Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Rosser

    Kenya & Tanzania Safari Adventure Aug 17

    Although we had previously visited Kenya six years ago (on the Gorillas and Masai Mara trip) we had never seen the wildebeest crossing so I had really hoped to be lucky this time. Also our former trip had been an excellent experience so I had no hesitation in booking this trip with the added Tanzania experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were really lucky and saw the great migration, watching the wildebeest crossing the River Mara. There was such a dramatic build up to it - first a small group went to cross and then rushed back when they reached the river and saw crocodiles. We thought we weren't going to see it. Then further along the riverbank, a larger group just suddenly started rushing. We sat and watched for about fifteen minutes as wildebeest were stampeding across the plains joined by groups of zebra and then waded across the river and up the other side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erellah was an excellent group leader and a real credit to Exodus. He split his time equally amongst all trip members and would turn his hand to whatever was required be it organising, putting up tents, cooking etc. He was always bright cheerful and full of energy and worked extremely hard.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of packing and unpacking in the first 10 days, organise your bag for ease of access and bring a padlock for your locker. Pack walking boots and comfortable sandals. Warm clothes for the Ngorongoro Crater are essential (I took a light thermal layers including vest, leggings, fleece top, hat, scarf and gloves) … I was not going to get cold! Having said that pack light but take a washing line and pegs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although expensive I would recommend the Kenyan balloon trip. The pilot was excellent, the experience beautiful, peaceful and altogether rather surreal. The breakfast good and with a view that is breathtaking. In the 4 x 4 game drive which lasted a few hours we saw lion, leopard and cheetah!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Williams

    Kenya & Tanzania safari adventure Aug 17

    Saw all the infamous National parks & so much awesome wildlife, too numerous to mention. Great group, relaxing tour pace & even the camping was great! The way the trip is organised & run by the crew is flawless, I am so impressed & will definitely have consider this type of trip again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildebeast crossing the Mara river during the annual migration was the most awe inspiring thing I have ever seen, made up that we managed to see this...thanks to the crew !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erillah was a fantastic tour guide, relentlessly cheerful & knowledgable, supported by Wilson & Esther - awesome chefs who looked after us so well, & Sam, the driver, who kept us safe at all times & gave us the best 'African massage' !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take binoculars & pack really light, you really won't need many clothes as you can easily wash en route. We all got affected by motion sickness due to the rough roads, so I would recommend taking travel sickness medication.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Jacqueline Edge

    Fantastic trip and crew!

    The four crew members, Erellah, Albert, Boniface and Amos were fantastic. Erellah is an excellent tourguide - very patient, funny, helpful: a delight and any group can consider themselves lucky to be in his care. Albert is a brilliant cook and made delicious vegan food for me: not easy to do in East Africa. He was fun and creative and all mealtimes were a pleasure. Boniface is by far the very best driver I've ever encountered: very patient, extremely skilled and was able to take us safely along very poor roads, while also taking care of the truck itself. Amos is very friendly and helpful and worked very hard to support the crew. I'm sure he will be a fantastic tourguide soon. All of the crew were fun to talk to and made us feel very welcome. The trip itself was spectacular - we were very lucky and managed to see many beautiful animals, including elephants, black rhino, white rhino, lions, cheetah and a leopard. I was lucky enough to spot a serval from the truck, but it slipped away into the grass before anyone else could see it. The pace of the trip was good - we covered a huge distance, but spent enough time in each place to get good wildlife spotting. The last few days on Zanzibar were a welcome treat too and really rounded everything off nicely. I will always have fond memories of the group and the trip. The group members were all great: friendly, interesting people I enjoyed meeting and hope to keep in touch with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard in a tree.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erellah is a star! He's very bright, knowledgeable, extremely helpful and fun to talk to. He really made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of the African sun - it is vicious. This time of year was very good, because it's low season, fairly dry and all the animals have had their babies, which is lovely to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be great if it could be possible to request a specific crew for trips in the same area. I would love to assemble this crew again for other trips to Africa, such as the mountain gorillas in Rwanda.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Woodhams

