Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    Paul Rasdale

    Hugely Enjoyable

    First Exodus trip and a great experience. Terrific way to see a good chunk of the Cape with some wonderful cycling.We had plenty of time for wine tasting and sight seeing which suited me because I don't want to cycle all day.Accomodation and food was of a high standard.Very friendly group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Tradouws Pass. Cycling Chapmans peak (even with heavy rain)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis and our driver Sifiso were absolutely terrific combining efficiency,knowledge and a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was quite hard at times so come prepared for some big hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I had booked an extra day in Cape Town at beginning and end of trip.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Beda Higgins

    South Africa Cape and winelands

    Excellent trip; great guides who went out of their way to keep whole company happy. Awesome scenery along the route, good food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The coastal scenery was breath-taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent group leader, hit the right balance of fun and safety. He couldn't have gone to more trouble to tailor the trip to suit the group; Brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Arthur Onions

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A very well planned, organised and led tour of a fantastic country. The cycling was at times hard but always breath taking. A wonderful way to see a country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the wind finally came from behind and we got to ride Chapmans drive which was closed to traffic. Riding with the stunning coast at our side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    With Jean Paul Gardelli in charge it was like having your Mom, Dad and best friend rolled into one. Ten out of ten for organisation and forward planning, a great encourager and patience worthy of a saint. He went above and beyond what I have experienced before and ensured we all had the best experience possible. Assistant leader Layla and driver Endy followed JP's high standards. So accommodating, friendly and accomplished.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The wind at times turned moderate into challenging but the minibus was always readily available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't wait, book now.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Peter Vogel

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    Great trip, great guides, great food...and stunning scenery..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding the coastal road through false bay, just stunning!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bevin consistently went above and beyond to make the holiday a success. A big thanks to Trish and Ende too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    ATMs were plentiful, no need to take cash with you, generally things were of excellent value.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only way this holiday could be improved is to work in some swim/beach stops on route.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    sarah bynum

    It's only when you look back.....

    Its only when you look back that you realize that, the scenery really was that stunning, the mountains really had that grandeur, the group really was that friendly. I loved every day of the tour, from the beautiful little towns of Stellenbosch and Franceshoek, to the beautiful Cape Agulhas, to the breathtaking Chapmans Peak Drive. Wine tasting, experiencing local foods and all of it with the stunning backdrop of mountains and the beautiful fields of vines. Our guides, Roger and Siintje worked relentlessly to ensure our enjoyment and wellbeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the high point of Chapmans Peak Drive and seeing the road stretch seemingly endlessly before me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous. Helpful, friendly knowledgable, nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack chamois cream! some long rides in the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The guests houses used at the beginning and end of the trip - the 'sweetest chain' are truly delightful places to stay. Also, the Botanical Gardens in Cape Town are well worth a visit. easily a whole day could be spent exploring the gardens.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Felicity Jones

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A wonderful trip in a beautiful country with wine, beer and brandy tastings included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the coast roads to Simonstown and Hout Bay with mountains on one side and the beautiful blue of the ocean on the other. The walk and cycle on the Cape of Good Hope. Drinking champagne and watching the sun go down on Signal Hill

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and hardworking, neither he or Sofiso seemed to get much time to rest between cooking breakfast, lunch and dinners, mending bikes, looking after us and coping with problems caused by the Cape Argos cyclists.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do try a bit of hill training and prepare for cycling against the wind. You may find the heat difficult at times but it gets easier as you acclimatise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think having three people on the trip would have made things a lot easier for our leader and driver who had to be leader, mechanic, cook, driver, problem solver and entertainments officers.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Geoff Beale

