finding out more about their way of life The stars at night including the milky way Staying in gers in the middle of nowhere

    What did you think of your group leader?

    MG made the trip a great success. She worked tirelessly to ensure that the trip ran smoothly, her knowledge of her country, it's history and culture, was fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would highly recommend this trip. You have to go with an open mind, there are very few tarmac roads, so it's a bumpy ride! But the scenery is spectacular. Packaging for the trip is tricky, the temperature ranged from +28 to -8. So you need everything from shorts to a down jacket and pack lots of layers too.......whilst also trying to pack lightly for the internal flights. Take a good camera and binoculars!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Jeremy Matthews

    Magnifique!

    Exodus,Chalet Chocolat,Ben,Zohi,Shaun,Mark and Kate-thank you so much for a truly magical experience in the French,Swiss and Italian Alps. The list of superlatives to describe this experience is long but magnificent,extraordinary,stupendous,colossal,transformational and gourmet all spring to mind. The day begins with fresh croissants,pain au chocolat,strong coffee,cereal,yoghurt and fruits to fortify for a day of exertion as we wandered and took in the various delights of the Chamonix Valley in the very capable hands of guide Shaun. The steep,snow-tipped peaks,hanging glaciers,lakes,forest,ancient village houses,cows with bells,flowers,mountain cafes and wildlife are a very bewitching and intoxicating combination,we all felt like we were in a scene from The Sound of Music or Heidi.Our baguette,cheese and ham packed lunch was eaten in a scenic location with jaw-dropping views,our legs were tired and sore by the time we'd descended back to the chalet for a freshly-baked cake (thanks Zohi!) then into the jacuzzi for a well-deserved soak before a beer or wine and some gourmet dinner and dessert treats prepared lovingly by Ben and Zohi.Each day was different and stimulating,the local town of Chamonix was very attractive with its fine restaurants,quality shops and museums and inspiring alpine back-drop. We've all left a piece of our hearts in Chamonix and many of us will surely return there for another active alpine holiday. Merci bien Chamonix- à bientôt!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Italian side of the Mont Blanc Massif,raw nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very competent,thoughtful and knowledgeable. Thanks Shaun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the experience,prepare your body beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One trip to Chamonix is not enough,come back to ski,do different walks and learn to rock and ice-climb.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Amanda Grogan

    INCREDIBLE HIKING EXPERIENCE

    The trip was fantastic! I felt very welcomed and at home from the moment we stepped in the chalet and were greeted by Zohi and Ben. An absolutely beautiful property with a very cosy and communal feel, a great way to bond with your new travel friends. The meals made with love by Zohi and Ben were phenomenal! A great variety for breakfast and lunch paired with 3 courses for dinner - each night was completely unique, delicious and fun. I had some dietary requirements and never felt like this was difficult for Zohi - she made me feel included and provided just as high level and delicious alternatives. Zohi and Ben were so warm and welcoming and became instant friends with the group! They set the tone of the chalet and helped the team bond and enjoy their time at "home". The meals they provided were so varied, colourful, amazing - and themed to the days events which was a really special touch. It wouldn't have been the same without seeing them each day and sharing our days experiences. A beautiful highlight of Mont Blanc with completely different trips and scenery each day, which was very special. Great pacing, good times of day to start and end hikes. It was so magical to see so many different parts of the valley/alps and It was some of the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever seen. Our hiking guide Shaun was incredibly passionate and knowledgeable - he was very professional and always ensured our comfort and safety as well as challenging us and teaching us about the area. Shaun was a fountain of knowledge about the area and hiking. He was always professional and on-time. His organisation and time-lines were always spot on as well as his "walkie talkies" (what we affectionately nicknamed his updates for the next days hikes) which were very accurate and prepared us for the next day. I would recommend this trip over and over and over, and can’t wait to travel with Exodus again. Ensure you read the trip notes as they are very accurate and prepare you well for the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a hike made me really proud of myself and inspired to get fitter and incorporate more hiking in my daily life and travel Standing on top of Aiguille du Midi cable car and seeing Mont Blanc, the valley and Chamonix and all the places we had hiked
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul Ruddell

