Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Steve W

    Review of Refuges - Albert 1er, Tete Rousse, Gouter, Les Campanules

    This reviews focuses solely on the accommodations to complement the other reviews: At all refuges below, the food was excellent (!!) served in communal meals. you can purchase beverages and snacks. 1.5L of bottled water was 5, 6, and 7 Euros increasing by refuge below. Albert 1er: Beds: Separate rooms of 4 upper and 4 lower bunks Toilets: "A" Spotless. Running water in sinks, arguably potable. Paper provided. Tete Rousse: Beds: 8 upper and 8 lower bunks in room with no separation between mattresses. Sleep sheet or liner is required Toilets: "C" No running water, tough aroma, somewhat messy. Paper provided. Gouter: Beds: One large room but partitioned into smaller rooms and each bunk has a slight privacy panel (2 feet wide) at head and feet. Toilets: B+ - no running water but clean and neat. Paper provided. Les Campanules: Obviously held to a higher standard than the refuges! Even-numbered rooms have a fabulous mountain view, although the rooms are somewhat simple, with multiple beds, and small shower and toilet areas. Odd-numbered rooms have a limited pine tree view but much more luxurious facilities, although no soaking tub apres hike! If you have an early departure, be sure to settle bill prior evening as no one is available before 7:30am.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ...
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Mark Green

    Mont Blanc Ascent

    After much hard work in preparing my 60 year old body for this trip I was slightly disappointed that we were unable to tackle Mont Blanc due to high winds and poor visibility. However we were lucky enough to have 2 opportunities to tackle the Gran Paradiso summit in neighbouring Italy which we all managed on the second attempt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a failed first attempt climbing Gran Paradiso due to high winds and poor visibility, having another opportunity to attempt the summit the following day in somewhat iffy and very cold weather conditions. Our small group of 4 plus guides summitted just as the thick clouds that we had been ascending through parted just at the right moment to reveal the drama of the magnificent landscape all around us. Only then did we witness how exposed we were with terrifying drops below! This was not Mont Blanc but it was still a big mountain day with some 1350m ascent (mostly on ice), and around 2100m cumulative descent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The famous 65 years young Bernard Muller (look him up) is very experienced and therefore despite the sometimes questionable weather we felt safe in his capable care. Many people that we met em route appeared to know and respect this man and despite his charming idiosyncrasies he is much fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did not attempt to summit Mont Blanc due to the weather but please do not underestimate how fit and conditioned you need to be to undertake the initial training on glaciers then an ascent of an alpine peak. It's hard work whoever you are and you need to bring along with you a good deal of courage and commitment to get through this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With adequate training, preparation and the right attitude this is about as much fun and sustained effort that you can have on your 2 legs. And oh yes..... dont forget to bring along a good sense of humour and some very warm gloves!
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Mark Green

    Mont Blanc Ascent

    After much hard work in preparing my 60 year old body for this trip I was slightly disappointed that we were unable to tackle Mont Blanc due to high winds and poor visibility. However we were lucky enough to have 2 opportunities to tackle the Gran Paradiso summit in neighbouring Italy which we all managed on the second attempt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a failed first attempt climbing Gran Paradiso due to high winds and poor visibility, having another opportunity to attempt the summit the following day in somewhat iffy and very cold weather conditions. Our small group of 4 plus guides summitted just as the thick clouds that we had been ascending through parted just at the right moment to reveal the drama of the magnificent landscape all around us. Only then did we witness how exposed we were with terrifying drops below! This was not Mont Blanc but it was still a big mountain day with some 1350m ascent (mostly on ice), and around 2100m cumulative descent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The famous 65 years young Bernard Muller (look him up) is very experienced and therefore despite the sometimes questionable weather we felt safe in his capable care. Many people that we met em route appeared to know and respect this man and despite his charming idiosyncrasies he is much fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did not attempt to summit Mont Blanc due to the weather but please do not underestimate how fit and conditioned you need to be to undertake the initial training on glaciers then an ascent of an alpine peak. It's hard work whoever you are and you need to bring along with you a good deal of courage and commitment to get through this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With adequate training, preparation and the right attitude this is about as much fun and sustained effort that you can have on your 2 legs. And oh yes..... dont forget to bring along a good sense of humour and some very warm gloves!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    David Sheppard

    Crikey that was hard

    An amazing trip but oh so hard. I have climbed Kili but this was on another level entirely. Fantastic weather everyday although that made the ascent very hard especially as we climbed to the summit from midday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All 6 of the group reaching the summit together

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Patrick was Very good and filled you with confidence. We were lucky enough to be joined by the legendary Bernard for the last 3 days

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train very hard for this
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Stuart Aberdeen

