Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Nigel Fawkes

    Surely the best way to experience Myanmar . .

    The full two week schedule was well justified (and we added a five day extension to travel south of Yangon after). The group of 14 were very compatible, and ranged in age from early 50s to early 70s. Noone had any big problems with the distances, although the variable tarmac surfaces left most wishing for more saddle padding than they had brought. . . The one day of mostly dirt roads and tracks was judged the most fun - the mountain bikes were designed for this, and there was, of course, no traffic. More such by-ways if possible please! Myanmar threw us surprises every day. No amount of reading prepares you for a temple with over 500,000 buddhas, or a village built over water, where everything is done by boat (there are no footpaths), or a stupa with more than 3 tons of pure gold covering it. Local food is fresh and delicious, local beer seems largely a monopoly of a brand called 'Myanmar' (presumed to be owned by the military), and the hotels much grander and newer than I had expected. Apart from the start and Yangon, all had pools, great for a wind down swim after a day in the saddle. Heat was... hot - but bearable as cycling creates its own breeze and most of the riding was done before lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day threw up another wonderful surprise, and cycling between sights was the ideal way to approach them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was extremely good. He had a very good command of English phrase and idiom and an infectious sense of humour. He encouraged any question - which was normally greeted with an announcement: "hey everybody - this is a really good question. . .!" He worked extremely hard and was a pains to make sure everyone knew what the plans were at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is split into roughly 1 hour/ 20 km sections, so make sure you are happy riding this distance. There were only two real climbs of note, otherwise rolling countryside was normal. You will need more padding for your bottom than in UK!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its fine to go as a singleton, people ride at different speeds, so you will find you naturally ride with two or three of the group and its all pretty relaxed.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Michelle Gale

    Cycle Myanmar

    A wonderful tour with a well-organised itinerary that provided a good insight into Burmese daily life. Friendly, welcoming people, stunning scenery, and thousands of Pagodas. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights included the long-tailed boat rides on Lake Inle (seeing the leg-rowing fishermen at work, stopping to watch skilled craftsmen and women using traditional methods to make silk wear, cigars, the teak long-tailed boats, and silverware, plus seeing locals tend their ‘water-allotments’); our stay in Naung Shwe City (the Naung Shwe City Hotel was lovely and our favourite); day 9 cycling towards Ma Au village (a long, quiet rural road and stopping to spend time with the excited village children); and, of course, visiting the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda at Sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Naing’s leadership and communications skills were outstanding, as was his extensive knowledge and boundless energy and humour. Nothing to was too much trouble and he was mindful not to overload us with too much information at any one time, nor to over-organise us. It was a pleasure having him as our guide, and having now completed 15 Exodus trips, I would say he raises the bar of excellence. Naing’s support team were also brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A couple of the rides had long inclines, which coupled with a headwind and the heat of the day, seemed arduous at times. With the exception of one, all the hotels were of a high standard (and included a hairdryer), far exceeding our expectations. When staying at the Conqueror Resort Hotel (Shan Highland) be mindful that whilst the functional wooden lodges appear delightful, the February night time temperatures drop significantly - the beds do have an electric blanket but getting out of bed into the cold room was probably the day’s toughest challenge! The food was generally very good and we took great care but occasionally still experienced short-lived upset tums. In a few locations we did experience polite vendors targeting tourists. In Yangon beware when asked for donations by young boys purporting to be Monks – they are fake.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you enjoy cycling and seeing everyday life, then this trip is a must.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Colleen McDavid

    Burma by Bike...they only way to go!!

    If you enjoy cycling and want to see an Asian country not yet jaded by tourism this is the trip for you!! I have never done a cycling trip and wasn't sure what to expect. This trip was very well organized, with a fantastic support team. When I punctured a hole in my tire, my first thought is that I would never catch up to the rest of the group...however Joe, our bike mechanic had the wheel off and replaced with another in less than 10 minutes!!! The scenery, the Burmese people, and this itinerary make it an exceptional experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking through the city of Mandalay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top notch!! He kept us safe, informed, and very entertained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although it is rated as a 3 in terms of difficulty, do yourself a favour and go cycling on a route that incorporates hill training or attend spin cycling classes. I was not a very experienced cyclist and was very grateful that I had prepared myself in advance. It made the trip enjoyable; I looked forward to each day of cycling. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Burmese food is quite tasty and not yet influenced much by western cuisine. You should be able to find something you enjoy at every meal, but keep in mind you are not travelling to Burma as a culinary experience. Given their history, they have had limited opportunity to develop culinary expertise. I enjoyed it so much and it went by so fast I would love to do it all over again!!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    John Clement

    Cycle Myanmar(Burma)