    Majestic Mont Blanc

    Where do I begin - this trip is absolutely stellar. Chalet Chocolat is in a great location, and the Spa with mountain and glacier views always tops off an amazing day hiking. Shaun, our expert for the area was extremely knowledgeable about the geography and could easily amend walks to suit our groups needs. Zohi and Ben were amazing Chalet Hosts, cooked the most amazing food to make sure we earned each day of walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Any time I ate Zohi's food - made me want to stay for longer, hike more and come back to an amazing 3 course dinner!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Expert in the area, able to amend itinerary based on weather and ability of the group - would recommend Shaun to anyone!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd say you need to be a keen social hiker to really enjoy this trip. If you hike in your normal weeks/months, you'll be fine, but don't expect it to be a walk in the park.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Jerry Tupas

    Challenging

    You might like this tour but 1. Most of the time we were on the road with cars. 2. Lots of industrial sites and wide farm lands. Not a lot of interesting town and villages in-between. It seems like it was just trying to get from A to B. 3. Yes, it is still hot even at the end of September. There are hills to conquer. But the accommodations were wonderful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is our 6th biking tour (our 1st with Exodus) and I find this very challenging. So for the most inspirational moment of our trip is when we reached Cadiz.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This is a self-guided tour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of water and sun-block.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Carlos Fernando of Bike Store in Seville was very kind and very helpful with us – and funny. We could spend the whole day with him but we barely started our trip.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Helen Rolton

    Highlights of Mont Blanc Highlights

    The activity level is Grade 3 but the experience level is off the scale; a complete holiday experience. Hiking in the most amazing scenery then returning to an authentic French chalet is the perfect option in this area. Our Chalet hosts, Ben & Zohi, were the ‘icing on the cake’, ensuring a stressfree holiday. Zohi’s cakes were something to look forward to at the end of each day’s hiking and the three course evening meals, matched with local wines, were the perfect end to each day. The only way this week could’ve been better was if a week was 14 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from the top each day!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Susan Price

    Safarai in Kenya,and Tanzania followed by 3 days in Zanzibar

    This was one of the most fantastic holidays of my life. Crew on the truck were excellent and Clara the tour guide was a brilliant leader. The other guests were great and we all got on and they supported me as the oldest in the group. Unfortunately Zanzibar was not as good. After a hectic time on safari with early mornings and sometimes long drives it would have been better to go to the beach bungalows first to recover before going to Stone town which was so busy with it's narrow streets and always in danger of being run over by car or scooters. I would rather have had a day in Nairobi to recover from the overnight flight rather than getting off the plane at 4.30 am and being driven to Kembu Farm campsite. One day less in Zanzibar would have been good especially as it rained hard on the last day and we were just hanging around until 4.30 pm drive to the airport.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many awesome moments on the safari to single out one. There were incredible sightings of animals who were just relaxing and not running away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Clara was a great leader well informed, always looking after our interests and safety. She was fluent in Swahili and was able to smooth our journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early starts sometimes 5 am. Know that the campsites mostly are not fenced and at night animals wander around them sometimes roaring (hyenas) and you may unexpectedly meet an animal when moving about after dark, in my case an elephant was walking through a large campsite with many tents when I was walking to the toilet block at 9 pm. Take a really good head torch, rechargeable seem to be best, mine with it's 3 changeable aaa batteries was not good enough.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel in Stone town had dangerous bathrooms with an approximately 8 inch step down immediately in front of the toilet. I fell down this and luckily only suffered a badly bruised arm. At least one other guest fell down this twice.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Hazel Norton

    Kilimanjaro, Lemosho route

    This was my third trip with exodus and it did not disappoint. I had a great time and met some fantastic fellow travellers. The trek was fairly easy walking with a few points that required scrambling over rocks mainly Barranco wall, one of my favourite days on the trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the crater rim and seeing the clouds below us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was a great leader always friendly and approachable, David and Hans the assistant guides were very knowledgeable and all three of them were positive and kept us going up to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to pack as light as you can, and make sure you will be warm enough on summit night, its very cold until the sun comes up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again for a fantastic trip, with memories that will last a lifetime.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Sarah osborn

    Great trip

    Great trip, and worth a visit to experience Bhutan and the festivals

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Tigers nest

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off by the price as in Bhutan everything is included except drinks etc. and money needed for souvenirs. I only spent £80 in Bhutan on drinks etc. its generally £2-3 for a beer. If you have time, and willing to pay a bit more for a few nights accommodation its worth coming out early and spending a few days in Kathmandu, which is always a great place to visit. The hotel I stayed in was very central and walking district to Thamel and Durbar square.