Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Shannah Murland

    Well-supported hike

    The guide-to-guest ratio was excellent and we were well-fed and taken care of. Others in the group had altitude sickness symptoms and the staff were great at recognizing and managing these situations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My burst of energy near the top that had me free-climbing to the finish just before sunrise (I had lost the trail because I went around someone who was sick...).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great route that has less people on it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Vicky Lewis

    Fantastic experience, wonderful people

    This was something I've been wanting to do for so long.... it was the most difficult but rewarding trip. What really made the experience magical was the guides and porters who were superheroes! Thank you for making my dream of climbing Kilimanjaro a reality!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from getting to the top, the guides and Porters... they were constantly cheerful, so helpful and even made me a birthday cake!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful... dedicated and insightful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do whatever your guide tells you! Bring ear plugs and baby wipes!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Melissa Mason

    Rongai Route - Kilimanjaro. WOWIE

    I have just returned from my amazing adventure of climbing Kilimanjaro using the Rongai route. Don't believe people that say its easy. It isn't. But, it is 100% worth it :). "The greatest things in life aren't things" Is it challenging - Yes Is it 100% worth it - Absolutely Yes! Should you do it - Yes definitely!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain is beautiful! The ever changing scenery as you ascend, the nights sky, the moon, the clear fresh air, the tweeting birds - It's really special. The summit night is very challenging but its all worth it when you reach Gilmans Point and see the most incredible sunrise. If you have the reserves left and make it to Uhuru Peak, there are no words to describe the feeling! Just incredible and one that will be very hard to replicate. The porters can't go without mention. You don't fully appreciate what they do until you see it for yourself. Its truly remarkable and inspirational. Their strength, stamina and wonderful smiles is really amazing. The expedition wouldn't be possible without them. The group - meeting 12 other strangers to make the journey to summit Kilimanjaro. We couldn't have had a better group. It felt like a family and we all supported each other and kept laughing all the way - as well as crying in some cases. Its all part of the journey. The people made this trip and the memories will last a life time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Makake was a good guide and had a great support group with him. He was very organised and made sure everything ran smoothly. With Makake and his teams guidance, 93% of our group reached Gilmans Point!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I trained by walking up and down my apartment block stairs with my back pack - all 40 flights, as well as gym work, weights, running, cycling etc. The best practice however, was the stairs! What I found on the hike was that, although I am fit and healthy individual, its the attitude that will affect you the most. It effects everybody differently and so you just don't know how you react until you get there. I took Diamox for the altitude sickness and when my headaches began, took paracetamol and Ibuprofen which took the edge off. Top tips:- Pole Pole. Don't be tempted to go fast. Take rehydration supplements to add to your water. Take a hot water bottle for bedtime. Its cold. Ensure you have a warm sleeping bag and decent sleeping mat! I also took a travel pillow! Take a few bin bags for your clothes. Take silicone ear plugs ( get them from Boots). Take a small body wash to wash your hands / face etc. You get very dusty and dirty and its nice to clean up! Take Compeed! I took some herbal tea bags - was nice to have a bit of luxury! Respect the kit list and don't try and save on things - I used everything on it! Most importantly - take small change in $'s for tipping at the end. The porters that leave on the last day will need to take their tips so don't take big notes. Take $5's and $10 etc to make it easier for them to split the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big THANK YOU to Exodus and The African Walking Company and the porters for making our trip possible! I will never forget it! Asante Sana!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Launa Wallace

    Rongai - Feb 2017

    I consider myself to be fit but do not underestimate the final ascent/descent...... it is extremely hard work. We completed in 9.25 - hindsight tells me we should have gone slower as I had a pounding headache and was exhausted at the end. It doesn't help that you then have another walk in the afternoon to cope with ! The walking prior to the ascent was a breeze if that helps ! The organisation was excellent but be prepared for very early nights and then being wide awake early on ... food was first class and plenty of it. We were lucky with the weather (Feb) I would not want to walk Kilimanjaro in the rain and wind. Good luck

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It should have been reaching the summit but I was too exhausted to be inspired by it - the views at sunrise however are absolutely incredible and the clear skies filled with stars at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very motivating

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you begin the ascent, half the pace you are comfortable with .... I didn't take diamox and think my headache was caused by the hood of my jacket rather than altitude- make sure your clothing is comfortable before you start as you will be too cold to adjust it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have a beach holiday in Zanzibar afterwards !
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Carl Dean