    Kenya - Tanzania & Zanzibar

    A truly memorable experience with some long journeys along some very bumpy and dusty roads but the rewards of close encounters with so much of East Africa's wildlife made it all worth while. Our group was 17 strong with 4 crew who worked tirelessly to ensure that we were able to enjoy our trip to the full and the truck had plenty of room for all of us to be able to enjoy the wildlife and catch some magic moments on camera. Camping is a great way to enjoy and experience the wildlife and although some of the camp sites are very basic the location more than makes up for it together with the fact that often we were the only campers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Camping in the serengetti and on leaving our camp for the early morning game drive coming across a pride of 8 lions just 300 metres from camp. The early morning sunlight shining on the old male lion with a beautiful golden hew was just magic. Seeing more than 24 lions in one day with cubs of varying ages and managing to see 'the big five' although the leopard sighting was difficult as it was high in a tree shrouded by foliage, but at least we saw it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lelei was a fantastic guide/group leader who together with our driver 'Bonnie' really made our trip. At one stage in the Mara our truck developed a leaky radiator, but Bonnie kept topping it up so that we could continue our journey and together with Lelei managed to get a replacement shipped out which Bonnie fitted in camp. Lelei imparted much local knowledge and was a good game spotter and together with Bonnie was able to put us in the right place at the right time to see so much wildlife without putting pressure on any of the animals and respecting the rules of the parks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are only thinking about this trip, stop thinking and go and do it, you will enjoy it. Take heed of the advice regarding the temperature at Ngorongoro crater as it DOES get cold at night! Make sure you take a good torch as many of the camps are unlit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip notes are accurate and there are some long journeys which are along unmade roads and the camping is basic but the rewards are worth every bit of it.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Ivan Pinto

    Kenya & Tanzania Adventure

    A great introduction to the wildlife of East Africa, there is nothing quite like the excitement of animal/bird spotting that is an integral part of this tour. Camping allowed one to feel close to nature and was even better as few had other campers close by. Kip and his team were superb hosts keeping us informed of local life, both human and animal, while ensuring we were well fed. On the cultural side we visited a Masai village in the Serengeti and had guided tour of a typical local market in Musoma.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were very lucky to witness the wildebeest and zebra migration crossing of the Mara River. The sheer number of wildebeest in the area was almost biblical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There was a real rapport between Kip and his team and they could not have done more to ensure everyone had a good time. They set up camp as soon as we arrived and the meals were varied, wholesome and most importantly tasty (thanks Albert)! Everything seemed to work like clockwork, a sign of the hard work that goes on in the background.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some early starts and the odd long drive, but it's all worth it. On occasion the poor road surface could result in an 'African massage'! In terms of camping the mattress provided was very comfy (~2in thick foam). The occasional campsite does not have hot water, however, a cold shower after a hot dusty day was refreshing! Ngorongoro was cold (we travelled in July) so warm clothing is a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When buying craftworks be prepared to haggle, it is expected and part of the fun.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Tony Rivers

    Kenya and Tanzania adventure

    Fantastic holiday ,saw big 5 at least twice , weather was great no rain .brilliant fellow travellers we got on so well even there was 16 off us .well lead by kips and his team .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    saw 4 lions take a buffalo right in front of us .. There are two many of inspirational to write memorable holiday .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kips was absolutely brilliant , we didn't have a single complaint .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for Zanzibar .,it is extremely hot ,90d and not much cooler at night .
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Catherine Morrow

