Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Make 2018 Your Year of Adventure. Save $150 when you Book Now - Learn More >

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2017
    Colleen McDavid

    Burma by Bike...they only way to go!!

    If you enjoy cycling and want to see an Asian country not yet jaded by tourism this is the trip for you!! I have never done a cycling trip and wasn't sure what to expect. This trip was very well organized, with a fantastic support team. When I punctured a hole in my tire, my first thought is that I would never catch up to the rest of the group...however Joe, our bike mechanic had the wheel off and replaced with another in less than 10 minutes!!! The scenery, the Burmese people, and this itinerary make it an exceptional experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking through the city of Mandalay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top notch!! He kept us safe, informed, and very entertained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although it is rated as a 3 in terms of difficulty, do yourself a favour and go cycling on a route that incorporates hill training or attend spin cycling classes. I was not a very experienced cyclist and was very grateful that I had prepared myself in advance. It made the trip enjoyable; I looked forward to each day of cycling. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Burmese food is quite tasty and not yet influenced much by western cuisine. You should be able to find something you enjoy at every meal, but keep in mind you are not travelling to Burma as a culinary experience. Given their history, they have had limited opportunity to develop culinary expertise. I enjoyed it so much and it went by so fast I would love to do it all over again!!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    John Clement

    Cycle Myanmar(Burma)

    We found this trip lived up to our expectations. This is a country that is just opening up to tourists and the people although having lived through hard times are friendly, courteous and wanting to interact with tourists. The activities and sites which we experienced were educational as well as fun. The biking was moderate as rated and the bus was always available if you did not want to cycle at any time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the people of Myanmar and the villages where they lived and worked.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent leader, always friendly, knowledgeable about the history if his country and Buddhism aa well as attentive. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was comfortable with the plans for the day. He worked well with his staff. He had a good sense of humour and we thoroughly enjoyed his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat and just go and enjoy,
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Steve March

    Burma By Cycle

    Wonderful trip which I would recommend to anyone. My only word of caution is that you are riding a mountain bike which causes you to be bent forward when riding. If you have a shoulder/neck problem, this type of bike can cause you pain in your shoulders/neck. It can be remedied by having an extender installed in the headset of the mountain bike which will allow you to sit more upright and take the stress off your shoulders. Exodus does not provide these and you should bring one with you which their bike mechanic will install. They cost about $20 Canadian and will make the bike riding on the bumpy roads much more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Burmese people .
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Douglas James

    Myanmar Biking, Inle Lake to Bagan

    Moderate difficulty. Good for us 70 year olds. Excellent accomodations throughout and food locations suggested by "Alex",our lead guide. Wonderful and attentive crew. Would accommodate all our extra needs (handling shopping items). Great route selection through rural Myanmar. Could really appreciate the local culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Serenity of the countryside and friendliness of the Burmese people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Alex" was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared physically. Weather is very hot

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Desmond Smyth

    Burma By Bike

    This trip provides a comprehensive insight into a country in transition- at this stage it has a long way to go to reach the economic and social standards of most of its neighbours in south east Asia. The people are friendly,welcoming and charming and much of the scenery is stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer numbers of Buddha statues was impressive ( in some cases thousands in one location ) as were the temples and stupas of Bagan. Inle Lake was a highlight- lovely scenery,good cycling,interesting insights into the making of various goods including silk garments,umbrellas,and cigars all made using locally available materials.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a superb leader- excellent communication skills,good humour,and comprehensive knowledge about the history,religion and cultures of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of our group suffered at some stage with a stomach bug- shortlived but quite severe whilst it lasted- be prepared to be careful what you eat and bring appropriate medication. Mozzies were not a problem on this trip- we did encounter them from time to time,so a good repellant is advisable. The cycling is generally fairly easy- undulating for most part although there are some steep challenges e.g. last 2kms up to Mt Popa.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of doing this trip,don't hesitate- this is a superb opportunity to get a comprehensive insight into a country in transition and which continues to face many challenges.You will be assured of a warm welcome by the friendly and charming people.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Rebecca Lee