    Kilimanjaro Climb Rongai Route

    Excellent climb but maybe less diverse scenery of other routes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit, Uhuru Peak of Kilimanjaro

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, english and humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get Fit
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Patrick Mcateer

    Kilimanjaro conquered through inspiration and song

    My trip to kilimanjaro was another one of my bucket list challenges and one where head and body was truly tested. The 7 day trip provided testing hot days, and cold nights and where darkness from 18.00hrs to 0600hrs played havoc with my inability to sleep while trying to keep warm despite the numerous layers. I journeyed with a wonderful group of people from England and Ireland, all of whom had one desire, To ascend Kilimanjaro. We all did it, supported each other through the trials and tribulations and left the mountain with a new sense of achievement and camaraderie

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We left base camp at 00.00hrs, full of trepidation, not knowing what was ahead of us but our feet had hardly taken 2 paces when all of a sudden one of our assistant guides, Alfie began to sing. in the most soothing and calming tone I have ever heard. We were all bewitched by the sound as it echoed up the valley, our names were woven into the lyrics and we knew that he was calling on us to be strong. We were all conscious of our breathing and at times discomfort but Alfie carried us through, As we climbed higher and higher we began to overtake the earlier climbers, they stepped aside for the group with the singer and it was so obvious they envied the momentum Alfie was generating. For 6 hours he kept up the singing and for 6 hours we knew our Angel was with us. We all made it to the top where we all acknowledged the chanter and how much he inspired us to achieve our goals. I have never been in awe as much of a person with a golden voice and I would highly recommend his company on any future trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader, very knowledgeable and inspiring. We knew exactly what each day would be like and were never disappointed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always take a hot water bottle as this is a must for the cold nights. Get as fit as you can as this makes the climb much more comfortable

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Assistant guides were all very informative. Porters were a blessing to work with, very helpful and respectful. Please take any spare walking clothes you have to share with porters. The cook, (stomach engineer) worked wonders with the food and has to be highly commended on his knowledge and cooking skills
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Helen Langford

    The amazing Rongai Route

    What a great route to choose to get to your destination. You get to see both sides of the moutain the arid dry north compares the lush rainy south. The beautiful extra day at Mawenzi tarn to help with acclimitisation is so worth it. but most importantly living above the clouds for 4 days is just the best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people, to turn up at a strange airport in an unfamilar country and meet up with like minded people and share a life changing experience what just such a joy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa our leader had the right balance and was obviously very experience in leading such a big group of people. The guides are obviously checking your health and well being throughout the treck even though you might not be aware that they are!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take cheap clothes and equipment that you dont mind giving away at the end of your trip. The porters who have carried all your equipment and camp for 6 days will appreciate anything you can give them.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Tony Williams

    Kilimanjaro Climb - Rongai Route

    A brilliant trip/experience. I fully endorse Ivor Davenport-Smiths previous review. At 69 years I can say that age should not be a barrier as long as you are very fit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Uhuru peak, the early morning sun shining on the glaciers, the comradeship and youthfullness of the team in a different way the Saturday morning tour of the Marangu village sites

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makake was very good, a detailed briefing followed by concern for all participants and good team leadership (supported by a good team)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel in the drier times of the year, March was good to us
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Ivor Smith-Davenport

    Rongai Route Kilimanjaro Ivor & Brenda

    Exodus say that they do everything they can to make it possible for you to achieve your aim of getting to the summit, and they lived up to their word. The local guides and porters work tirelessly to make everyday a success, their good humour is infectious and the feeling of standing at the summit is wonderful beyond words.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit day is a long slow slog in the dark, the final approach as the sun broke through and the realisation that nothing could now prevent standing at the peak was an uplifting moment. We had a great group and all bar one made it. The guides worked hard to get amongst those flagging and was something we noted and praised once we finished the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makaike was well organised and briefed well. He was surrounded by a strong team and at no point did we feel unsupported or unsure as the days passed. He was good humoured and considerate to the individual needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The exodus travel notes are superb - the detail is all there. The only thing I would recommend is that, unless they have very good sleeping mats, hire Exodus ones as the ground is quite rough and a good nights sleep is more likely on a comfy mat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were surprised at the standard of the food/ dining, very good indeed. Chef did a great job. Overall the trip exceeded our expectations, both my wife and I reached the summit and have no doubt that the method and organisation of Exodus made that possible.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087