    Kenya Tanzania adventure

    This is an amazing journey around Kenya and Tanzania with some long journeys on the truck but it ended up feeling like our second home!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing every animal we set out to see (some in our camp) and meeting so many people who had very little but always had time to wave smile and greet us especially in Kenya where they were as interested in us as we were in them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter Kiptoo (Kip) was such an inspirational guy - the logistics of this trip were huge but everything ran to plan (most of the time but this is Africa!!) and this was down to Kip and the team who worked tirelessly to pitch the tents, cook our meals and whilst we were all tired and tucked up in bed they were still working and were up hours before us cooking breakfast and setting up for the day ahead! Their work ethic was superb and they did their country proud!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pack too much as you are on the move almost everyday. Buy a pillow on day 1 in the supermarket - really helps to get a good nights sleep and give away at the end! Take gear you don't mind giving away - in Zanzibar particularly the poverty was heartbreaking and many people had no shoes and were so grateful for shoes t shirts etc. Bought pens for the children and wish I had taken many more as they loved them. Don't expect air con in the hotels - it gets very very hot! Take 1 dollar bills for tipping - they average wage is a dollar a day so tipping what to us is such a small amount is really significant to the people of Kenya and Tanzania! You need some Kenyan shilings which u can buy in uk but in Tanzania you can use dollars everywhere although you tend to get better deals if you buy Tanzania shillings when you get into Tanzania

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Days are long and can be quite tiring but so worth it - just come prepared for this and you won't go wrong!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Allan Pearson

    Kenya & Tanzania: A Great Adventure For Sure

    What a trip, greatly exceeded my expectations. We saw thousands of animals of every variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many, but for me it was the sight of lions on the prowl in the Ngorongoro Crater - with nervous antelopes, buffalo, wildebeest and other animals maneuvering to avoid being the next victims! An intact, diverse, fluid ecosystem right in front of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor was just amazing, give that man a medal. His ability to see and identify animals far in the distance was legendary, and he knew pretty much everything about them as well. Generally, everything ran smoothly and even when it didn't he always had an excellent Plan B.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect the normal camping discomforts and long road trips over bumpy roads, but so worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An added day at Lake Victoria, with the possibility to getting out onto the water, would make a an excellent addition to this trip. The short side trip to Olduvai to see the museum and the landscape where early human species roamed should be part of the formal trip itinerary - it is so close to the route anyway.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Robyn Vilhjalmsson

    Kenya and Tanzania Adventure

    An excellent time we had; I hadn´t expected to see so many animals. What a great crew, thankyou.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say...that first impala or a lion sleeping in a tree, or giraffes drinking or thirteen lions out for a stoll!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Victor was the best, no question; smart, funny, organized and I would go again with him, no question.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do bring warm clothes, a head torch, a padlock...do read the notes and listen to the leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Adam Ward

    Trip of a lifetime

    This adventure was amazing from start to finish. The food served was delicious and different each day and no one got ill which to be honest everyone expected to be at some point. There was plenty of action but also plenty of time to rest and the campsites had beautiful scenery. We hoped to see a certain amount of animals but we got way more than we ever dreamed of which was thanks to the efforts of the guide and drivers. The campsites were fine and all had flushing toilets and showers (although not all hot). Camping made you feel even more with nature than camping in a fancy lodge as you hear the animal noises in the night and sometimes even have them come visit in the night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting into the perfect position to see the elusive leopard walk out from the long grass along the riverbank. Or on the optional tour, seeing the male hippo on the bank and subsequently rush into the water to come and get us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide (Jacob) and team (Emmanuel, Ben and Alex) were really friendly and worked constantly to make everything run smoothly. Jacob was such a big part of the trip that it wouldn't have been the same without him. He gave us his professional suggestions on ways to improve the trip and we get along with him, and were not disappointed. He's so knowledgeable and his passion to help us get the most of our trip shone through. He balanced everyone's wishes and likes to make sure everyone got to see what they wanted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be open minded and willing to adapt because plans do change sometimes. The standard of living is totally different to what we're used to and there are some long bumpy drives but it's an amazing experience so don't let that put you off- it's all fine but you need to be prepared. If you love luxury and hate camping this isn't the option for you but if you are up for an adventure the camping really isn't bad at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would like to thank Jacob (get in touch!!) and the team so much for their hard work in making the trip amazing and the group feel so at ease and passing on your knowledge. We didn't have to lift a finger and we couldn't have dreamed of such a great holiday. Of course, there is a lot of luck involved with regards to seeing the animals but the guides/drivers do their utmost to find them.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087