Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2017
    Latisha O'Connor

    Amazing Trip

    What an amazing trip! My now husband and I are fans of adventure vacations and Iceland was the best choice for us. He is a much better cyclist than I, but that didn't matter because if I wasn't up for it I was able to rack my bike and hop a ride in the bus to the next site, snack stop, or until the course was more my level. The countryside was gorgeous and the accommodations were great. I can't say enough about the food and purity of the water...so renewing (but I am also American and well, REAL, unadulterated food isn't a strength in our country). Our guides were very patient, knowledgeable, and just all around fun guys. The bonus for my partner and I was getting engaged behind a waterfall. I definitely recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being fully present in nature felt inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was awesome! Highly recommend.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy every minute!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Julian Allen

    Southern Iceland by bike

    The best way to see and experience Iceland - made even better by an awesome leader, Kjartan

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the killer hill, cycling in the rain, the headwind on the first day of cycling, seeing the volcanos and the volcanic landscapes, cycling to the tourist hot spots and feeling very smug

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome - a smile for everything and everybody. Told us about where we were going, what to expect, helped the slower riders, mended a puncture, cooked the bbq, answered all our questions and made a great video of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring cycle gear for all weathers. Make sure you know how to draft in a group

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    take a camera with a wide angle and telephoto lenses. Relax in the hot tubs
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Rex Yetton

    Cycling Southern Iceland

    This was a really great trip. I have not stopped smiling since I returned. Some of the cycling was challenging and can be weather dependent. We were lucky with the weather with one day of strong headwind in perfect sunshine and one afternoon of heavy rain. We had the perfect leader and a nice group who all got on well together. The sights of Iceland are amazing and not to be missed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our leader, Kjartan, was the biggest inspiration. Then came the lovely thermal soaks on most days, cycling in the heavy rain and the 'killer hill' on the last day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kjartan was simply the best. He was so inspirational. He was in tune with the strengths and weaknesses of the group. He showed us wonderful sights and told us the history and geology of Iceland over thousands of years. He became a true friend to us all. Thank you Kjartan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read all the trip notes carefully. Get fit with plenty of cycle rides. Work out and practice with your cycle clothing for different conditions. Have some good wet weather cycling clothes and overshoes. Don't forget your trunks and towel. This is a wonderful trip with sights you will never see again. Go for it, you will have no regrets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The roads can be busy. The traffic is good and respects cyclists. Have high visibility tops. I had my rear flashing light on most of the time. The communal mountain hut was fun. Go for it and enjoy it.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Magdalena Pluta

    Cycle Southern Iceland (msi)

    Exelent trip. Beautiful island . Lovely people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stragling with the wind. Clombing little hillls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Perfect person in right place. Very profecional, reliable with knowledge , experience and skills. Very friendly , always ready and happy to help. With great managing , cycling and cooking skills. Able to motivate whole group and every single individual. I wish he coud be leader on every trip i go.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To read notes for trip before trip. I didnt and i didnt take my towel. But again in this situation...kjartan-group lider helped.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Definitly will ho for more cycling holidays in iceland.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Dennis Mah

    Cycling Southern Iceland

    Showcase of natural beauty of all sites around southern Iceland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Tackling the huge hill on our last riding day by 3/4 of riders. 2. Much needed soak in hot springs, hot tubs, cold plunge, etc. after a day of riding. 3. Amazing gourmet dinners especially the BBQ at the mountain hut. 4. Watching Iceland vs. Portugal Eurocup final in local hotel pub.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organized, personable, cheerful, knowledgeable & enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Need to clarify with Exodus if sleeping bags will be provided at mountain hut. Exodus most recent trip notes stated not required but group leader had older trip notes that stated it was required. Our group leader made a phone call and had brand new sleeping bags delivered to us on time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling is a great and more intimate way of exploring Iceland or anywhere else in the world, and healthier too. Totally recommend it.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Regarding the point about sleeping bags, they are not required for the night in the mountin hut. The most up to date trip notes reflect this. Sleeping bags will be provided.