    Mont Blanc Ascent

    Great trip with a great team. Tough but we all made it. I would definitely recommend it but don't underestimate the challenge and the altitude .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eventually reaching the Summit and feeling on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bernard, our leader is a well known and respected mountaineer and we had total faith in him and his decision-making. Although his English wasn't always completely clear he was humorous and totally at ease which made us feel comfortable and reassured.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's really important to be fit and to have endurance as the mountain can be unforgiving. Working as a member of a team is crucial as you can support each other's strengths and weaknesses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take time to enjoy the beauty of the mountains around you. The Alps are fantastic and for the English, only on our doorstep !
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    For a 65 year old like myself it was tough and fully desrving of its E category. It made trekking to Everest Base camp feel like a walk in the park.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summitting Mont Blanc on what the guides told us was the best day of the season weather wise. We could even se Lake Geneva.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader over the first 3 days trained us in the use of ice axes, crampons etc but made no concessions for my age and told me he thought I wouldn't make the summit. On the actual ascent our new guide was excellent and said if I was determined to do it and took it slowly I had a chance of doing it. He was a gem.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really justifies its E grading. If you are younger and fit it shouldn't be a problem. If you are older be aware of what you are taking on.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Why do people run marathons? Why do people row single handed acroos the Atalntic etc. They all want to challenge themselves and Mont Blanc is a real challenge.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    Excellent holiday spoilt by travel to and from Switzerland and lack of assistance from Exodus with Swiss Air problems.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the time spent in the mountains with a great group of likeminded fellow travellers and the excellent guides was fantastic. A good introduction to alpinism. The best conditions possible for the summit were a real bonus. The following day no one was going up to the summit as the cloud was down and the wind was up. Luckily we were heading down for the best shower in the world and a nice cold beer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A real alpinist who lives and breathes for the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't fly with Swiss Air.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The outward flight was cancelled and no help was forthcomming from Exodus. I eventually got to Geneva via Zurich several hours or more late. On the return journey after boarding the plane I was told I would have to get off as I didn't have a reservation. How odd after Swiss Air had given me a boarding card and checked my baggage onto the flight. After 10 minutes of discussion I was allowed to stay on the plane and return home.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Tim Meeks

    Disappointed

    The group that I was in arrived in Chamonix on 23 July 2015. We were told that as of 17 July 2015 the Company of Guides - Saint Gervais (basically the people who manage and look after the Mountain) had suspended any walking / climbing on Mont Blanc for an indefinite period. This was due to several weeks of unseasonably high temperatures melting the ice further up the mountain, so releasing rocks and causing rock fall. On the first night we were told that there was '99%' likelihood that the Gouter Route would remain closed for the duration of the trip. I am disappointed that I was not told in advance of the booking as I have a flexible work environment allowing me to move holidays. Exodus should have informed me and the rest of the group in advance providing us with the option or re-booking which in the very least would have saved approx £500 of the add on costs (UK airport parking, equipment hire, lift passes, etc.) I have done a number of trips with Exodus and never had a problem in the past, but to allow the group to fly out on a 'Mont Blanc Ascent' after months of preparation and training, when they knew the mountain was closed is very disappointing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise in the mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We realise that it must have been extremely disappointing for Tim and the rest of the group to find out that on the local authorities had closed the Gouter Route for safety reasons due to concerns about melting snow dislodging rocks. It is extremely rare for the mountain to be closed for a prolonged period of time and given the information at our disposal before this group left the UK and that we could not have reasonably known for how long the mountain would remain closed, we did not contact people travelling to Chamonix as we felt it was reasonable to assume that the weather could change at any point. We do appreciate that this must have been hugely disappointing, but the group instead climbed Gran Paradiso which we hope they enjoyed.

    Olly Pemberton - Trip Manager for the Mont Blanc region

  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    A fabulous holiday. Excellent guides and superb weather. The guides were professional, supportive and extremely helpful. I owe my reaching the summit to Bernard. He was so patient with me when I couldn't find the energy to carry on. The holiday exceeded expectations indeed. A fantastic holiday highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reachign the summit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bernard was a fantastic leader. I really enjoyed the climb walking with him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take ear plugs. The dormitories are shared and there are some high volume snorers!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous trip that is highly recommended. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    Massive disappoint is the best way to sum up this trip. In selecting Exodus ahead of other companies I thought I’d made a wise choice, little did I realise what awaited me in Chamonix! Put simply there was a woeful lack of organisation. The worst example of this was the failure to secure places in the Gouter refuge ahead of the group’s summit attempt. I consider myself to be pretty fit but to do Gouter route without being able to stop at the Gouter refuge was beyond me. What made me very annoyed is that like everyone else in the group I’d booked the trip months in advance thereby granting ample time to secure the necessary accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb from the Albert Premier to the Trient refuge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guide provided to us was astonishingly unsuited to the role of leading a group of novice climbers. Indeed it would not be an exaggeration to state that he considered us to be little more than an inconvenience to be tolerated. Of his numerous short comings the most serious was his failure to provide the sort of snow and ice climbing training required to climb Mont Blanc safely. Incredibly he even refused to show the group how to use their ice axes when asked directly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    During the summit attempt you will be moving over steep ground so bear in mind that if you get the same guide our group did there is a possibility that you will be doing so without having received training in how to use your ice axe and crampons. I therefore recommend that you get some snow and ice climbing experience before you book this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s not worth paying the single room supplement as Exodus’ partners in Chamonix don’t necessarily provide you with a single room.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087