    Great Cycling Trip

    A well organised trip. Plenty of breaks between cycling and enough sight seeing too. We liked that they provided electrolytes on the breaks and the selection of snacks and drinks was great too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a couple of really tough days in the first week, including a hard 7km climb uphill. It felt amazing when you reached the top, a wonderful sense of achievement. The many golden pagodas and stupas add a magical sense to the beautiful scenery, especially in the more rural areas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was very approachable, spoke very good English and looked after the group very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is classed as moderate but I would recommend doing several 30 miles rides at home to see if you like the distance before booking as it is pretty tough doing that sort of distance day after day. We trained and were fine. Padded shorts/pants are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycling trip and we are looking forward to many more. This is a good time to see Burma, because its not very touristy yet. The hotels we staying in were of a good standard and we were able to get food and drink that we didn't think would be available.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Anna Cunney

    Very interesting & active holiday

    Would recommend this trip to anyone who likes an adventurous cycling holiday. Be aware that you are up at 6 am every day to get the cycling done before the real heat sets in or to try fit in temple visits etc. Dinner is usually at 7pm and most people had collapsed into bed by 10pm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Myanmar were an absolute joy to interact with. They have suffered so much and yet still have a smile for strangers. We never once felt ripped off by the local people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex is excellent, ask him anything and he will answer you very honestly. Always pleasant and patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a busy enough itinerary. So would recommend arriving rested. Also, the cycling is slightly challenging at times due to heat, road surfaces and pedestrian/canine/motorbike traffic around you. Watch out for snakes on the roadside also. If you do the Nagapali extension, 3 days there is plenty.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    50-60km per day may not seem like much cycling but can be tiring when you add in heat and hills.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Ingun Norum

    Cycle Myanmar (Burma)

    Great and advetures trip with very good group leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inle lake and Bagan.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very organized, caring and full of knowledge and laughter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be prepared for an intinerary full of action all day and not expect to sleep late in the mornings :)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can reccommend this trip for all that enjoy cycling holidays.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Heidi Kelly

    Cycling in Myanmar

    Great way to meet the locals and see the main sights of this beautiful country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the children coming to wave and shout mingalarbar as we went through villages Beautiful temples

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex is a great leader, very organised and passionate about cycling. His English is very good and clear but he didn't often eat with the group so not everyone got chance to chat with him, he gave brief descriptions of the places visited but only gave more general info if asked. This for me was the right balance and as we often rode at the front had more time to chat to him. I think others felt he didn't impart enough info.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes say that you need to cover up on the rides but wearing cycling kit is fine. You do need to cover up when visiting temples but this can be carried on the bus until you get there. We had a kitty for snacks and water, this was excellent and we didn't need the bars or energy tablets we had taken as sachets were available along with fresh fruit, crisps,nuts, biscuits etc. Most of the rides are broken up into 15km segments so easily manageable. Mosquito repellent and sun lotion are a must. The hill up to Mt Popa is not that bad, go for it !!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Burmese people are very friendly and like to take pictures of tourists, which we found quite amusing. The bikes are all well maintained and the mechanic is great and can change a puncture in a few minutes. We extended our trip with a few days at Nagapali beach, the hotel and food here was very good and the location is stunningly beautiful. A great way to relax after all that cycling.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Michael Thomson

    Bagan a temple.... Or 6000 or so....

    Had a great time on a great well organised and fantastically staffed and supported trip. The group all got on well and everything went to plan save for a few tummy upsets and one of us taking a bath down an open drain in Mandalay.... Oops... Thankfully no serious injury but could have been a disaster so keep your eyes peeled in dark streets...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The resilience and kindness of the Myanmar people... I can't believe how happy and friendly these people are and how hard most of them work to try and get by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was 100% reliable, organised and patient with us, always ready to answer questions and with a good grasp of English and our western culture. He kept us right and always gave good advice about where to try what to eat and how to respect the local cultures and expected behaviours. Friendly, tolerant and With a good team that seemed to get on well with him

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy and be a bit of a Buddhist for a couple of weeks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would be good if you can use more back roads and maybe seek advice of in country peeps to get more cycling off the beaten track... We seemed to be on quite main roads a lot of the time. We could also have perhaps done an extra hours cycling most days
Call us on 1 844 227 9087