Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Brian Page

    Brian Page

    Unfortunately for the first time ever I suffered from altitude sickness with reduced my stamina and caused loss of balance and coordination. However, thanks to the professionalism, experience and support of the Exodus staff I was able to reach the summit. I have no hesitation in recommending Exodus for an event of this nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit plateau despite my difficulties

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No I was very pleased with all the arrangements made for the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017

    Well-supported hike

    The guide-to-guest ratio was excellent and we were well-fed and taken care of. Others in the group had altitude sickness symptoms and the staff were great at recognizing and managing these situations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My burst of energy near the top that had me free-climbing to the finish just before sunrise (I had lost the trail because I went around someone who was sick...).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great route that has less people on it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vicky Lewis

    Fantastic experience, wonderful people

    This was something I've been wanting to do for so long.... it was the most difficult but rewarding trip. What really made the experience magical was the guides and porters who were superheroes! Thank you for making my dream of climbing Kilimanjaro a reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from getting to the top, the guides and Porters... they were constantly cheerful, so helpful and even made me a birthday cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful... dedicated and insightful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do whatever your guide tells you! Bring ear plugs and baby wipes!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Melissa Mason

    Rongai Route - Kilimanjaro. WOWIE

    I have just returned from my amazing adventure of climbing Kilimanjaro using the Rongai route. Don't believe people that say its easy. It isn't. But, it is 100% worth it :). "The greatest things in life aren't things" Is it challenging - Yes Is it 100% worth it - Absolutely Yes! Should you do it - Yes definitely!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain is beautiful! The ever changing scenery as you ascend, the nights sky, the moon, the clear fresh air, the tweeting birds - It's really special. The summit night is very challenging but its all worth it when you reach Gilmans Point and see the most incredible sunrise. If you have the reserves left and make it to Uhuru Peak, there are no words to describe the feeling! Just incredible and one that will be very hard to replicate. The porters can't go without mention. You don't fully appreciate what they do until you see it for yourself. Its truly remarkable and inspirational. Their strength, stamina and wonderful smiles is really amazing. The expedition wouldn't be possible without them. The group - meeting 12 other strangers to make the journey to summit Kilimanjaro. We couldn't have had a better group. It felt like a family and we all supported each other and kept laughing all the way - as well as crying in some cases. Its all part of the journey. The people made this trip and the memories will last a life time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Makake was a good guide and had a great support group with him. He was very organised and made sure everything ran smoothly. With Makake and his teams guidance, 93% of our group reached Gilmans Point!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I trained by walking up and down my apartment block stairs with my back pack - all 40 flights, as well as gym work, weights, running, cycling etc. The best practice however, was the stairs! What I found on the hike was that, although I am fit and healthy individual, its the attitude that will affect you the most. It effects everybody differently and so you just don't know how you react until you get there. I took Diamox for the altitude sickness and when my headaches began, took paracetamol and Ibuprofen which took the edge off. Top tips:- Pole Pole. Don't be tempted to go fast. Take rehydration supplements to add to your water. Take a hot water bottle for bedtime. Its cold. Ensure you have a warm sleeping bag and decent sleeping mat! I also took a travel pillow! Take a few bin bags for your clothes. Take silicone ear plugs ( get them from Boots). Take a small body wash to wash your hands / face etc. You get very dusty and dirty and its nice to clean up! Take Compeed! I took some herbal tea bags - was nice to have a bit of luxury! Respect the kit list and don't try and save on things - I used everything on it! Most importantly - take small change in $'s for tipping at the end. The porters that leave on the last day will need to take their tips so don't take big notes. Take $5's and $10 etc to make it easier for them to split the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big THANK YOU to Exodus and The African Walking Company and the porters for making our trip possible! I will never forget it! Asante Sana!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Launa Wallace

    Rongai - Feb 2017

    I consider myself to be fit but do not underestimate the final ascent/descent...... it is extremely hard work. We completed in 9.25 - hindsight tells me we should have gone slower as I had a pounding headache and was exhausted at the end. It doesn't help that you then have another walk in the afternoon to cope with ! The walking prior to the ascent was a breeze if that helps ! The organisation was excellent but be prepared for very early nights and then being wide awake early on ... food was first class and plenty of it. We were lucky with the weather (Feb) I would not want to walk Kilimanjaro in the rain and wind. Good luck

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It should have been reaching the summit but I was too exhausted to be inspired by it - the views at sunrise however are absolutely incredible and the clear skies filled with stars at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very motivating

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you begin the ascent, half the pace you are comfortable with .... I didn't take diamox and think my headache was caused by the hood of my jacket rather than altitude- make sure your clothing is comfortable before you start as you will be too cold to adjust it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a beach holiday in Zanzibar afterwards !
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Carl Dean

    Kilimanjaro Climb Rongai Route

    Excellent climb but maybe less diverse scenery of other routes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, Uhuru Peak of Kilimanjaro

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, english and humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get Fit
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Patrick Mcateer

    Kilimanjaro conquered through inspiration and song

    My trip to kilimanjaro was another one of my bucket list challenges and one where head and body was truly tested. The 7 day trip provided testing hot days, and cold nights and where darkness from 18.00hrs to 0600hrs played havoc with my inability to sleep while trying to keep warm despite the numerous layers. I journeyed with a wonderful group of people from England and Ireland, all of whom had one desire, To ascend Kilimanjaro. We all did it, supported each other through the trials and tribulations and left the mountain with a new sense of achievement and camaraderie

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We left base camp at 00.00hrs, full of trepidation, not knowing what was ahead of us but our feet had hardly taken 2 paces when all of a sudden one of our assistant guides, Alfie began to sing. in the most soothing and calming tone I have ever heard. We were all bewitched by the sound as it echoed up the valley, our names were woven into the lyrics and we knew that he was calling on us to be strong. We were all conscious of our breathing and at times discomfort but Alfie carried us through, As we climbed higher and higher we began to overtake the earlier climbers, they stepped aside for the group with the singer and it was so obvious they envied the momentum Alfie was generating. For 6 hours he kept up the singing and for 6 hours we knew our Angel was with us. We all made it to the top where we all acknowledged the chanter and how much he inspired us to achieve our goals. I have never been in awe as much of a person with a golden voice and I would highly recommend his company on any future trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader, very knowledgeable and inspiring. We knew exactly what each day would be like and were never disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always take a hot water bottle as this is a must for the cold nights. Get as fit as you can as this makes the climb much more comfortable

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Assistant guides were all very informative. Porters were a blessing to work with, very helpful and respectful. Please take any spare walking clothes you have to share with porters. The cook, (stomach engineer) worked wonders with the food and has to be highly commended on his knowledge and cooking skills
Call us on 1 844 227 9087