  • Reviewed July 2016
    Shirley Vauvelle

    Cycle Southern Iceland

    This was my first cycling holiday, at first I was not sure what was in store but by the end of the trip I left wanting more. Spectacular scenery, clean,clear air, sparkling rivers and streams, dramatic waterfalls. Miles and miles of un spoilt vistas, sometimes without a sign of mankind in sight apart from us. Dramatic landscape with the most amazing colours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day was so inspirational for me from the corrugated farm buildings stood isolated in the vast landscape to the beautiful swaths of blue lupins at the roadside. The colours and formations of the glacier were like nothing I have seen before with the blackness from the lava dust. The glacial ice our guide collected for us was a lovely special addition to our gin & tonic back at the hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought Kjartan was an excellent group leader. He was very supportive of my first day and sorted out a problem with my bike straight away. He was warm and friendly with a good sense of humour. He certainly wanted us to get the most out of the holiday as possible and tried to accommodate everyone.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were really lucky with the weather, apart from a strong head wind at times. I think this is what possibly makes it a more strenuous ride rather than the roads. So come prepared, the weather can be very changeable. Have a go at all the experiences offered.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't worry if you are a beginner , I was in a group of mixed abilities and didn't feel at any time that I was out of my depth. You always have the option to take a bus ride if it all gets a bit too much . We loved our green bus and the hard working driver.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Robert Heaps

    MSI Cycle Southern Iceland

    Fascinating country, scenery of Glaciers, Geysirs, Waterfalls and wonderful sunsets. A bit expensive for accommodation and £8 for a beer!! ( buy some at the airport on arrival). The cycling was relatively easy, only 1 real climb on the final day but the wind made it harder, I personally would have like to have cycled a bit around Fjallabak instead of spending all day in the bus. The weather was great for us, sunny, no rain, a bit windy, quite warm but be prepared for anything!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, particularly the Geysir as it was the 1st time I have seen anything like that. Having a hot thermal bath at the end of the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kjartan was knowledgeable and friendly if a little laid back which was OK by me but may not suit everybody. AND he had spent some time in my home town of Scarborough learning English when he was a teenager!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to stay up late a couple of times after midnight to see the sunset.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Frances Wilson

    Stunning Scenery

    Stunning scenery - glaciers, waterfalls, mountains. Wonderful swimming both in rivers and pools. Good cycling terrain although some roads were very busy. Accommodation was mostly shared facilites but comfortable with very good food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the hot river in the rain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very well organised particularly with regard to lunches. Coped well with the wide spread of ability in the group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very strong winds and cool temperatures even in August. Overshoes will stop your feet getting soaked. Have a large bag on the bus as you need to change clothing and have swimming gear to hand

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although listed as grade 4 there was only one hill all week
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Daniela Francovicchio

    Cycle Southern Iceland

    It was an amazing trip, it helped me to remember how good life can be.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cycling in the rain with strong wind - it made me feel alive and the waterfalls.... in particular the most secluded ones

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent! He was very passionate about Iceland, very professional and very motivating!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It rains! Bring a lot of rain protection equipment. Gloves are indispensable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be helpful to give more details about the equipment to bring in the trip notes. Gloves should be in, more waterproof clothes. Even if the list in the trip notes already mentioned that waterproof equipment would be advisable it should be a little clearer (waterproof jacket,waterproof gloves, waterproof trousers and maybe also waterproof shoes). In my case, I was lucky that our group leader had some additional clothes to share. And a pillow, for the night spent in the hut.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Teresa Evans

    Cycle Southern Iceland

    7 Days of great companionship, breath taking views and outstanding hospitality. The landscape is constantly changing, drivers were extremely courteous, giving cyclists a wide berth were ever possible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Conquering the steep climb approaching Vic! And then of course the fun of the downhill into Vic. That was a beautiful day with the most incredible blue skies, the amazing black volcanic beach and the startling green of the country side.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a fantastic group leader, he was knowledgeable regarding the geology and history of the areas we cycled through. He really supported a positive group dynamic and made everyone feel comfortable and part of the group. Our shuttle driver was also excellent and we were always happy to see the "green biscuit bus" on the horizon for tea and hobnobs!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for wind and rain. These were only issues on the first day(windy) and the last day(rainy) Every other day was gorgeous, blue sky and warm temps - make sure to bring your swimsuit for the fabulous "Hot Pots"

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Iceland was a terrific experience - the people were wonderful, the country was gorgeous and we felt safe and well looked after.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087