    Cycling the Cape Winelands

    An all round excellent trip. If taking your own bikes take a road bke. It is definitely Not for mountain bikes. We took our folding mountain bikes which we have used on previous trips but even with semi slicks could have done with 700c wheels and 21mm slick tyres. The wind and heat over the central sections was killing. Having to actually pedal downhill to keep going at times. The highlights were Franchoek and Stellenbosch with the wine tasting, Franchhoek pass and Troudapas, the whale coast from Simonstown to Gordon's bay ( a long day at 90km with an absolute killer of a hill to start after breakfast, most of us made it up), Chapmans peak down to Hout Bay. Recommend to anyone but be reasonably fit before you go. You will be a lot fitter at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all inspirational. The scenery was excellent most ot time. Probably the most enjoyable day was the whale coast ride (around False Bay).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wynand our tour leader was a great character and wit. He was full of bulls*** a lot of the time which made for a lot of banter, fun and winding up with the group. Sifiso our driver was a quiet Zulu but came out of his shell during the trip to be a great asset to the group. Both guys worked extremely hard to make the trip memorable for us all. There were some logistical and organisational issues which they handled with professionalism and tact. Some of the evening meals and lunches and breakfasts were prepared by the guides when we were staying in lodges or way out. All were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. If you like wine, beer, brandy good food etc there's plenty of it, quite apart from the cycling which has its pain and plenty of pleasures. You will see many sights and sounds to impress as well as depress(shanty villages). Take plenty of sunscreen and electrolytes for your water bottle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    South Africa is dirt cheap at present with £ Rand exchange rate. Large peronis at just over a pound and quality wines at 2 to 3£ a bottle. A meal with wine and beer set us back no more than 600Rand for 2 (£25). If you go to the Waterfront in Cape Town expect to pay up to twice that. It is very touristy but worth a visit. On the cycle days be prepared to see abject poverty with shanty towns to Beverly Hills wealth in all white areas. Well worth organising a half day excursion if you have time at start or end either to Robben island or the freedom trail when you will get a guided tour round a township. We ended our tour on Signal Hill overlooking Cape Town for a boozy close to the trip before going to an African restaurant in Cape Town where we had our final evening meal and were entertained by an amazing group of musians and dancers.
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Jonathan & Suzanna Grix

    Wheels, Wines & Waves

    A great trip; at times the weather was a little on the warm side for cycling. A fun mix of cycling, wine, food and sightseeing and the overall experience was made even better by a great group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The natural beauty of this area of South Africa was very inspiring, particularly cycling along the Coast and hearing the crashing of the waves and admiring the power of the sea. Inland, the ride from Barrydale along the gorge was also spectacular. Hermanus was also a main highlight and we will definitely come back here on a future trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was a great leader and quick to change plans when needed - as this trip was over Christmas and New Year, some of the restaurants that would normally be used were closed and he was able to adapt plans at short notice. On Christmas day, as an extra that was not on the official itinerary, he chose the perfect place for us all to have a glass of bubbles together, overlooking Cape Agulhas. He is a kind and thoughtful guide who always tries hard to meet the very varied requests from the group – at times this is an impossible task!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. This advice goes for this trip and any other Exodus trip – the trip notes should be taken as a guide rather than a rigid itinerary and if anything changes just enjoy it. Some of our best experiences on this trip were changes made at short notice, such as finishing our last day of riding at the top of Signal Hill with a drink, overlooking Cape Town. Apart from a couple of optional hills the riding was not too hard and is accurately described as moderate.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An extra few days in Cape Town would be good – half a day at the beginning and end of the trip is not enough time to see Robben Island, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and other attractions.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Richard Milligan

    Cycling the Cape and Winelands

    A breathtaking tour of the Western Cape with a drink (or two) thrown in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fabulous views in the winelands, the Karoo and on the Whale Coast (especially). Each day had a different 'wow' factor and each day I found my ability growing. As someone who does not cycle regularly, the fears of the longer rides, through hilly country and with strong headwinds, grew less and less as the trip continued until the only 'challenges' were the optional climbs that we slotted in on the rest day and at the end of the longest ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wynand was a fabulous leader. Full of energy, full of knowledge and a clear love for his country, cycling and the flora and fauna. He made sure that no one was excluded, was a friend to all and ensured that we knew what we were doing, what to expect andmade sure that we were well fed and watered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow. Relax and enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support driver, Sifiso, needs a special mention. A lovely guy with a fabulous sense of humour. Very friendly, helpful and professional.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Gareth Buffett

    Cape and the winelands

    A good combination of varied scenery inland and coastal, towns and city and tours Food and accommodation were good. Good bus used and bikes ok though I could have done with a lower gearing a couple of times Rides were too often on busy main roads albeit usually with a cycle lane it isn't very relaxing or sociable to have too ride single file with fast noisy traffic wizzing past. Quite often felt rushed with meals and tastings sometimmes due to the leaders having to cook our dinner which was often not ready till quite late. Is it really necessary for them to cook? Could have done with an extra day in Cape town to fit more in. With only two half days you can't fit in Table Mountain, Botanic gardens, Roben Island and the city itself let alone shopping and relaxing on the beach

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Botanic gardens-Superb

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adequet Good local knowledge re history and flora and fauna Needs to be more formal in briefings and the initial one was far too long Got lost a couple of times but I guess if you don't do the trip regularly that happens Generaaly friendly and helpfull just needs to sort out his communication better

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 1 844 227 9087