    We found this trip lived up to our expectations. This is a country that is just opening up to tourists and the people although having lived through hard times are friendly, courteous and wanting to interact with tourists. The activities and sites which we experienced were educational as well as fun. The biking was moderate as rated and the bus was always available if you did not want to cycle at any time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the people of Myanmar and the villages where they lived and worked.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent leader, always friendly, knowledgeable about the history if his country and Buddhism aa well as attentive. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was comfortable with the plans for the day. He worked well with his staff. He had a good sense of humour and we thoroughly enjoyed his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat and just go and enjoy,
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Steve March

    Burma By Cycle

    Wonderful trip which I would recommend to anyone. My only word of caution is that you are riding a mountain bike which causes you to be bent forward when riding. If you have a shoulder/neck problem, this type of bike can cause you pain in your shoulders/neck. It can be remedied by having an extender installed in the headset of the mountain bike which will allow you to sit more upright and take the stress off your shoulders. Exodus does not provide these and you should bring one with you which their bike mechanic will install. They cost about $20 Canadian and will make the bike riding on the bumpy roads much more enjoyable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Burmese people .
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Douglas James

    Myanmar Biking, Inle Lake to Bagan

    Moderate difficulty. Good for us 70 year olds. Excellent accomodations throughout and food locations suggested by "Alex",our lead guide. Wonderful and attentive crew. Would accommodate all our extra needs (handling shopping items). Great route selection through rural Myanmar. Could really appreciate the local culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Serenity of the countryside and friendliness of the Burmese people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Alex" was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared physically. Weather is very hot

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Desmond Smyth

    Burma By Bike

    This trip provides a comprehensive insight into a country in transition- at this stage it has a long way to go to reach the economic and social standards of most of its neighbours in south east Asia. The people are friendly,welcoming and charming and much of the scenery is stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer numbers of Buddha statues was impressive ( in some cases thousands in one location ) as were the temples and stupas of Bagan. Inle Lake was a highlight- lovely scenery,good cycling,interesting insights into the making of various goods including silk garments,umbrellas,and cigars all made using locally available materials.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a superb leader- excellent communication skills,good humour,and comprehensive knowledge about the history,religion and cultures of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of our group suffered at some stage with a stomach bug- shortlived but quite severe whilst it lasted- be prepared to be careful what you eat and bring appropriate medication. Mozzies were not a problem on this trip- we did encounter them from time to time,so a good repellant is advisable. The cycling is generally fairly easy- undulating for most part although there are some steep challenges e.g. last 2kms up to Mt Popa.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are thinking of doing this trip,don't hesitate- this is a superb opportunity to get a comprehensive insight into a country in transition and which continues to face many challenges.You will be assured of a warm welcome by the friendly and charming people.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Rebecca Lee

    Great Cycling Trip

    A well organised trip. Plenty of breaks between cycling and enough sight seeing too. We liked that they provided electrolytes on the breaks and the selection of snacks and drinks was great too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a couple of really tough days in the first week, including a hard 7km climb uphill. It felt amazing when you reached the top, a wonderful sense of achievement. The many golden pagodas and stupas add a magical sense to the beautiful scenery, especially in the more rural areas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was very approachable, spoke very good English and looked after the group very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is classed as moderate but I would recommend doing several 30 miles rides at home to see if you like the distance before booking as it is pretty tough doing that sort of distance day after day. We trained and were fine. Padded shorts/pants are a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first cycling trip and we are looking forward to many more. This is a good time to see Burma, because its not very touristy yet. The hotels we staying in were of a good standard and we were able to get food and drink that we didn't think would be available.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Anna Cunney

    Very interesting & active holiday

    Would recommend this trip to anyone who likes an adventurous cycling holiday. Be aware that you are up at 6 am every day to get the cycling done before the real heat sets in or to try fit in temple visits etc. Dinner is usually at 7pm and most people had collapsed into bed by 10pm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Myanmar were an absolute joy to interact with. They have suffered so much and yet still have a smile for strangers. We never once felt ripped off by the local people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex is excellent, ask him anything and he will answer you very honestly. Always pleasant and patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a busy enough itinerary. So would recommend arriving rested. Also, the cycling is slightly challenging at times due to heat, road surfaces and pedestrian/canine/motorbike traffic around you. Watch out for snakes on the roadside also. If you do the Nagapali extension, 3 days there is plenty.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    50-60km per day may not seem like much cycling but can be tiring when you add in heat and hills.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Ingun Norum

    Cycle Myanmar (Burma)

    Great and advetures trip with very good group leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inle lake and Bagan.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very organized, caring and full of knowledge and laughter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be prepared for an intinerary full of action all day and not expect to sleep late in the mornings :)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can reccommend this trip for all that enjoy cycling holidays.
Call us on 1 844 227 9087